CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04784559NeptunoUpdated Feb 21, 2025Results posted

Trial to Determine the Efficacy/Safety of Plitidepsin vs Control in Patients With Moderate COVID-19 Infection

A Phase 3 interventional study of Plitidepsin and Dexamethasone in COVID-19 Infection, sponsored by PharmaMar. Terminated at 28 sites in 8 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-21.

Sponsored by PharmaMar · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Sponsor has decided to end the study prematurely based on significant difficulties in the recruitment of patients, despite the implementation of corrective measures that still failed to increase the accrual rate required for a feasible completion.
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
205
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Treatment of patients hospitalised for management of moderate COVID-19 infection

Read the detailed description

This is a multicentre, open-label, controlled Phase 3 study in which adults requiring hospital admission and O2 supplementation for management of moderate COVID-19 infection will be randomised in 1:1:1 to: Plitidepsin 1.5 mg arm, Plitidepsin 2.5 mg arm and Control arm

02

Conditions studied

03

In context

Infections

6,687 studies on the registry are indexed under Infections; 807 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 205 is above the median of 120 across 4,200 interventional studies indexed under Infections.

Browse Infections studies →

Lead sponsor

PharmaMar is the lead sponsor of 50 studies on the registry; 5 are open to participants now.

Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 3 (60%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Signed informed consent obtained prior to initiation of any study-specific procedures and study treatment.
  2. Documented diagnosis of SARS-CoV-2 infection, determined by either qualitative polymerase chain reaction (PCR), antigen test by local laboratory, or any other validated method approved by the local health authority, from appropriate biological samples collected no more than 72 hours prior to study treatment on Day 1.
  3. Patient meets category 5 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale: requires hospitalisation and oxygen by mask or nasal prongs/cannula.
  4. A maximum of 14 days from onset of COVID-19 symptoms to initiation of study treatment on Day 1.
  5. Male or female aged ≥18 years.
  6. Adequate bone marrow, liver, kidney, and metabolic function, defined by the following tests performed at local laboratory:

    • Absolute neutrophil count ≥500/mm\^3 (0.5 x 10\^9/L).
    • Platelet count ≥75,000/mm\^3 (75 x 10\^9/L).
    • Alanine transaminase (ALT), aspartate transaminase (AST) ≤3 x upper limit of normal (ULN).
    • Serum bilirubin ≤1 x ULN (or direct bilirubin \<1 x ULN when total bilirubin is above ULN).
    • Calculated creatinine clearance ≥30 mL/min (Cockcroft-Gault equation).
    • Creatine phosphokinase (CPK) ≤2.5 x ULN except if the patient has had recent (i.e., in the last week) shivering episodes or trauma. In that case, the level of CPK should be ≤5 x ULN.
  7. Agree not to participate in another interventional clinical trial through Day 31.
  8. Females of reproductive capacity must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test by local laboratory at study enrolment and must be non-lactating.
  9. Females and males with partners of child-bearing potential must use effective contraception while on study treatment and for 6 months after last dose of plitidepsin. Patients in the control arm must use effective contraception during the time indicated in the approved product information (summary of product characteristics [SmPC] or leaflet). If no information is available in the approved product information, patients in the control arm must use effective contraception for at least one week after the study completion or the time indicated based on the investigator's discretion.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Subjects with a pre-baseline (i.e., in the month preceding the current COVID-19 infection) impairment in general health condition for whatever reason except COVID-19, with a severe dependency for daily living activities (Barthel index ≤ 60/100) or chronic oxygen therapy.
  2. Having received treatment for COVID-19 in another clinical trial in the prior 4 weeks, except documented allocation in a placebo arm.
  3. Evidence of respiratory failure at the time of randomisation, based on resource utilisation requiring at least one of the following: endotracheal intubation and mechanical ventilation, oxygen delivered by high-flow nasal cannula, non-invasive positive pressure ventilation, ECMO, or clinical diagnosis of respiratory failure (i.e., clinical need for one of the aforementioned therapies, which could not be administered in a resource-limited setting).
  4. Patients with severe COVID-19, meeting score >5 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale or presenting, after an initial stabilisation prior to randomisation, any of clinical signs indicative of severe systemic illness, such as respiratory rate ≥30 per minute, heart rate ≥125 per minute, or PaO2/FiO2 \<300. In case a direct measure of PaO2 has not been obtained, it should be imputed according to a referenced formula. For sites located over 1000 m above sea level, PaO2/FiO2 ratio will be adjusted.
  5. Patients receiving, at randomisation, treatment with antiviral therapy against SARS-CoV-2 or requiring anti-inflammatory/immunomodulating drugs beyond glucocorticoids with the exceptions listed below:

    • Prior administration of dexamethasone or equivalent glucocorticoid might be acceptable if:

      1. The total daily dose is not higher than 10 mg of dexamethasone phosphate (equivalent to dexamethasone base 8.25 mg/day) or equivalent glucocorticoids.
      2. The duration of the treatment does not exceed 72 hours prior to study treatment Day 1.
    • Prior administration of dexamethasone or equivalent glucocorticoid might be acceptable if:

      1. The total daily dose is not higher than 10 mg of dexamethasone phosphate (equivalent to dexamethasone base 8.25 mg/day) or equivalent glucocorticoids.
      2. The duration of the treatment does not exceed 72 hours prior to study treatment Day 1.
    • Prior administration of an antiviral might be acceptable in the following circumstances:

      1. For small molecules (e.g., remdesivir, molnupiravir, nirmaltrevir/ritonavir), they must have been given for an earlier stage of the disease, outside a clinical trial, and there should be a documentation of objective clinical deterioration plus evidence of persisting positivity for SARS-CoV-2 in appropriate biological samples. Last dose of previous antiviral drugs should have been administered at least 24 h before randomisation.
      2. For antiviral monoclonal antibodies, they must have been given for an earlier stage of the disease (including pre-exposure prophylaxis), outside a clinical trial, and there should be a documentation of objective clinical deterioration plus evidence of persisting positivity for SARS-CoV-2 in appropriate biological samples. Last dose of antiviral monoclonal antibodies should have been administered at least 1 week before randomisation.
  6. Patients receiving treatment with chloroquine or derivatives within 8 weeks before enrolment or during the study.
  7. Patients receiving treatment with strong cytochrome P450 3A4 (CYP3A4) inhibitors or inducers.
  8. Viral illness (other than COVID-19) requiring therapy, except for patients with treated and adequately controlled (undetectable) human immunodeficiency virus infection.
  9. Patients with uncontrolled known primary or secondary immunodeficiency, including chronic treatment with glucocorticoids (i.e., prednisone at a daily dose of >10 mg for >1 month, or another glucocorticoid at equipotent dose).
  10. Any of the following cardiac conditions or risk factors:

    • Sinus bradycardia (\<50 beats/min), sinus nodal dysfunction (sick sinus disease), atrioventricular block of any degree (PR >200 msec), or any other bradyarrhythmia (\<50 beats/min), except for patients with permanent pacemakers;
    • Cardiac infarction, cardiac surgery or cardiac insufficiency episode within the last 6 months;
    • Known abnormal value of left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF \<low limit of normal (LLN)), unless documented confirmation of recovery (LVEF >LLN) in the previous month;
    • QT interval corrected using Fridericia's formula (QTcF) >450 msec for males or >470 msec for females;
    • History of known congenital or acquired QT prolongation;
    • Uncorrected hypokalaemia, hypocalcaemia (adjusted) and/or hypomagnesemia at screening;
    • Troponin test performed at local laboratory >1.5 x ULN; or
    • Need for an unreplaceable drug that prolongs QT and it is clearly associated with a known risk for torsades de pointes (TdP); in case of being already on treatment with these aforementioned drugs, a minimum of 4 half-lives of the drug is required before replacement (if feasible).
  11. Hypersensitivity to the active ingredient or any of the excipients (mannitol, macrogolglycerol hydroxystearate, and ethanol) or patients for whom dexamethasone, antihistamine H1/H2 or antiserotoninergic agents are contraindicated.
  12. Females who are pregnant (negative serum or urine pregnancy test required for all females of child-bearing potential at screening) or breast feeding.
  13. Females and males with partners of child-bearing potential (females who are not surgically sterile or postmenopausal defined as amenorrhea for >12 months) who are not using at least 1 protocol specified method of contraception.
  14. Any other clinically significant medical condition (including major surgery within the last 3 weeks before screening) or laboratory abnormality that, in the opinion of the investigator, would jeopardise the safety of the patient or potentially impact on patient compliance or the safety/efficacy observations in the study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
205 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Plitidepsin 1.5 mg arm

    Patients will receive plitidepsin 1.5 mg/day intravenous (IV) in addition to dexamethasone on days 1 to 3.

    Drug: Plitidepsin · Drug: Dexamethasone

  • Experimental
    Plitidepsin 2.5 mg arm

    Patients will receive plitidepsin 2.5 mg/day IV in addition to dexamethasone on days 1 to 3.

    Drug: Plitidepsin · Drug: Dexamethasone

  • Active comparator
    Control arm

    Patients will receive dexamethasone IV on Days 1 to 3. Additionally, in accordance with local treatment guidelines, patients in this group may receive a regulatory-approved antiviral treatment.

    Drug: Dexamethasone · Drug: Remdesivir · Drug: Favipiravir

Interventions

  • DrugPlitidepsin

    Plitidepsin 2 mg powder is provided as a sterile, preservative-free, and white to off-white lyophilised powder/cake comprising 2 mg plitidepsin and mannitol in a single-dose, 10 mL clear type 1 glass vial. Solvent for plitidepsin is provided as a sterile, preservative-free, clear, slightly viscous aqueous liquid (4 mL) containing macrogolglycerol ricinoleate and ethanol in a single-dose type 1 clear glass ampoule. For administration, vial contents are reconstituted by addition of 4 mL of solvent for plitidepsin to obtain a slightly yellowish solution containing 0.5 mg/mL plitidepsin with mannitol, macrogolglycerol ricinoleate and ethanol excipients. The required amount of plitidepsin reconstituted solution is added to bag containing 0.9% sodium chloride or 5% glucose for IV injection and administered as an IV infusion over 60 minutes.

  • DrugDexamethasone

    Detailed information about the formulation, posology, packaging and labelling, storage, and manufacturer is provided in the current country-specific product information. The summary of product characteristics (SmPC) and/or leaflet provides detailed product information for investigators in the European Union and/or in other regions.

  • DrugRemdesivir

    Detailed information about the formulation, posology, packaging and labelling, storage, and manufacturer is provided in the current country-specific product information. The summary of product characteristics (SmPC) and/or leaflet provides detailed product information for investigators in the European Union and/or in other regions.

  • DrugFavipiravir

    Detailed information about the formulation, posology, packaging and labelling, storage, and manufacturer is provided in the current country-specific product information. The summary of product characteristics (SmPC) and/or leaflet provides detailed product information for investigators in the European Union and/or in other regions.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Time to Sustained Withdrawal of Supplementary Oxygen With no Subsequent Reutilisation During Remaining Study Period

    Time to sustained withdrawal of oxygen supplementation (in days) with no subsequent reutilisation during remaining study period is defined as the first day, from randomisation through completion of the study, on which a patient i. satisfies categories 0 to 4 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale, and ii. has no subsequent reutilisation of oxygen supplementation (5 to 10 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale). The WHO clinical progression scale provides a measure of illness severity across a range from 0 (uninfected) to 10 (dead).

    Time frame: From administration date to Day 31(±3)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Time to Sustained (i.e., With no Subsequent Readmission to Day 31) Hospital Discharge (Since Randomisation).

    Time to sustained (i.e., with no subsequent readmission to Day 31) hospital discharge (since randomization)

    Time frame: From administration date to Day 31(±3)

  2. Clinical Status by the 11-category WHO Clinical Progression Scale on Day 8

    The WHO clinical progression scale provides a measure of illness severity across a range from 0 (uninfected) to 10 (dead). 0 = Uninfected; no viral RNA detected 1. = Ambulatory mild disease. Asymptomatic; viral RNA detected 2. = Ambulatory mild disease. Symptomatic; independent 3. = Ambulatory mild disease. Symptomatic; assistance needed 4. = Hospitalized: moderate disease. Hospitalized; no oxygen therapy 5. = Hospitalized: moderate disease. Hospitalized; oxygen by mask or nasal prongs 6. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Hospitalized; oxygen by NIV or high flow 7. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Intubation and mechanical ventilation pO2/FIO2 \> 150 or SpO2/FIO2 \> 200 8. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Mechanical ventilation pO2 /FIO2 \<150 (SpO2 /FiO2 \<200) or vasopressors 9. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Mechanical ventilation pO2 /FiO2 \<150 and vasopressors, dialysis, or ECMO 10. = dead

    Time frame: Day 8 (±1)

  3. Total Duration of Advanced Oxygen Support

    Total duration of advanced oxygen support (high-flow nasal oxygen, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation -ECMO-, non-invasive ventilation or mechanical ventilation).

    Time frame: From administration date to Day 31(±3)

  4. Number of Participants in Each Study Group Requiring Admission to ICU

    Number of participants in each study group requiring admission to intensive care unit

    Time frame: Day 4, Day 8(±1) , Day 15(±1) and Day 31(±3)

  5. Frequency of Adverse Events

    Adverse Event Types according to the National Cancer Institute \[NCI\]-Common Terminology Criteria for AEs (CTCAE v.5.0): The number of participants who experienced treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are presented.

    Time frame: From administration date to Day 31(±3)

  6. Frequency of TEAEs of ≥Grade 3 According to NCI-CTCAE for Adverse Events (Version 5.0), TEAEs of Special Interest, Serious TEAEs, Serious Treatment-related TEAEs, TEAEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, and Deaths

    Frequency of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) of ≥grade 3 according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE, version 5.0), TEAEs of special interest, serious TEAEs, serious treatment-related TEAEs, TEAEs leading to treatment discontinuation, and deaths

    Time frame: From administration date to Day 31(±3)

07

Results

Posted Feb 21, 2025
Limitations and caveats
The decision was made by the sponsor on 31 January 2023 to prematurely end the study (early termination) based on significant difficulties in the recruitment of patients, despite the implementation of corrective measures.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Started687067
Completed606461
Not completed866
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject321
Withdrew: Death212
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up002
Withdrew: Participant worsened, pi decision100
Withdrew: Participant deterioration becoming a candidate for treatment with tzb100
Withdrew: Participant admitted in other hospital due to a serious adverse event100
Withdrew: Did not meet all inclusion criteria010
Withdrew: The participant was transferred to ircu010
Withdrew: Sae010
Withdrew: Discontinued as was found to be ineligible001

Outcome measures

PrimaryTime to Sustained Withdrawal of Supplementary Oxygen With no Subsequent Reutilisation During Remaining Study Period

Time to sustained withdrawal of oxygen supplementation (in days) with no subsequent reutilisation during remaining study period is defined as the first day, from randomisation through completion of the study, on which a patient i. satisfies categories 0 to 4 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale, and ii. has no subsequent reutilisation of oxygen supplementation (5 to 10 on the 11-point WHO Clinical Progression Scale). The WHO clinical progression scale provides a measure of illness severity across a range from 0 (uninfected) to 10 (dead).

Time frame:
From administration date to Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Median · Days
Time to Sustained Withdrawal of Supplementary Oxygen With no Subsequent Reutilisation During Remaining Study Period
DaysPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Time to Sustained Withdrawal of Supplementary Oxygen With no Subsequent Reutilisation During Remaining Study Period5 (4 to 7)5 (4 to 6)7 (6 to 8)
Statistical analysis
  • Plitidepsin 2.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · Log Rank · p = 0.8751 (Unadjusted 2-sided p-value, for multiplicity adjustment uses the Hochberg step-up procedure) · Hazard ratio (hr): 1.06 · 95% CI 0.727 to 1.53Stratified Cox proportional-hazards regression model, including the fixed effect of the treatment group and levels of the randomisation stratification factors,
  • Plitidepsin 1.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · Log Rank · p = 0.0625 (Unadjusted 2-sided p-value, for multiplicity adjustment uses the Hochberg step-up procedure) · Hazard ratio (hr): 1.37 · 95% CI 0.960 to 1.96Stratified Cox proportional-hazards regression model, including the fixed effect of the treatment group and levels of the randomisation stratification factors
SecondaryTime to Sustained (i.e., With no Subsequent Readmission to Day 31) Hospital Discharge (Since Randomisation).

Time to sustained (i.e., with no subsequent readmission to Day 31) hospital discharge (since randomization)

Time frame:
From administration date to Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Median · Days
Time to Sustained (i.e., With no Subsequent Readmission to Day 31) Hospital Discharge (Since Randomisation).
DaysPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Time to Sustained (i.e., With no Subsequent Readmission to Day 31) Hospital Discharge (Since Randomisation).7 (7 to 9)7 (NA to NA)7 (7 to 9)
Statistical analysis
  • Plitidepsin 2.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · Log Rank · p = 0.5945 (Unadjusted 2-sided p-value, for multiplicity adjustment uses the Hochberg step-up procedure) · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.948 · 95% CI 0.655 to 1.37Stratified Cox proportional-hazards regression model, including the fixed effect of the treatment group and levels of the randomisation stratification factors
  • Plitidepsin 1.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · Log Rank · p = 0.3358 (Unadjusted 2-sided p-value, for multiplicity adjustment uses the Hochberg step-up procedure) · Hazard ratio (hr): 1.18 · 95% CI 0.827 to 1.70Stratified Cox proportional-hazards regression model, including the fixed effect of the treatment group and levels of the randomisation stratification factors
SecondaryClinical Status by the 11-category WHO Clinical Progression Scale on Day 8

The WHO clinical progression scale provides a measure of illness severity across a range from 0 (uninfected) to 10 (dead). 0 = Uninfected; no viral RNA detected 1. = Ambulatory mild disease. Asymptomatic; viral RNA detected 2. = Ambulatory mild disease. Symptomatic; independent 3. = Ambulatory mild disease. Symptomatic; assistance needed 4. = Hospitalized: moderate disease. Hospitalized; no oxygen therapy 5. = Hospitalized: moderate disease. Hospitalized; oxygen by mask or nasal prongs 6. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Hospitalized; oxygen by NIV or high flow 7. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Intubation and mechanical ventilation pO2/FIO2 \> 150 or SpO2/FIO2 \> 200 8. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Mechanical ventilation pO2 /FIO2 \<150 (SpO2 /FiO2 \<200) or vasopressors 9. = Hospitalized: severe diseases. Mechanical ventilation pO2 /FiO2 \<150 and vasopressors, dialysis, or ECMO 10. = dead

Time frame:
Day 8 (±1)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Clinical Status by the 11-category WHO Clinical Progression Scale on Day 8
ParticipantsPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
0 = uninfected, no viral RNA detected6103
1 = asymptomatic, viral RNA detected121512
2 = symptomatic, independent201719
3 = symptomatic, assistance needed011
4 = hospitalised, no oxygen therapy487
5 = hospitalised, oxygen by mask or nasal prongs10820
6 = hospitalised, oxygen by NIV or high flow571
7 = intubation and mechanical ventilation. pO2/FiO2 >150 or SpO2/FiO2 >200412
8 = mechanical ventilation pO2/FiO2 <150 (SpO2/FiO2 <200) or vasopressors100
9 = mechanical ventilation pO2/FiO2 <150 and vasopressors, dialysis, or ECMO000
10 = dead100
Statistical analysis
  • Plitidepsin 2.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · p-value based on proportional odds model · p = 0.7252 (2-sided) · Odds ratio (or): 1.12 · 95% CI 0.604 to 2.06Adjusted Odds Ratio and 95% CI based on a proportional odds model with fixed effects of treatment group and randomisation stratification factors
  • Plitidepsin 1.5 mg Arm vs Control Arm · p-value based on proportional odds model · p = 0.0910 (2-sided) · Odds ratio (or): 1.69 · 95% CI 0.920 to 3.11Adjusted Odds Ratio and 95% CI based on a proportional odds model with fixed effects of treatment group and randomisation stratification factors
SecondaryTotal Duration of Advanced Oxygen Support

Total duration of advanced oxygen support (high-flow nasal oxygen, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation -ECMO-, non-invasive ventilation or mechanical ventilation).

Time frame:
From administration date to Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Mean · Days
Total Duration of Advanced Oxygen Support
DaysPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Total Duration of Advanced Oxygen Support12.2 ± 9.7110 ± 8.218.3 ± 12.66
SecondaryNumber of Participants in Each Study Group Requiring Admission to ICU

Number of participants in each study group requiring admission to intensive care unit

Time frame:
Day 4, Day 8(±1) , Day 15(±1) and Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants in Each Study Group Requiring Admission to ICU
participantsPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
From Day 1 to Day 41 (0.0402 to 8.53)1 (0.0378 to 8.04)3 (0.962 to 12.9)
From Day 1 to Day 87 (4.59 to 21.6)3 (0.933 to 12.5)4 (1.70 to 15.0)
From Day 1 to Day 157 (4.59 to 21.6)4 (1.65 to 14.6)4 (1.70 to 15.0)
From Day 1 to Day 317 (4.59 to 21.6)5 (2.47 to 16.6)4 (1.70 to 15.0)
SecondaryFrequency of Adverse Events

Adverse Event Types according to the National Cancer Institute \[NCI\]-Common Terminology Criteria for AEs (CTCAE v.5.0): The number of participants who experienced treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are presented.

Time frame:
From administration date to Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Frequency of Adverse Events
ParticipantsPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Frequency of Adverse Events454440
SecondaryFrequency of TEAEs of ≥Grade 3 According to NCI-CTCAE for Adverse Events (Version 5.0), TEAEs of Special Interest, Serious TEAEs, Serious Treatment-related TEAEs, TEAEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, and Deaths

Frequency of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) of ≥grade 3 according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE, version 5.0), TEAEs of special interest, serious TEAEs, serious treatment-related TEAEs, TEAEs leading to treatment discontinuation, and deaths

Time frame:
From administration date to Day 31(±3)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Frequency of TEAEs of ≥Grade 3 According to NCI-CTCAE for Adverse Events (Version 5.0), TEAEs of Special Interest, Serious TEAEs, Serious Treatment-related TEAEs, TEAEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, and Deaths
ParticipantsPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Any TEAE Grade ≥3221711
Any TEAE of special interest222518
Any serious TEAE1165
Any serious treatment-related TEAE to any study treatment110
Any TEAE leading to discontinuation of any study treatment111
Any TEAE leading to death212

Adverse events

Collected over From Screening to Day 31 +/- 3 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Plitidepsin 2.5 mg Arm2/63 (3.2%)11/63 (17.5%)43/63 (68.3%)
Plitidepsin 1.5 mg Arm1/67 (1.5%)6/67 (9%)43/67 (64.2%)
Control Arm2/65 (3.1%)5/65 (7.7%)38/65 (58.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 17
Most frequent serious events
EventPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders6/634/672/65
SepsisInfections and infestations2/630/670/65
COVID-19 pneumoniaInfections and infestations1/630/672/65
Multiple organ dysfunction syndromeGeneral disorders1/630/671/65
HypersensitivityImmune system disorders1/630/670/65
Bronchopulmonary aspergillosisInfections and infestations1/630/670/65
PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/630/670/65
Pneumonia pseudomonalInfections and infestations1/630/670/65
Acute respiratory distress syndromeRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/631/671/65
Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/631/670/65
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 162
Most frequent other events
EventPlitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl Arm
Serum ferritin abnormalInvestigations15/6313/674/65
HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders14/6312/676/65
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders11/6310/674/65
C-reactive protein increasedInvestigations11/637/675/65
PhlebitisVascular disorders11/639/672/65
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders9/638/671/65
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders9/633/673/65
Acute respiratory distress syndromeRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders8/637/675/65
Gamma-glutamyltransferase increasedInvestigations5/638/673/65
Procalcitonin increasedInvestigations7/634/672/65

Baseline characteristics

Intent-to-treat population

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Mean58.9 ± 13.3358.1 ± 14.8059.3 ± 15.0258.7 ± 14.34
Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
≥18 to 59 years32343298
≥60 to 64 years139628
≥65 to 69 years8111130
≥70 to 74 years98421
≥75 to 79 years36716
≥80 years32712
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Female25262576
Male434442129
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Hispanic or Latino33352189
Not Hispanic or Latino353546116
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian1304
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0000
White636264189
More than one race45312
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Child-bearing potential, n (%)
Child-bearing potential, n (%)(Participants)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Yes45413
No, surgically sterile/post-menopausal21181958
No, other0325
Height at screening
Height at screening(Centimeter)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Mean167.79 ± 8.067169.56 ± 8.534169.25 ± 10.095168.87 ± 8.921
Weight at screening
Weight at screening(kilogram)Plitidepsin 2.5 mg ArmPlitidepsin 1.5 mg ArmControl ArmTotal
Mean82.72 ± 14.38086.05 ± 19.77887.38 ± 19.67285.36 ± 18.120

13 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

28 sites
  • Hospital Felicio Rocho
    Belo Horizonte, MG 30110-934, Brazil
  • "MHAT "Sveta Anna"" - Sofia AD
    Sofia, 1570, Bulgaria
  • Clínica de la Costa Ltda.
    Barranquilla, Atlántico 80020, Colombia
  • Centre Hospitalier Regional et Universitaire de Tours (CHRU Tours) - Hopital Bretonneau
    Tours, 37044, France
  • Evangelismos Hospital General Hospital of Athens Evangelismos, Intensive Care Unit
    Athens, 106 76, Greece
  • Sotiria Hospital General Hospital of Chest Diseases of Athens "Sotiria" 3rd Department of Internal Medicine of University of Athens
    Athens, 115 27, Greece
  • Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon - Hospital Universitario "Dr. Jose Eleuterio Gonzalez"
    Monterrey, NL 64460, Mexico
  • Institutul National De Boli Infectioase "Prof. Dr. Matei Bals"
    Bucharest, 021105, Romania
  • Spitalul Clinic de Boli Infectioase si Tropicale Dr. Victor Babes - Bucharest
    Bucharest, 030303, Romania
  • Spitalul Clinic De Boli Infectioase "Sfanta Parascheva" IASI, Sectia Boli Infectioase III
    Iaşi, 700116, Romania
  • Spitalul Judetean de Urgenta 'Sf. Ioan cel Nou' Suceava, Sectia de Boli Infectioase
    Suceava, 720237, Romania
  • Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol
    Badalona, Barcelona 08916, Spain
  • Hospital Universitari de Bellvitge
    Hospitalet de Llobregat, Barcelona 08907, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de Jerez de la Frontera
    Jerez De La Frontera, Cádiz 11407, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario HM Montepríncipe
    Boadilla Del Monte, Madrid 28668, Spain
  • Hospital Quirónsalud Madrid
    Pozuelo De Alarcón, Madrid 28223, Spain
  • Hospital Álvaro Cunqueiro
    Vigo, Pontevedra 36213, Spain
  • Hospital General Universitario de Alicante
    Alicante, 3010, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Virgen de las Nieves (HUVN)
    Granada, 18014, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de Guadalajara
    Guadalajara, 19002, Spain
  • Hospital Infanta Leonor
    Madrid, 28032, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Ramón y Cajal
    Madrid, 28034, Spain
  • Hospital Clínico San Carlos
    Madrid, 28040, Spain
  • H. HM Sanchinarro
    Madrid, 28050, Spain
  • Hospital de Emergencias Enfermera Isabel Zendal
    Madrid, 28055, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de Salamanca
    Salamanca, 37007, Spain
  • Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria Valdecilla (IDIVAL)
    Santander, 39008, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Virgen del Rocío
    Sevilla, 41013, Spain
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Mar 29, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Apr 21, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 21, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04784559
Lead sponsor
PharmaMar
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 5, 2021
Start date
Jun 4, 2021
Primary completion
Mar 1, 2023
Completion
Mar 1, 2023
Results posted
Feb 21, 2025
Last update
Feb 21, 2025

Study contacts

José Jimeno Doñaque, MD, PhD
study director · PharmaMar

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion