CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04671901Updated May 28, 2025Results posted

A Study of Romiplostim to Prevent Low Platelet Counts in Children and Young Adults Receiving Chemotherapy for Solid Tumors

A Phase 2 interventional study of Romiplostim in Solid Tumor, Solid Tumor, Childhood and Solid Carcinoma, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Terminated at 7 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 1 Year to 21 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-05-28.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Lack of accrual
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
2
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
1 Year to 21 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to find out whether romiplostim can help prevent low platelet counts caused by N8 or EFT chemotherapy, reduce the number of platelet transfusions required during chemotherapy, and prevent treatment delays due to low platelet counts.

02

Conditions studied

  • Solid Tumor
  • Solid Tumor, Childhood
  • Solid Carcinoma

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • romiplostim
  • primary solid tumor
  • Solid tumor
  • Solid tumor, childhood
  • Childhood solid tumor
  • Pediatric Solid Tumors
  • 20-467
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
03

In context

Neoplasms

9,365 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasms; 2,489 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 50 across 7,253 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasms.

Browse Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,930 studies on the registry; 328 are open to participants now.

Of its 129 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 66 (51%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
1 Year to 21 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Documented diagnosis of a primary solid tumor. Patients must have histological verification of malignancy at MSKCC.
  • Male and female patients aged 1-21 years with a primary solid tumor undergoing treatment with the pre-defined chemotherapy regimens of EFT, MAP, D9803. Prior to enrollment patient could have been undergoing induction therapy with a similarly myelosuppressive regimen as long as they will be continuing with EFT, MAP, D9803 at the time of study enrollment.
  • Patients undergoing treatment with MAP chemotherapy w ho have had ≥ 1 platelet transfusion during induction stage of treatment.
  • Total Bilirubin (sum of conjugated + unconjugated) ≤ 3 times institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) for age and ALT/AST ≤ 3 times institutional ULN for age.
  • Normal cardiac function:

    • Shortening fraction greater than or equal to 28% by echocardiogram OR Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) greater than or equal to 50% on technetium- 99m pertechnetate radionuclide cineangiography (MUGA) or echocardiogram.
    • Screening ECG with corrected QT (QTc) interval of \< 470 msec.
    • Timing of cardiac assessment: We will utilize the most recent EKG/ECHO when assessing cardiac function. See section 9.0 for additional details.
  • Adequate renal function, defined as an estimated Creatinine Clearance or GFR >40ml/min or an normal creatine for age (see below)

Serum Creatinine by age:

Age (years) \<6: Maximum Serum Creatinine (mg/dL), Male 0.8, Female 0.8 Age (years) 6 to \<10: Maximum Serum Creatinine (mg/dL), Male 1, Female 1 Age (years) 10 to \<13: Maximum Serum Creatinine (mg/dL), Male 1.2, Female 1.2 Age (years) 13 to \<16: Maximum Serum Creatinine (mg/dL), Male 1.5, Female 1.4 Age (years) >16: Maximum Serum Creatinine (mg/dL), Male 1.7, Female 1.4

These threshold creatine values were derived from the Scwartz formula estimating GFR, utilizing child length and statured published by the CDC.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with history of hematologic malignancies or allogenic/autogenic stem cell transplant.
  • Patients with a currently known predisposition to a myeloid stem cell disorder, myeloid leukemia, and/or bone marrow failure syndrome including, but not limited to:

    • Aplastic anemia
    • Ataxia telangiectasia
    • Bloom syndrome
    • Congenital amegakaryocytic thrombocytopenia
    • Cyclic neutropenia
    • Diamond Blackfan anemia
    • Dyskeratosis congenita
    • Familial AML/MDS syndromes (including ANKRD26, CEBPA, DDX41, ETV6, GATA2, RUNX1, SRP72)
    • Fanconi anemia
    • Kostmann disease
    • Li-Fraumeni syndrome
    • Neurofibromatosis
    • Nijmegen breakage syndrome
    • Noonan syndrome
    • Paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria
    • Pearson syndrome
    • Poland syndrome
    • Rothmund-Thomson syndrome
    • Severe congenital neutropenia
    • Thrombocytopenia absent radii syndrome
    • Trisomy 8
    • Trisomy 21
    • WHIM syndrome
    • Wiskott Aldrich syndrome
    • Xeroderma pigmentosa
  • Secondary malignancy in the past 5 years.
  • Patients who have previously undergone up-front chemotherapy and have relapsed or progressed through therapy.
  • Patients who have received 4 or more cycles of induction chemotherapy for their current malignancy prior to time of enrollment.
  • Previous use of romiplostim, eltrombopag, recombinant human TPO, or any other TPO receptor agonist, or any investigational platelet producing agent.
  • Patients receiving other investigational agents are not eligible for study entry.

History of uncontrolled arrhythmias, clinically significant electrocardiogram (ECG) abnormalities, active heart failure or pericardial disease.

  • Patients with current or prior venous thrombotic event or arterial thrombotic event at time of enrollment will be ineligible for this study.
  • Pregnant women/lactating mothers.
  • Patients unwilling to use effective contraception method, which includes abstinence.
  • Patients with an inability to return for follow-up visits or obtain follow-up studies required to assess toxicity to therapy.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
2 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Pediatric Participants

    Male and female patients aged 1-21 years with a primary solid tumor undergoing treatment with the pre-defined chemotherapy regimens of EFT, MAP or D9803.

    Drug: Romiplostim

Interventions

  • DrugRomiplostim

    Participants will receive weekly doses of romiplostim, beginning with cycle 4. The initial romiplostim dose will be 10 mcg/kg, and subsequent doses w ill vary based on chemotherapy regimen for a target of platelet count \> 75,000- 200,000/mcL. Participants will continue romiplostim until completion of MAP or D9803, as defined above. Maximum romiplostim dose is 10 mcg/kg. Participants will be followed until 6 months after the last dose of romiplostim.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Total Number of Platelet Transfusions During the Studied Portions of the EFT or D9803 Cycles

    The primary purpose of this study is to evaluate whether romiplostim administration can decrease the total number of platelet transfusions required during the treatment courses of EFT or D9803 when compared to the benchmark rate.

    Time frame: up to 6 months

07

Results

Posted Nov 18, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePediatric Participants
Started2
Completed2
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryTotal Number of Platelet Transfusions During the Studied Portions of the EFT or D9803 Cycles

The primary purpose of this study is to evaluate whether romiplostim administration can decrease the total number of platelet transfusions required during the treatment courses of EFT or D9803 when compared to the benchmark rate.

Time frame:
up to 6 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Pediatric Participants0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Pediatric Participants
Median14 (11 to 16)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Pediatric Participants
Female1
Male1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Pediatric Participants
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Pediatric Participants
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White1
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Pediatric Participants
United States2
08

Study locations

7 sites
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Basking Ridge (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Basking Ridge, New Jersey 07920, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Monmouth (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Middletown, New Jersey 07748, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Bergen (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Montvale, New Jersey 07645, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center @ Suffolk - Commack (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Commack, New York 11725, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Westchester (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Harrison, New York 10604, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Nassau (Limited Protocol Activities)
    Uniondale, New York 11553, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 11, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center supports the international committee of medical journal editors (ICMJE) and the ethical obligation of responsible sharing of data from clinical trials. The protocol summary, a statistical summary, and informed consent form will be made available on clinicaltrials.gov when required as a condition of Federal awards, other agreements supporting the research and/or as otherwise required. Requests for deidentified individual participant data can be made beginning 12 months after publication and for up to 36 months post publication. Deidentified individual participant data reported in the manuscript will be shared under the terms of a Data Use Agreement and may only be used for approved proposals. Requests may be made to: crdatashare@mskcc.org.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 28, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04671901
Lead sponsor
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 17, 2020
Start date
Dec 10, 2020
Primary completion
Mar 29, 2023
Completion
Mar 29, 2023
Results posted
Nov 18, 2023
Last update
May 28, 2025

Study contacts

Michael Ortiz, MD
principal investigator · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion