A Phase 3 interventional study of Simufilam and Placebo in Alzheimer Disease, sponsored by Cassava Sciences, Inc.. Completed at 88 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 50 Years to 87 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-05-25.
Sponsored by Cassava Sciences, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
A 52-week safety and efficacy study of simufilam (PTI-125) given twice daily to participants with mild-to-moderate Alzheimer's disease (AD) for 52 weeks. Approximately 750 participants will be randomized (1:1) to receive either placebo or 100 mg tablets of simufilam, twice daily, for 52 weeks. Clinic visits will occur 4 weeks after the baseline visit, and then every 12 weeks until the end of the study. The safety of simufilam, and its efficacy in enhancing cognition and slowing cognitive and functional decline will be evaluated.
The primary objective of this study is to investigate the safety and efficacy of simufilam (PTI-125) in enhancing cognition and slowing cognitive and functional decline following 52-week, repeat-dose oral administration in participants with mild-to-moderate AD. Secondary objectives include the assessment of simufilam's effect on neuropsychiatric symptoms and caregiver burden. A third objective is to investigate the effect of simufilam treatment on plasma biomarkers. A limited number of research sites will be invited to participate in the pharmacokinetic (PK) and plasma biomarker sub-study. Collection of PK samples will enable an exposure-response analysis. Approximately 100 subjects will participate (50 per group). Plasma samples will be collected during the Screening Visit and again at Weeks 28 and 52. Change from Baseline for plasma biomarkers represent additional secondary endpoints.
Safety will be evaluated by adverse event monitoring, vital signs, clinical labs, and the Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale at every visit. Subjects will undergo magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) during screening to ensure entry criteria are met (unless recent MRI confirms entry criteria). Resting electrocardiograms will be conducted at Baseline (Study Day 1) and Weeks 4, 28, and 52. A complete physical and neurological examination will be performed at screening, and brief examinations will be performed at all other visits. Weight will be measured during the Screening Period, at Baseline (Study Day 1), and at all other visits.
An independent Data Safety Monitoring Board (DSMB) will meet periodically to review subject safety assessments and determine if dosing may continue. A charter will be developed with specific guidance for the DSMB.
3,675 studies on the registry are indexed under Alzheimer Disease; 869 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 804 is above the median of 70 across 2,805 interventional studies indexed under Alzheimer Disease.
Browse Alzheimer Disease studies →Cassava Sciences, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 9 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 7 (78%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Key Inclusion Criteria:
Key Exclusion Criteria:
Matching placebo, supplied by Cassava as coated tablets, and taken twice daily (b.i.d.) for 52 weeks
Drug: Placebo
Simufilam 100 mg, supplied by Cassava as coated tablets, and taken b.i.d. for 52 weeks
Drug: Simufilam
Simufilam is a novel drug candidate designed to treat and slow the progression of AD. Simufilam binds with femtomolar affinity to an altered conformation of filamin A that is present in the brain of patients with AD and critical to the toxicity of Aβ42. In this study, simufilam will be given b.i.d. for 52 weeks at a dose of 100 mg.
Also known as: PTI-125
Matching placebo given b.i.d. for 52 weeks.
Change From Baseline in the 12-item Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog12)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ADAS-Cog12, a psychometrician-administered battery comprised of several cognitive domains including memory, comprehension, praxis, orientation, and spontaneous speech. Scores range from 0 (best) to 80 (worst).
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ADCS-ADL, a 23-item study partner questionnaire that covers both basic activities of daily living (ADL) and more complex ADL or instrumental ADL. Scores range from 0 to 78, with a lower score indicating greater severity of functional loss.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Integrated Alzheimer's Disease Rating Scale (iADRS)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the iADRS, where scores range from 0 to 146 with lower scores indicating worse performance.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Neuropsychiatric Inventory (NPI)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the NPI, a 12-item study partner interview, which records the frequency and severity of common neuropsychiatric symptoms in dementia, as well as the level of study partner distress due to each of the neuropsychiatric problems. Scores range from 0 to 144, with higher scores indicating more frequent and severe symptoms, and greater levels of partner distress.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Mini-Mental State Exam (MMSE)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the MMSE, a set of standardized questions covering several target areas: orientation, registration, attention and calculation, short-term verbal recall, naming, repetition, 3-step command, reading, writing, and visuospatial cognitive assessment. Scores range from 0 to 30, lower scores indicate more severe impairment.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Clinical Dementia Rating Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the CDR-SB, which characterizes 6 domains of cognitive and functional performance applicable to AD and related dementias: memory, orientation, judgment and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care. Scores for each domain have a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 3, and the 6 domain scores are summed to give the CDR-SB, which has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum score of 18. Higher scores indicate more severe impairment.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Change From Baseline in the Zarit Burden Interview (ZBI)
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ZBI, a 22-item study partner questionnaire designed to assess the stress or burden experienced by caregivers of people with dementia. Scores range from 0 to 88, with a higher score indicating greater stress or burden.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Changes From Baseline in Plasma Biomarkers
Change from baseline in the following plasma biomarkers of AD pathology, neurodegeneration, and neuroinflammation: phospho-tau217 (P-tau217), glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP), neurofilament light chain (NfL), and total tau.
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
Changes From Baseline in the Plasma SavaDx Biomarker
Change from baseline in SavaDx, a novel plasma biomarker
Time frame: Baseline (Study Day 1) to Week 52
| Milestone | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 403 | 401 |
| Completed | 310 | 325 |
| Not completed | 93 | 76 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 26 | 17 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 6 | 10 |
| Withdrew: Noncompliance with study drug | 8 | 5 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 5 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 41 | 38 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor requests subject to be withdrawn | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Met stopping criteria | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Randomized in error, not treated | 4 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Lack of a reliable study partner | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Met mri exclusion criteria | 0 | 1 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ADAS-Cog12, a psychometrician-administered battery comprised of several cognitive domains including memory, comprehension, praxis, orientation, and spontaneous speech. Scores range from 0 (best) to 80 (worst).
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the 12-item Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog12) | 2.79 ± 0.363 | 3.19 ± 0.359 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ADCS-ADL, a 23-item study partner questionnaire that covers both basic activities of daily living (ADL) and more complex ADL or instrumental ADL. Scores range from 0 to 78, with a lower score indicating greater severity of functional loss.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study - Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL) | -3.26 ± 0.442 | -3.76 ± 0.438 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the iADRS, where scores range from 0 to 146 with lower scores indicating worse performance.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Integrated Alzheimer's Disease Rating Scale (iADRS) | -5.53 ± 0.605 | -6.49 ± 0.598 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the NPI, a 12-item study partner interview, which records the frequency and severity of common neuropsychiatric symptoms in dementia, as well as the level of study partner distress due to each of the neuropsychiatric problems. Scores range from 0 to 144, with higher scores indicating more frequent and severe symptoms, and greater levels of partner distress.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Neuropsychiatric Inventory (NPI) | 0.54 ± 0.588 | 0.90 ± 0.579 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the MMSE, a set of standardized questions covering several target areas: orientation, registration, attention and calculation, short-term verbal recall, naming, repetition, 3-step command, reading, writing, and visuospatial cognitive assessment. Scores range from 0 to 30, lower scores indicate more severe impairment.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Mini-Mental State Exam (MMSE) | -1.95 ± 0.223 | -2.14 ± 0.221 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the CDR-SB, which characterizes 6 domains of cognitive and functional performance applicable to AD and related dementias: memory, orientation, judgment and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care. Scores for each domain have a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 3, and the 6 domain scores are summed to give the CDR-SB, which has a minimum score of 0 and a maximum score of 18. Higher scores indicate more severe impairment.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Clinical Dementia Rating Sum of Boxes (CDR-SB) | 1.04 ± 0.138 | 0.85 ± 0.136 |
The change from baseline to Week 52 in the ZBI, a 22-item study partner questionnaire designed to assess the stress or burden experienced by caregivers of people with dementia. Scores range from 0 to 88, with a higher score indicating greater stress or burden.
| score on a scale | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Zarit Burden Interview (ZBI) | 2.52 ± 0.556 | 2.30 ± 0.551 |
Change from baseline in the following plasma biomarkers of AD pathology, neurodegeneration, and neuroinflammation: phospho-tau217 (P-tau217), glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP), neurofilament light chain (NfL), and total tau.
| pg/mL | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| P-tau217 | 1.0 ± 6.56 | -0.4 ± 9.77 |
| GFAP | 2.0 ± 57.39 | 40.2 ± 255.14 |
| NfL | 69.3 ± 373.43 | 17.5 ± 96.73 |
| Total tau | 5.5 ± 35.62 | -2.2 ± 41.98 |
Change from baseline in SavaDx, a novel plasma biomarker
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Collected over Up to 54 weeks after subjects took their first dose of study drug, or until resolution or stabilization of any AEs ongoing at the end of the study.. Non-serious events are listed at a 2% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Simufilam 100 mg | 1/399 (0.3%) | 52/399 (13%) | 161/399 (40.4%) |
| Placebo | 3/398 (0.8%) | 36/398 (9%) | 140/398 (35.2%) |
| Event | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Hip fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 7/399 | 1/398 |
| SyncopeNervous system disorders | 4/399 | 2/398 |
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 4/399 | 1/398 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 2/399 | 3/398 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 3/399 | 1/398 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 3/399 | 0/398 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 2/399 | 2/398 |
| Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders | 0/399 | 2/398 |
| PresyncopeNervous system disorders | 0/399 | 2/398 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 2/399 | 2/398 |
| Event | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 29/399 | 35/398 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 30/399 | 28/398 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 29/399 | 27/398 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 21/399 | 1/398 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 18/399 | 11/398 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 16/399 | 16/398 |
| AnxietyPsychiatric disorders | 14/399 | 9/398 |
| DepressionPsychiatric disorders | 10/399 | 11/398 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 11/399 | 11/398 |
| Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 11/399 | 8/398 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 73.72 ± 7.911 | 74.31 ± 7.555 | 74.02 ± 7.737 |
| Age, Customized(Participants) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <65 years | 62 | 47 | 109 |
| 65 to 74 years | 126 | 133 | 259 |
| ≥75 years | 215 | 221 | 436 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 225 | 222 | 447 |
| Male | 178 | 179 | 357 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 62 | 51 | 113 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 334 | 341 | 675 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 7 | 9 | 16 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Asian | 8 | 2 | 10 |
| Black or African American | 20 | 18 | 38 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| White | 366 | 376 | 742 |
| Other | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| Multiple | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Not reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Unknown | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Simufilam 100 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | 31 | 21 | 52 |
| United States | 336 | 355 | 691 |
| Australia | 36 | 25 | 61 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in May 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Cassava Sciences, Inc.