A Phase 1 interventional study of Tepotinib (HydroChloride hydrate) and Itraconazole in Healthy, sponsored by Merck Healthcare KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, an affiliate of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany. Completed at 1 site in Germany. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 55 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-02-20.
Sponsored by Merck Healthcare KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, an affiliate of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study was to assess the effect of multiple doses of itraconazole on single dose tepotinib pharmacokinetics in healthy participants. Study details include:
Study Duration: up to 48 days Treatment Duration: single dose of tepotinib on Days 1 and 12, 11 days of treatment with itraconazole (Days 8 to 18) Visit Frequency: residence in the Clinical Research Unit from Days -1 to 4 and Days 11 to 15, ambulatory daily visits from Days 5 to 10 and 16 to 20
Merck Healthcare KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, an affiliate of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany is the lead sponsor of 55 studies on the registry; 5 are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants received a single oral dose of Tepotinib 500 milligrams (mg) on Day and Day 12 under fed condition followed by single oral dose of itraconazole 200 mg on Days 8 to 11 and Days 13 to 18. On Day 12, participants received a single dose of 200 mg itraconazole simultaneously with a single dose of 500 mg Tepotinib.
Drug: Tepotinib (HydroChloride hydrate) · Drug: Itraconazole
Participants received Tepotinib (Hydrochloride hydrate) Film-coated tablet with food on Day 1 and 12 in the morning.
Participants received Itraconazole Hard-gelatin capsule with food once daily at the same time in the morning from Day 8 to Day 18; on Day 12 itraconazole is administered concomitantly with tepotinib.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of Tepotinib
The AUC from time zero (= dosing time) extrapolated to infinity, based on the predicted value for the concentration at tlast, as estimated using the linear regression from lambda (λ)z determination.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve (AUC) From Time Zero to Time of Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-tlast) of Tepotinib
The AUC from time zero (= dosing time) to time of the last quantifiable concentration (tlast). Calculated using the mixed log-linear trapezoidal rule (linear up, log down).
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Tepotinib and Metabolite
Cmax was obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious TEAEs, TEAES With Severity of Grade Greater or Equal to 3
An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant. An AE was any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with use of a study intervention. A serious adverse event (SAE) was any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; life threatening; persistent/significant disability/incapacity; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; congenital anomaly/birth defect or was otherwise considered medically important. TEAE's were those events with onset dates on or after the first administration of study intervention. Severity of abnormalities were evaluated using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version \[24.1\]. grade 1 : mild grade 2 : moderate grade 3 : severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening grade 4 : life threatening or disabling grade 5 : death related to AE
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) up to follow up (assessed up to Day 20)
Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Change From Baseline in Laboratory Values
Laboratory investigation included hematology, biochemistry and urinalysis. Clinically meaningful was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically meaningful change from baseline in laboratory values were reported.
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) up to follow up (assessed up to Day 20)
Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Change From Baseline in Electrocardiogram (ECG)
The 12-lead ECGs were recorded after the participants have rested for at least 5 minutes in supine position. The parameters included heart rate (HR), Respiratory Rate, Pulse Rate, QRS, QT and QTcB calculated by the Bazett formula. Clinical Significance was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically meaningful change from baseline in ECG parameters were reported.
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) up to follow up (assessed up to Day 20)
Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Change From Baseline in Vital Signs
Vital signs included oral body temperature, systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, and pulse rate. Clinical Significance was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically significant change from baseline in vital signs.
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) up to follow up (assessed up to Day 20)
Total Body Clearance of Drug From Plasma (CL/f) for Tepotinib
CL/f following oral administration was calculated as Dose/AUC0-inf, where AUC0-inf calculated as AUC0-t + AUCextra. AUCextra represents the extrapolated part of AUC0-inf calculated by Clastcalc/λz, where Clastcalc was the calculated plasma concentration at the last sampling time point at which the measured plasma concentration was at or above the LLOQ and λz was the apparent terminal rate constant determined from the terminal slope of the log-transformed plasma concentration curve.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/f) for Tepotinib
Vz/F was defined as the apparent volume of distribution during the terminal phase following extravascular administration.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tepotinib
The time to reach the maximum observed plasma concentration (Tmax) was obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
Apparent Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Tepotinib in Plasma
t1/2 was defined as the time taken for the plasma concentration or the amount of drug in the body to be reduced by half.
Time frame: Predose up to 168 hours post dose
| Milestone | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Started | 18 |
| Completed | 16 |
| Not completed | 2 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
The AUC from time zero (= dosing time) extrapolated to infinity, based on the predicted value for the concentration at tlast, as estimated using the linear regression from lambda (λ)z determination.
| hours* nanograms per milliliter(h*ng/mL) | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero Extrapolated to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of Tepotinib | 18927 ± 28.2 | 23158 ± 29.9 |
The AUC from time zero (= dosing time) to time of the last quantifiable concentration (tlast). Calculated using the mixed log-linear trapezoidal rule (linear up, log down).
| h*ng/mL | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve (AUC) From Time Zero to Time of Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-tlast) of Tepotinib | 18300 ± 27.9 | 21391 ± 30.2 |
Cmax was obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
| nanogram per mililiter (ng/mL) | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Tepotinib and Metabolite | 308 ± 24.8 | 313 ± 28.2 |
An adverse event (AE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant. An AE was any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with use of a study intervention. A serious adverse event (SAE) was any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death; life threatening; persistent/significant disability/incapacity; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; congenital anomaly/birth defect or was otherwise considered medically important. TEAE's were those events with onset dates on or after the first administration of study intervention. Severity of abnormalities were evaluated using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version \[24.1\]. grade 1 : mild grade 2 : moderate grade 3 : severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening grade 4 : life threatening or disabling grade 5 : death related to AE
| Participants | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Any TEAE | 14 |
| Any serious TEAE | 0 |
| Any TEAE of Grade ≥ 3 (severe) | 0 |
Laboratory investigation included hematology, biochemistry and urinalysis. Clinically meaningful was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically meaningful change from baseline in laboratory values were reported.
| Participants | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Hematology | 0 |
| Biochemistry | 0 |
| Urinalysis | 0 |
The 12-lead ECGs were recorded after the participants have rested for at least 5 minutes in supine position. The parameters included heart rate (HR), Respiratory Rate, Pulse Rate, QRS, QT and QTcB calculated by the Bazett formula. Clinical Significance was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically meaningful change from baseline in ECG parameters were reported.
| Participants | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Change From Baseline in Electrocardiogram (ECG) | 0 |
Vital signs included oral body temperature, systolic blood pressure, diastolic blood pressure, and pulse rate. Clinical Significance was decided by the investigator. Number of participants with clinically significant change from baseline in vital signs.
| Participants | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Clinically Meaningful Change From Baseline in Vital Signs | 0 |
CL/f following oral administration was calculated as Dose/AUC0-inf, where AUC0-inf calculated as AUC0-t + AUCextra. AUCextra represents the extrapolated part of AUC0-inf calculated by Clastcalc/λz, where Clastcalc was the calculated plasma concentration at the last sampling time point at which the measured plasma concentration was at or above the LLOQ and λz was the apparent terminal rate constant determined from the terminal slope of the log-transformed plasma concentration curve.
| liter/hour | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Total Body Clearance of Drug From Plasma (CL/f) for Tepotinib | 23.8 ± 28.2 | 19.4 ± 29.9 |
Vz/F was defined as the apparent volume of distribution during the terminal phase following extravascular administration.
| liters | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/f) for Tepotinib | 1102 ± 29.4 | 1148 ± 34.3 |
The time to reach the maximum observed plasma concentration (Tmax) was obtained directly from the concentration versus time curve.
| hours | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tepotinib | 8.00 (6.00 to 16.00) | 8.00 (6.05 to 24.00) |
t1/2 was defined as the time taken for the plasma concentration or the amount of drug in the body to be reduced by half.
| hours | Tepotinib | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|---|
| Apparent Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Tepotinib in Plasma | 32.1 ± 7.8 | 40.9 ± 19.2 |
Collected over Baseline (Day 1) up to follow up (assessed up to Day 20). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tepotinib and Itraconazole | 0/18 (0%) | 0/18 (0%) | 14/18 (77.8%) |
| Event | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 7/18 |
| Middle insomniaPsychiatric disorders | 4/18 |
| Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders | 2/18 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 2/18 |
| Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders | 2/18 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/18 |
| Chest discomfortGeneral disorders | 2/18 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 2/18 |
| SomnolenceNervous system disorders | 2/18 |
| Abdominal discomfortGastrointestinal disorders | 1/18 |
The Safety Analysis Set (SAF) included all participants, who were administered any dose of any study intervention.
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Mean | 43 ± 10 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Female | 4 |
| Male | 14 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 18 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Tepotinib and Itraconazole |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 |
| White | 17 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No — We are committed to enhancing public health through responsible sharing of clinical trial data. Following approval of a new product or a new indication for an approved product in both the US and the European Union, the study sponsor and/or its affiliated companies will share study protocols, anonymized patient data and study level data, and redacted clinical study reports with qualified scientific and medical researchers, upon request, as necessary for conducting legitimate research. Further information on how to request data can be found on our website bit.ly/IPD21
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Merck Healthcare KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, an affiliate of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany