CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT05228834Updated May 2, 2024Results posted

Voxelotor Neurocognitive Function Study

A Phase 3 interventional study of Voxelotor Only Product in Oral Dose Form and Placebo in Sickle Cell Disease, sponsored by Pfizer. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 8 Years to 18 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-02.

Sponsored by Pfizer · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Data will not inform further development of Voxelotor
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
1
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
8 Years to 18 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a Phase 3b, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study to assess the treatment effect of voxelotor on neurocognitive function as assessed by the National Institute of Health (NIH) Toolbox Cognition Module of executive abilities in pediatric participants (8 to \< 18 years) with SCD.

Read the detailed description

Eligible participants will receive daily treatment with 1500 mg voxelotor or matching placebo for 12 weeks. During screening and at the end of 12 weeks participants will undergo a series of tests to measure the change in neurocognitive functions.

02

Conditions studied

  • Sickle Cell Disease

Browse trials for

03

In context

Anemia, Sickle Cell

1,103 studies on the registry are indexed under Anemia, Sickle Cell; 235 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 40 across 750 interventional studies indexed under Anemia, Sickle Cell.

Browse Anemia, Sickle Cell studies →

Lead sponsor

Pfizer is the lead sponsor of 3,244 studies on the registry; 139 are open to participants now.

Of its 582 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 381 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
8 Years to 18 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Male or female participants with confirmed diagnosis of SCD (all genotypes). Documentation of SCD genotype is required and may be based on documented history of laboratory testing or confirmed by laboratory testing during Screening.
  2. Aged 8 to \< 18 years.
  3. Screening Hb level 5.5 to 10.5 g/dL.
  4. Able to answer NIH Toolbox Module questions validated and normed based on age and maternal education on tablet.
  5. If participant is receiving HU they must have been on a stable dose for at least 90 days prior to signing the ICF/AF, with no dose modifications or initiation of HU planned or anticipated by the Investigator.
  6. If participant is receiving erythropoiesis-stimulating agents (ESAs) they must have been on a stable dose for at least 12 weeks before enrollment with no dose modifications planned or anticipated by the Investigator.
  7. Participants, who if female and of child-bearing potential, agree to use highly effective methods of contraception from study start to 30 days after the last dose of study drug and who if male, agree to use barrier methods of contraception and refrain from donating sperm from study start to 30 days after the last dose of study drug.
  8. Females of child-bearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test before the administration of study drug.
  9. Parental/guardian consent and participant assent (between ≥ 12 and \< 18 years) per Institutional Review Board (IRB)/Independent ethics committee (IEC) policy and requirements, consistent with International Council for Harmonisation (ICH) guidelines.
  10. Capable of complying with the requirements and restrictions in the protocol, and willing to participate in the study.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Receiving chronic transfusion therapy.
  2. Red blood cell (RBC) transfusion within 3 months before initiation of study drug or receives scheduled RBC transfusion therapy (also termed chronic, prophylactic, or preventive transfusion).
  3. History of overt stroke including hemorrhagic stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA) or spinal cord injury, magnetic resonance angiography (MRA)-defined vasculopathy, or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)/transcranial doppler (TCD)-documented silent cerebral infarcts.
  4. Congenital brain malformation, previously diagnosed severe developmental disability (eg, autism and/or intelligence quotient [IQ] \< 60, and/or severe attention deficit hyperactivity disorder [ADHD]), or impairment that would prevent the use of a computer tablet.
  5. Participant is taking or has received voxelotor (Oxbryta®) within 90 days prior to the Screening Visit.
  6. Surgery within 8 weeks before Day 1 or planned elective surgery during the study.
  7. Anemia due to bone marrow failure (eg, myelodysplasia).
  8. Absolute reticulocyte count (ARC) \< 100 × 10\^9/L.
  9. Screening alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) > 4× upper limit of normal (ULN).
  10. Severe renal dysfunction (estimated glomerular filtration rate [eGFR] \< 30 mL/min/1.73 m\^2) or is on chronic dialysis.
  11. Clinically significant bacterial, fungal, parasitic, or viral infection which requires therapy.

    1. Patients with acute bacterial infection requiring antibiotic use should delay screening /enrollment until the course of antibiotic therapy has been completed.
    2. Patients with known active hepatitis A, B, or C or who are known to be human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) positive.
  12. Symptomatic coronavirus disease of 2019 (COVID-19) infection.
  13. Females who are breast-feeding or pregnant.
  14. History of hematopoietic stem cell transplant or gene therapy.
  15. Participants taking concomitant medications such as sensitive cytochrome P450 (CYP)3A4 substrates with a narrow therapeutic range, or strong CYP3A4 inducers
  16. Participated in another clinical trial of an investigational product (or medical device) within 30 days or 5 half-lives of date of informed consent, whichever is longer, or is currently participating in another trial of an investigational product (or medical device).
  17. Medical, psychological, or behavioral condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would confound or interfere with evaluation of safety and/or efficacy of the study drug, prevent compliance with the study protocol; preclude informed consent; or, render the participant unable/unlikely to comply with the study procedures.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
1 participant (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Active Drug

    Voxelotor 1500mg or equivalent daily as a tablet or powder for oral suspension

    Drug: Voxelotor Only Product in Oral Dose Form

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Matching Placebo

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugVoxelotor Only Product in Oral Dose Form

    During the Randomized Treatment Period, participants will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive 1500 mg of voxelotor (or the weight-adjusted equivalent dose for participants \< 12 years old), once daily (administered orally as tablets/PFOS) or matching placebo for 12 weeks in addition to ongoing standard of care (SOC) treatment.

  • DrugPlacebo

    During the Randomized Treatment Period, participants will be randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive 1500 mg of voxelotor (or the weight-adjusted equivalent dose for participants \< 12 years old), once daily (administered orally as tablets/PFOS) or matching placebo for 12 weeks in addition to ongoing standard of care (SOC) treatment.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Executive Abilities Composite Score Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module At Week 12

    The NIH toolbox cognition module is a standardized cognitive battery comprising of executive function, episodic memory, language, processing speed, working memory, and attention as subdomains. The toolbox is comprised of 7 test instruments that measure 8 abilities within 6 major cognitive domains and have been categorized as executive abilities (Dimensional Change Card Sort Test, Flanker Inhibitory Control and Attention Test, and List Sorting Test) and nonexecutive abilities (Picture Vocabulary Test, Oral Reading Recognition Test, and Picture Sequence Memory Test). The NIH toolbox standard score has a mean of 100 and standard deviation (SD) of 15. The higher the score, the better the performance.

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment), Week 12

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Pattern Comparison Processing Speed Test Scores Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module at Week 12

    The NIH Toolbox Cognition Battery Test is a comprehensive set of neuro behavioral measurements used to assess cognitive, sensory and motor functions where a higher composite score equals better cognitive performance. The NIH Toolbox Cognitive Scores used the Fully Adjusted Scale score (also referred to as the fully corrected T-score) with a mean of 50 and standard deviation of 10.

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment), Week 12

  2. Change From Baseline in Nonexecutive Cognitive Abilities Composite Score Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module Up to Week 12

    The NIH toolbox cognition module is a standardized cognitive battery comprising of executive function, episodic memory, language, processing speed, working memory, and attention as subdomains. The toolbox is currently comprised of 7 test instruments that measure 8 abilities within 6 major cognitive domains and have been categorized as executive abilities (Dimensional Change Card Sort Test, Flanker Inhibitory Control and Attention Test, and List Sorting Test) and nonexecutive abilities (Picture Vocabulary Test, Oral Reading Recognition Test, and Picture Sequence Memory Test). Baseline was defined as the last assessment performed prior to receiving the first dose of study treatment. The NIH toolbox standard score has a mean of 100 and SD of 15. The higher the score, the better the performance.

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  3. Change From Baseline in Hemoglobin Level Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  4. Change From Baseline in Absolute Reticulocyte Count Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  5. Change From Baseline in Percentage Reticulocyte Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  6. Change From Baseline in Lactate Dehydrogenase (LDH) Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  7. Change From Baseline in Unconjugated Bilirubin Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

  8. Percent Change From Baseline in Unconjugated Bilirubin, Absolute Reticulocyte, Percentage Reticulocytes, Lactate Dehydrogenase (LDH) Up to Week 12

    Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

Other outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence associated with the use of a drug in participants whether or not considered drug related. TEAEs were those events with onset dates that occurred during the treatment period.

    Time frame: From start of study treatment (Day 1) up to Week 12

07

Results

Posted May 2, 2024
Limitations and caveats
The study was terminated due to slow enrollment and resource reprioritization at L-GBT. Based on the low enrolment data was not reported due to risk of re-identification of participant.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneVoxelotorPlacebo
Started00
Completed00
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Executive Abilities Composite Score Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module At Week 12

The NIH toolbox cognition module is a standardized cognitive battery comprising of executive function, episodic memory, language, processing speed, working memory, and attention as subdomains. The toolbox is comprised of 7 test instruments that measure 8 abilities within 6 major cognitive domains and have been categorized as executive abilities (Dimensional Change Card Sort Test, Flanker Inhibitory Control and Attention Test, and List Sorting Test) and nonexecutive abilities (Picture Vocabulary Test, Oral Reading Recognition Test, and Picture Sequence Memory Test). The NIH toolbox standard score has a mean of 100 and standard deviation (SD) of 15. The higher the score, the better the performance.

Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment), Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Pattern Comparison Processing Speed Test Scores Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module at Week 12

The NIH Toolbox Cognition Battery Test is a comprehensive set of neuro behavioral measurements used to assess cognitive, sensory and motor functions where a higher composite score equals better cognitive performance. The NIH Toolbox Cognitive Scores used the Fully Adjusted Scale score (also referred to as the fully corrected T-score) with a mean of 50 and standard deviation of 10.

Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment), Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Nonexecutive Cognitive Abilities Composite Score Assessed Using NIH Toolbox Cognition Module Up to Week 12

The NIH toolbox cognition module is a standardized cognitive battery comprising of executive function, episodic memory, language, processing speed, working memory, and attention as subdomains. The toolbox is currently comprised of 7 test instruments that measure 8 abilities within 6 major cognitive domains and have been categorized as executive abilities (Dimensional Change Card Sort Test, Flanker Inhibitory Control and Attention Test, and List Sorting Test) and nonexecutive abilities (Picture Vocabulary Test, Oral Reading Recognition Test, and Picture Sequence Memory Test). Baseline was defined as the last assessment performed prior to receiving the first dose of study treatment. The NIH toolbox standard score has a mean of 100 and SD of 15. The higher the score, the better the performance.

Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Hemoglobin Level Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Absolute Reticulocyte Count Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Percentage Reticulocyte Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Lactate Dehydrogenase (LDH) Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryChange From Baseline in Unconjugated Bilirubin Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in Unconjugated Bilirubin, Absolute Reticulocyte, Percentage Reticulocytes, Lactate Dehydrogenase (LDH) Up to Week 12
Time frame:
Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of study treatment) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Other pre-specifiedNumber of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

An adverse event was defined as any untoward medical occurrence associated with the use of a drug in participants whether or not considered drug related. TEAEs were those events with onset dates that occurred during the treatment period.

Time frame:
From start of study treatment (Day 1) up to Week 12

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over Not applicable as adverse events were not reported.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Voxelotor———
Placebo———

Baseline characteristics

Only one participant was enrolled. Hence, data cannot be reported due to risk of re-identification of participant.

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)VoxelotorPlaceboTotal
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)VoxelotorPlaceboTotal
Female———
Male———
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)VoxelotorPlaceboTotal
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Maryland Medical Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21201, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 10, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Pfizer will provide access to individual de-identified participant data and related study documents (e.g. protocol, Statistical Analysis Plan (SAP), Clinical Study Report (CSR)) upon request from qualified researchers, and subject to certain criteria, conditions, and exceptions. Further details on Pfizer's data sharing criteria and process for requesting access can be found at: https://www.pfizer.com/science/clinical_trials/trial_data_and_results/data_requests.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 2, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05228834
Lead sponsor
Pfizer
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 8, 2022
Start date
Jun 24, 2022
Primary completion
Sep 30, 2022
Completion
Sep 30, 2022
Results posted
May 2, 2024
Last update
May 2, 2024

Study contacts

Pfizer CT.gov Call Center
study director · Pfizer

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Mar 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion