CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT04213261DEFI-RDEBUpdated Mar 18, 2026Results posted

A Study of FCX-007 for Recessive Dystrophic Epidermolysis Bullosa

A Phase 3 interventional study of FCX-007 (dabocemagene autoficel; see below for FCX-007 description) in Recessive Dystrophic Epidermolysis Bullosa, sponsored by Castle Creek Biosciences, LLC.. Active, not recruiting at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 2 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-03-18.

Sponsored by Castle Creek Biosciences, LLC. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
6
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
2 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine whether administration of FCX-007 in addition to standard of care improves wound healing as compared to standard of care alone (control) in children, adolescents, and adults with Recessive Dystrophic Epidermolysis Bullosa.

Funding Source - FDA OOPD

Read the detailed description

DEFI-RDEB is a multi-center, intra-patient randomized, controlled, open-label, Phase 3 study of FCX-007 for the treatment of persistent non-healing and recurrent RDEB wounds in approximately 24 subjects. Each subject will serve as his/her own control. Each subject's target wounds will be paired then randomized to receive FCX-007 (treatment wound) or remain untreated (control wound). Up to three target wound pairs will be identified for each subject.

Subjects will receive intradermal injections of FCX-007 in each specified treatment wound in two or more treatment sessions. The first treatment session occurs at Day 1 and the second at Week 12/Month 3. Additional treatment sessions may occur at Week 24/Month 6 and Week 36/Month 9 when unclosed treatment wounds may be re-treated, and unclosed control wounds may be treated. Safety and efficacy assessments will occur at scheduled intervals through Week 48/Month 12, when the treatment period is completed, and a long-term safety follow-up period (through 15 years) commences for subjects who have received one or more FCX-007 injections.

02

Conditions studied

  • Recessive Dystrophic Epidermolysis Bullosa

Keywords

  • RDEB
03

In context

Epidermolysis Bullosa Dystrophica

77 studies on the registry are indexed under Epidermolysis Bullosa Dystrophica; 20 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 6 is below the median of 9 across 54 interventional studies indexed under Epidermolysis Bullosa Dystrophica.

Browse Epidermolysis Bullosa Dystrophica studies →

Lead sponsor

Castle Creek Biosciences, LLC. is the lead sponsor of 12 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
2 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria:

  • Male or female ≥2 years of age at the Screening visit.
  • Clinical diagnosis of RDEB with confirmation of COL7A1 genetic mutation.

Key Exclusion Criteria:

  • Medical instability limiting ability to travel to the investigative site.
  • Active infection with human immunodeficiency virus, hepatitis B or hepatitis C.
  • The presence of COL7 antibodies.
  • Evidence of systemic infection.
  • Evidence or history of squamous cell carcinoma at the site to be injected.
  • Evidence of or history of metastatic squamous cell carcinoma.
  • Known allergy to any of the constituents of the product.
  • Female who is pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Receipt of a chemical or biological intervention for the specific treatment of RDEB in the past three (3) months prior to screening or anticipated/planned during the screening and treatment period for this study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
6 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts

    Intra-subject randomized (paired wounds in each subject receive experimental treatment, FCX-007, or remain untreated). Up to three target wound pairs will be identified for each subject. Following pairing, target wounds will be randomly assigned as the treatment wound (FCX-007 is administered) or control wound. Subjects will receive intradermal injections of FCX-007 in each specified treatment wound in two or more treatment sessions. The first treatment session occurs at Day 1 and the second at Week 12/Month 3. Additional treatment sessions may occur at Week 24/Month 6 and Week 36/Month 9 when unclosed treatment wounds may be re-treated, and unclosed control wounds may be treated.

    Biological: FCX-007 (dabocemagene autoficel; see below for FCX-007 description)

Interventions

  • BiologicalFCX-007 (dabocemagene autoficel; see below for FCX-007 description)

    FCX-007 is comprised of fibroblasts isolated from the subject's skin biopsies which are genetically corrected with the full length COL7A1 gene encoding for type VII collagen.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 24

    Complete wound closure of the first wound pair (treated vs. control)

    Time frame: Week 24

Secondary outcomes

  1. Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 12

    Complete wound closure of first wound pair (treated vs. control)

    Time frame: Week 12

  2. Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 24

    Complete wound closure

    Time frame: Week 24

  3. Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 12

    Complete wound closure

    Time frame: Week 12

07

Results

Posted Apr 1, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneFCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous FibroblastsControl (no Treatment)
Started66
Completed66
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 24

Complete wound closure of the first wound pair (treated vs. control)

Time frame:
Week 24
Reported as:
Number · wound
Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 24
woundFCX-007 Treated SuccessControl Success
Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 2410
SecondaryComplete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 12

Complete wound closure of first wound pair (treated vs. control)

Time frame:
Week 12
Reported as:
Number · wound
Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 12
woundFCX-007 Treated SuccessControl Success
Complete Wound Closure of the First Wound Pair at Week 1211
SecondaryComplete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 24

Complete wound closure

Time frame:
Week 24
Reported as:
Number · wound
Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 24
woundFCX-007 Treated SuccessControl Success
Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 2412
SecondaryComplete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 12

Complete wound closure

Time frame:
Week 12
Reported as:
Number · wound
Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 12
woundFCX-007 Treated SuccessControl Success
Complete Wound Closure of All Wound Pairs at Week 1213

Adverse events

Collected over Treatment-emergent adverse events (AEs), regardless of relationship to FCX-007, are those reported from start of treatment to end of treatment period (Week 48). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts0/6 (0%)2/6 (33.3%)2/6 (33.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventFCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
Lower limb fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/6
Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/6
Pulmonary infarctionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/6
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 11
Most frequent other events
EventFCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
TachycardiaCardiac disorders1/6
Injection site painGeneral disorders1/6
Growth retardationMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/6
OsteoporosisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/6
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/6
Superficial vein thrombosisVascular disorders1/6
Injection site haemorrhageGeneral disorders1/6
Injection site swellingGeneral disorders1/6
COVID-19Infections and infestations1/6
Skin infectionInfections and infestations1/6

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
<=18 years3
Between 18 and 65 years3
>=65 years0
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
Mean28.7 ± 16.77
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
Female1
Male5
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino4
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White4
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)FCX-007 COL7A1 Genetically-Corrected Autologous Fibroblasts
United States6
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • Stanford University
    Stanford, California 94305, United States
  • Children's Hospital Colorado
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Solutions Through Advanced Research, Inc.
    Jacksonville, Florida 32256, United States
  • Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Dell Children's Medical Group
    Austin, Texas 78723, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · May 4, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Sep 29, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 18, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04213261
Lead sponsor
Castle Creek Biosciences, LLC.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 30, 2019
Start date
Jun 9, 2020
Primary completion
Jan 17, 2023
Completion
Jul 2037 (estimated)
Results posted
Apr 1, 2024
Last update
Mar 18, 2026

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Mar 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion