A Phase 3 interventional study of Dociparstat and Control in Acute Myeloid Leukemia, sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 14 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-04-15.
Sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
Phase 3 study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of dociparstat sodium in adults with newly diagnosed untreated acute myeloid leukemia (AML) with adverse or intermediate genetic risk.
A Phase 3, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of dociparstat sodium in combination with standard intensive induction and consolidation chemotherapy for the treatment of newly-diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia (AML) patients.
3,035 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute; 746 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 9 is below the median of 40 across 2,561 interventional studies indexed under Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute.
Browse Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute studies →Jazz Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 173 studies on the registry; 19 are open to participants now.
Of its 42 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 31 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
A potential participant must have met all the following criteria to be eligible to participate in the study:
Was aged ≥18 years.
Adverse genetic risk (according to European LeukemiaNet [ELN] criteria), defined as nay of the following genetic abnormalities:
Intermediate genetic risk (according to ELN criteria), defined as any of the following genetic abnormalities:
Exclusion Criteria:
A potential participant who met any of the follow criteria was not eligible to participate in the study:
Leukemia exclusions:
Had clinical evidence of central nervous system leukemia.
Prior/Concomitant Therapy:
Had previously received AML treatment, including Vyxeos (CPX-351, liposomal cytarabine and daunorubicin), gemtuzumab ozogamicin, or any other prohibited concomitant AML therapy previously received or anticipated to start during the study.
Note: Prior hydroxyurea and emergency leukapheresis to control white blood cell count were allowed. All-trans retinoic acid during workup and a single dose of intrathecal cytarabine and/or methotrexate was permitted for participants who were undergoing lumbar puncture to evaluate central nervous system involvement.
Were receiving any form of anticoagulant therapy (e.g., unfractionated heparin, low molecular weight heparin, coumadin, factor Xa inhibitors).
Note: Heparin flush of indwelling catheters was permitted.
Underwent any major surgery or radiation therapy within 28 days prior to baseline.
Medical conditions:
Had the presence of significant active or uncontrolled infection, including human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or hepatitis B or C.
Note: Subjects with an infection who were receiving treatment (antibiotic, antifungal, or antiviral treatment) may have entered into the study but must have been afebrile and hemodynamically stable for ≥72 hours. Patients who had current evidence of invasive fungal infection (positive blood or tissue culture) must have had subsequent negative cultures to be eligible.
Had a history of severe congestive heart failure or other cardiac disease that contraindicated the use of idarubicin or daunorubicin (e.g., cardiac ejection fraction \<45%, as determined by echocardiography or multigated acquisition scan).
Diagnostic assessments:
Had alanine aminotransferase or aspartate aminotransferase >3x the upper limit of normal (ULN) or total bilirubin >2x the ULN.
Other:
Treatment with standard intensive induction, reinduction, or consolidation chemotherapy and dociparstat 4 mg/kg intravenous (IV) bolus on Day 1, administered 30 minutes after completion of the first dose of idarubicin or daunorubicin, followed by dociparstat 0.25 mg/kg/hr via continuous IV infusion 24 hours daily for 5 or 7 days.
Drug: Dociparstat
Treatment with standard intensive induction, reinduction, or consolidation chemotherapy and placebo intravenous (IV) bolus on Day 1, administered 30 minutes after completion of the first dose of idarubicin or daunorubicin, followed by placebo via continuous IV infusion 24 hours daily for 5 or 7 days.
Other: Control
Dociparstat is a glycosaminoglycan derived from porcine heparin.
Also known as: DSTAT, CX-01, 2-0,3-0 desulfated heparin, ODSH, dociparstat sodium
0.9% Normal Saline
Also known as: 0.9% Normal Saline, Normal saline, Sodium chloride 0.9%
Overall Survival
Overall survival was defined for all study participants through 5 years after randomization. Overall survival was to be measured from the date of randomization to the date of death from any cause. Participants not known to have died at last follow-up contact were to be censored on the date they were last known to be alive. Due to early termination, subjects did not complete long term follow-up and efficacy (including overall survival outcome) was not analyzed.
Time frame: Measured from randomization to date of death from any cause, up to 1 year.
| Milestone | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 5 | 4 |
| Completed | 5 | 4 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 |
Overall survival was defined for all study participants through 5 years after randomization. Overall survival was to be measured from the date of randomization to the date of death from any cause. Participants not known to have died at last follow-up contact were to be censored on the date they were last known to be alive. Due to early termination, subjects did not complete long term follow-up and efficacy (including overall survival outcome) was not analyzed.
| Participants | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 4 | 4 |
Collected over All-cause mortality was assessed through study completion, up to 1 year; all adverse events were collected through 42 days after the start of the last cycle of study intervention, up to 168 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | 1/5 (20%) | 3/5 (60%) | 5/5 (100%) |
| Control | 0/4 (0%) | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Event | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control |
|---|---|---|
| DiverticulitisInfections and infestations | 0/5 | 1/4 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/5 | 0/4 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 1/5 | 0/4 |
| Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/5 | 0/4 |
| Event | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control |
|---|---|---|
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 5/5 | 3/4 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 4/5 | 1/4 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 4/5 | 1/4 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 4/5 | 1/4 |
| White blood cell count decreasedInvestigations | 4/5 | 1/4 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 3/5 | 1/4 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 3/5 | 2/4 |
| HypocalcaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 3/5 | 1/4 |
| DyspepsiaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/5 | 2/4 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 2/5 | 2/4 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 67 (61 to 69) | 64 (47 to 65) | 65 (47 to 69) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Male | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 4 | 8 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dociparstat Sodium (DSTAT) | Control | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
Ran from Apr 2021 to primary completion in May 2022, 12 months.
Results were first posted in Apr 2024, 1 year 10 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Mar 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.