CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04765202StrataSOMAUpdated May 16, 2025Results posted

StrataGraft Overlay of Meshed Autograft in Full-thickness Thermal Burns

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of AG Tx and SOMA Tx in Full Thickness Thermal Burn, sponsored by Stratatech, a Mallinckrodt Company. Terminated at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-05-16.

Sponsored by Stratatech, a Mallinckrodt Company · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Business Reason
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
13
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Autografting is a surgical procedure to transplant healthy skin (donor skin) from another part of the participant's own body (donor site) to the burned part. Autografting is the usual treatment for full-thickness (FT) burns.

It works to close the wound, but can cause other problems:

  • Donor sites are painful, can become infected or scarred, or can even become FT wounds themselves
  • Treatment problems can require more grafting
  • Additional surgery increases risk of medical problems caused by the treatment

Stratatech is trying to find a safe and effective treatment option for severe burns that uses less donor skin.

All participants in this study received meshed autograft on one part of their burn (AG Tx). They received more widely meshed than AG Tx site autograft with a StrataGraft covering (SOMA Tx) on a different part of their burn.

02

Conditions studied

  • Full Thickness Thermal Burn

Browse trials for

03

In context

Burns

719 studies on the registry are indexed under Burns; 145 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 13 is below the median of 40 across 524 interventional studies indexed under Burns.

Browse Burns studies →

Lead sponsor

Stratatech, a Mallinckrodt Company is the lead sponsor of 9 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 7 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (71%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Has 2% to 49% (inclusive) total body surface area (TBSA) thermal burn area, including areas of full thickness (FT) injury clinically indicated for surgical excision and autografting, appropriate for protocol-defined treatment areas
  • Meets protocol-specified criteria for qualification and contraception
  • Is willing and able to comply with all study procedures and requirements
  • Voluntarily consents to participate and provides written informed consent prior to any protocol-specific procedures

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Is a prisoner, pregnant, or had previous autografting to treatment sites
  • Is expected to survive less than 3 months
  • Is participating in another interventional trial, or did within 30 days before enrollment
  • Has anticipated treatment sites that are outside protocol-specified parameters
  • Has concurrent clinically significant inhalation injury, inadequate fluid resuscitation, or burns of chemical or electrical (non-thermal) etiology
  • Has other signs, symptoms or history of any condition that, per protocol or in the opinion of the investigator, might compromise:

    1. The safety or well-being of the participant
    2. The study objectives
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
13 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort1 Group1: AG Tx Sites

    Participants received autograft treatment (AG Tx) consisting of autograft alone (mesh ratio "m", per clinical judgment) at the treatment site on Day 1.

    Procedure: AG Tx

  • Experimental
    Cohort1 Group1: SOMA Tx Sites

    Participants received StrataGraft overlay of meshed autograft (SOMA Tx) at the treatment site in which m+1:1 meshed autograft was overlaid with StrataGraft, and applied to wounds of 100 to 400 square centimeters (cm\^2) in area on Day 1.

    Biological: SOMA Tx

  • Experimental
    Cohort1 Group 2: AG Tx Sites

    Participants received AG Tx consisting of autograft alone (mesh ratio "m", per clinical judgment) at the treatment site on Day 1.

    Procedure: AG Tx

  • Experimental
    Cohort1 Group2: SOMA Tx Sites

    Participants received SOMA Tx on the treatment site in which m+2:1 meshed autograft was overlaid with StrataGraft, and applied to wounds of 100 to 400 cm\^2 in area on Day 1.

    Biological: SOMA Tx

Interventions

  • ProcedureAG Tx

    Control treatment that is meshed autograft alone applied to a burn area.

    Also known as: Meshed Autograft

  • BiologicalSOMA Tx

    Meshed autograft applied to the burn area and covered with StrataGraft.

    Also known as: StrataGraft skin tissue Overlay of Meshed Autograft (SOMA)

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Treatment Sites With Complete Wound Closure Without Additional Autografting at Month 2

    Confirmed complete wound closure was defined as complete skin re-epithelialization without drainage confirmed at 2 visits at least 2 weeks apart but no later than Week 20. Complete wound closure was considered to have occurred at the earlier of the 2 observations of complete skin re-epithelialization without drainage. The number of treatment sites with complete wound closure without additional autografting at Month 2 was reported.

    Time frame: At Month 2

  2. Number of Participants With Durable Wound Closure of Study Treatment Sites Without Additional Autografting at Month 12

    Durable wound closure is defined as persistence of closure, maintained for at least 3 months after the initial observation of closure.

    Time frame: At Month 12

07

Results

Posted May 16, 2025

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at 5 investigative sites in the United States from 10 October 2021 to 07 June 2024.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort1 Group1: AG TxCohort1 Group1: SOMA TxCohort1 Group2: AG TxCohort1 Group2: SOMA Tx
Started7766
Completed6633
Not completed1133
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1122
Withdrew: Physician decision0011

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Treatment Sites With Complete Wound Closure Without Additional Autografting at Month 2

Confirmed complete wound closure was defined as complete skin re-epithelialization without drainage confirmed at 2 visits at least 2 weeks apart but no later than Week 20. Complete wound closure was considered to have occurred at the earlier of the 2 observations of complete skin re-epithelialization without drainage. The number of treatment sites with complete wound closure without additional autografting at Month 2 was reported.

Time frame:
At Month 2
Reported as:
Number · treatment sites
Number of Treatment Sites With Complete Wound Closure Without Additional Autografting at Month 2
treatment sitesCohort1 Group1: AG TxCohort1 Group1: SOMA TxCohort1 Group2: AG TxCohort1 Group2: SOMA Tx
Number of Treatment Sites With Complete Wound Closure Without Additional Autografting at Month 26766
Statistical analysis
  • Cohort1 Group1: AG Tx vs Cohort1 Group1: SOMA Tx · Fisher Exact · p = 1.0000 · Percentage difference: 14.3 · 95% CI -11.64 to 40.21Difference was calculated as (percent area of wound closure in SOMA Tx site) - ((percent area of wound closure in AG Tx site). 95% CI was derived using the normal approximation to binomial distribution.
  • Cohort1 Group2: AG Tx vs Cohort1 Group2: SOMA Tx · Percentage difference: 0 · 95% CI 0 to 0Difference was calculated as (percent area of wound closure in SOMA Tx site) - ((percent area of wound closure in AG Tx site). 95% CI was derived using the normal approximation to binomial distribution.
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Durable Wound Closure of Study Treatment Sites Without Additional Autografting at Month 12

Durable wound closure is defined as persistence of closure, maintained for at least 3 months after the initial observation of closure.

Time frame:
At Month 12
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Durable Wound Closure of Study Treatment Sites Without Additional Autografting at Month 12
ParticipantsCohort 1 Group 1Cohort 1 Group 2
AG Tx Site63
SOMA Tx Site63

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 13 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 1 Group 1: All Participants0/7 (0%)1/7 (14.3%)7/7 (100%)
Cohort 1 Group 1: AG Tx Sites0/7 (0%)0/7 (0%)3/7 (42.9%)
Cohort 1 Group 1: SOMA Tx Sites0/7 (0%)0/7 (0%)1/7 (14.3%)
Cohort 1 Group 2: All Participants0/6 (0%)1/6 (16.7%)6/6 (100%)
Cohort 1 Group 2: AG Tx Sites0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)3/6 (50%)
Cohort 1 Group 2: SOMA Tx Sites0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)3/6 (50%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventCohort 1 Group 1: All ParticipantsCohort 1 Group 1: AG Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 1: SOMA Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 2: All ParticipantsCohort 1 Group 2: AG Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 2: SOMA Tx Sites
Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/70/70/71/60/60/6
Homicidal ideationPsychiatric disorders1/70/70/70/60/60/6
Suicidal ideationPsychiatric disorders1/70/70/70/60/60/6
Deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders1/70/70/70/60/60/6
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 35
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1 Group 1: All ParticipantsCohort 1 Group 1: AG Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 1: SOMA Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 2: All ParticipantsCohort 1 Group 2: AG Tx SitesCohort 1 Group 2: SOMA Tx Sites
Hypertrophic scarSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/71/71/72/62/62/6
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders2/70/70/70/60/60/6
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/72/71/71/61/61/6
PainGeneral disorders1/70/70/71/60/60/6
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders0/70/70/71/60/60/6
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders0/70/70/71/60/60/6
AbscessInfections and infestations0/70/70/71/60/60/6
COVID-19Infections and infestations0/70/70/71/60/60/6
Staphylococcal skin infectionInfections and infestations0/70/70/71/60/60/6
Wound infectionInfections and infestations0/70/70/71/60/60/6

Baseline characteristics

The Full Analysis Set (FAS) included all participants who were randomized and treated with at least one area of SOMA Tx and one area of AG Tx.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort 1 Group 1Cohort 1 Group 2Total
Mean47.4 ± 12.2047.2 ± 12.5447.3 ± 11.83
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1 Group 1Cohort 1 Group 2Total
Female022
Male7411
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 Group 1Cohort 1 Group 2Total
Hispanic or Latino224
Not Hispanic or Latino549
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Cohort 1 Group 1Cohort 1 Group 2Total
White448
Black or African American101
Not Reported123
Other101
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • Medstar Washington Hospital Center
    Washington, District of Columbia 20010, United States
  • Tampa General Hospital / University of South Florida
    Tampa, Florida 33606, United States
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242, United States
  • Stony Brook University
    Stony Brook, New York 11794, United States
  • Medical University of South Carolina
    Charleston, South Carolina 29425, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Sep 28, 2023
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jul 26, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 16, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04765202
Lead sponsor
Stratatech, a Mallinckrodt Company
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 21, 2021
Start date
Oct 10, 2021
Primary completion
Jun 7, 2024
Completion
Jun 7, 2024
Results posted
May 16, 2025
Last update
May 16, 2025

Study contacts

Clinical Team Leader
study director · Stratatech, a Mallinckrodt Company

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion