CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04763265H2HUpdated Mar 18, 2025Results posted

Study to Compare 2 Botulinum Type A Toxins in the Treatment of Glabellar Frown Lines

A Phase 2 interventional study of Botulinum toxin A "BoNT/A-DP" and Botulinum toxin A "Botox Cosmetics" in Frown Lines, sponsored by Croma-Pharma GmbH. Completed at 5 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-03-18.

Sponsored by Croma-Pharma GmbH · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 7 months after the study started (first participant enrolled Jun 2020, registered Jan 2021).
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
208
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of the study is to provide preliminary comparative data on BoNT/A-DP versus Botox Cosmetic. Subsequently the sample size is primarily based on clinical judgement and practical considerations.

Read the detailed description

This will be a multi-center, randomized, double-blind, comparator-controlled study. The study will take place in the EU, US and Canada.

To allow all subjects to profit from treatment and to obtain adequate data for BoNT/A DP treatment, the study will be comprised of a double-blinded treatment comparing BoNT/A-DP with Botox Cosmetic (ratio 1:1). Primary and secondary endpoints will compare efficacy, safety and subject satisfaction after a single treatment of the investigational BoNT/A DP to an existing commercially available product (Botox Cosmetic).

Two hundred subjects will be enrolled, which should allow for a precise estimate of response rate and for post-hoc sensitivity analyses.

The duration of study participation for each subject will be up to 18 weeks, to include screening (maximum of 2 weeks; re-screening will not be permitted), and a single treatment (comprised of one injection at five injection points) of BoNT/A-DP (Group A) or Botox Cosmetic (Group B) followed by six efficacy and safety follow-up visits. A total of 200 subjects will be randomized 1:1 to Group A or Group B at Baseline. Both investigators and subjects will be blinded to treatment. Investigators and subjects will evaluate the severity of glabellar lines independently.

02

Conditions studied

  • Frown Lines
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Croma-Pharma GmbH is the lead sponsor of 24 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Inclusion Criteria:• Has moderate to severe glabellar frown lines at maximum frown (severity score of 2 or 3 on GLS-I/GLS-S) as determined by in clinic assessments by both the investigator and the subject (where: 0='none', 1='mild', 2='moderate', 3='severe').

  • Subject has a stable medical condition with no uncontrolled systemic disease.
  • Female subjects of childbearing potential must test negative for pregnancy and agree to use highly effective birth control during the course of the study.
  • Subjects who wear glasses must be able to adequately self-assess the severity of their glabellar lines (according to the GLS-S), without glasses obstructing the forehead area.

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Previous treatment with any serotype of botulinum toxin for any indication within the 12 months prior to Screening, or any planned treatment with botulinum toxin of any serotype for any reason during the study (other than the investigational treatment).
  • Known hypersensitivity to either study medication or its excipients.
  • Any medical condition that may place the subject at increased risk due to exposure to botulinum toxin, including diagnosed myasthenia gravis, Eaton-Lambert syndrome, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, profound atrophy or weakness in the target muscles, or any other condition (at the investigator's discretion) that might interfere with neuromuscular function or contraindicate botulinum toxin therapy.
  • Facial laser or light treatment, microdermabrasion, superficial peels or retinoid therapy within the three months prior to Screening or planned during the study.

    o Apart from the procedures specified above, previous treatment with any facial aesthetic procedure in the glabellar area (including chemical peeling, injection with biodegradable fillers, photo rejuvenation) within 12 months prior to Screening or planned during the study.

  • Previous insertion of permanent material in the glabellar area, or planned insertion during the study.
  • Any planned or history of surgery in the glabellar area and/or canthal line area, or scars in the glabellar and/or canthal line.
  • Active skin disease/infection or irritation at the treatment area.
  • Inability to substantially lessen glabellar frown lines and or lateral canthal lines even by physically spreading them apart.
  • Use of a muscle relaxant within 2 weeks prior to Screening, or planned use during the study.
  • Marked facial asymmetry or ptosis of eyelid and/or eyebrow, or current facial palsy or neuromuscular junction disorders as judged by the investigator.
  • Pregnant, breastfeeding or planning to become pregnant during the study.
  • Use of prohibited medication including anticholinergic drugs, or drugs which could interfere with neuromuscular function, including aminoglycoside antibiotics and curare-like compounds within 2 weeks prior to Screening or planned during the study.
  • Planned surgery with general anesthetic (use of local anesthetic outside the glabellar area is permitted).
  • Participation in another clinical study within one month of Screening and throughout the study.
  • Previous participation in another botulinum toxin aesthetic study, which involved the treatment of glabellar, lines in combination with canthal lines and/or forehead lines in the previous 18 months.
  • Chronic drug or alcohol abuse (as per investigator discretion).
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
208 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Group A (n=100): BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)

    The injection sites should be prepared according to standard clinical procedures.. A volume of 0.5 mL of the properly reconstituted BoNT/A-DP should be drawn into the sterile syringe and any air bubbles in the syringe barrel expelled. The needle used to reconstitute the product should be removed and replaced with a sterile insulin or tuberculin-type syringe of 1 mL volume with 0.01 mL graduation and with the gauge range of 30 to 33 G, which the investigator routinely uses for toxin administration. Each subject will receive a total of five i.m. injections of 4 U/0.1 mL (total of 20 U).

    Biological: Botulinum toxin A "BoNT/A-DP"

  • Active comparator
    Group B (n=100): Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)

    The injection sites should be prepared according to standard clinical procedures. A volume of 0.5 mL of the properly reconstituted Botox Cosmetic should be drawn into the sterile syringe and any air bubbles in the syringe barrel expelled. The needle used to reconstitute the product should be removed and replaced with a sterile insulin or tuberculin-type syringe of 1 mL volume with 0.01 mL graduation and with the gauge range of 30 to 33 G, which the investigator routinely uses for toxin administration. Each subject will receive a total of five i.m. injections of 4 U/0.1 mL (total of 20 U).

    Biological: Botulinum toxin A "Botox Cosmetics"

Interventions

  • BiologicalBotulinum toxin A "BoNT/A-DP"

    To assess the efficacy of treatment with BoNT/A-DP in reducing the severity of glabellar frown lines at maximum frown.

  • BiologicalBotulinum toxin A "Botox Cosmetics"

    To assess the efficacy of treatment with Botox Cosmetics in reducing the severity of glabellar frown lines at maximum frown.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and an Improvement of ≥ 1 Points in FWS Score (at Maximum Frown) at Week 4 Visit Relative to Baseline, Based on Both the Investigators´ and the Subjects´ In-clinic Assessments.

    The primary endpoint is the percentage of subjects among BoNT/A-DP and Botox Cosmetic groups with a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and an improvement of ≥ 1 points in FWS score (at maximum frown) at week 4 visit (of the first treatment cycle) relative to baseline (responders), based on both the investigators' and the subjects' in-clinic assessments. Thus, the primary endpoint is a composite endpoint comprising investigator and subject assessments of treatment effectiveness. FWS scores are a four-point rating scale as follows: 0 = no facial wrinkles; 1 = mild facial wrinkles; 2 = moderate facial wrinkles; and 3 = severe facial wrinkles. Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or Week 4 were assigned as non-responders.

    Time frame: week 4

Secondary outcomes

  1. Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16

    The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16

  2. Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 2 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

    The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 2 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

  3. Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Rest) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

    The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at rest over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

  4. Time to Onset of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment

    Time to onset of effect in days, as measured at Weeks 1, 2, and 4, based on independent investigator and subject assessments after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to Botox Cosmetic. Onset of effect is defined as at least 1 point improvement in Glabellar Line Scale - Investigator (GLS-I) and Glabellar Line Scale - Subject (GLS-S) score relative to Baseline at maximum frown in glabellar lines. GLS-I and GLS-S both use the same 4-point scale, ranked as 0 (No lines/minimal lines), 1 (Mild lines), 2 (Moderate lines) and 3 (Severe lines).

    Time frame: From treatment at Day 0 to Week 4

  5. Duration of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment

    For subjects who are responders at week 4, duration of effect in days is assessed based on independent investigator and subject assessments after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Effect is deemed to be lost when scores return to Baseline or worse values. Duration of effect is defined as (the date that loss of response occurred) - (date of single study treatment ) + 1.

    Time frame: 16 Weeks

  6. FACE-Q Satisfaction With Outcome Scale Based on Subject Assessment at Weeks 4, 12 and 16 Satisfaction With Outcome Scale.

    Summary of FACE-Q satisfaction with outcome scale based on subject assessment at weeks 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic. The FACE-Q Satisfaction with Outcome scale is a patient-reported outcome measure designed to assess a patient's satisfaction with the results of a facial aesthetic procedure. This scale comprises six items, each with four response options: "definitely agree," "somewhat agree," "somewhat disagree," and "definitely disagree."

    Time frame: Weeks 4, 12 and 16

  7. Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious AEs (SAEs) and AEs of Special Interest (AESIs)

    Frequency, seriousness and severity of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs), serious AEs (SAEs) and AEs of special interest (AESIs), as well as causal relationship to the study medication and the study procedure, during the entire study period. A subject with multiple occurrences of an adverse event is counted only once within the worst severity category.

    Time frame: through study completion, an average of 16 weeks

  8. Change From Baseline in Blood Pressure at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16

    Summary of change from baseline in diastolic/systolic blood pressure at weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 4, 12, and 16

  9. Change From Baseline in Pulse Rate at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16

    Summary of change from baseline in pulse rate at weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 4, 12, and 16

07

Results

Posted Mar 18, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneGroup A (n=100): BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B (n=100): Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Started100100
Completed9795
Not completed35
Withdrew: Adverse event10
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up24
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject01

Outcome measures

PrimaryFacial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and an Improvement of ≥ 1 Points in FWS Score (at Maximum Frown) at Week 4 Visit Relative to Baseline, Based on Both the Investigators´ and the Subjects´ In-clinic Assessments.

The primary endpoint is the percentage of subjects among BoNT/A-DP and Botox Cosmetic groups with a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and an improvement of ≥ 1 points in FWS score (at maximum frown) at week 4 visit (of the first treatment cycle) relative to baseline (responders), based on both the investigators' and the subjects' in-clinic assessments. Thus, the primary endpoint is a composite endpoint comprising investigator and subject assessments of treatment effectiveness. FWS scores are a four-point rating scale as follows: 0 = no facial wrinkles; 1 = mild facial wrinkles; 2 = moderate facial wrinkles; and 3 = severe facial wrinkles. Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or Week 4 were assigned as non-responders.

Time frame:
week 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and an Improvement of ≥ 1 Points in FWS Score (at Maximum Frown) at Week 4 Visit Relative to Baseline, Based on Both the Investigators´ and the Subjects´ In-clinic Assessments.
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Responder based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment9597
Responder based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment8188
SecondaryResponder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16

The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12 and 16
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment9390
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment8083
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment9395
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment8391
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment8489
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment6076
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment6678
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment4356
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment4761
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment3546
SecondaryResponder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 2 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 2 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 2 Point Reduction at Maximum Frown) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment8079
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment6872
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment8386
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment7583
Responder Rate at Week 4 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment8288
Responder Rate at Week 4 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment6781
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment6470
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment4465
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment3752
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment2739
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment2233
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment1832
SecondaryResponder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Rest) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16

The percentage of responders based on the independent investigator assessment and subject assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16 after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to a single treatment of Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at rest over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Subjects with missing in-clinic assessments with the FWS at Baseline or the respective visit were assigned as non-responders.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Responder Status (With a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) Score of 0 or 1 and at Least 1 Point Reduction at Rest) Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment at Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12 and 16
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment5753
Responder Rate at Week 1 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment5858
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment6564
Responder Rate at Week 2 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment7064
Responder Rate at Week 4 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment6768
Responder Rate at Week 4 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment6870
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment6362
Responder Rate at Week 8 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment5760
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment5853
Responder Rate at Week 12 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment4548
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Investigator's In-clinic Assessment4552
Responder Rate at Week 16 based on Subject's In-clinic Assessment3648
SecondaryTime to Onset of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment

Time to onset of effect in days, as measured at Weeks 1, 2, and 4, based on independent investigator and subject assessments after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to Botox Cosmetic. Onset of effect is defined as at least 1 point improvement in Glabellar Line Scale - Investigator (GLS-I) and Glabellar Line Scale - Subject (GLS-S) score relative to Baseline at maximum frown in glabellar lines. GLS-I and GLS-S both use the same 4-point scale, ranked as 0 (No lines/minimal lines), 1 (Mild lines), 2 (Moderate lines) and 3 (Severe lines).

Time frame:
From treatment at Day 0 to Week 4
Reported as:
Median · Days
Time to Onset of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment
DaysGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Time to Onset of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment8.0 (7.0 to 9.0)8.0 (7.5 to 8.0)
SecondaryDuration of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment

For subjects who are responders at week 4, duration of effect in days is assessed based on independent investigator and subject assessments after a single treatment with BoNT/A-DP and compared to Botox Cosmetic. Responder is defined as having a Facial Wrinkle Scale (FWS) score of 0 or 1 and at least 1 point reduction in FWS score at maximum frown over Baseline, on the 4-point FWS. FWS scores are ranked as 0 (no facial wrinkles), 1 (mild facial wrinkles), 2 (moderate facial wrinkles) and 3 (severe facial wrinkles). Effect is deemed to be lost when scores return to Baseline or worse values. Duration of effect is defined as (the date that loss of response occurred) - (date of single study treatment ) + 1.

Time frame:
16 Weeks
Reported as:
Median · Days
Duration of Effect Based on Independent Investigator Assessment and Subject Assessment
DaysGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Duration of effect for responders at Week 4 based on Investigator's in-clinic assessment132 (117 to 132)NA (119 to NA)
Duration of effect for responders at Week 4 based on Subject's in-clinic assessment116 (114 to 121)NA (117 to NA)
SecondaryFACE-Q Satisfaction With Outcome Scale Based on Subject Assessment at Weeks 4, 12 and 16 Satisfaction With Outcome Scale.

Summary of FACE-Q satisfaction with outcome scale based on subject assessment at weeks 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic. The FACE-Q Satisfaction with Outcome scale is a patient-reported outcome measure designed to assess a patient's satisfaction with the results of a facial aesthetic procedure. This scale comprises six items, each with four response options: "definitely agree," "somewhat agree," "somewhat disagree," and "definitely disagree."

Time frame:
Weeks 4, 12 and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
FACE-Q Satisfaction With Outcome Scale Based on Subject Assessment at Weeks 4, 12 and 16 Satisfaction With Outcome Scale.
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Week 4 - pleased — Definitely disagree20
Week 4 - pleased — Somewhat disagree33
Week 4 - pleased — Somewhat agree1712
Week 4 - pleased — Definitely agree7784
Week 4 - pleased — Missing01
Week 4 - expected — Definitely disagree40
Week 4 - expected — Somewhat disagree56
Week 4 - expected — Somewhat agree3334
Week 4 - expected — Definitely agree5759
Week 4 - expected — Missing01
Week 4 - great — Definitely disagree21
Week 4 - great — Somewhat disagree87
Week 4 - great — Somewhat agree2315
Week 4 - great — Definitely agree6676
Week 4 - great — Missing01
Week 4 - look in the mirror — Definitely disagree11
Week 4 - look in the mirror — Somewhat disagree128
Week 4 - look in the mirror — Somewhat agree3130
Week 4 - look in the mirror — Definitely agree5560
Week 4 - look in the mirror — Missing01
Week 4 - fantastic — Definitely disagree43
Week 4 - fantastic — Somewhat disagree1311
Week 4 - fantastic — Somewhat agree2518
Week 4 - fantastic — Definitely agree5767
Week 4 - fantastic — Missing01
Week 4 - miraculous — Definitely disagree114
Week 4 - miraculous — Somewhat disagree1619
Week 4 - miraculous — Somewhat agree3227
Week 4 - miraculous — Definitely agree4049
Week 4 - miraculous — Missing01
Week 12 - pleased — Definitely disagree103
Week 12 - pleased — Somewhat disagree67
Week 12 - pleased — Somewhat agree2824
Week 12 - pleased — Definitely agree5060
Week 12 - pleased — Missing56
Week 12 - expected — Definitely disagree116
Week 12 - expected — Somewhat disagree119
Week 12 - expected — Somewhat agree2933
Week 12 - expected — Definitely agree4346
Week 12 - expected — Missing56
Week 12 - great — Definitely disagree95
Week 12 - great — Somewhat disagree1412
Week 12 - great — Somewhat agree2822
Week 12 - great — Definitely agree4355
Week 12 - great — Missing56
Week 12 - look in the mirror — Definitely disagree134
Week 12 - look in the mirror — Somewhat disagree1415
Week 12 - look in the mirror — Somewhat agree3336
Week 12 - look in the mirror — Definitely agree3439
Week 12 - look in the mirror — Missing56
Week 12 - fantastic — Definitely disagree127
Week 12 - fantastic — Somewhat disagree2218
Week 12 - fantastic — Somewhat agree2727
Week 12 - fantastic — Definitely agree3342
Week 12 - fantastic — Missing56
Week 12 - miraculous — Definitely disagree258
Week 12 - miraculous — Somewhat disagree1427
Week 12 - miraculous — Somewhat agree3130
Week 12 - miraculous — Definitely agree2429
Week 12 - miraculous — Missing56
Week 16 - pleased — Definitely disagree125
Week 16 - pleased — Somewhat disagree108
Week 16 - pleased — Somewhat agree2120
Week 16 - pleased — Definitely agree5462
Week 16 - pleased — Missing25
Week 16 - expected — Definitely disagree126
Week 16 - expected — Somewhat disagree1412
Week 16 - expected — Somewhat agree3131
Week 16 - expected — Definitely agree4046
Week 16 - expected — Missing25
Week 16 - great — Definitely disagree108
Week 16 - great — Somewhat disagree2013
Week 16 - great — Somewhat agree2018
Week 16 - great — Definitely agree4756
Week 16 - great — Missing25
Week 16 - look in the mirror — Definitely disagree1211
Week 16 - look in the mirror — Somewhat disagree2015
Week 16 - look in the mirror — Somewhat agree2930
Week 16 - look in the mirror — Definitely agree3639
Week 16 - look in the mirror — Missing25
Week 16 - fantastic — Definitely disagree1710
Week 16 - fantastic — Somewhat disagree1917
Week 16 - fantastic — Somewhat agree2421
Week 16 - fantastic — Definitely agree3747
Week 16 - fantastic — Missing25
Week 16 - miraculous — Definitely disagree2614
Week 16 - miraculous — Somewhat disagree1420
Week 16 - miraculous — Somewhat agree3533
Week 16 - miraculous — Definitely agree2228
Week 16 - miraculous — Missing25
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious AEs (SAEs) and AEs of Special Interest (AESIs)

Frequency, seriousness and severity of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs), serious AEs (SAEs) and AEs of special interest (AESIs), as well as causal relationship to the study medication and the study procedure, during the entire study period. A subject with multiple occurrences of an adverse event is counted only once within the worst severity category.

Time frame:
through study completion, an average of 16 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious AEs (SAEs) and AEs of Special Interest (AESIs)
ParticipantsGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Subjects with any treatment-emergent adverse events2522
Subjects with any serious treatment-emergent adverse events01
Subjects with any treatment-emergent adverse events of special interest01
Subjects with any severe treatment-emergent adverse events00
Subjects with any moderate treatment-emergent adverse events54
Subjects with any mild treatment-emergent adverse events2018
Subjects with any treatment-emergent adverse events related to study medication43
Subjects with any treatment-emergent adverse events related to study procedure68
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Blood Pressure at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16

Summary of change from baseline in diastolic/systolic blood pressure at weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 4, 12, and 16
Reported as:
Mean · millimeters of mercury
Change From Baseline in Blood Pressure at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16
millimeters of mercuryGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Diastolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 1 - Change from Baseline0.9 ± 8.48-1.9 ± 8.50
Diastolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 4 - Change from Baseline0.1 ± 8.29-1.9 ± 8.80
Diastolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 12 - Change from Baseline-0.1 ± 9.64-1.2 ± 10.19
Diastolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 16 - Change from Baseline1.0 ± 9.30-1.6 ± 10.85
Systolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 1 - Change from Baseline0.2 ± 10.84-2.4 ± 12.29
Systolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 4 - Change from Baseline0.3 ± 11.44-0.9 ± 12.78
Systolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 12 - Change from Baseline0.6 ± 11.79-1.3 ± 14.77
Systolic Blood Pressure (mmHg) - Week 16 - Change from Baseline1.5 ± 12.30-1.5 ± 15.52
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Pulse Rate at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16

Summary of change from baseline in pulse rate at weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16 after a single treatment and compared to Botox Cosmetic.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 4, 12, and 16
Reported as:
Mean · beats/min
Change From Baseline in Pulse Rate at Weeks 1, 4, 12 and 16
beats/minGroup A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Pulse Rate (beats/min) - Week 1 - Change from Baseline2.2 ± 10.25-0.4 ± 9.94
Pulse Rate (beats/min) - Week 4 - Change from Baseline1.0 ± 11.601.6 ± 9.46
Pulse Rate (beats/min) - Week 12 - Change from Baseline1.2 ± 11.72-0.2 ± 11.90
Pulse Rate (beats/min) - Week 16 - Change from Baseline1.9 ± 11.020.5 ± 11.31

Adverse events

Collected over 16 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Group A (n=100): BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)0/100 (0%)0/100 (0%)11/100 (11%)
Group B (n=100): Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)0/100 (0%)1/100 (1%)15/100 (15%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventGroup A (n=100): BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B (n=100): Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
Lower Limb FractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/1001/100
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventGroup A (n=100): BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B (n=100): Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)
HeadacheNervous system disorders6/10010/100
Viral test positiveInvestigations0/1003/100
Corona virus infectionInfections and infestations2/1001/100
Muscle strainInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/1000/100
HypertensionVascular disorders1/1002/100

Baseline characteristics

The population consists of all randomized subjects who had a baseline visit and at least one post-dose in-clinic assessment with the 4-point Facial Wrinkle Scale by either the investigator or the subject at Weeks 1, 2, or 4.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years9092182
>=65 years9817
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
Mean48.9 ± 11.3648.1 ± 12.0448.5 ± 11.69
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
Female8686172
Male131427
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
Hispanic or Latino182139
Not Hispanic or Latino8179160
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian437
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American325
White8790177
More than one race101
Unknown or Not Reported459
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
Canada393473
Austria222345
United States384381
Fitzpatrick Skintype
Fitzpatrick Skintype(Participants)Group A: BoNT/A-DP (20 U, 0.5 mL)Group B: Botox Cosmetic (20 U, 0.5 mL)Total
Type I257
Type II333265
Type III313263
Type IV272754
Type V325
Type VI325
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • ATS Clinical Research
    Santa Monica, California 90404, United States
  • Skin Research Institute LLC
    Coral Gables, Florida 33146, United States
  • Monika Sulovsky
    Vienna, 1010, Austria
  • Institute Of Cosmetic
    Oakville, Ontario L6J7W5, Canada
  • Sweat Clinics of Canada
    Toronto, Ontario M5R3N8, Canada
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Aug 27, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jan 20, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 18, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04763265
Lead sponsor
Croma-Pharma GmbH
Collaborators
Hugel
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 21, 2021
Start date
Jun 24, 2020
Primary completion
Nov 5, 2020
Completion
Feb 1, 2021
Results posted
Mar 18, 2025
Last update
Mar 18, 2025

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion