CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04350606Updated Apr 27, 2022Results posted

A Study to Assess Efficacy and Safety of PF-06462700 in Japanese Participants With Aplastic Anemia

A Phase 3 interventional study of PF-06462700 in Aplastic Anemia, sponsored by Pfizer. Completed at 3 sites in Japan. Open to participants aged 2 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-04-27.

Sponsored by Pfizer · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
2 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of the study is to assess the efficacy and safety of PF-06462700 administered intravenously at 40 mg/kg/day for 4 days in Japanese participants with moderate and above aplastic anemia for making an approval application in Japan.

02

Conditions studied

  • Aplastic Anemia

Keywords

  • Aplastic Anemia, globulin, ATG, Anti-human Thymocyte Immunogloblin
03

In context

Anemia

1,733 studies on the registry are indexed under Anemia; 246 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3 is below the median of 94 across 1,291 interventional studies indexed under Anemia.

Browse Anemia studies →

Lead sponsor

Pfizer is the lead sponsor of 3,244 studies on the registry; 139 are open to participants now.

Of its 582 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 381 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
2 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Male or female participants between the ages of 2 years and more, inclusive, at Visit

    1 (Screening).

  • Participants who are willing and able to comply with all scheduled visits, treatment plan, laboratory tests, lifestyle considerations, and other study procedures.
  • Have a clinical diagnosis of aplastic anemia by bone marrow aspiration/biopsy findings and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) etc.
  • Must meet the following criteria of moderate and above aplastic anemia
  • Capable of giving signed informed consent/assent as described in Appendix 1, which includes compliance with the requirements and restrictions listed in the informed consent document (ICD)/assent document and in this protocol.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Eligible and willing to have a sibling allogeneic stem cell transplantation.
  • Evidence of a myelodysplastic syndrome (except for refractory cytopenia in children), as well as other primitive marrow disease.
  • History or clinical suspicion of congenital aplastic anemia (Fanconi anemia, Congenital keratosis, etc).
  • History of malignant tumors with active disease within 5 years from study participation.
  • Participants who are clearly infected with hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus (HCV), human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), and human T-cell leukemia virus type

    1 (HTLV-1).

  • Pregnant or breast-feeding participants.
  • Participants with severe hepatic, renal or cardiac failure, or any other life-threatening concurrent [aspartate aminotransferase (AST) or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or total bilirubin values >5 × upper limit of normal (ULN), and/or creatinine value >2 × ULN].
  • Participants with hypersensitivity such as shock after skin test of this study drug.
  • Participants with uncontrolled severe infection (pneumonia, sepsis, etc).
  • Participants who received live vaccine or live attenuated vaccine within 6 weeks prior to the first dose of study drug.
  • Other acute or chronic medical or psychiatric condition including recent (within the past year) or active suicidal ideation or behavior or laboratory abnormality that may increase the risk associated with study participation or investigational product administration or may interfere with the interpretation of study results and, in the judgment of the investigator, would make the participant inappropriate for entry into this study.
  • Prior immunosuppressive therapy with lymphocyte-depleting agents/therapies, including both non-B-cell selective and B-cell-depleting agents (e.g., alefacept, alemtuzumab, rituximab). However, participants previously treated with rATG may enroll.
  • Previous history of stem cell transplantation.
  • Previous administration with an investigational drug within 30 days (or as determined by the local requirement) or 5 half-lives preceding the first dose of investigational product used in this study (whichever is longer).
  • Baseline 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG) that demonstrates clinically relevant abnormalities that may affect participant safety or interpretation of study results (e.g., baseline corrected QT [QTc] interval >450 msec, complete left bundle branch block [LBBB], signs of an acute or indeterminate-age myocardial infarction, ST-T interval changes suggestive of myocardial ischemia, second- or third-degree atrioventricular [AV] block, or serious bradyarrhythmias or tachyarrhythmias). If the baseline uncorrected QT interval is >450 msec, this interval should be rate-corrected using the Fridericia method and the resulting QTcF should be used for decision making and reporting. If QTc exceeds 450 msec, or QRS exceeds 120 msec, the ECG should be repeated 2 more times and the average of the 3 QTc or QRS values should be used to determine the participant's eligibility. Computer-interpreted ECGs should be overread by a physician experienced in reading ECGs before excluding participants.
  • Investigator site staff members directly involved in the conduct of the study and their family members, site staff members otherwise supervised by the investigator, or Pfizer employees, including their family members, directly involved in the conduct of the study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
3 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    PF-006462700 group

    All enrolled participants will be administrated PF-006462700.

    Biological: PF-06462700

Interventions

  • BiologicalPF-06462700

    PF-06462700 is classified as an immunosuppressant/ immunosuppressive agent. It is the purified, concentrated, and sterile gamma globulin, primarily monomeric immunoglobulin G (IgG), from hyperimmune serum of horses that are immunized with human thymus lymphocytes.

    Also known as: Brand name in the US: ATGAM

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 12

    Hematologic response was considered to be "effective" when 2 or more of the following criteria were met: absolute neutrophil count greater than or equal to (\>=) 500 per microliters, platelet count \>=20,000 per microliters and reticulocyte count \>=60,000 per microliters was observed. In this outcome measure, number of participants with hematologic response classified as effective and not effective were reported. Improvement in counts that were dependent upon exogenously administered growth factors or transfusion, was not considered as fulfilling response criteria.

    Time frame: Week 12 Follow-up Visit

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 24

    Hematologic response was considered to be "effective" when 2 or more of the following criteria were met: absolute neutrophil count \>=500 per microliters, platelet count \>=20,000 per microliters and reticulocyte count \>=60,000 per microliters was observed. In this outcome measure, number of participants with hematologic response classified as effective and not effective were reported. Improvement in counts that were dependent upon exogenously administered growth factors or transfusion, was not been considered as fulfilling response criteria.

    Time frame: Week 24 Follow-up Visit

  2. Absolute Neutrophil Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

    Time frame: Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

  3. Platelet Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

    Time frame: Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

  4. Reticulocyte Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

    Time frame: Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24

  5. Number of Participants Who Survived During the Study

    In this outcome measure, number of participants who survived during the study were observed.

    Time frame: Screening (up to 28 days prior to Day 1 of treatment) up to 24 weeks of follow-up (approximately up to 28 weeks)

  6. Number of Participants With Transfusion Independence at Weeks 12 and 24

    Transfusion independence at Week 12 was defined as when participants did not have any transfusion records from the time of the first dose of the investigational product at Day 1 to the day of Week 12 follow-up visit (inclusive). Transfusion independence at Week 24 was defined as when participants did not have any transfusion records from the day after Week 12 follow-up visit to the day of Week 24 follow-up visit (inclusive).

    Time frame: Week 12 Transfusion Independence: Day 1 of Treatment up to Week 12 Follow-up Visit (approximately 12 weeks); Week 24 Transfusion Independence: Day after Week 12 Follow-up visit to Week 24 Follow-up Visit (approximately 12 weeks)

07

Results

Posted Apr 27, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePF-06462700
Started3
Treated3
Follow-up3
Completed3
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 12

Hematologic response was considered to be "effective" when 2 or more of the following criteria were met: absolute neutrophil count greater than or equal to (\>=) 500 per microliters, platelet count \>=20,000 per microliters and reticulocyte count \>=60,000 per microliters was observed. In this outcome measure, number of participants with hematologic response classified as effective and not effective were reported. Improvement in counts that were dependent upon exogenously administered growth factors or transfusion, was not considered as fulfilling response criteria.

Time frame:
Week 12 Follow-up Visit
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 12
ParticipantsPF-06462700
Effective2
Not Effective1
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 24

Hematologic response was considered to be "effective" when 2 or more of the following criteria were met: absolute neutrophil count \>=500 per microliters, platelet count \>=20,000 per microliters and reticulocyte count \>=60,000 per microliters was observed. In this outcome measure, number of participants with hematologic response classified as effective and not effective were reported. Improvement in counts that were dependent upon exogenously administered growth factors or transfusion, was not been considered as fulfilling response criteria.

Time frame:
Week 24 Follow-up Visit
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Hematologic Response at Week 24
ParticipantsPF-06462700
Effective2
Not Effective1
SecondaryAbsolute Neutrophil Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Time frame:
Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Reported as:
Number · Neutrophil cells per microliter
Absolute Neutrophil Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Neutrophil cells per microliterPF-06462700
Absolute Neutrophil Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24NA
SecondaryPlatelet Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Time frame:
Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Reported as:
Number · Platelet cells per microliter
Platelet Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Platelet cells per microliterPF-06462700
Platelet Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24NA
SecondaryReticulocyte Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Time frame:
Treatment: Day 4; Follow-up: Week 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Reported as:
Number · Reticulocyte cells per microliter
Reticulocyte Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24
Reticulocyte cells per microliterPF-06462700
Reticulocyte Count at Day 4, Weeks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24NA
SecondaryNumber of Participants Who Survived During the Study

In this outcome measure, number of participants who survived during the study were observed.

Time frame:
Screening (up to 28 days prior to Day 1 of treatment) up to 24 weeks of follow-up (approximately up to 28 weeks)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Survived During the Study
ParticipantsPF-06462700
Number of Participants Who Survived During the Study3
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Transfusion Independence at Weeks 12 and 24

Transfusion independence at Week 12 was defined as when participants did not have any transfusion records from the time of the first dose of the investigational product at Day 1 to the day of Week 12 follow-up visit (inclusive). Transfusion independence at Week 24 was defined as when participants did not have any transfusion records from the day after Week 12 follow-up visit to the day of Week 24 follow-up visit (inclusive).

Time frame:
Week 12 Transfusion Independence: Day 1 of Treatment up to Week 12 Follow-up Visit (approximately 12 weeks); Week 24 Transfusion Independence: Day after Week 12 Follow-up visit to Week 24 Follow-up Visit (approximately 12 weeks)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Transfusion Independence at Weeks 12 and 24
ParticipantsPF-06462700
Week 12 Transfusion Independence0
Week 24 Transfusion Independence2

Adverse events

Collected over Screening up to 24 weeks of follow-up (approximately up to 28 weeks). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
PF-064627000/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 38
Most frequent other events
EventPF-06462700
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders2/3
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders2/3
HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders2/3
HypertensionVascular disorders2/3
Adrenal insufficiencyEndocrine disorders1/3
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders1/3
Dental cariesGastrointestinal disorders1/3
Gastrointestinal disorderGastrointestinal disorders1/3
Gastrooesophageal reflux diseaseGastrointestinal disorders1/3
ProctalgiaGastrointestinal disorders1/3

Baseline characteristics

Safety analysis population included all participants assigned to investigational product and who took at least 1 dose of investigational product.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)PF-06462700
Mean29.67 ± 16.56
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)PF-06462700
Female2
Male1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PF-06462700
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino3
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PF-06462700
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian3
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White0
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

3 sites
  • Nagoya University Hospital
    Nagoya, Aichi 466-8560, Japan
  • Jichi Medical University Hospital
    Shimotsuke, Tochigi 329 0498, Japan
  • Keio University Hospital
    Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 160-8582, Japan
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Dec 24, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · May 7, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Pfizer will provide access to individual de-identified participant data and related study documents (e.g. protocol, Statistical Analysis Plan (SAP), Clinical Study Report (CSR)) upon request from qualified researchers, and subject to certain criteria, conditions, and exceptions. Further details on Pfizer's data sharing criteria and process for requesting access can be found at: https://www.pfizer.com/science/clinical_trials/trial_data_and_results/data_requests.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 27, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04350606
Lead sponsor
Pfizer
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 17, 2020
Start date
Jul 25, 2020
Primary completion
Jan 22, 2021
Completion
Apr 19, 2021
Results posted
Apr 27, 2022
Last update
Apr 27, 2022

Study contacts

Pfizer CT.gov Call Center
study director · Pfizer

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion