ClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04793711Updated Aug 28, 2024Results posted

EpiCeram for Skin Protection in Healthcare Workers

An interventional study of EpiCeram in Irritant Contact Dermatitis, sponsored by Primus Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-08-28.

Sponsored by Primus Pharmaceuticals · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Unable to find willing participants.
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
1
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is an open-label study using a device currently prescribed by doctors. This means everyone involved in the study will know the name of the product, only one product will be used, and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved the sale of this product. Although this is called a device, the product is an emollient-type lotion.

Healthcare workers (HCW) often suffer from signs and symptoms of skin irritation, including pain, redness, roughness, dryness, cracking and itching due to the extensive use of personal protective equipment (PPE) such as masks and gloves. These are thought to be due to changes in the normal skin barrier function induced by repeated minor abrasion in the warm, moist environment induced by extensive use of PPE required at work. EpiCeram Controlled Skin Barrier Emulsion (EpiCeram) is a prescription skin barrier repair product containing ingredients designed to improve skin barrier function. However, EpiCeram has not previously been studied in people with skin irritation due to extensive use of PPE.

This study was terminated after 1 (one) subject was enrolled due to the inability to find willing participants.

Read the detailed description

At the screening visit, the study will be explained, and the participant will have the opportunity to ask questions. If the participant decides to enroll, they will have to read, sign and date this Informed Consent Document. The study staff will take the participants pertinent medical history to evaluate eligibility. The participant will be asked about the kind of skin products they are using as well as about use of PPE. Visit 2 activities may be performed at the Screening visit.

Participants will return to the study site one (1) week later and 28-days later to have Photographs, Skin Function Testing, and Laboratory Testing performed. The participant will be asked to avoid applying any skin products (except make-up) to the skin for the following week and for the duration of the study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Irritant Contact Dermatitis

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • dermatitis
  • PPE
  • healthcare workers
03

In context

Dermatitis

1,425 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis; 127 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 64 across 1,124 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis.

Browse Dermatitis studies →

Lead sponsor

Primus Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 20 studies on the registry; 3 are open to participants now.

Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (83%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  1. HCW using PPE at least 6 hours/day, 4 days/week or, depending on shift work, 24 hours/week, for at least one (1) month
  2. Men or women, any age
  3. Overall skin irritation score of at least 4 on 0-10 scale where 0 = none and 10 = worst
  4. Willing to stop use of any other emollient and lotion for one (1) week between screening and baseline visit and for the duration of the study.
  5. Participant is willing to stop use of or not begin use of any topical corticosteroids, emollients and lotions to the hands and face for the duration of the trial.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. History of any skin disorder existing prior to March 1, 2020 characterized by chronic visible lesions or skin irritation symptoms including, but not limited to atopic dermatitis, eczema, moderate-severe acne, chronic dry skin and psoriasis.
  2. Use of topical corticosteroids within one (1) month of baseline visit.
  3. History of any significant medical condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, might put the subject at risk in this trial.
  4. Participation in another clinical trial within 30 days or 5 half-lives of the study agent, whichever is longer.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
1 participant (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    EpiCeram

    Open-Label, 3 (three) times per day, topical, to hands and face, for 28 days.

    Device: EpiCeram

Interventions

  • DeviceEpiCeram

    protective emollient

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Overall Skin Irritation Symptoms

    A subjective assessment by the subject of combined, overall irritation of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  2. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Pain

    A subjective assessment by the subject of pain of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  3. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Redness

    A subjective assessment by the subject of redness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  4. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Dryness

    A subjective assessment by the subject of dryness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  5. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Cracking

    A subjective assessment by the subject of cracking of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  6. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Roughness

    A subjective assessment by the subject of roughness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  7. Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Itching

    A subjective assessment by the subject of itching of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Surface Skin pH

    A portable pH meter together with a combination pH electrode was used to measure pH on skin. An increase in value indicates a better result.

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  2. Change in Transepidermal Water Loss on Skin

    A light source wand was used to measure the outcome on skin of the dominant hand. Values were measured from 0 to 80 grams of water per square meter per hour; where 0 is equal to a very low level of water loss and 80 is the highest amount of water loss measured. An decrease in value indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

  3. Change in Stratum Corneum Hydration on Skin

    A light source wand was used to measure the outcome on skin of the dominant hand. Values were measured from 0 to 80; where 0 is equal to a very low level of hydration and 80 is the highest amount of hydration measured. An increase in value indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline to Day 28

07

Results

Posted Nov 2, 2022
Limitations and caveats
Early termination of the study after one subject, limited results and analysis.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneEpiCeram
Started1
Completed1
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Overall Skin Irritation Symptoms

A subjective assessment by the subject of combined, overall irritation of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Overall Skin Irritation Symptoms
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Overall Skin Irritation Symptoms1 (1 to 1)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Pain

A subjective assessment by the subject of pain of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Pain
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Pain-2 (-2 to -2)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Redness

A subjective assessment by the subject of redness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Redness
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Redness0 (0 to 0)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Dryness

A subjective assessment by the subject of dryness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Dryness
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Dryness-1 (-1 to -1)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Cracking

A subjective assessment by the subject of cracking of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Cracking
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Cracking-1 (-1 to -1)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Roughness

A subjective assessment by the subject of roughness of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Roughness
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Roughness-1 (-1 to -1)
PrimaryChange in Patient Reported Outcome of Itching

A subjective assessment by the subject of itching of face and hands using an ordinal scale of 0-10 where 0 = none and 10 = worst

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Itching
score on a scaleActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Patient Reported Outcome of Itching-1 (-1 to -1)
SecondaryChange in Surface Skin pH

A portable pH meter together with a combination pH electrode was used to measure pH on skin. An increase in value indicates a better result.

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · unitless
Change in Surface Skin pH
unitlessActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Surface Skin pH0.04 (0.04 to 0.04)
SecondaryChange in Transepidermal Water Loss on Skin

A light source wand was used to measure the outcome on skin of the dominant hand. Values were measured from 0 to 80 grams of water per square meter per hour; where 0 is equal to a very low level of water loss and 80 is the highest amount of water loss measured. An decrease in value indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · grams of water per square meter per hour
Change in Transepidermal Water Loss on Skin
grams of water per square meter per hourActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Transepidermal Water Loss on Skin14 (14 to 14)
SecondaryChange in Stratum Corneum Hydration on Skin

A light source wand was used to measure the outcome on skin of the dominant hand. Values were measured from 0 to 80; where 0 is equal to a very low level of hydration and 80 is the highest amount of hydration measured. An increase in value indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline to Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · arbitrary units
Change in Stratum Corneum Hydration on Skin
arbitrary unitsActive Arm Epiceram
Change in Stratum Corneum Hydration on Skin0 (0 to 0)

Adverse events

Collected over Screening through Day 28. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Active Arm EpiCeram0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Active Arm EpiCeram
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years1
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Active Arm EpiCeram
Female1
Male0
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Active Arm EpiCeram
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino1
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Active Arm EpiCeram
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White1
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Overall Irritation Score
Overall Irritation Score(units on a scale)Active Arm EpiCeram
Mean7
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Sun Valley Arthritis Center
    Peoria, Arizona 85381, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 1, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reached

Ran from Mar 2021 to primary completion in Jul 2021, 3 months.

Results were first posted in Nov 2022, 1 year 4 months after primary completion.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Mar 8, 2021
First posted
Mar 11, 2021
StartActual
Mar 15, 2021
Primary completionActual
Jul 1, 2021
CompletionActual
Jul 1, 2021
Results first posted
Nov 2, 2022
Last update
Aug 28, 2024
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 28, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04793711
Lead sponsor
Primus Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 11, 2021
Start date
Mar 15, 2021
Primary completion
Jul 1, 2021
Completion
Jul 1, 2021
Results posted
Nov 2, 2022
Last update
Aug 28, 2024

Study contacts

Robert Levy, MD
study director · Director of Clinical Development

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion