A Phase 2 interventional study of Bintrafusp Alfa and Therapeutic Conventional Surgery in Resectable Lung Non-Small Cell Carcinoma, Stage I Lung Cancer AJCC v8 and Stage IA1 Lung Cancer AJCC v8, sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-07-28.
Sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This phase II trial studies how well bintrafusp alfa before surgery works in treating patients with non-small cell lung cancer for which the patient has not received treatment in the past (untreated) and that can be removed by surgery (resectable). Immunotherapy with bintrafusp alfa may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Giving bintrafusp alfa before surgery may help lower the risk of the cancer coming back after surgery.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:
I. To evaluate the rate of major pathologic response (MPR).
OUTLINE:
Patients receive bintrafusp alfa intravenously (IV) on days 1, 15, and 29 in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Within 4-6 weeks after last dose of bintrafusp alfa, patients undergo surgery at the discretion of the treating surgeon. Within 8 weeks after surgery, patients may receive chemotherapy or undergo radiation therapy at the discretion of the treating physician.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed for up to 5 years.
7,243 studies on the registry are indexed under Lung Neoplasms; 1,558 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 60 across 5,296 interventional studies indexed under Lung Neoplasms.
Browse Lung Neoplasms studies →M.D. Anderson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 2,999 studies on the registry; 581 are open to participants now.
Of its 599 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 402 (67%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Pregnant or lactating female:
Patients who are sexually active, with preserved reproductive capacity, and unwilling to use a medically acceptable method of contraception (e.g. such as implants, injectables, combined oral contraceptives, some intrauterine devices or vasectomized partner for participating females, condoms for participating males) during and after the trial as detailed below:
Patients receive bintrafusp alfa IV on days 1, 15, and 29 in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Within 4-6 weeks after last dose of bintrafusp alfa, patients undergo surgery at the discretion of the treating surgeon. Within 8 weeks after surgery, patients may receive chemotherapy or undergo radiation therapy at the discretion of the treating physician.
Drug: Bintrafusp Alfa · Procedure: Therapeutic Conventional Surgery
Given IV
Also known as: Anti-PDL1/TGFb Trap MSB0011359C, M7824, MSB0011359C
Undergo surgery
Major Pathologic Response (MPR)
MPR will be defined as =\< 10% viable tumor cells in the resected specimen using the methods described by Pataer et al. Will estimate the MPR rate with a 95% credible interval (CI) assuming that the MPR rate follows a prior beta distribution (0.5, 0.5) with one patient worth of information.
Time frame: At time of surgery
Incidence of Adverse Events
Assessed by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.
Time frame: Up to 1 year
Peri-operative Morbidity and Mortality
Time frame: Up to 1 year
Response Rates to Induction
Assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1.
Time frame: Up to 5 years post-treatment
Recurrence-free Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 12 months
Recurrence-free Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 18 months
Recurrence-free Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 24 months
Overall Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 12 months
Overall Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 18 months
Overall Survival
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
Time frame: At 24 months
Complete Resection (RO) Rate
Complete resection (R0) rate is defined as number of Participants that successfully underwent surgical resection with microscopically clear surgical margins.
Time frame: At time of surgery
Number of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response
Pathologic complete response (pCR) in resected tumor specimens. pCR is defined as the absence of any viable residual tumor at the time of surgical resection in the primary lung lesion and lymph nodes, by central (core) pathology review.
Time frame: At time of surgery
CD8+ TILs in Resected Tumor Tissue
Quantification of CD8+ TILs will be assessed by counting the cells positive for staining with an anti-CD8 antibody by immunohistochemistry and/or immunofluorescence in five random square areas (1 mm\^2 each) in both intratumoral and peritumoral compartments using an automated system.
Time frame: At time of surgery
Biomarker Analysis
Multivariate analysis will be used to explore the role of biomarkers in predicting pathologic response to treatment, in an exploratory way.
Time frame: Up to 5 years post-treatment
Participants with stage I- IIIA NSCLC amenable for surgical resection were enrolled to this study in the Thoracic Medical Oncology Center at MD Anderson Cancer Center.
| Milestone | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Started | 1 |
| Completed | 1 |
| Not completed | 0 |
MPR will be defined as =\< 10% viable tumor cells in the resected specimen using the methods described by Pataer et al. Will estimate the MPR rate with a 95% credible interval (CI) assuming that the MPR rate follows a prior beta distribution (0.5, 0.5) with one patient worth of information.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Assessed by the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Will be computed using the Kaplan-Meier method.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Complete resection (R0) rate is defined as number of Participants that successfully underwent surgical resection with microscopically clear surgical margins.
| Participants | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Complete Resection (RO) Rate | 0 |
Pathologic complete response (pCR) in resected tumor specimens. pCR is defined as the absence of any viable residual tumor at the time of surgical resection in the primary lung lesion and lymph nodes, by central (core) pathology review.
| Participants | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response | 0 |
Quantification of CD8+ TILs will be assessed by counting the cells positive for staining with an anti-CD8 antibody by immunohistochemistry and/or immunofluorescence in five random square areas (1 mm\^2 each) in both intratumoral and peritumoral compartments using an automated system.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Multivariate analysis will be used to explore the role of biomarkers in predicting pathologic response to treatment, in an exploratory way.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Collected over from the time of the first protocol-specific intervention, until 100 days after the last dose of drug, unless the participant withdraws consent, approximately 11 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| Event | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| PneumothoraxRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/1 |
| Event | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/1 |
| Bone painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/1 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/1 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 1 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Female | 1 |
| Male | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 1 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Arm A: M7824 , Surgery, SOC Post-Op |
|---|---|
| United States | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center