A Phase 3 interventional study of Gantenerumab and Gantenerumab in Alzheimer Disease, sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche. Terminated at 268 sites in 29 countries. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-08.
Sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This is an open-label, multicenter, rollover study to evaluate the safety, tolerability, and efficacy of long-term administration of open-label gantenerumab in participants with AD who completed Study WN29922 or WN39658, either the double-blind or open-label extension (OLE) part.
Participants who were in the active arm in the double blind part and those who have completed OLE part in the parent study, will continue receive open-label gantenerumab 510 mg sub-cutaneously (SC) every 2 weeks (Q2W). Participants who are naive to gantenerumab treatment will be required to undergo the 3 step uptitration scheme as in the parent study before receiving target dose of open label gantenerumab.
3,678 studies on the registry are indexed under Alzheimer Disease; 872 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1,382 is above the median of 70 across 2,808 interventional studies indexed under Alzheimer Disease.
Browse Alzheimer Disease studies →Hoffmann-La Roche is the lead sponsor of 2,061 studies on the registry; 85 are open to participants now.
Of its 319 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 239 (75%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants, who completed the double-blind part and did not enter the OLE part of Study WN29922 or WN39658, will be enrolled and receive open-label gantenerumab approximately 2 weeks after the Week 116 visit of Study WN29922 or WN39658. This will be considered the OLE baseline visit (OLE Day 1).
Drug: Gantenerumab
Participants, who completed the double-blind part and the OLE part of Study WN29922 or WN39658, will be enrolled and receive open-label gantenerumab approximately 2 weeks after the OLE Week 34 visit or the final dose visit in the Study WN29922 or WN39658 OLE.
Drug: Gantenerumab
Group 1 participants who were in the active arm in the double blind part in the parent study (WN29922 or WN39658), will continue to receive open-label gantenerumab 510 mg SC, Q2W. Participants who are naive to gantenerumab treatment will be required to undergo the 3 step uptitration scheme before receiving target dose of open label gantenerumab, 510 mg SC, Q2W.
Group 2 participants who have completed OLE part in the parent study (WN29922 or WN39658), will continue to receive open-label gantenerumab 510 mg SC, Q2W
Number of Participants With at Least One Adverse Event (AE) and Serious Adverse Event (SAE)
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. A SAE is any AE that is fatal, life threatening, requires or prolongs inpatient hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect in a neonate/infant born to a mother exposed to study drug or a significant medical event in the investigator's judgment. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants With Post-baseline Suicidal Ideation or Suicidal Behavior as Measured Using Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Score
C-SSRS= assesses lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) \& any new instances of suicidality (since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation (intensity of ideation, behavior, \& attempts with actual/potential lethality). Categories have yes/no responses, include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted/Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior= "yes" to any of listed categories. Score of 0= no suicide risk. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior. Categories with non-zero values are only reported here. First dosing visit in OLE (first dosing in current study or OLE period of parent GRADUATE studies)=baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants With at Least One Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities-Edema (ARIA-E) Confirmed by MRI
ARIA are an identified risk with anti-amyloid antibodies, including gantenerumab. These changes can be identified on brain MRI. In ARIA-E, (E for oedema or effusion), oedema can be seen in different areas of the brain on MRI, representing fluid leakage into the brain parenchyma or sulcal spaces. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants With at Least One Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities-Haemosiderin Deposition (ARIA-H) Confirmed by MRI
ARIA are an identified risk with anti-amyloid antibodies, including gantenerumab. These changes can be identified on brain MRI. ARIA-H (H for hemosiderosis) are small foci of signal loss observed on MRI sequences sensitive for paramagnetic tissue properties and comprise cerebral microbleeds (small foci of bleeding in the brain parenchyma) and leptomeningeal hemosiderosis (small foci of bleeding on the surface of the brain). These changes also occur sporadically in AD. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants With Injection-Site Reactions (ISRs)
An AE is any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. Local injection reactions (or injection site reactions) are defined as AEs related to the injection site that occur during or within 24 hours after study drug administration that are judged to be related to the study drug injection. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants Who Discontinued the Study Due an AE
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Number of Participants With at Least One Adverse Event of Special Interest (AESI)
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. AEs that were considered to be of special interest for this study included cases of potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated ALT or AST in combination with either an elevated bilirubin or clinical jaundice, as defined by Hy's Law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by the study drug. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Change From Baseline Over Time in Clinical Dementia Rating - Global Score (CDR-GS)
CDR was derived through semi-structured interview with the participant and an appropriate informant, and it rated impairment across six domains: memory, orientation, judgment, and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care on a 5-point scale for which 0=normal, 0.5=very mild dementia, 1=mild dementia, 2=moderate dementia, and 3= severe dementia. The score range for the CDR-GS is from 0 to 3 and a high score on the CDR-GS would indicate a high disease severity. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Clinical Dementia Rating (CDR) - Sum of Boxes (SB)
CDR was derived through semi-structured interview with the participant and an appropriate informant, and it rated impairment across six domains: memory, orientation, judgment, and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care on a 5-point scale for which 0=no impairment, 0.5=questionable impairment, and 1, 2, and 3=mild, moderate, and severe impairment, respectively. The CDR-SB is based on summing each of the domain box scores with total score ranging from 0-18 with higher scores reflecting greater cognitive and functional impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) Score
MMSE is a rater-administered performance-based outcome (PerfO) that includes a set of standardized questions used to evaluate possible cognitive impairment and help stage the severity level of this impairment. The questions target six areas: orientation, registration, attention, short-term recall, language, and constructional praxis/visuospatial abilities. Total score ranges from 0-30, with lower scores indicating greater impairment. A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Alzheimer Disease Assessment Scale-Cognition, Subscale 11 (ADAS-Cog11) Score
ADAS-Cog11 was designed to measure cognitive symptom change in participants with Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and consisted of 11 tasks. The standard 11 items (and corresponding score range) were: word recall (0-10), commands (0-5), constructional praxis (0-5), naming objects and fingers (0-5), ideational praxis (0-5), orientation (0-8), word recognition (0-12), spoken language ability (0-5), comprehension of spoken language (0-5), word-finding difficulty (0-5), and remembering test instructions (0-5). The test included 7 performance items and 4 clinician-rated items. The ADAS-Cog11 total score was the sum of all 11 individual items, with a total score ranging from 0 (no impairment) to 70 (severe impairment). Higher scores indicated more severe cognitive impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Alzheimer Disease Assessment Scale-Cognition, Subscale 13 (ADAS-Cog13) Score
The ADAS-Cog13 total score includes all of the items in the ADAS-Cog11 in addition to delayed word recall and the number cancellation. For the ADAS-cog 13 the range is 0-85 (score range for Delayed Word Recall \[DWR\] score is 0-10 and for Number Cancellation \[NC\] is 0-5, thus the score is ADAS-cog 11\[0-70\] plus the scores for DWR and NC). A higher score indicates worse performance. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement in cognitive function. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Verbal Fluency Task Score
VFT is a rater administered PerfO that measures speed and flexibility of verbal thought with a total score that ranges from 0-99 (lower scores indicating lower performance). A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change From Baseline Over Time in Coding (Digit Symbol Substitution Test [DSST]) Subset
Coding, also called DSST is a rater administered PerfO that measures speed of processing and associative memory with a total score that ranges from 0-135 (lower scores indicating lower performance). The DSST was adapted from the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale. The 120-second version of the test was used in this study. Positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change in Functional Activities Questionnaire (FAQ) Score
FAQ is a rater-administered observer-reported outcome (ObsRO) (informant-based measure) that measures a participant's functional ability to perform complex higher-order activities. The observer provides performance ratings of the target person on ten complex higher-order activities. Total score that ranges from 0-30, with higher scores reflecting greater functional impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Change in Alzheimer Disease Cooperative Study Group-Activities of Daily Living (ADCS-ADL) Score
ADCS-ADL is a 23-item rater-administered, ObsRO that captures a participant's ability to perform basic activities of daily living (e.g., eating and toileting) and more complex ADL or instrumental activities of daily living (iADL, e.g., using the telephone, managing finances, preparing a meal). Total score ranges from 0-78, with higher scores reflecting better functioning. A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: Baseline (OLE Day 1), Weeks 24, 36, 52, 76 and 104
Number of Participants With Anti-drug Antibody (ADA) to Gantenerumab
The number of participants with positive results for ADA against gantenerumab at any of the post-baseline assessment time-points were reported. Evaluable participant during OLE was participant with an ADA assay result from at least one sample during OLE. Treatment Emergent ADA = A participant with a negative or missing baseline ADA result(s) and at least one positive post-baseline ADA result. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
Time frame: From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks)
Participants took part in this study at 258 investigative centers across 28 countries from 26 January 2021 to 06 March 2023. A total of 1382 participants who completed either the double-blind (DB) part or open-label extension (OLE) part in parent GRADUATE studies WN29922 (NCT03444870) or WN39658 (NCT03443973) were enrolled in this study to receive open-label gantenerumab.
| Milestone | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 15 | 696 | 28 | 643 |
| Safety-evaluable (se) analysis set | 14 | 691 | 29 | 647 |
| Intent-to-treat analysis (itt) set | 15 | 696 | 28 | 642 |
| Magnetic resonance imaging (mri) se (m-se) analysis set | 14 | 671 | 29 | 627 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 15 | 696 | 28 | 643 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 26 | 2 | 12 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 13 | 593 | 21 | 567 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 55 | 3 | 40 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 10 | 1 | 10 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Death | 0 | 3 | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Reason not specified | 0 | 8 | 0 | 8 |
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. A SAE is any AE that is fatal, life threatening, requires or prolongs inpatient hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect in a neonate/infant born to a mother exposed to study drug or a significant medical event in the investigator's judgment. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AEs | 13 | 510 | 25 | 487 |
| SAEs | 2 | 72 | 4 | 54 |
C-SSRS= assesses lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) \& any new instances of suicidality (since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation (intensity of ideation, behavior, \& attempts with actual/potential lethality). Categories have yes/no responses, include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted/Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior= "yes" to any of listed categories. Score of 0= no suicide risk. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior. Categories with non-zero values are only reported here. First dosing visit in OLE (first dosing in current study or OLE period of parent GRADUATE studies)=baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suicidal Ideation: Passive | 1 | 11 | 1 | 11 |
| Suicidal Ideation: Active-Nonspecific (No Method, Intent, or Plan) | 0 | 3 | 0 | 2 |
| Suicidal Ideation: Active-Method, but No Intent or Plan | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Suicidal Ideation: No event | 12 | 617 | 27 | 575 |
| Suicidal Behavior: Completed Suicide | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Suicidal Behavior: Aborted Attempt | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Suicidal Behavior: Preparatory Actions Toward Imminent Suicidal Behaviors | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Suicidal Behavior: No event | 14 | 629 | 29 | 586 |
| Self-injurious Behavior, Without Suicidal Intent: Self-Injurious Behavior - No Suicidal Intent | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Self-Injurious Behavior Without Suicidal Intent: No event | 14 | 629 | 29 | 588 |
ARIA are an identified risk with anti-amyloid antibodies, including gantenerumab. These changes can be identified on brain MRI. In ARIA-E, (E for oedema or effusion), oedema can be seen in different areas of the brain on MRI, representing fluid leakage into the brain parenchyma or sulcal spaces. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With at Least One Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities-Edema (ARIA-E) Confirmed by MRI | 6 | 104 | 5 | 27 |
ARIA are an identified risk with anti-amyloid antibodies, including gantenerumab. These changes can be identified on brain MRI. ARIA-H (H for hemosiderosis) are small foci of signal loss observed on MRI sequences sensitive for paramagnetic tissue properties and comprise cerebral microbleeds (small foci of bleeding in the brain parenchyma) and leptomeningeal hemosiderosis (small foci of bleeding on the surface of the brain). These changes also occur sporadically in AD. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With at Least One Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities-Haemosiderin Deposition (ARIA-H) Confirmed by MRI | 3 | 85 | 4 | 40 |
An AE is any unfavorable and unintended sign, symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. Local injection reactions (or injection site reactions) are defined as AEs related to the injection site that occur during or within 24 hours after study drug administration that are judged to be related to the study drug injection. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Injection-Site Reactions (ISRs) | 3 | 63 | 1 | 80 |
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Discontinued the Study Due an AE | 0 | 9 | 1 | 7 |
An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product, regardless of casual attribution. AEs that were considered to be of special interest for this study included cases of potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated ALT or AST in combination with either an elevated bilirubin or clinical jaundice, as defined by Hy's Law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by the study drug. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With at Least One Adverse Event of Special Interest (AESI) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
CDR was derived through semi-structured interview with the participant and an appropriate informant, and it rated impairment across six domains: memory, orientation, judgment, and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care on a 5-point scale for which 0=normal, 0.5=very mild dementia, 1=mild dementia, 2=moderate dementia, and 3= severe dementia. The score range for the CDR-GS is from 0 to 3 and a high score on the CDR-GS would indicate a high disease severity. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 0.4 ± 0.50 | 0.1 ± 0.43 | 0.1 ± 0.53 | 0.1 ± 0.41 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | 0.4 ± 0.55 | 0.3 ± 0.55 | 0.1 ± 0.42 | 0.2 ± 0.47 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | 0.3 ± 0.46 | 0.2 ± 0.44 | -0.1 ± 0.43 | 0.2 ± 0.46 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | 0.5 ± 0.69 | 0.3 ± 0.47 | 0.2 ± 0.75 | 0.3 ± 0.44 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 0.6 ± 0.89 | 0.6 ± 0.52 | 0.2 ± 0.43 | 0.3 ± 0.50 |
CDR was derived through semi-structured interview with the participant and an appropriate informant, and it rated impairment across six domains: memory, orientation, judgment, and problem solving, community affairs, home and hobbies, and personal care on a 5-point scale for which 0=no impairment, 0.5=questionable impairment, and 1, 2, and 3=mild, moderate, and severe impairment, respectively. The CDR-SB is based on summing each of the domain box scores with total score ranging from 0-18 with higher scores reflecting greater cognitive and functional impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 2.10 ± 2.473 | 0.83 ± 1.787 | 1.00 ± 2.529 | 0.70 ± 1.754 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | 2.90 ± 2.608 | 1.39 ± 2.397 | 0.72 ± 2.265 | 1.11 ± 2.161 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | 2.57 ± 2.286 | 1.60 ± 1.906 | 0.80 ± 1.351 | 1.50 ± 2.051 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | 2.68 ± 3.133 | 2.20 ± 1.994 | 1.95 ± 3.218 | 1.97 ± 2.249 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 3.80 ± 3.213 | 3.26 ± 2.751 | 1.15 ± 2.470 | 1.80 ± 1.949 |
MMSE is a rater-administered performance-based outcome (PerfO) that includes a set of standardized questions used to evaluate possible cognitive impairment and help stage the severity level of this impairment. The questions target six areas: orientation, registration, attention, short-term recall, language, and constructional praxis/visuospatial abilities. Total score ranges from 0-30, with lower scores indicating greater impairment. A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | -0.3 ± 2.41 | -1.2 ± 2.87 | -0.9 ± 2.39 | -1.1 ± 2.69 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | -1.8 ± 3.35 | -1.6 ± 2.83 | -0.3 ± 1.66 | -1.7 ± 3.18 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | -1.9 ± 2.94 | -2.3 ± 3.15 | -2.0 ± 3.49 | -2.1 ± 3.14 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | -2.9 ± 3.20 | -3.2 ± 3.39 | -2.9 ± 3.97 | -3.0 ± 3.56 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | -3.6 ± 5.13 | -4.3 ± 3.93 | -2.9 ± 3.92 | -3.0 ± 4.12 |
ADAS-Cog11 was designed to measure cognitive symptom change in participants with Alzheimer's Disease (AD) and consisted of 11 tasks. The standard 11 items (and corresponding score range) were: word recall (0-10), commands (0-5), constructional praxis (0-5), naming objects and fingers (0-5), ideational praxis (0-5), orientation (0-8), word recognition (0-12), spoken language ability (0-5), comprehension of spoken language (0-5), word-finding difficulty (0-5), and remembering test instructions (0-5). The test included 7 performance items and 4 clinician-rated items. The ADAS-Cog11 total score was the sum of all 11 individual items, with a total score ranging from 0 (no impairment) to 70 (severe impairment). Higher scores indicated more severe cognitive impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 2.4 ± 5.56 | 2.4 ± 5.47 | 1.6 ± 5.29 | 2.8 ± 5.22 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | 12.0 ± 10.00 | 3.9 ± 6.80 | -3.7 ± 5.50 | 4.0 ± 5.46 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | 5.6 ± 9.55 | 3.7 ± 6.13 | 1.9 ± 5.89 | 4.7 ± 6.61 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | 6.6 ± 10.90 | 5.9 ± 7.52 | 7.0 ± 9.50 | 6.1 ± 7.80 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 8.4 ± 14.12 | 7.8 ± 7.65 | 3.8 ± 6.67 | 8.2 ± 10.26 |
The ADAS-Cog13 total score includes all of the items in the ADAS-Cog11 in addition to delayed word recall and the number cancellation. For the ADAS-cog 13 the range is 0-85 (score range for Delayed Word Recall \[DWR\] score is 0-10 and for Number Cancellation \[NC\] is 0-5, thus the score is ADAS-cog 11\[0-70\] plus the scores for DWR and NC). A higher score indicates worse performance. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement in cognitive function. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 2.9 ± 6.29 | 3.0 ± 5.73 | 2.0 ± 5.53 | 3.3 ± 5.45 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | 13.2 ± 11.52 | 4.7 ± 7.05 | -3.4 ± 5.39 | 4.7 ± 5.85 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | 6.7 ± 10.13 | 4.3 ± 6.45 | 2.7 ± 6.01 | 5.3 ± 6.94 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | 7.9 ± 11.89 | 6.8 ± 7.85 | 7.7 ± 9.76 | 6.7 ± 8.22 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 10.4 ± 14.98 | 8.7 ± 8.13 | 4.8 ± 6.74 | 8.8 ± 10.22 |
VFT is a rater administered PerfO that measures speed and flexibility of verbal thought with a total score that ranges from 0-99 (lower scores indicating lower performance). A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 0.2 ± 2.73 | -0.9 ± 3.15 | -1.0 ± 2.83 | -0.6 ± 4.73 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | -2.2 ± 3.42 | -1.2 ± 3.07 | -0.6 ± 2.70 | -1.4 ± 3.45 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | -1.5 ± 3.02 | -1.5 ± 3.60 | -0.4 ± 2.39 | -1.5 ± 5.77 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | -1.3 ± 2.83 | -2.1 ± 3.66 | -1.3 ± 4.36 | -2.8 ± 7.54 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | -0.6 ± 4.22 | -3.8 ± 3.79 | -0.8 ± 4.09 | -3.3 ± 2.50 |
Coding, also called DSST is a rater administered PerfO that measures speed of processing and associative memory with a total score that ranges from 0-135 (lower scores indicating lower performance). The DSST was adapted from the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale. The 120-second version of the test was used in this study. Positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | -0.5 ± 6.31 | -2.8 ± 7.84 | -0.3 ± 9.02 | -2.3 ± 8.04 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | -8.0 ± 10.00 | -4.8 ± 8.09 | 6.2 ± 13.96 | -3.0 ± 9.66 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | -3.1 ± 7.61 | -5.0 ± 8.60 | -2.8 ± 14.00 | -4.7 ± 8.79 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | -3.4 ± 8.49 | -7.2 ± 10.12 | -7.1 ± 8.99 | -6.0 ± 9.71 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 0.4 ± 9.94 | -4.5 ± 13.25 | -5.2 ± 11.95 | -7.0 ± 11.04 |
FAQ is a rater-administered observer-reported outcome (ObsRO) (informant-based measure) that measures a participant's functional ability to perform complex higher-order activities. The observer provides performance ratings of the target person on ten complex higher-order activities. Total score that ranges from 0-30, with higher scores reflecting greater functional impairment. A negative change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | 1.2 ± 4.04 | 1.6 ± 4.36 | 0.1 ± 3.15 | 1.5 ± 4.09 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | -1.0 ± 1.87 | 2.7 ± 5.07 | 1.3 ± 6.18 | 1.7 ± 4.92 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | 2.1 ± 3.80 | 2.6 ± 4.39 | 2.7 ± 3.73 | 2.6 ± 4.81 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | 2.3 ± 3.66 | 4.0 ± 4.55 | 3.3 ± 3.95 | 3.5 ± 5.12 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | 3.2 ± 4.92 | 4.5 ± 4.09 | 4.1 ± 4.91 | 1.7 ± 5.07 |
ADCS-ADL is a 23-item rater-administered, ObsRO that captures a participant's ability to perform basic activities of daily living (e.g., eating and toileting) and more complex ADL or instrumental activities of daily living (iADL, e.g., using the telephone, managing finances, preparing a meal). Total score ranges from 0-78, with higher scores reflecting better functioning. A positive change from baseline indicates improvement. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| score on a scale | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Week 24 | -4.7 ± 5.15 | -2.9 ± 7.07 | -2.0 ± 7.10 | -3.2 ± 6.69 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 36 | -12.5 ± 12.40 | -5.6 ± 9.55 | -2.1 ± 6.23 | -4.9 ± 8.53 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 52 | -9.4 ± 7.49 | -5.9 ± 8.97 | -4.4 ± 8.09 | -6.2 ± 8.38 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 76 | -10.8 ± 11.19 | -7.8 ± 9.87 | -8.3 ± 11.22 | -6.9 ± 9.62 |
| Change from Baseline at Week 104 | -11.6 ± 17.99 | -6.6 ± 10.20 | -6.3 ± 13.52 | -9.9 ± 12.21 |
The number of participants with positive results for ADA against gantenerumab at any of the post-baseline assessment time-points were reported. Evaluable participant during OLE was participant with an ADA assay result from at least one sample during OLE. Treatment Emergent ADA = A participant with a negative or missing baseline ADA result(s) and at least one positive post-baseline ADA result. The first dosing visit in the OLE (first dosing in current study or first dosing in the OLE period of the parent GRADUATE studies) was considered as baseline (OLE Day 1).
| Participants | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Anti-drug Antibody (ADA) to Gantenerumab | 1 | 17 | 1 | 14 |
Collected over From Baseline (OLE Day 1) up to 14 weeks after the last dose (up to 134 weeks). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | 0/14 (0%) | 2/14 (14.3%) | 13/14 (92.9%) |
| Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | 5/691 (0.7%) | 72/691 (10.4%) | 395/691 (57.2%) |
| Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | 2/29 (6.9%) | 4/29 (13.8%) | 21/29 (72.4%) |
| Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE | 4/647 (0.6%) | 54/647 (8.3%) | 358/647 (55.3%) |
| Event | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 1/14 | 1/691 | 0/29 | 2/647 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 1/14 | 2/691 | 0/29 | 1/647 |
| Vaginal prolapseReproductive system and breast disorders | 1/14 | 0/691 | 0/29 | 0/647 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/14 | 3/691 | 1/29 | 1/647 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/14 | 4/691 | 1/29 | 4/647 |
| Spinal compression fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/14 | 0/691 | 1/29 | 1/647 |
| Upper limb fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/14 | 0/691 | 1/29 | 0/647 |
| SeizureNervous system disorders | 0/14 | 0/691 | 1/29 | 0/647 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/14 | 5/691 | 0/29 | 1/647 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 0/14 | 3/691 | 0/29 | 3/647 |
| Event | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amyloid related imaging abnormality-oedema/effusionNervous system disorders | 5/14 | 67/691 | 3/29 | 16/647 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 4/14 | 50/691 | 6/29 | 59/647 |
| Injection site reactionGeneral disorders | 3/14 | 63/691 | 1/29 | 80/647 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 3/14 | 114/691 | 3/29 | 90/647 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 3/14 | 30/691 | 1/29 | 37/647 |
| ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 3/14 | 20/691 | 2/29 | 13/647 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 3/14 | 14/691 | 2/29 | 19/647 |
| Procedural painInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 2/14 | 2/691 | 0/29 | 0/647 |
| EpistaxisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/14 | 3/691 | 1/29 | 1/647 |
| HypotensionVascular disorders | 2/14 | 10/691 | 0/29 | 11/647 |
ITT analysis set included all enrolled participants, who received at least one dose of study drug. Participants were analyzed by the treatment they were randomized to in the parent studies (GRADUATE I or GRADUATE II).
| Age, Continuous(years) | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 76.7 ± 7.8 | 73.6 ± 7.4 | 74.1 ± 8.0 | 73.0 ± 7.7 | 73.4 ± 7.6 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 11 | 387 | 14 | 382 | 794 |
| Male | 4 | 309 | 14 | 260 | 587 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 116 | 14 | 89 | 225 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 9 | 576 | 14 | 548 | 1147 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 4 | 0 | 5 | 9 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Placebo: Participated in Graduate OLE | Placebo: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: Participated in Graduate OLE | Gantenerumab: No Participation in Graduate OLE | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 25 | 4 | 18 | 47 |
| Asian | 1 | 104 | 1 | 87 | 193 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 6 | 0 | 4 | 10 |
| White | 14 | 549 | 22 | 518 | 1103 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 12 | 1 | 15 | 28 |
Showing the first 100 of 268 sites across 29 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level data through the clinical study data request platform (www.vivli.org). Further details on Roche's criteria for eligible studies are available here (https://vivli.org/ourmember/roche/). For further details on Roche's Global Policy on the Sharing of Clinical Information and how to request access to related clinical study documents, see here (https://www.roche.com/research_and_development/who_we_are_how_we_work/clinical_trials/our_commitment_to_data_sharing.htm).
This study is terminated, as verified in Apr 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Hoffmann-La Roche