CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04516746Updated Feb 5, 2024Results posted

Phase III Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study of AZD1222 for the Prevention of COVID-19 in Adults

A Phase 3 interventional study of AZD1222 and Placebo in COVID-19 and SARS-CoV-2, sponsored by AstraZeneca. Completed at 84 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 130 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-02-05.

Sponsored by AstraZeneca · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
32,450
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 130 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The aim of the study is to assess the safety, efficacy, and immunogenicity of AZD1222 for the prevention of COVID-19.

Read the detailed description

The COVID-19 pandemic has caused major disruption to healthcare systems with significant socioeconomic impacts. Currently, there are no specific treatments available against COVID-19 and accelerated vaccine development is urgently needed. A safe and effective vaccine for COVID-19 prevention would have significant public health impact.

02

Conditions studied

  • COVID-19
  • SARS-CoV-2

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • COVID-19 Vaccine
03

In context

COVID-19

7,640 studies on the registry are indexed under COVID-19; 488 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 32,450 is above the median of 100 across 4,099 interventional studies indexed under COVID-19.

Browse COVID-19 studies →

Lead sponsor

AstraZeneca is the lead sponsor of 3,429 studies on the registry; 270 are open to participants now.

Of its 357 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 173 (48%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 130 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • Increased risk of SARS-CoV-2 infection
  • Medically stable

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • confirmed or suspected immunosuppressive or immunodeficient state
  • significant disease, disorder, or finding
  • Prior or concomitant vaccine therapy for COVID-19
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
32,450 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    AZD1222

    Approximately 20,000 participants randomized to the AZD1222 arm

    Biological: AZD1222

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Approximately 10,000 participants randomized to the saline placebo arm

    Biological: Placebo

Interventions

  • BiologicalAZD1222

    AZD1222 is a recombinant replication-defective chimpanzee adenovirus expressing the SARS-CoV-2-5 surface glycoprotein.

  • BiologicalPlacebo

    Commercially available 0.9% (n/V) saline for injection.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Binary Response

    A binary response, whereby a participant with negative serostatus at baseline is defined as a COVID-19 case if their first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurs ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention. Otherwise, a participant is not defined as a COVID-19 case. The primary efficacy analysis was performed once approximately 150 events meeting the primary efficacy outcome measure definition had occurred across the AZD1222 and placebo groups.

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to data cut-off date (DCO) of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  2. Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Post Each Dose of Study Intervention

    An AE is the development of any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant administered medicinal product and which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this medicinal product. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.

    Time frame: From Day 1 up to 28 days post second dose of study intervention, approximately 57 days

  3. Number of Participants With Serious Adverse Events (SAE), Medically Attended Adverse Events (MAAE), and Adverse Event of Special Interest (AESI) Prior to Non-study COVID-19 Vaccination

    An SAE is an AE occurring during any study phase that fulfils 1 or more of the following criteria: death; immediately life-threatening; in-participant hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; persistent or significant disability or incapacity; congenital abnormality or birth defect; an important medical event. AESIs were events of scientific and medical interest specific to the further understanding of the study intervention safety profile and required close monitoring and rapid communication by the investigators to the sponsor. MAAEs are defined as AEs leading to medically-attended visits that were not routine visits for physical examination or vaccination, such as an emergency room visit, or an otherwise unscheduled visit to or from medical personnel (medical doctor) for any reason. Different follow-up time between AZD1222 and Placebo groups (20223 versus 3893 participant years).

    Time frame: From Day 1 up to receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination or a maximum of Day 760 for participants without non-study COVID-19 vaccination.

  4. Number of Participants With Local and Systemic Solicited AEs in the Substudy Only

    Solicited AEs are local or systemic predefined events for assessment of reactogenicity. Solicited AEs were collected in a e-Diary only for participants in the substudy.

    Time frame: From Day 1 up to 7 days post each dose of study intervention, approximately 14 days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With First Post-intervention Response for SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Antibodies Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of the first post-intervention response (negative at baseline to positive post intervention with study intervention) for SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid antibodies occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention (key secondary endpoint).

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  2. Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention using CDC criteria. Participant must present with at least 1 of the following symptoms per CDC criteria: fever, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, chills, cough, fatigue, muscle aches, body aches, headache, new loss of taste, new loss of smell, sore throat, congestion, runny nose, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea.

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  3. Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using University of Oxford-Defined Symptom Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention using University of Oxford-defined symptom criteria: new onset of fever (\> 100 °Fahrenheit \[\> 37.8 °Celsius\]), cough, shortness of breath, or anosmia/ageusia.

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  4. Number of Participants With First Symptomatic COVID-19 Regardless of Evidence of Prior SARS-CoV-2 Infection Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention regardless of evidence of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection (key secondary endpoint).

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  5. Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive severe or critical symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention. The severity of COVID-19 was evaluated in participants with symptoms of COVID-19. Following are the findings regarding severe of critical symptomatic COVID-19: clinical signs at rest indicative of severe systemic illness; respiratory failure; evidence of shock; significant acute renal, hepatic, or neurologic dysfunction; admission to an intensive care unit; and death (key secondary endpoint).

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  6. Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive severe or critical symptomatic illness occurring post first dose of study intervention. The severity of COVID-19 was evaluated in participants with symptoms of COVID-19. Following are the findings regarding severe of critical symptomatic COVID-19: clinical signs at rest indicative of severe systemic illness; respiratory failure; evidence of shock; significant acute renal, hepatic, or neurologic dysfunction; admission to an intensive care unit; and death.

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  7. Number of Participants With COVID-19-Related Emergency Department Visits Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of COVID-19-related emergency department visits occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention (key secondary endpoint).

    Time frame: From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks

  8. Geometric Mean Titers (GMTs) for SARS-CoV-2 Spike (S) and Receptor Binding Domain (RBD) Antibodies as Measured by Meso Scale Discovery (MSD) Serology Assay

    The GMT was calculated as the antilogarithm of Σ(log base 2 transformed titer/n), i.e. as the anti-logarithm transformation of the mean of the log-transformed titer, where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

    Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730

  9. Geometric Mean Fold Rise (GMFR) for SARS-CoV-2 S and RBD Antibodies as Measured by MSD Serology Assay

    The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. GMFR was calculated as anti-logarithm of Σ (log base 2 transformed (post-vaccination titer/ pre-vaccination titer)/n). Where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

    Time frame: Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730

  10. Percentage of Participants With Seroresponse to the S and RBD Antigens of AZD1222 as Measured by MSD Serology Assay

    The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. The percentage of participants with a post-intervention seroresponse (≥ 4-fold rise in titers from baseline value to 28 days post each dose) to the S and RBD antigens of AZD1222 as measured by MSD serology assay is reported.

    Time frame: Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730

  11. GMTs for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

    The GMT was calculated as the antilogarithm of Σ(log base 2 transformed titer/n), i.e. as the anti-logarithm transformation of the mean of the log-transformed titer, where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

    Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360

  12. GMFR for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

    The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. GMFR was calculated as anti-logarithm of Σ (log base 2 transformed (post-vaccination titer/ pre-vaccination titer)/n). Where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

    Time frame: Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360

  13. Percentage of Participants With Seroresponse to SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies of AZD1222 as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

    The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. The percentage of participants with a post-intervention seroresponse (≥ 4-fold rise in titers from baseline value to 28 days post each dose) to SARS-CoV-2 neutralizing antibodies of AZD1222 as measured by pseudo-neutralization assay is reported.

    Time frame: Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360

  14. Number of Participants With COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention

    The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring post first dose of study intervention.

    Time frame: From Day 1 up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of approximately 27 weeks

07

Results

Posted Apr 1, 2022

Participant flow

This Phase III randomized study was conducted in adult participants who were healthy or had medically stable chronic diseases and were at increased risk for severe acute respiratory syndrome-coronavirus-2 (SARS-CoV-2) acquisition and coronavirus disease-2019 (COVID-19) at 88 centers in Chile, Peru and United States of America between 28 August 2020 and 10 February 2023.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAZD1222Placebo
Started2163410816
Participants who received first dose2158310797
Participants who received second dose207709954
Completed160997213
Not completed55353603
Withdrew: Randomized but not treated5119
Withdrew: Adverse event01
Withdrew: Death6232
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up34311831
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject19461696
Withdrew: Physician decision108
Withdrew: Other3516

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Binary Response

A binary response, whereby a participant with negative serostatus at baseline is defined as a COVID-19 case if their first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurs ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention. Otherwise, a participant is not defined as a COVID-19 case. The primary efficacy analysis was performed once approximately 150 events meeting the primary efficacy outcome measure definition had occurred across the AZD1222 and placebo groups.

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to data cut-off date (DCO) of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Binary Response
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With Binary Response73130
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 73.98 · 95% CI 65.34 to 80.47
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Post Each Dose of Study Intervention

An AE is the development of any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant administered medicinal product and which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this medicinal product. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product.

Time frame:
From Day 1 up to 28 days post second dose of study intervention, approximately 57 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) Post Each Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
After first dose57361926
After second dose50741797
After any dose87713201
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Serious Adverse Events (SAE), Medically Attended Adverse Events (MAAE), and Adverse Event of Special Interest (AESI) Prior to Non-study COVID-19 Vaccination

An SAE is an AE occurring during any study phase that fulfils 1 or more of the following criteria: death; immediately life-threatening; in-participant hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; persistent or significant disability or incapacity; congenital abnormality or birth defect; an important medical event. AESIs were events of scientific and medical interest specific to the further understanding of the study intervention safety profile and required close monitoring and rapid communication by the investigators to the sponsor. MAAEs are defined as AEs leading to medically-attended visits that were not routine visits for physical examination or vaccination, such as an emergency room visit, or an otherwise unscheduled visit to or from medical personnel (medical doctor) for any reason. Different follow-up time between AZD1222 and Placebo groups (20223 versus 3893 participant years).

Time frame:
From Day 1 up to receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination or a maximum of Day 760 for participants without non-study COVID-19 vaccination.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Serious Adverse Events (SAE), Medically Attended Adverse Events (MAAE), and Adverse Event of Special Interest (AESI) Prior to Non-study COVID-19 Vaccination
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
SAEs621136
MAAEs47501256
AESIs2516591
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Local and Systemic Solicited AEs in the Substudy Only

Solicited AEs are local or systemic predefined events for assessment of reactogenicity. Solicited AEs were collected in a e-Diary only for participants in the substudy.

Time frame:
From Day 1 up to 7 days post each dose of study intervention, approximately 14 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Local and Systemic Solicited AEs in the Substudy Only
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Solicited local AEs: After first dose1250173
Solicited local AEs: After second dose977120
Solicited local AEs: After any dose1440239
Solicited systemic AEs: After first dose1191415
Solicited systemic AEs: After second dose862314
Solicited systemic AEs: After any dose1395519
SecondaryNumber of Participants With First Post-intervention Response for SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Antibodies Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of the first post-intervention response (negative at baseline to positive post intervention with study intervention) for SARS-CoV-2 nucleocapsid antibodies occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention (key secondary endpoint).

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With First Post-intervention Response for SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Antibodies Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With First Post-intervention Response for SARS-CoV-2 Nucleocapsid Antibodies Post Second Dose of Study Intervention156202
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 64.32 · 95% CI 56.05 to 71.03
SecondaryNumber of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention using CDC criteria. Participant must present with at least 1 of the following symptoms per CDC criteria: fever, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, chills, cough, fatigue, muscle aches, body aches, headache, new loss of taste, new loss of smell, sore throat, congestion, runny nose, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea.

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention95145
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 69.65 · 95% CI 60.68 to 76.57
SecondaryNumber of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using University of Oxford-Defined Symptom Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention using University of Oxford-defined symptom criteria: new onset of fever (\> 100 °Fahrenheit \[\> 37.8 °Celsius\]), cough, shortness of breath, or anosmia/ageusia.

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using University of Oxford-Defined Symptom Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With First COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Using University of Oxford-Defined Symptom Criteria Post Second Dose of Study Intervention86136
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 70.70 · 95% CI 61.62 to 77.64
SecondaryNumber of Participants With First Symptomatic COVID-19 Regardless of Evidence of Prior SARS-CoV-2 Infection Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of the first case of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention regardless of evidence of prior SARS-CoV-2 infection (key secondary endpoint).

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With First Symptomatic COVID-19 Regardless of Evidence of Prior SARS-CoV-2 Infection Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With First Symptomatic COVID-19 Regardless of Evidence of Prior SARS-CoV-2 Infection Post Second Dose of Study Intervention76135
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 73.68 · 95% CI 65.13 to 80.13
SecondaryNumber of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive severe or critical symptomatic illness occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention. The severity of COVID-19 was evaluated in participants with symptoms of COVID-19. Following are the findings regarding severe of critical symptomatic COVID-19: clinical signs at rest indicative of severe systemic illness; respiratory failure; evidence of shock; significant acute renal, hepatic, or neurologic dysfunction; admission to an intensive care unit; and death (key secondary endpoint).

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post Second Dose of Study Intervention08
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression exact conditional · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 100.00
SecondaryNumber of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive severe or critical symptomatic illness occurring post first dose of study intervention. The severity of COVID-19 was evaluated in participants with symptoms of COVID-19. Following are the findings regarding severe of critical symptomatic COVID-19: clinical signs at rest indicative of severe systemic illness; respiratory failure; evidence of shock; significant acute renal, hepatic, or neurologic dysfunction; admission to an intensive care unit; and death.

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Severe or Critical Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention516
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = <0.001 · Vaccine efficacy: 84.97 · 95% CI 58.97 to 94.50
SecondaryNumber of Participants With COVID-19-Related Emergency Department Visits Post Second Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of COVID-19-related emergency department visits occurring ≥ 15 days post second dose of study intervention (key secondary endpoint).

Time frame:
From 15 days post second dose up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of 17 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With COVID-19-Related Emergency Department Visits Post Second Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With COVID-19-Related Emergency Department Visits Post Second Dose of Study Intervention19
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Poisson regression with robust variance · p = 0.005 · Vaccine efficacy: 94.80 · 95% CI 58.98 to 99.34
SecondaryGeometric Mean Titers (GMTs) for SARS-CoV-2 Spike (S) and Receptor Binding Domain (RBD) Antibodies as Measured by Meso Scale Discovery (MSD) Serology Assay

The GMT was calculated as the antilogarithm of Σ(log base 2 transformed titer/n), i.e. as the anti-logarithm transformation of the mean of the log-transformed titer, where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

Time frame:
Baseline (Day 1) and Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730
Reported as:
Geometric mean · arbitrary units per milliliter (AU/mL)
Geometric Mean Titers (GMTs) for SARS-CoV-2 Spike (S) and Receptor Binding Domain (RBD) Antibodies as Measured by Meso Scale Discovery (MSD) Serology Assay
arbitrary units per milliliter (AU/mL)AZD1222Placebo
S Antibody Titer: Baseline (Day 1)53.18 (50.37 to 56.14)54.68 (50.10 to 59.69)
S Antibody Titer: Day 151820.10 (1696.48 to 1952.72)53.47 (48.88 to 58.50)
S Antibody Titer: Day 295782.09 (5389.88 to 6202.84)53.64 (47.98 to 59.97)
S Antibody Titer: Day 4324105.87 (22945.04 to 25325.44)58.15 (52.68 to 64.18)
S Antibody Titer: Day 5719488.64 (18521.81 to 20505.92)58.30 (52.35 to 64.94)
S Antibody Titer: Day 9014583.30 (13839.22 to 15367.38)87.51 (74.78 to 102.42)
S Antibody Titer: Day 1807483.04 (6911.35 to 8102.02)266.47 (161.19 to 440.49)
S Antibody Titer: Day 3606686.81 (5779.74 to 7736.24)1268.45 (489.80 to 3284.98)
S Antibody Titer: Day 730186727.78 (154395.93 to 225830.20)19093.94 (5685.04 to 64129.44)
RBD Antibody Titer: Baseline (Day 1)133.6 (129.1 to 138.4)138.9 (130.9 to 147.3)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 15965.0 (897.0 to 1038.1)138.6 (130.5 to 147.1)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 295176.6 (4794.8 to 5588.9)143.0 (132.4 to 154.3)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 4329351.9 (27875.6 to 30906.4)145.7 (136.0 to 156.1)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 5723840.6 (22614.3 to 25133.3)151.6 (140.3 to 163.8)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 9017499.9 (16559.1 to 18494.1)192.6 (171.0 to 217.0)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 1808333.1 (7647.9 to 9079.7)481.6 (314.8 to 736.7)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 3607499.2 (6417.7 to 8763.1)1912.3 (839.0 to 4358.5)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 730276381.8 (227665.9 to 335521.9)19319.4 (5290.3 to 70551.9)
SecondaryGeometric Mean Fold Rise (GMFR) for SARS-CoV-2 S and RBD Antibodies as Measured by MSD Serology Assay

The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. GMFR was calculated as anti-logarithm of Σ (log base 2 transformed (post-vaccination titer/ pre-vaccination titer)/n). Where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

Time frame:
Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ratio
Geometric Mean Fold Rise (GMFR) for SARS-CoV-2 S and RBD Antibodies as Measured by MSD Serology Assay
ratioAZD1222Placebo
S Antibody Titer: Day 1534.28 (31.87 to 36.86)0.97 (0.94 to 1.00)
S Antibody Titer: Day 29108.35 (99.95 to 117.45)0.92 (0.87 to 0.96)
S Antibody Titer: Day 43455.38 (425.71 to 487.12)1.08 (1.02 to 1.14)
S Antibody Titer: Day 57373.44 (348.12 to 400.60)1.10 (1.02 to 1.19)
S Antibody Titer: Day 90274.05 (255.01 to 294.50)1.61 (1.41 to 1.85)
S Antibody Titer: Day 180138.44 (125.37 to 152.88)3.33 (2.07 to 5.37)
S Antibody Titer: Day 360121.12 (102.89 to 142.58)17.44 (6.75 to 45.07)
S Antibody Titer: Day 7303506.74 (2808.52 to 4378.55)295.66 (89.07 to 981.35)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 157.24 (6.76 to 7.76)1.00 (0.98 to 1.02)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 2939.01 (36.10 to 42.17)1.01 (0.98 to 1.03)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 43219.94 (207.28 to 233.37)1.05 (1.01 to 1.09)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 57178.61 (167.97 to 189.92)1.10 (1.04 to 1.16)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 90130.46 (122.53 to 138.89)1.41 (1.27 to 1.57)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 18061.69 (56.27 to 67.62)3.13 (2.11 to 4.65)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 36053.91 (45.86 to 63.37)11.18 (4.91 to 25.45)
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 7302103.65 (1706.88 to 2592.64)106.35 (29.93 to 377.87)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Seroresponse to the S and RBD Antigens of AZD1222 as Measured by MSD Serology Assay

The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. The percentage of participants with a post-intervention seroresponse (≥ 4-fold rise in titers from baseline value to 28 days post each dose) to the S and RBD antigens of AZD1222 as measured by MSD serology assay is reported.

Time frame:
Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, 360, and 730
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Seroresponse to the S and RBD Antigens of AZD1222 as Measured by MSD Serology Assay
percentage of participantsAZD1222Placebo
S Antibody Titer: Day 1589.81.1
S Antibody Titer: Day 2997.11.6
S Antibody Titer: Day 4399.42.5
S Antibody Titer: Day 5799.33.2
S Antibody Titer: Day 9099.38.9
S Antibody Titer: Day 18098.323.3
S Antibody Titer: Day 36096.154.3
S Antibody Titer: Day 730100.090.9
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 1561.30.4
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 2992.21.0
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 4398.82.0
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 5798.72.6
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 9098.67.7
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 18096.322.6
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 36089.850.0
RBD Antibody Titer: Day 73099.386.4
SecondaryGMTs for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

The GMT was calculated as the antilogarithm of Σ(log base 2 transformed titer/n), i.e. as the anti-logarithm transformation of the mean of the log-transformed titer, where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

Time frame:
Baseline (Day 1) and Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360
Reported as:
Geometric mean · AU/mL
GMTs for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay
AU/mLAZD1222Placebo
Baseline (Day 1)20.6 (20.3 to 20.9)21.4 (20.7 to 22.0)
Day 1541.7 (39.3 to 44.2)21.7 (20.9 to 22.4)
Day 2965.9 (60.8 to 71.4)23.0 (21.8 to 24.3)
Day 43221.3 (208.4 to 235.0)22.6 (21.6 to 23.5)
Day 57251.8 (235.7 to 269.0)23.3 (22.1 to 24.6)
Day 90206.1 (150.3 to 282.6)37.5 (15.0 to 94.1)
Day 180112.9 (90.4 to 141.0)51.3 (37.4 to 70.4)
Day 360265.7 (94.0 to 751.1)46.3 (20.1 to 106.4)
SecondaryGMFR for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. GMFR was calculated as anti-logarithm of Σ (log base 2 transformed (post-vaccination titer/ pre-vaccination titer)/n). Where 'n' is the number of participants with titer information.

Time frame:
Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ratio
GMFR for SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay
ratioAZD1222Placebo
Day 152.03 (1.92 to 2.15)1.01 (0.99 to 1.03)
Day 293.24 (2.99 to 3.50)1.07 (1.02 to 1.11)
Day 4310.91 (10.27 to 11.58)1.05 (1.01 to 1.08)
Day 5712.32 (11.54 to 13.16)1.08 (1.03 to 1.14)
Day 909.95 (7.33 to 13.51)1.94 (0.74 to 5.09)
Day 1805.37 (4.30 to 6.71)2.22 (1.65 to 3.00)
Day 36012.64 (4.31 to 37.11)2.31 (1.01 to 5.32)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Seroresponse to SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies of AZD1222 as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay

The fold rise was calculated as the ratio of the post-vaccination titer level to the pre-vaccination titer level. The percentage of participants with a post-intervention seroresponse (≥ 4-fold rise in titers from baseline value to 28 days post each dose) to SARS-CoV-2 neutralizing antibodies of AZD1222 as measured by pseudo-neutralization assay is reported.

Time frame:
Days 15, 29, 43, 57, 90, 180, and 360
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Seroresponse to SARS-CoV-2 Neutralizing Antibodies of AZD1222 as Measured by Pseudo-neutralization Assay
percentage of participantsAZD1222Placebo
Day 1524.80.3
Day 2941.11.8
Day 4384.41.9
Day 5784.42.2
Day 9083.310.0
Day 18051.522.0
Day 36053.828.6
SecondaryNumber of Participants With COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention

The incidence of SARS-CoV-2 RT-PCR-positive symptomatic illness occurring post first dose of study intervention.

Time frame:
From Day 1 up to DCO of 05 March 2021 or study discontinuation or unblinding or receipt of non-study COVID-19 vaccination, up to a maximum of approximately 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention
ParticipantsAZD1222Placebo
Number of Participants With COVID-19 Symptomatic Illness Post First Dose of Study Intervention287303
Statistical analysis
  • AZD1222 vs Placebo · Vaccine efficacy: 54.47 · 95% CI 46.48 to 61.26

Adverse events

Collected over For SAEs: From first dose of study intervention up to 2 years of follow-up post first dose, a maximum of approximately 760 days; For non-serious AEs: From first dose of study intervention up to 28 days post each dose, a maximum of approximately 57 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
AZD122262/21,587 (0.3%)1,039/21,587 (4.8%)11,846/21,587 (54.9%)
Placebo33/10,793 (0.3%)467/10,793 (4.3%)4,234/10,793 (39.2%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 732
Most frequent serious events
EventAZD1222Placebo
Prostate cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)32/2158722/10793
COVID-19 pneumoniaInfections and infestations29/2158721/10793
COVID-19Infections and infestations20/2158716/10793
PneumoniaInfections and infestations32/215878/10793
Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders29/215877/10793
AppendicitisInfections and infestations29/2158711/10793
Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders27/215877/10793
Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders21/2158713/10793
Coronary artery diseaseCardiac disorders25/215875/10793
OsteoarthritisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders14/2158710/10793
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventAZD1222Placebo
COVID-19Infections and infestations6207/215872715/10793
Injection site painGeneral disorders3624/21587532/10793
HeadacheNervous system disorders3511/21587996/10793
FatigueGeneral disorders2836/21587853/10793
ChillsGeneral disorders2208/21587248/10793
PainGeneral disorders1857/21587264/10793
MyalgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1622/21587278/10793
PyrexiaGeneral disorders1174/2158773/10793

Baseline characteristics

All randomized participants analysis set included all participants who enrolled into the study.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)AZD1222PlaceboTotal
Mean50.2 ± 15.9250.2 ± 15.8650.2 ± 15.90
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)AZD1222PlaceboTotal
Female9603479714400
Male12031601918050
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)AZD1222PlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino478724567243
Not Hispanic or Latino16506821724723
Not reported293127420
Unknown481664
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)AZD1222PlaceboTotal
Multiple513258771
White17100853425634
Black or African American17988992697
Asian9474831430
American Indian or Alaska Native8554301285
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander602181
Not reported260138398
Unknown10153154
08

Study locations

84 sites
  • Research Site
    Phoenix, Arizona 85018, United States
  • Research Site
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85258, United States
  • Research Site
    Little Rock, Arkansas 72212, United States
  • Research Site
    Berkeley, California 94705, United States
  • Research Site
    El Centro, California 92243, United States
  • Research Site
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • Research Site
    Los Angeles, California 90095, United States
  • Research Site
    San Diego, California 92103, United States
  • Research Site
    San Diego, California 92134, United States
  • Research Site
    San Francisco, California 94102, United States
  • Research Site
    San Francisco, California 94158, United States
  • Research Site
    Torrance, California 90502, United States
  • Research Site
    Denver, Colorado 80204, United States
  • Research Site
    Danbury, Connecticut 06810, United States
  • Research Site
    Coral Gables, Florida 33134, United States
  • Research Site
    Lake Worth, Florida 33462, United States
  • Research Site
    Miami Lakes, Florida 33016, United States
  • Research Site
    Orlando, Florida 32803, United States
  • Research Site
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96814, United States
  • Research Site
    Meridian, Idaho 83642, United States
  • Research Site
    Chicago, Illinois 60612, United States
  • Research Site
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • Research Site
    Ankeny, Iowa 50023, United States
  • Research Site
    Fairway, Kansas 66205, United States
  • Research Site
    Kansas City, Kansas 66160, United States
  • Research Site
    Wichita, Kansas 67207, United States
  • Research Site
    Wichita, Kansas 67214, United States
  • Research Site
    Lexington, Kentucky 40509, United States
  • Research Site
    Lake Charles, Louisiana 70601, United States
  • Research Site
    Monroe, Louisiana 71201, United States
  • Research Site
    Baltimore, Maryland 21201, United States
  • Research Site
    Baltimore, Maryland 21205, United States
  • Research Site
    Bethesda, Maryland 20889, United States
  • Research Site
    Boston, Massachusetts 02111, United States
  • Research Site
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Research Site
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • Research Site
    Royal Oak, Michigan 48073, United States
  • Research Site
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55425, United States
  • Research Site
    Gulfport, Mississippi 39503, United States
  • Research Site
    Butte, Montana 59701, United States
  • Research Site
    Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801, United States
  • Research Site
    Berlin, New Jersey 08009, United States
  • Research Site
    Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102, United States
  • Research Site
    Bronx, New York 10467, United States
  • Research Site
    Brooklyn, New York 11220, United States
  • Research Site
    Mineola, New York 11501, United States
  • Research Site
    New York, New York 10010, United States
  • Research Site
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • Research Site
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Research Site
    Rochester, New York 14621, United States
  • Research Site
    Rochester, New York 14642, United States
  • Research Site
    Valhalla, New York 10595, United States
  • Research Site
    Durham, North Carolina 27710, United States
  • Research Site
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45229, United States
  • Research Site
    Columbus, Ohio 43210, United States
  • Research Site
    Yukon, Oklahoma 73099, United States
  • Research Site
    Portland, Oregon 97239, United States
  • Research Site
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Research Site
    Warwick, Rhode Island 02886, United States
  • Research Site
    Charleston, South Carolina 29425, United States
  • Research Site
    North Charleston, South Carolina 29406, United States
  • Research Site
    Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303, United States
  • Research Site
    Knoxville, Tennessee 37920, United States
  • Research Site
    Nashville, Tennessee 37203, United States
  • Research Site
    Austin, Texas 78745, United States
  • Research Site
    Dallas, Texas 75208, United States
  • Research Site
    Fort Sam Houston, Texas 78234, United States
  • Research Site
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Research Site
    McAllen, Texas 78504, United States
  • Research Site
    San Antonio, Texas 78236, United States
  • Research Site
    Spring, Texas 77381, United States
  • Research Site
    West Jordan, Utah 84088, United States
  • Research Site
    Burlington, Vermont 05401, United States
  • Research Site
    Fort Belvoir, Virginia 22060, United States
  • Research Site
    Richmond, Virginia 23226, United States
  • Research Site
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
  • Research Site
    South Charleston, West Virginia 25309, United States
  • Research Site
    Madison, Wisconsin 53792-5666, United States
  • Research Site
    Quillota, 2260000, Chile
  • Research Site
    Santiago, 7500539, Chile
  • Research Site
    Santiago, 8380453, Chile
  • Research Site
    Callao, 0, Peru
  • Research Site
    Cercado De Lima, LIMA 1, Peru
  • Research Site
    Lima, 15036, Peru
09

References and documents

Publications

  • CDC. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention). Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), Symptoms of Coronavrus. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptomstesting/ symptoms.html. Published 2020. Accessed 01 July 2020.
  • FDA. (Food and Drug Administration). Guidance for Industry. Toxicity grading scale for healthy adult and adolescent volunteers enrolled in preventive vaccine clinical trials. . https://www.fda.gov/media/73679/download. Published 2007. Accessed 20 June 2020.
  • Folegatti PM, Bittaye M, Flaxman A, Lopez FR, Bellamy D, Kupke A, Mair C, Makinson R, Sheridan J, Rohde C, Halwe S, Jeong Y, Park YS, Kim JO, Song M, Boyd A, Tran N, Silman D, Poulton I, Datoo M, Marshall J, Themistocleous Y, Lawrie A, Roberts R, Berrie E, Becker S, Lambe T, Hill A, Ewer K, Gilbert S. Safety and immunogenicity of a candidate Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus viral-vectored vaccine: a dose-escalation, open-label, non-randomised, uncontrolled, phase 1 trial. Lancet Infect Dis. 2020 Jul;20(7):816-826. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30160-2. Epub 2020 Apr 21. Erratum In: Lancet Infect Dis. 2020 Jul;20(7):e148. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30393-5. Lancet Infect Dis. 2020 Jul;20(7):e148. doi: 10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30508-9. PubMed 32325038 ↗
  • Li F. Structure, Function, and Evolution of Coronavirus Spike Proteins. Annu Rev Virol. 2016 Sep 29;3(1):237-261. doi: 10.1146/annurev-virology-110615-042301. Epub 2016 Aug 25. PubMed 27578435 ↗
  • Lu R, Zhao X, Li J, Niu P, Yang B, Wu H, Wang W, Song H, Huang B, Zhu N, Bi Y, Ma X, Zhan F, Wang L, Hu T, Zhou H, Hu Z, Zhou W, Zhao L, Chen J, Meng Y, Wang J, Lin Y, Yuan J, Xie Z, Ma J, Liu WJ, Wang D, Xu W, Holmes EC, Gao GF, Wu G, Chen W, Shi W, Tan W. Genomic characterisation and epidemiology of 2019 novel coronavirus: implications for virus origins and receptor binding. Lancet. 2020 Feb 22;395(10224):565-574. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30251-8. Epub 2020 Jan 30. PubMed 32007145 ↗
  • SPEAC. (Safety Platform for Emergency Vaccines) D2.3 Priority list of adverse events of special interest: COVID-19. Work Package: WP2 Standards and Tools. v1.1. 05 March 2020. https://media.tghn.org/articles/COVID-19_AESIs_SPEAC_V1.1_5Mar2020.pdf. Published 2020. Accessed 14 June 2020.
  • van Doremalen N, Lambe T, Spencer A, Belij-Rammerstorfer S, Purushotham JN, Port JR et al. ChAdOx1 nCoV-19 vaccination prevents SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia in rhesus macaques. bioRxiv. 2020;2020.05.13.093195.
  • Waldrop G, Doherty M, Vitoria M, Ford N. Stable patients and patients with advanced disease: consensus definitions to support sustained scale up of antiretroviral therapy. Trop Med Int Health. 2016 Sep;21(9):1124-30. doi: 10.1111/tmi.12746. Epub 2016 Jul 22. PubMed 27371814 ↗
  • WHO. (World Health Organization) Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) situation report-175. 13 July 2020. https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200713- covid-19-sitrep-175.pdf?sfvrsn=d6acef25_2. Published 2020. Accessed 13 July 2020.
  • Zhou P, Yang XL, Wang XG, Hu B, Zhang L, Zhang W, Si HR, Zhu Y, Li B, Huang CL, Chen HD, Chen J, Luo Y, Guo H, Jiang RD, Liu MQ, Chen Y, Shen XR, Wang X, Zheng XS, Zhao K, Chen QJ, Deng F, Liu LL, Yan B, Zhan FX, Wang YY, Xiao GF, Shi ZL. A pneumonia outbreak associated with a new coronavirus of probable bat origin. Nature. 2020 Mar;579(7798):270-273. doi: 10.1038/s41586-020-2012-7. Epub 2020 Feb 3. Erratum In: Nature. 2020 Dec;588(7836):E6. doi: 10.1038/s41586-020-2951-z. PubMed 32015507 ↗
  • Clinical Study Protocol - 1.0 AstraZeneca AZD1222 - D8110C00001 CONFIDENTIAL AND PROPRIETARY 92 of 92
  • Zou G. A modified poisson regression approach to prospective studies with binary data. Am J Epidemiol. 2004 Apr 1;159(7):702-6. doi: 10.1093/aje/kwh090. PubMed 15033648 ↗
  • Sobieszczyk ME, Maaske J, Falsey AR, Sproule S, Robb ML, Frenck RW Jr, Tieu HV, Mayer KH, Corey L, Neuzil KM, Tong T, Brewinski Isaacs M, Janes H, Bansal H, Edwards LM, Green JA, Kelly EJ, Shoemaker K, Takas T, White T, Bhuyan P, Villafana T, Hirsch AI; AstraZeneca AZD1222 Clinical Study Group. Durability of protection and immunogenicity of AZD1222 (ChAdOx1 nCoV-19) COVID-19 vaccine over 6 months. J Clin Invest. 2022 Sep 15;132(18):e160565. doi: 10.1172/JCI160565. PubMed 36106642 ↗
  • Falsey AR, Sobieszczyk ME, Hirsch I, Sproule S, Robb ML, Corey L, Neuzil KM, Hahn W, Hunt J, Mulligan MJ, McEvoy C, DeJesus E, Hassman M, Little SJ, Pahud BA, Durbin A, Pickrell P, Daar ES, Bush L, Solis J, Carr QO, Oyedele T, Buchbinder S, Cowden J, Vargas SL, Guerreros Benavides A, Call R, Keefer MC, Kirkpatrick BD, Pullman J, Tong T, Brewinski Isaacs M, Benkeser D, Janes HE, Nason MC, Green JA, Kelly EJ, Maaske J, Mueller N, Shoemaker K, Takas T, Marshall RP, Pangalos MN, Villafana T, Gonzalez-Lopez A; AstraZeneca AZD1222 Clinical Study Group. Phase 3 Safety and Efficacy of AZD1222 (ChAdOx1 nCoV-19) Covid-19 Vaccine. N Engl J Med. 2021 Dec 16;385(25):2348-2360. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa2105290. Epub 2021 Sep 29. PubMed 34587382 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Feb 19, 2021
  • Statistical analysis plan · Feb 28, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers can request access to anonymized individual patient-level data from AstraZeneca group of companies sponsored clinical trials via the request portal. All request will be evaluated as per the AZ disclosure commitment: https://astrazenecagrouptrials.pharmacm.com/ST/Submission/Disclosure

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 5, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04516746
Lead sponsor
AstraZeneca
Collaborators
Iqvia Pty Ltd
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 18, 2020
Start date
Aug 28, 2020
Primary completion
Mar 5, 2021
Completion
Feb 10, 2023
Results posted
Apr 1, 2022
Last update
Feb 5, 2024

Study contacts

Ann Falsey, MD
principal investigator · University of Rochester
Magda Sobieszczyk, MD
principal investigator · Columbia University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion