CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04865731Updated Aug 6, 2025Results posted

Dermaprazole Cream for Radiation Dermatitis in Head and Neck Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Dermaprazole and Aquaphor in Cancer of the Head and Neck, sponsored by The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-08-06.

Sponsored by The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
6
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

In this study, the study team seek to conduct a pilot clinical study to evaluate the safety and efficacy of a reformulated proton pump inhibitor (PPI) cream (Dermaprazole) in definitive head and neck cancer (HNC) patients.

02

Conditions studied

  • Cancer of the Head and Neck
03

In context

Head and Neck Neoplasms

2,344 studies on the registry are indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms; 552 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 6 is below the median of 47 across 1,751 interventional studies indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms.

Browse Head and Neck Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio is the lead sponsor of 435 studies on the registry; 88 are open to participants now.

Of its 62 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 31 (50%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients with head and neck malignancy (including radiation therapy to primary head cancers of any histology and/or neck lymphatics, excluding brain malignancies)
  • Biopsy proven diagnosis of head and neck malignancy
  • Planned to receive definitive chemoradiation of at least 66Gy
  • Age 18 years or older
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0 - 2
  • Written Informed Consent
  • History and Physical within 12 weeks of enrollment

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Prior head and neck radiotherapy
  • Neoadjuvant chemotherapy
  • Any serious medical condition or illness that would preclude the safe administration of the trial treatment including, but not limited to, active infection, symptomatic heart failure, unstable angina, psychiatric illness or social situations that would limit compliance with treatment
  • Currently taking proton pump inhibitors. Eligible if discontinues with physician approval.
  • Lack of concurrent chemotherapy
  • Open wound at time of simulation
  • Known autoimmune, connective tissue, or skin disorder; or other theoretical radiosensitivity to include bullous pemphigoid, dermatomyositis, lupus of the skin and scleroderma
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Single (Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
6 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Dermaprazole

    30 HNC patients who will be using Dermaprazole twice daily for 7 weeks

    Drug: Dermaprazole

  • Active comparator
    Aquaphor

    15 HNC patients using Aquaphor, the current clinical standard of care

    Drug: Aquaphor

Interventions

  • DrugDermaprazole

    Patients will be managed with twice daily prophylactic use of the proposed intervention (Dermaprazole) topical cream for radiation dermatitis. The amount of cream will be 2cc per application and will be measured in pre-filled capped syringes for every application.

    Also known as: esomeprazole

  • DrugAquaphor

    Patients will be managed with twice daily prophylactic use of Aquaphor. The amount of Aquaphor will be 2cc per application and will be measured in pre-filled capped syringes for every application.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Rates of Clinically Significant Radiation Dermatitis as Defined as NCI CTCAE Version 5 Grade 2 or Higher

    Number of radiation dermatitis adverse events defined by the NCI CTCAE version 5 that are graded as 2 or higher

    Time frame: 15 months

07

Results

Posted Aug 6, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDermaprazoleAquaphor
Started42
Completed10
Not completed32
Withdrew: Physician decision21
Withdrew: Adverse event10
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject01

Outcome measures

PrimaryRates of Clinically Significant Radiation Dermatitis as Defined as NCI CTCAE Version 5 Grade 2 or Higher

Number of radiation dermatitis adverse events defined by the NCI CTCAE version 5 that are graded as 2 or higher

Time frame:
15 months
Reported as:
Number · Number of events
Rates of Clinically Significant Radiation Dermatitis as Defined as NCI CTCAE Version 5 Grade 2 or Higher
Number of eventsDermaprazoleAquaphor
Rates of Clinically Significant Radiation Dermatitis as Defined as NCI CTCAE Version 5 Grade 2 or Higher31

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline to 15 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Dermaprazole0/4 (0%)0/4 (0%)4/4 (100%)
Aquaphor0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)2/2 (100%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 32
Most frequent other events
EventDermaprazoleAquaphor
Dermatitis radiationSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders4/42/2
Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders3/42/2
DysgeusiaGastrointestinal disorders4/41/2
FatigueGeneral disorders4/41/2
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders4/42/2
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/42/2
Sore throatRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/41/2
Allergic reactionImmune system disorders0/42/2
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders3/41/2
Weight lossGastrointestinal disorders3/41/2

Baseline characteristics

Participants receiving radiation therapy

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)DermaprazoleAquaphorTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years314
>=65 years112
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)DermaprazoleAquaphorTotal
Female202
Male224
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DermaprazoleAquaphorTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino426
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DermaprazoleAquaphorTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White224
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported202
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)DermaprazoleAquaphorTotal
United States426
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Mays Cancer Center
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 22, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Undecided

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 6, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04865731
Lead sponsor
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 29, 2021
Start date
Jun 15, 2022
Primary completion
Jun 18, 2024
Completion
Jun 18, 2024
Results posted
Aug 6, 2025
Last update
Aug 6, 2025

Study contacts

Shraddha Dalwadi, MD
principal investigator · The University of Texas Health Science Center - Mays Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion