CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04216017Updated Sep 26, 2023Results posted

Glenohumeral Cortisone Injection

A Phase 2 interventional study of kenalog and Lidocaine in Humeral Fractures, sponsored by University of Washington. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 90 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-09-26.

Sponsored by University of Washington · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
9
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 90 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The objective of this project is to determine if giving a cortisone injection to patients with proximal humerus fractures who have stiff shoulders recover their range of motion.

Read the detailed description

THis is a randomized control trial to determine if giving a cortisone injection to patients with proximal humerus fractures who have stiff shoulders recover their range of motion.

02

Conditions studied

  • Humeral Fractures

Browse trials for

03

In context

Humeral Fractures

175 studies on the registry are indexed under Humeral Fractures; 25 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 9 is below the median of 55 across 99 interventional studies indexed under Humeral Fractures.

Browse Humeral Fractures studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Washington is the lead sponsor of 1,397 studies on the registry; 225 are open to participants now.

Of its 154 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 132 (86%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 90 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

1.18-90

  1. Proximal Humerus Fracture
  1. Decreased range of motion at 6 wk follow-up
  1. Likely to be available for follow up for 26 wks

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Known drug allergy to kenalog or lidocaine
  2. Unable to complete functional outcome
  3. Pregnant Women
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
9 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Placebo comparator
    Controls

    Patients receiving lidocaine

    Drug: Lidocaine

  • Active comparator
    Cases

    Patients receiving Kenalog

    Drug: kenalog

Interventions

  • Drugkenalog

    Cortisone injection into shoulder

  • DrugLidocaine

    Lidocaine injection into shoulder

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. American Shoulder Elbow Society Score

    Outcome Instrument high is good low is bad 0-100 The ASES is a condition-specific scale that is intended to measure functional limitations and pain of the shoulder.

    Time frame: 24 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Visual Analogue Scale

    pain scale - high is bad - low is good 0-100

    Time frame: 24 weeks

07

Results

Posted Sep 26, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneControlsCases
Started54
Completed44
Not completed10

Outcome measures

PrimaryAmerican Shoulder Elbow Society Score

Outcome Instrument high is good low is bad 0-100 The ASES is a condition-specific scale that is intended to measure functional limitations and pain of the shoulder.

Time frame:
24 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
American Shoulder Elbow Society Score
score on a scaleControlsCases
American Shoulder Elbow Society Score46 ± 2087 ± 8
SecondaryVisual Analogue Scale

pain scale - high is bad - low is good 0-100

Time frame:
24 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Visual Analogue Scale
units on a scaleControlsCases
Visual Analogue Scale4 ± 3.71 ± 0.8

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Controls0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)
Cases0/4 (0%)0/4 (0%)0/4 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)ControlsCasesTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years549
>=65 years000
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ControlsCasesTotal
Female325
Male224
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ControlsCasesTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino549
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ControlsCasesTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White549
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)ControlsCasesTotal
United States549
ASES
ASES(units on a scale)ControlsCasesTotal
Mean43.4 ± 19.351.3 ± 5.446.9 ± 14.9
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Washington
    Seattle, Washington 98104, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Apr 16, 2018
  • Informed consent form · Oct 11, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 26, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04216017
Lead sponsor
University of Washington
Collaborators
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS)
Responsible party
Jonah Hebert-Davies (Assistant Professor, School of Medicine: Orthopedics, University of Washington) — Principal investigator
First posted
Jan 2, 2020
Start date
Jan 1, 2020
Primary completion
Apr 1, 2022
Completion
May 1, 2022
Results posted
Sep 26, 2023
Last update
Sep 26, 2023

Study contacts

Jonah Hebert-Davies, MD
principal investigator · University of Washington

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion