A Phase 1 interventional study of LY3502970 and Esomeprazole in Healthy, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Completed at 1 site in United Kingdom. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 65 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-29.
Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 1, Interventional, and Basic science
The main purpose of this study is to assess how fast LY3502970 gets into the blood stream and how long it takes the body to remove it when administered in multiple oral doses as new formulation compared to that of reference LY3502970 formulation. Information about safety and tolerability will be collected. The study is open to healthy participants. The study is conducted in two parts and it will last up to about 6 months, inclusive of screening period.
Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,048 studies on the registry; 140 are open to participants now.
Of its 521 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 341 (65%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
* Dose Titration Phase/Fasted state (Day 1 to Day 18): Participants received single escalating doses of LY3502970 oral capsule every 6 days, starting with a dose of 2 milligrams (mg), increasing to 4 mg, then 8 mg, and reaching a maximum dose of 16 mg by Day 19. * Reference Phase/Fasted state (Day 19 to Day 24): Participants received 16 mg of LY3502970 reference oral capsule once daily (QD) * Test Phase/Fasted state (Day 25 to Day 36): On Day 25, participants were randomly assigned to receive 16 mg of LY3502970 QD, either as Prototype 1 tablet or Prototype 2 tablet, and continued through Day 30 (Test Phase 1). On Day 31, participants crossover to the other prototype formulation (i.e., those who initially received prototype 1 now receive prototype 2, and vice versa), continuing through Day 36 (Test Phase 2).
Drug: LY3502970
* Dose Titration Phase/Fasted state (Day 1 to Day 18): Participants received single escalating doses of LY3502970 oral capsule every 6 days, starting with a dose of 2 mg, increasing to 4 mg, then 8 mg, and reaching a maximum dose of 16 mg by Day 19. * Reference Phase/Fasted state (Day 19 to Day 24): Participants received 16 mg of LY3502970 prototype 2 tablet QD. * Test Phase 1/Fed state (Day 25 to Day 30): During this phase, participants were administered 16 mg of LY3502970 prototype 2 tablet QD. * Test Phase 2/Fasted state (Day 31 to Day 36): During this phase, participants were administered a PPI 40 mg Esomeprazole tablet first, followed by 16 mg of LY3502970 prototype 2 tablet QD. The PPI was administered to elevate gastric pH (potential of hydrogen), and PK (pharmacokinetic) parameters were evaluated under these elevated gastric pH conditions
Drug: LY3502970 · Drug: Esomeprazole
Administered orally.
Administered orally.
Part A: PK: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part A: Cmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
Part A: PK: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to 24 Hours Post-Dose (AUC(0-24)) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part A: AUC(0-24) of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
Part A: PK: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration (Tmax) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part A: Tmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
Part B: PK: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part B: Cmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
Part B: PK: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time 0 to 24 Hours Post-dose (AUC(0-24)) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part B: AUC(0-24) of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
Part B: PK: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration (Tmax) of LY3502970 Following Multiple Oral Doses of Prototype Formulations Compared to the Reference Formulation
Part B: Tmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
Time frame: Predose, 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 24 hours post-dose (Days 24, 30 and 36)
The study was conducted in 2 parts: Part A: This is the initial formulation evaluation phase, where multiple oral doses of LY3502970 formulation prototypes were tested in a group of participants. Part B: This is the secondary evaluation phase in another group of participants, where, depending on the results of Part A, one of the prototypes may be further evaluated with regard to the effects of food, proton pump inhibitors (PPIs), or additional prototype formulations may be explored.
| Milestone | Part A | Part B |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 12 | 14 |
| Received at least 1 dose of study drug (safety analyses set) | 12 | 14 |
| Completed | 10 | 12 |
| Not completed | 2 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 2 |
Part A: Cmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
| nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL) | Part A (LY3502970) |
|---|---|
| 16 mg reference capsule (Day 24) | 66.2 ± 77.4 |
| 16 mg prototype 1 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 111 ± 81.2 |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 97.4 ± 58.9 |
Part A: AUC(0-24) of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
| nanogram*hours per milliliter (ng*h/mL) | Part A (LY3502970) |
|---|---|
| 16 mg reference capsule (Day 24) | 988 ± 66.9 |
| 16 mg prototype 1 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 1480 ± 75.2 |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 1400 ± 51.2 |
Part A: Tmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following: 16 mg reference capsule on Day 24, 16 mg Prototype 1 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2), and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet administered on Day 30 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 1) and Day 36 (last/sixth dose of Test Phase 2).
| hours | Part A (LY3502970) |
|---|---|
| 16 mg reference capsule (Day 24) | 7.02 (4 to 8) |
| 16 mg prototype 1 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 8 (4 to 16) |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Days 30 and 36) | 8 (4 to 16) |
Part B: Cmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
| ng/mL | Part B |
|---|---|
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) (Day 24) | 63.4 ± 32.2 |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) (Day 30) | 56.3 ± 29.6 |
| 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) (Day 36) | 59.6 ± 51.0 |
Part B: AUC(0-24) of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
| ng*h/mL | Part B |
|---|---|
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) (Day 24) | 903 ± 25.3 |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) (Day 30) | 865 ± 24.6 |
| 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) (Day 36) | 956 ± 40.1 |
Part B: Tmax of LY3502970 following the multiple administrations (i.e., last/sixth dose) of prototype formulations and the reference formulation. This includes the following:16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) on Day 24, 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) administered on Day 30 and 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) administered on Day 36.
| hours | Part B |
|---|---|
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fasted) (Day 24) | 8.00 (4.00 to 12.00) |
| 16 mg prototype 2 tablet (Fed) (Day 30) | 7.00 (2.00 to 16.05) |
| 16 mg Prototype 2 tablet + PPI (Fasted) (Day 36) | 7.00 (4.00 to 12.00) |
Collected over Baseline to the end of follow-up (up to Day 53). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part A - 2 mg Capsule | 0/12 (0%) | 0/12 (0%) | 11/12 (91.7%) |
| Part A - 4 mg Capsule | 0/12 (0%) | 0/12 (0%) | 11/12 (91.7%) |
| Part A - 8 mg Capsule | 0/12 (0%) | 0/12 (0%) | 11/12 (91.7%) |
| Part A - 16 mg Capsule | 0/11 (0%) | 0/11 (0%) | 11/11 (100%) |
| Part A - 16 mg Prototype 1 Tablet | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 9/10 (90%) |
| Part A - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet | 0/10 (0%) | 0/10 (0%) | 8/10 (80%) |
| Part B - 2 mg Capsule | 0/14 (0%) | 0/14 (0%) | 13/14 (92.9%) |
| Part B - 4 mg Capsule | 0/14 (0%) | 0/14 (0%) | 12/14 (85.7%) |
| Part B - 8 mg Capsule | 0/14 (0%) | 0/14 (0%) | 13/14 (92.9%) |
| Part B -16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet/Fasted | 0/14 (0%) | 0/14 (0%) | 12/14 (85.7%) |
| Part B - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet/Fed | 0/12 (0%) | 0/12 (0%) | 8/12 (66.7%) |
| Part B - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet + PPI | 0/12 (0%) | 0/12 (0%) | 8/12 (66.7%) |
| Event | Part A - 2 mg Capsule | Part A - 4 mg Capsule | Part A - 8 mg Capsule | Part A - 16 mg Capsule | Part A - 16 mg Prototype 1 Tablet | Part A - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet | Part B - 2 mg Capsule | Part B - 4 mg Capsule | Part B - 8 mg Capsule | Part B -16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet/Fasted | Part B - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet/Fed | Part B - 16 mg Prototype 2 Tablet + PPI |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 7/12 | 6/12 | 6/12 | 8/11 | 5/10 | 6/10 | 7/14 | 3/14 | 3/14 | 4/14 | 3/12 | 1/12 |
| Weight decreasedInvestigations | 0/12 | 0/12 | 8/12 | 0/11 | 0/10 | 0/10 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 3/14 | 3/14 | 1/12 | 1/12 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 5/12 | 1/12 | 4/12 | 3/11 | 0/10 | 0/10 | 7/14 | 3/14 | 3/14 | 1/14 | 1/12 | 1/12 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 6/12 | 3/12 | 4/12 | 2/11 | 3/10 | 0/10 | 4/14 | 2/14 | 0/14 | 4/14 | 1/12 | 1/12 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 5/12 | 2/12 | 3/12 | 0/11 | 0/10 | 0/10 | 6/14 | 2/14 | 2/14 | 0/14 | 1/12 | 0/12 |
| Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders | 4/12 | 1/12 | 1/12 | 1/11 | 2/10 | 1/10 | 4/14 | 1/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 1/12 | 1/12 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 4/12 | 0/12 | 1/12 | 2/11 | 1/10 | 1/10 | 4/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 2/14 | 1/12 | 0/12 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/12 | 0/12 | 0/12 | 0/11 | 3/10 | 0/10 | 1/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 0/12 | 0/12 |
| DysgeusiaNervous system disorders | 0/12 | 0/12 | 2/12 | 1/11 | 3/10 | 0/10 | 1/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 0/12 | 0/12 |
| Abdominal discomfortGastrointestinal disorders | 0/12 | 1/12 | 2/12 | 2/11 | 0/10 | 0/10 | 0/14 | 0/14 | 3/14 | 3/14 | 1/12 | 0/12 |
All participants who received at least one dose of study drug.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Part A (LY3502970) | Part B (LY3502970) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 12 | 14 | 26 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Part A (LY3502970) | Part B (LY3502970) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Male | 9 | 13 | 22 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Part A (LY3502970) | Part B (LY3502970) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 12 | 14 | 26 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Part A (LY3502970) | Part B (LY3502970) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 11 | 14 | 25 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eli Lilly and Company