CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04672460Updated Sep 25, 2024Results posted

A Bioequivalence Study Between the Proposed and Current Talazoparib Capsule Formulation and Food Effect Study for the Proposed Talazoparib Capsule Formulation in Participants With Advanced Solid Tumors

A Phase 1 interventional study of TALZENNA capsule and Talazoparib soft gel capsule in Advanced Solid Tumors, Solid Tumors and Ovarian Cancer, sponsored by Pfizer. Completed at 31 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-09-25.

Sponsored by Pfizer · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
73
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 70 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This will be a Phase 1, open label, 2-sequence, crossover study to establish the BE of the current commercial formulation (Generation 3.1 talazoparib capsules) to the proposed talazoparib liquid-filled soft gelatin capsule (soft gel capsule) formulation after multiple dosing under fasting conditions in participants with advanced solid tumors. In addition, the effect of food on the PK of the proposed talazoparib soft gel capsule formulation will be evaluated in fixed sequence after the 2 BE assessment periods.

02

Conditions studied

  • Advanced Solid Tumors
  • Solid Tumors
  • Ovarian Cancer
  • Breast Cancer
  • Prostate Cancer
  • NSCLC
  • Pancreatic Cancer
  • Colorectal Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • PARP inhibitor
  • Talazoparib
  • Talzenna
  • BRCA mutation
  • ATM mutation
  • Pharmacokinetics
  • Bioequivalence
  • Bioavailability
  • Food effect
03

In context

Neoplasms

9,365 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasms; 2,489 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 73 is above the median of 50 across 7,253 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasms.

Browse Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Pfizer is the lead sponsor of 3,244 studies on the registry; 139 are open to participants now.

Of its 582 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 381 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Histological diagnosis of recurrent, locally advanced or metastatic solid tumor that is not amenable for treatment with curative intent.

    • Solid tumors with known or likely pathogenic germline or somatic tumor gene defect (eg, one or more BRCA1 or BRCA2 gene defect except for ovarian cancer) that would benefit from PARPi therapy per current approvals for the tumor indication or supported by strong scientific evidence.
    • Received at least 1 prior SOC regimen, if it exists, as appropriate for the respective tumor type unless deemed unsuitable or declined these therapies; ovarian cancer participants must have at least 1 prior cytotoxic chemotherapy regimen, including at least 1 course of platinum-based therapy. Participants must not have had disease progression within 6 months of initiation of platinum containing regimen.
  2. ECOG performance score of 0-1.
  3. Adequate bone marrow function:

    • ANC ≥1500 cells/mm3
    • Platelets ≥100,000 cells/mm3
    • Hemoglobin ≥10.0 g/dL
  4. Adequate organ functions:

    • CLCR ≥60 mL/min and no documented CLCR \<60 mL/min and no change in CLCR >25% in the past 4 weeks
    • AST and ALT ≤2.5 × ULN; if liver function abnormalities are due to hepatic metastasis, then AST and ALT ≤5 × ULN;
    • Total bilirubin ≤1.5 × ULN (≤3 × ULN for Gilbert's syndrome);

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria

  1. For ovarian participants: Non-epithelial tumors or ovarian tumors with low malignant potential (ie, borderline tumors) or mucinous tumors.
  2. Toxicities from previous anti-cancer therapies must be resolved to NCI CTCAE \<Grade 2, except for alopecia, sensory neuropathies ≤Grade 2, or other Grade ≤2 AEs not constituting a safety risk, based on investigator's judgment, are acceptable.
  3. Diagnosed with MDS or AML.
  4. Active infection requiring systemic therapy within 2 weeks of enrollment.
  5. Any condition in which active bleeding or pathological conditions may carry a high risk of bleeding (eg, known bleeding disorder, coagulopathy or tumor involvement with major vessels).
  6. Known or suspected brain metastasis or active leptomeningeal disease undergoing or requiring treatment. Asymptomatic brain metastases currently not undergoing treatment are allowed.
  7. Known history of testing positive for HIV, AIDS, positive HBV surface antigen, positive HCV RNA, or positive COVID-19 viral test. Asymptomatic patients with no active infection detected but positive antibody tests, indicating past infection, are allowed.
  8. Current or anticipated use of P-gp inhibitors, BCRP inhibitors, and P-gp inducers within 2 weeks or 5 half-lives prior to randomization (whichever is longer) .
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
73 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Sequence 1

    Participants receive Treatment B for 28 days, followed by Treatment A for 21 days, followed by Treatment C for 21 days.

    Drug: TALZENNA capsule · Drug: Talazoparib soft gel capsule

  • Experimental
    Sequence 2

    Participants receive Treatment A for 28 days, followed by Treatment B for 21 days, followed by Treatment C for 21 days.

    Drug: TALZENNA capsule · Drug: Talazoparib soft gel capsule

Interventions

  • DrugTALZENNA capsule

    Current commercial talazoparib formulation 1 mg once daily given under fasting condition

  • DrugTalazoparib soft gel capsule

    Proposed talazoparib soft gel capsule formulation 1 mg once daily under fasting condition

  • DrugTalazoparib soft gel capsule

    Proposed talazoparib soft gel capsule formulation 1 mg once daily under fed condition

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions

    AUC24 was defined as area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time zero to 24 hours post dose. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  2. Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions

    Cmax was the maximum observed plasma concentration and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  3. Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions

    AUC24 was defined as area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time zero to 24 hours post dose. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  4. Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions

    Cmax was the maximum observed plasma concentration and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Apparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

    Apparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) was defined as apparent clearance after oral dose on the last day of treatment period. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  2. Time of Observed Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

    Tmax was defined as time to reach maximum observed plasma concentration.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  3. Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

    AUClast was area under the plasma concentration time-curve from zero (pre-dose) to the last measured concentration. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  4. Predose Concentration During Multiple Dosing (Ctrough) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

    Ctrough was the pre-dose concentration during multiple dosing and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage.

    Time frame: Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2, predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.

  5. Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (All Causalities)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Grade 3: severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening, hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization indicated, disabling, limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4: life-threatening consequence, urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5: death related to AE. Treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE) means event between first dose of study treatment and up to 28 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pretreatment state. An SAE was an AE resulting in any of death; inpatient hospitalization; life-threatening experience; disability; congenital anomaly or deemed significant for any other reason.

    Time frame: Day 1 up to 28 days after last dose of study drug (maximum up to 388 days)

  6. Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (Treatment Related)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Grade 3: severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening, hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization indicated, disabling, limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4: life-threatening consequence, urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5: death related to AE. Treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE) means event between first dose of study treatment and up to 28 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pretreatment state. An SAE was an AE resulting in any of death; inpatient hospitalization; life-threatening experience; disability; congenital anomaly or deemed significant for any other reason.

    Time frame: Day 1 up to 28 days after last dose of study drug (maximum up to 388 days)

07

Results

Posted Sep 25, 2024

Participant flow

Bioequivalence Phase: Period 1 (28 Days)
Participant flow — Bioequivalence Phase: Period 1 (28 Days)
MilestoneSequence 1Sequence 2
Started3538
Completed2828
Not completed710
Withdrew: Death12
Withdrew: Progressive disease24
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject03
Withdrew: Global deterioration of health status01
Withdrew: Adverse event30
Withdrew: Other10
Bioequivalence Phase: Period 2 (21 Days)
Participant flow — Bioequivalence Phase: Period 2 (21 Days)
MilestoneSequence 1Sequence 2
Started2725
Completed2520
Not completed25
Withdrew: Progressive disease15
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject10
Food Effect Phase: Period 3 (21 Days)
Participant flow — Food Effect Phase: Period 3 (21 Days)
MilestoneSequence 1Sequence 2
Started1614
Completed1111
Not completed53
Withdrew: Adverse event10
Withdrew: Progressive disease31
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject01
Withdrew: Refused further treatment01
Withdrew: Other10
Maintenance Phase: Period 4 (28 Days)
Participant flow — Maintenance Phase: Period 4 (28 Days)
MilestoneSequence 1Sequence 2
Started2120
Completed00
Not completed2120
Withdrew: Adverse event10
Withdrew: Progressive disease1012
Withdrew: Refused further treatment10
Withdrew: Other98

Outcome measures

PrimaryArea Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions

AUC24 was defined as area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time zero to 24 hours post dose. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanograms*hour/millilitre (ng*hr/mL)
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions
nanograms*hour/millilitre (ng*hr/mL)Treatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions178.7 ± 40173.0 ± 32
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A: Commercial Capsule Fast vs Treatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast · Mixed Models Analysis · Ratio (test/reference) of adjusted means: 105.16 · 90% CI 99.00 to 111.70
PrimaryMaximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions

Cmax was the maximum observed plasma concentration and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanograms/millilitre (ng/mL)
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions
nanograms/millilitre (ng/mL)Treatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fasted Conditions14.95 ± 4019.19 ± 32
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A: Commercial Capsule Fast vs Treatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast · Mixed Models Analysis · Ratio (test/reference) of adjusted means: 136.62 · 90% CI 125.05 to 149.27
PrimaryArea Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions

AUC24 was defined as area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time zero to 24 hours post dose. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng*hr/mL
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions
ng*hr/mLTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to 24 Hours (AUC24) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions173.0 ± 32151.3 ± 38
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast vs Treatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed · Mixed Models Analysis · Ratio (test/reference) of adjusted means: 87.97 · 90% CI 81.82 to 94.58
PrimaryMaximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions

Cmax was the maximum observed plasma concentration and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage. The ratio (Test/Reference) of adjusted means and 90% CI were expressed as percentages.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng/mL
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions
ng/mLTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing Under Fed Conditions19.19 ± 3211.36 ± 38
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast vs Treatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed · Mixed Models Analysis · Ratio (test/reference) of adjusted means: 58.26 · 90% CI 51.55 to 65.84
SecondaryApparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

Apparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) was defined as apparent clearance after oral dose on the last day of treatment period. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · liter per hour (L/hr)
Apparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing
liter per hour (L/hr)Treatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Apparent Clearance After Oral Dose (CL/F) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing5.631 ± 405.808 ± 326.648 ± 38
SecondaryTime of Observed Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

Tmax was defined as time to reach maximum observed plasma concentration.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Median · hour
Time of Observed Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing
hourTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Time of Observed Maximum Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing2.00 (0.500 to 6.00)0.975 (0.417 to 4.00)4.00 (0.967 to 24.7)
SecondaryArea Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

AUClast was area under the plasma concentration time-curve from zero (pre-dose) to the last measured concentration. The geometric coefficient of variation was expressed in percentage.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2 and predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng*hr/mL
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing
ng*hr/mLTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Profile From Time 0 to Time of the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing178.5 ± 41173.4 ± 33152.1 ± 38
SecondaryPredose Concentration During Multiple Dosing (Ctrough) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing

Ctrough was the pre-dose concentration during multiple dosing and was directly observed from data. The geometric coefficient of variation is expressed in percentage.

Time frame:
Serial blood sample (4 mL) each was collected at predose on Day 27 of Period 1 and Day 20 of Periods 2, predose and 0.5, 0.75, 1, 1.5, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 24 hours postdose on Day 28 of Period 1 and Day 21 of Period 2 to 3, respectively.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng/mL
Predose Concentration During Multiple Dosing (Ctrough) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing
ng/mLTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed
Predose Concentration During Multiple Dosing (Ctrough) of Talazoparib After Multiple Dosing4.269 ± 483.645 ± 443.633 ± 60
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (All Causalities)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Grade 3: severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening, hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization indicated, disabling, limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4: life-threatening consequence, urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5: death related to AE. Treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE) means event between first dose of study treatment and up to 28 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pretreatment state. An SAE was an AE resulting in any of death; inpatient hospitalization; life-threatening experience; disability; congenital anomaly or deemed significant for any other reason.

Time frame:
Day 1 up to 28 days after last dose of study drug (maximum up to 388 days)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (All Causalities)
ParticipantsTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule FedMaintenance
Participants with adverse events42361531
Participants with serious adverse events9717
Participants with Maximum Grade 3 or 4 adverse events1310512
Participants with Maximum Grade 5 adverse events3401
Participants discontinued study drug due to adverse events3412
Participants with dose reduced or temporary discontinuation due to adverse events139613
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (Treatment Related)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Grade 3: severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening, hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization indicated, disabling, limiting self-care ADL; Grade 4: life-threatening consequence, urgent intervention indicated; Grade 5: death related to AE. Treatment-emergent adverse event (TEAE) means event between first dose of study treatment and up to 28 days after last dose that were absent before treatment or that worsened relative to pretreatment state. An SAE was an AE resulting in any of death; inpatient hospitalization; life-threatening experience; disability; congenital anomaly or deemed significant for any other reason.

Time frame:
Day 1 up to 28 days after last dose of study drug (maximum up to 388 days)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) (Treatment Related)
ParticipantsTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule FedMaintenance
Participants with adverse events22261116
Participants with serious adverse events2003
Participants with Maximum Grade 3 or 4 adverse events98410
Participants discontinued study drug due to adverse events1101
Participants with dose reduced or temporary discontinuation due to adverse events97612

Adverse events

Collected over From day 1 up to maximum 388 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment A: Commercial Capsule Fast4/65 (6.2%)9/65 (13.8%)25/65 (38.5%)
Treatment B: Soft Gel Capsule Fast5/60 (8.3%)7/60 (11.7%)25/60 (41.7%)
Treatment C: Soft Gel Capsule Fed0/30 (0%)1/30 (3.3%)12/30 (40%)
Maintenance1/41 (2.4%)7/41 (17.1%)20/41 (48.8%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 27
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule FedMaintenance
Disease progressionGeneral disorders2/653/600/301/41
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/650/600/302/41
Intestinal obstructionGastrointestinal disorders1/650/600/302/41
Spinal cord compressionNervous system disorders0/650/601/300/41
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders2/650/600/301/41
Biliary obstructionHepatobiliary disorders2/650/600/300/41
Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders0/650/600/301/41
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders0/650/600/301/41
FatigueGeneral disorders0/650/600/301/41
HypercalcaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/650/600/301/41
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 15
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment A: Commercial Capsule FastTreatment B: Soft Gel Capsule FastTreatment C: Soft Gel Capsule FedMaintenance
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/658/605/3011/41
FatigueGeneral disorders4/6511/602/307/41
AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/651/602/305/41
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders7/655/601/301/41
Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders5/655/600/301/41
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders3/652/601/303/41
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders1/654/601/303/41
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations4/654/600/303/41
HaematuriaRenal and urinary disorders1/650/600/303/41
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/651/601/303/41

Baseline characteristics

All enrolled participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)All Participants
Mean56.8 ± 9.18
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Participants
Female43
Male30
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
Hispanic or Latino9
Not Hispanic or Latino63
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)All Participants
White57
Black or African American11
Asian1
Not reported4
08

Study locations

31 sites
  • California Cancer Associates for Research and Excellence, Inc (cCARE)
    Encinitas, California 92024, United States
  • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute
    Los Angeles, California 90048, United States
  • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
    Los Angeles, California 90048, United States
  • California Cancer Associates for Research and Excellence, Inc (cCARE)
    San Marcos, California 92069, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale New Haven
    New Haven, Connecticut 06510, United States
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital
    New Haven, Connecticut 06510, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital Phase 1 Unit
    New Haven, Connecticut 06511, United States
  • Florida Cancer Specialists
    Lake Mary, Florida 32746, United States
  • Alliance for Multispecialty Research, LLC
    Kansas City, Missouri 64114, United States
  • Montefiore Medical Center
    Bronx, New York 10461, United States
  • NYU Langone Hospital - Long Island Oncology
    Mineola, New York 11501, United States
  • NYU Langone Hospital - Long Island
    Mineola, New York 11501, United States
  • Laura & Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU Langone Health
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • NYU Investigational Pharmacy
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • NYU Langone Medical Center (Tisch Hospital)
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • University of Cincinnati Medical Center
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45219, United States
  • University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106, United States
  • West Chester Hospital
    West Chester, Ohio 45069, United States
  • UPCI Investigational Drug Service
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • UPMC Hillman Cancer Center
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Upmc Shadyside
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Mary Crowley Cancer Research - Medical City Hospital
    Dallas, Texas 75230, United States
  • NEXT Oncology
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
  • Liverpool Cancer Therapy Centre
    Liverpool, New South Wales 2170, Australia
  • Liverpool Hospital
    Liverpool, New South Wales 2170, Australia
  • Monash Health
    Clayton, Victoria 3168, Australia
  • Epworth Healthcare (Epworth Freemasons Hospital)
    East Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
  • Epworth Healthcare
    East Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
  • Epworth Healthcare
    Richmond, Victoria 3121, Australia
  • Epworth Richmond Hospital (Epworth Healthcare)
    Richmond, Victoria 3121, Australia
  • Epworth Healthcare
    East Melbourne, 3002, Australia
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jun 22, 2021
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jan 31, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — Pfizer will provide access to individual de-identified participant data and related study documents (e.g. protocol, Statistical Analysis Plan (SAP), Clinical Study Report (CSR)) upon request from qualified researchers, and subject to certain criteria, conditions, and exceptions. Further details on Pfizer's data sharing criteria and process for requesting access can be found at: https://www.pfizer.com/science/clinical_trials/trial_data_and_results/data_requests.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 25, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04672460
Lead sponsor
Pfizer
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 17, 2020
Start date
Dec 21, 2020
Primary completion
Feb 4, 2022
Completion
Jul 22, 2022
Results posted
Sep 25, 2024
Last update
Sep 25, 2024

Study contacts

Pfizer CT.gov Call Center
study director · Pfizer

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion