CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT05126433JAZZ EMERGE201Updated Feb 28, 2025Results posted

Lurbinectedin Monotherapy in Participants With Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors

A Phase 2 interventional study of Lurbinectedin in Advanced Solid Tumor, Metastatic Solid Tumor and Urothelial Cancer, sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 17 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-28.

Sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Termination of this study was a business decision made during portfolio review.
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
47
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is an open-label, multicenter, phase 2 study of lurbinectedin monotherapy in participants with advanced (metastatic and/or unresectable) solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

This phase 2, multicenter, open-label study is designed to assess the safety and efficacy of lurbinectedin monotherapy in 3 cohorts of participants with high-unmet medical need: advanced (metastatic and/or unresectable) urothelial cancer (UC), poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinomas (PD-NEC), and a homologous recombination deficient-positive malignancies agnostic cohort.

02

Conditions studied

  • Advanced Solid Tumor
  • Metastatic Solid Tumor
  • Urothelial Cancer
  • Poorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas
  • Homologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic

Keywords

  • Lurbinectedin
  • Monotherapy
  • Urothelial cancer
  • Poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinomas
  • Homologous recombination deficient-positive malignancies agnostic
03

In context

Neoplasms

9,371 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasms; 2,492 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 47 is close to the median of 50 across 7,258 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasms.

Browse Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Jazz Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 167 studies on the registry; 20 are open to participants now.

Of its 39 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 28 (72%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Signed informed consent
  2. ≥ 18 years of age
  3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1
  4. Adequate organ and bone marrow function
  5. Has measurable disease per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1.
  6. Have advanced (metastatic/unresectable) cancers in one of the following:

    1. Histologically or cytologically confirmed urothelial cancer
    2. Histologically or cytologically confirmed poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinoma
    3. Histologically or cytologically confirmed homologous recombination deficient-positive malignancies agnostic, which may include endometrial, biliary tract, urothelial, breast (TNBC or HR+HER2- breast cancer), pancreas, gastric, or esophageal solid tumors with preidentified germline and/or somatic pathogenic mutation
  7. Adequate contraceptive precautions

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Known symptomatic central nervous system (CNS) metastasis requiring steroids
  2. History of prior malignancy within 2 years of enrollment
  3. Clinically significant cardiovascular disease
  4. Active infection requiring systemic therapy
  5. Significant non-neoplastic liver disease
  6. Prior treatment with trabectedin or lurbinectedin
  7. Treatment with an investigational agent within 4 weeks of enrollment
  8. Received live vaccine with 4 weeks of first dose
  9. Prior allogeneic bone marrow or solid organ transplant
  10. Positive hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection at screening
  11. Positive human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection at screening
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
47 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Urothelial Cancer Cohort

    Participants with advanced (metastatic and/or unresectable) urothelial carcinoma who have progressed on platinum-containing regimen (prior therapies may include but are not limited to immune checkpoint inhibitor, enformumab vendotin, or sacituzumab govitecan) will receive Lurbinectedin 3.2 mg/m\^2 intravenous (IV) on Day 1 of every 3 weeks (Q3W) cycle until confirmed disease progression, withdrawal of participant consent, participant lost to follow-up, unacceptable toxicity, or the study or individual cohort may be terminated by the sponsor for lack of efficacy signal or any other reason.

    Drug: Lurbinectedin

  • Experimental
    Poorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas Cohort

    Participants with advanced (metastatic and/or unresectable) poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinomas who received at least 1 prior line of therapy will receive Lurbinectedin 3.2 mg/m\^2 intravenous (IV) on Day 1 of every 3 weeks (Q3W) cycle until confirmed disease progression, withdrawal of participant consent, participant lost to follow-up, unacceptable toxicity, or the study or individual cohort may be terminated by the sponsor for lack of efficacy signal or any other reason.

    Drug: Lurbinectedin

  • Experimental
    Homologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic Cohort

    Participants with advanced (metastatic and/or unresectable) endometrial, biliary tract, urothelial, breast (TNBC or HR+HER2- breast cancer), pancreas, gastric, or esophageal solid tumors with preidentified germline and/or somatic pathogenic mutation and received at least 1 prior line of therapy will receive Lurbinectedin 3.2 mg/m\^2 intravenous (IV) on Day 1 of every 3 weeks (Q3W) cycle until confirmed disease progression, withdrawal of participant consent, participant lost to follow-up, unacceptable toxicity, or the study or individual cohort may be terminated by the sponsor for lack of efficacy signal or any other reason.

    Drug: Lurbinectedin

Interventions

  • DrugLurbinectedin

    Lurbinectedin 3.2 mg/m\^2 intravenous (IV) every 3 weeks (Q3W)

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

    The ORR is defined as the proportion of participants whose best overall response (BOR) is investigator-assessed confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) using the RECIST v1.1 criteria. BOR is defined as the best response recorded between the date of first dose and the date of objectively documented progression per RECIST v1.1, or the date of subsequent anticancer therapy, death due to any cause, loss to follow-up, or study discontinuation, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Investigator-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

    PFS is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of first documented disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks

  2. Investigator-Assessed Time-To-Response (TTR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

    TTR is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of the first confirmed response (complete response \[CR\] or partial response \[PR\]), as assessed by the investigators.

    Time frame: Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks

  3. Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

    DOR is defined as the time from the first confirmed response (complete response \[CR\] or partial response \[PR\]) to the date of the first documented tumor progression as determined using RECIST v1.1 criteria or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first

    Time frame: Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks

  4. Investigator-assessed Disease Control Rate (DCR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

    DCR is defined as the proportion of participants whose best overall response (BOR) is confirmed complete response (CR), or partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) using the RECIST v1.1 criteria.

    Time frame: Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks.

  5. Overall Survival (OS) in Participants Treated With Lurbinectedin

    OS is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of death from any cause. A participant who has not died will be censored at the last known alive date

    Time frame: Baseline and every 3 months, up to 16 months

07

Results

Posted Feb 28, 2025

Participant flow

A total of 47 participants who met all eligibility criteria were enrolled and received treatment were included

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Started151220
Completed000
Not completed151220
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject304
Withdrew: Death935
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor012
Withdrew: Progressive disease143
Withdrew: Sponsor decision- no further os follow up required246

Outcome measures

PrimaryInvestigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

The ORR is defined as the proportion of participants whose best overall response (BOR) is investigator-assessed confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) using the RECIST v1.1 criteria. BOR is defined as the best response recorded between the date of first dose and the date of objectively documented progression per RECIST v1.1, or the date of subsequent anticancer therapy, death due to any cause, loss to follow-up, or study discontinuation, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1
ParticipantsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1021
SecondaryInvestigator-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

PFS is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of first documented disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks
Reported as:
Median · months
Investigator-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1
monthsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.11.46 (0.89 to 3.32)2.07 (1.18 to 2.89)1.38 (1.35 to 2.79)
SecondaryInvestigator-Assessed Time-To-Response (TTR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

TTR is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of the first confirmed response (complete response \[CR\] or partial response \[PR\]), as assessed by the investigators.

Time frame:
Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks
Reported as:
Median · months
Investigator-Assessed Time-To-Response (TTR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1
monthsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Time-To-Response (TTR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1—2.76 (2.7 to 2.8)1.31
SecondaryInvestigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

DOR is defined as the time from the first confirmed response (complete response \[CR\] or partial response \[PR\]) to the date of the first documented tumor progression as determined using RECIST v1.1 criteria or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first

Time frame:
Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks
Reported as:
Median · months
Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1
monthsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1—5.67 (2.8 to 8.6)2.79
SecondaryInvestigator-assessed Disease Control Rate (DCR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1

DCR is defined as the proportion of participants whose best overall response (BOR) is confirmed complete response (CR), or partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) using the RECIST v1.1 criteria.

Time frame:
Baseline to disease progression or death, up to 36 weeks.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Investigator-assessed Disease Control Rate (DCR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1
ParticipantsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Investigator-assessed Disease Control Rate (DCR) as Assessed Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v.1.1457
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS) in Participants Treated With Lurbinectedin

OS is defined as the time from the first dosing date to the date of death from any cause. A participant who has not died will be censored at the last known alive date

Time frame:
Baseline and every 3 months, up to 16 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival (OS) in Participants Treated With Lurbinectedin
monthsUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
Overall Survival (OS) in Participants Treated With Lurbinectedin4.99 (0.92 to 14.52)NA (2.66 to NA)NA (2.89 to NA)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from the start of dosing of study drug up until 30 days after last study dose, up to approximately 10 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Urothelial Cancer (UC) Cohort9/15 (60%)9/15 (60%)15/15 (100%)
Poorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) Cohort3/12 (25%)3/12 (25%)12/12 (100%)
Homologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort5/20 (25%)8/20 (40%)19/20 (95%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 34
Most frequent serious events
EventUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
FatigueGeneral disorders0/150/122/20
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations1/150/122/20
Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders0/150/122/20
Cardiac ArrestCardiac disorders0/151/120/20
Mouth haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders0/151/120/20
PneumoniaInfections and infestations0/151/120/20
Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders0/151/120/20
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/150/120/20
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/150/120/20
Chest painGeneral disorders1/150/120/20
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 85
Most frequent other events
EventUrothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) Cohort
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders9/152/122/20
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders2/156/124/20
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/156/129/20
FatigueGeneral disorders6/156/128/20
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations7/151/126/20
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations6/151/123/20
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders4/152/127/20
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders2/154/123/20
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations3/154/125/20
Blood alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations5/154/122/20

Baseline characteristics

The baseline demographic characteristics were assessed in the Safety Analysis Set.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Urothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) CohortTotal
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years751123
>=65 years87924
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Urothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) CohortTotal
Female151218
Male147829
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Urothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) CohortTotal
Hispanic or Latino0213
Not Hispanic or Latino1591842
Unknown or Not Reported0112
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Urothelial Cancer (UC) CohortPoorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Carcinomas (PD-NEC) CohortHomologous Recombination Deficient-Positive Malignancies Agnostic (HRD) CohortTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian1102
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American1214
White1181736
More than one race1001
Unknown or Not Reported1124
08

Study locations

17 sites
  • Stanford Cancer Center
    Stanford, California 94305, United States
  • Eastern Connecticut Hematology and Oncology
    Norwich, Connecticut 06360, United States
  • Florida Cancer Specialists
    Fort Myers, Florida 33901, United States
  • Sarah Cannon, Florida Cancer Specialist
    Saint Petersburg, Florida 33705, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Pikeville Medical Center
    Pikeville, Kentucky 41501, United States
  • Dana Farber
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Oncology Hematology West, PC dba Nebraska Cancer Specialists
    Omaha, Nebraska 68124, United States
  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
    New York, New York 10029, United States
  • Levine Cancer Institute
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28203, United States
  • Sarah Cannon, Zangmeister Cancer Center
    Columbus, Ohio 43219, United States
  • University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • UPMC Hillman Cancer Center Investigational Drug Service
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Bon Secours Hematology and Oncology
    Greenville, South Carolina 29607, United States
  • Sarah Cannon, Tennesse Oncology
    Nashville, Tennessee 37203, United States
  • MD Anderson
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Inova Schar Cancer Institute
    Fairfax, Virginia 22031, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 6, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jan 19, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — In accordance with ICMJE requirements, Jazz Pharmaceuticals may provide qualified external researchers access to individual participant data (IPD) and clinical trial data that underlie the results of this trial upon request. Qualified researchers can submit a request on https://www.jazzpharma.com/science/clinical-trial-data-sharing/ as outlined. Jazz Pharmaceuticals reserves the right not to consider a request. For inquiries about Jazz's data sharing policy contact clinicaldatasharing@jazzpharma.com.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 28, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05126433
Lead sponsor
Jazz Pharmaceuticals
Collaborators
Jazz Pharmaceuticals Ireland Limited
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 19, 2021
Start date
Mar 3, 2022
Primary completion
Dec 20, 2023
Completion
Dec 20, 2023
Results posted
Feb 28, 2025
Last update
Feb 28, 2025

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion