CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04131556Updated Sep 2, 2025Results posted

A Study Comparing the Pharmacokinetics and Palatability of Two Candidate Pediatric Powder-for-Oral-Suspension Formulations of Maribavir to the Current Maribavir Tablet Formulation Administered in Healthy Adult Participants

A Phase 1 interventional study of Maribavir in Healthy Volunteers, sponsored by Shire. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 50 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-09-02.

Sponsored by Shire · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
The study was stopped because based on the planned interim analysis of the data of Part 1, palatability of both pediatric formulations was not acceptable.
Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
20
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 50 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The Purpose of this study is to assess the relative bioavailability, dose proportionality, the impact of food on the rate and extent of absorption, palatability of the selected pediatric formulation of maribavir and the safety and tolerability of two candidate pediatric formulations and the adult tablet formulation of maribavir in healthy participants.

Read the detailed description

The study will be conducted in two parts (Part 1 and Part 2). Part 1 consists of three treatment periods in six sequences and part 2 consists of four treatment periods in four sequences. In Part 1 two pediatric candidate powder formulations will be compared with maribavir 200mg tablet under fasted conditions in regards to their bioavailability and palatability. In Part 2 dose proportionality and impact of food (a high-fat meal) on the rate and extent of absorption of the selected pediatric formulation will be assessed. The pediatric formulation which will be evaluated in Part 2 will be chosen based on the results of planned analysis of Part 1 PK and palatability data from two candidate pediatric formulations and the doses to be evaluated in Part 2 may be adjusted based on relative bioavailability of the selected pediatric formulation (powder for oral suspension) to the Phase 3 tablet formulation observed in Part 1.

02

Conditions studied

  • Healthy Volunteers
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Shire is the lead sponsor of 346 studies on the registry; 2 are open to participants now.

Of its 47 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 47 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 50 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • An understanding, ability, and willingness to fully comply with study procedures and restrictions.
  • Ability to voluntarily provide written, signed, and dated (personally or via a legally-authorized representative) informed consent/and assent as applicable to participate in the study.
  • Age 18-50 years, inclusive at the time of consent.
  • Male, or non-pregnant, non-breastfeeding female who agrees to comply with any applicable contraceptive requirements of the protocol or females of non-childbearing potential.
  • Healthy as determined by the investigator on the basis of screening evaluations.
  • Hemoglobin for males greater than or equal to (> or =)135.0 gram per liter (g/L) and females > or = 120.0 g/L at screening and on Day -1.
  • Body mass index (BMI) between 18.0 and 30.0 kilogram per meter square (kg/m2) inclusive with a body weight greater than (>) 50 kg (110 lbs).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • History of any hematological, hepatic, respiratory, cardiovascular, renal, neurological or psychiatric disease, gallbladder removal, or current recurrent disease.
  • Current or relevant history of physical or psychiatric illness, any medical disorder that may require treatment or make the participant unlikely to fully complete the study, or any condition that presents undue risk from the investigational product or procedures.
  • Known or suspected intolerance or hypersensitivity to the investigational product(s), closely-related compounds, or any of the stated ingredients.
  • Significant illness, as judged by the investigator, within 2 weeks of the first dose of investigational product.
  • Donation of blood or blood products (e.g., plasma or platelets) within 60 days prior to receiving the first dose of investigational product.
  • Within 30 days prior to the first dose of investigational product:a) Have used an investigational product, b) Have been enrolled in a clinical study (including vaccine studies) that, in the investigator's opinion, may impact this study, c) Have had any substantial changes in eating habits, as assessed by the investigator.
  • Confirmed systolic blood pressure >139 millimetre of mercury (mmHg) or \< 89 mmHg, and diastolic blood pressure > 89 mmHg or \< 49 mmHg.
  • Twelve-lead ECG demonstrating QTc > 450 millisecond (msec).
  • Known history of alcohol or other substance abuse within the last year.
  • Male participants who consume more than 21 units of alcohol per week or 3 units per day. Female participants who consume more than 14 units of alcohol per week or 2 units per day.
  • A positive screen for alcohol or drugs of abuse at screening or on Day -1 of Treatment Period.
  • A positive human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), HBsAg, or Hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody screen.
  • Use of tobacco in any form (e.g., smoking or chewing) or other nicotine-containing products in any form (e.g., gum, patch).
  • Routine consumption of more than 2 units of caffeine per day or participants who experience caffeine withdrawal headaches.
  • Prior screen failure, randomization, enrollment, participation in this study or participation in Part 1 of this study.
  • Current use of any prescription medication with the exception of hormonal replacement therapy. (Current use is defined as use within 30 days of the first dose of investigational product.) Current use of any over the counter medication (including herbal, or homeopathic preparations) within 14 days of the first dose of investigational product.
  • Current use of antacids and H2 antagonists.
  • Ingestion of known CYP3A modulators within 7 days of Day 1, Period 1.
  • Inability or unwillingness to consume 100 percent of high-fat meal in Part 2 (including participants with lactose or gluten intolerance).
  • History of oral/nasal cavity infections, gastroesophageal reflux, asthma treatment with albuterol, zinc supplementation.
  • Participants with dry mouth syndrome or burning mouth syndrome or menopausal women suffering from dysgeusia.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
20 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence ABC

    Participants will receive 200 milligram (mg) of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 1 followed by 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 percent (%) drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 4 followed by maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 7 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence BCA

    Participants will receive 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 % drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 1 followed by maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 4 and followed by 200 mg of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 7 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence CAB

    Participants will receive maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 1 followed by 200 mg of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 4 and followed by 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 % drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 7 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence CBA

    Participants will receive maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 1 followed by 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 percent (%) drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 4 and followed by 200 mg of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 7 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence ACB

    Participants will receive 200 mg of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 1 followed by maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 4 and followed by 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 % drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 7 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 1: Sequence BAC

    Participants will receive 200 mg maribavir powder for oral suspension with 32.5 % drug loading (Sequence B) on Day 1 followed by 200 mg of maribavir tablet orally (Sequence A) on Day 4 and followed by maribavir 200 mg powder for oral suspension with 36.1% drug loading (Sequence C) on Day 7 and with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4 and 7.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 2: Sequence DEGF

    Participants under fast will receive 50 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence D) on Day 1 followed by 100 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence E) on Day 4 followed by participants feed with a high fat meal will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence G) on Day 7 and then followed by participants under fast will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence F) on Day 10 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4, 7 and 10. Doses to be evaluated in Part 2 may be adjusted based on relative bioavailability of the selected pediatric formulation (powder for oral suspension) to the Phase 3 tablet formulation observed in Part 1.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 2: Sequence EFDG

    Participants under fast will receive 100 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence E) on Day 1 followed by 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence F) on Day 4 followed by 50 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence D) on Day 7 and then followed by participants feed with a high fat meal will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence G) on Day 10 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4, 7 and 10. Doses to be evaluated in Part 2 may be adjusted based on relative bioavailability of the selected pediatric formulation (powder for oral suspension) to the Phase 3 tablet formulation observed in Part 1.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 2: Sequence FGED

    Participants under fast will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence F) on Day 1 followed by participants feed with a high fat meal will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence G) on Day 4 followed by participants under fast will receive 100 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence E) on Day 7 and then followed by 50 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence D) on Day 10 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4, 7 and 10. Doses to be evaluated in Part 2 may be adjusted based on relative bioavailability of the selected pediatric formulation (powder for oral suspension) to the Phase 3 tablet formulation observed in Part 1.

    Drug: Maribavir

  • Experimental
    Part 2: Sequence GDFE

    Participants feed with a high fat meal will receive 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence G) on Day 1 followed by participants under fast will receive 50 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence D) on Day 4 followed by 200 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence F) on Day 7 and then followed by 100 mg of maribavir powder for oral suspension (Sequence E) on Day 10 with a washout period of minimum 72 hours and maximum of 73 hours between Day 1, 4, 7 and 10. Doses to be evaluated in Part 2 may be adjusted based on relative bioavailability of the selected pediatric formulation (powder for oral suspension) to the Phase 3 tablet formulation observed in Part 1.

    Drug: Maribavir

Interventions

  • DrugMaribavir

    Participants in both part 1 and part 2 of the study will receive maribavir tablet or suspension orally depending upon the treatment sequence allocation for a total of 7 and 10 days respectively.

    Also known as: TAK620, SHP620

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Part 1: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) Occurred at Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma

    Cmax defined as maximum concentration occurred at tmax of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7

  2. Part 1: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma

    tmax defined as time of maximum observed concentration sampled during a dosing interval of maribavir in plasma were reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7

  3. Part 1: Area Under the Curve From the Time of Dosing to the Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-last) of Maribavir in Plasma

    AUC0-last of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7

  4. Area Under the Curve Extrapolated to Infinity, Calculated Using the Observed Value of the Last Non-Zero Concentration (AUC0-Inf) of Maribavir in Plasma

    AUC0-Inf of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7

  5. Part 1: Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Maribavir in Plasma

    t1/2 of maribavir in plasma was reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4 and 7

  6. Part 1: Apparent Total Body Clearance Following Extravascular Administration (CL/F) of Maribavir in Plasma

    CL/F of maribavir in Plasma was reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4 and 7

  7. Part 1: Delay Between the Time of Dosing and Time of Appearance of Plasma Concentration (Tlag) of Maribavir in Plasma

    Tlag of maribavir in plasma was reported.

    Time frame: Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Day 1, 4 and 7

  8. Part 1: Number of Participants With Responses to Palatability Assessment up to Day 7

    The palatability was evaluated to identify, characterize and quantify the sensory attributes of products, e.g., basic tastes, texture and mouth feel and to assess the overall acceptability. Number of participants responded to palatability assessment up to Day 7 were reported.

    Time frame: Up to Day 7

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily had a causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE was an adverse event with a start date on or after the first dose of Investigational product (IP), or a start date before the date of the first dose of IP but increased in severity on or after the date of the first dose of IP. Number of participants with TEAEs were reported.

    Time frame: From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)

  2. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs

    Vital sign assessments included systolic and diastolic blood pressure, pulse rate and body temperature. Any change in vital signs which were deemed clinically significant by the investigator were recorded as TEAE.

    Time frame: From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)

  3. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Electrocardiogram (ECG) Reported as TEAEs

    12-lead ECG were evaluated. Any change in ECG assessments which are deemed clinically significant by the investigator were reported as TEAE.

    Time frame: From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)

  4. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Clinical Laboratory Results Reported as TEAEs

    Clinical laboratory tests included biochemistry, hematology and urinalysis. Any change in clinical laboratory results which are deemed clinically significant by the investigator were reported as TEAE.

    Time frame: From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)

07

Results

Posted Jan 19, 2021
Limitations and caveats
Sponsor terminated this study based on the planned interim analysis of the data of Part 1, palatability of both pediatric formulations was not acceptable.

Participant flow

This study was conducted at single site in United States of America from 25 October 2019 (first participant first visit) and 06 January 2020 (last participant last visit).

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneMaribavir
Started20
Completed18
Not completed2
Withdrew: Adverse event1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1

Outcome measures

PrimaryPart 1: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) Occurred at Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma

Cmax defined as maximum concentration occurred at tmax of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7
Reported as:
Geometric mean · Micrograms per milliliter (mcg/mL)
Part 1: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) Occurred at Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma
Micrograms per milliliter (mcg/mL)Treatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) Occurred at Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma10.7 ± 31.427.35 ± 46.926.84 ± 56.71
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A vs Treatment B · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least square means: 67.76 · 90% CI 59.50 to 77.16
  • Treatment A vs Treatment C · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least squares means: 62.29 · 90% CI 54.73 to 70.90
PrimaryPart 1: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma

tmax defined as time of maximum observed concentration sampled during a dosing interval of maribavir in plasma were reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7
Reported as:
Median · Hour
Part 1: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma
HourTreatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration Sampled During a Dosing Interval (Tmax) of Maribavir in Plasma1.00 (0.500 to 2.00)3.00 (1.00 to 4.00)2.00 (1.00 to 4.00)
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A vs Treatment B · Wilcoxon signed rank test · p = <.001 · Median difference (final values): 1.25 · 90% CI 0.75 to 1.75
  • Treatment A vs Treatment C · Wilcoxon signed rank test · p = <.001 · Median difference (final values): 1.00 · 90% CI 0.75 to 1.25
PrimaryPart 1: Area Under the Curve From the Time of Dosing to the Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-last) of Maribavir in Plasma

AUC0-last of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7
Reported as:
Geometric mean · Hour*micrograms per milliliter (h*μg/mL)
Part 1: Area Under the Curve From the Time of Dosing to the Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-last) of Maribavir in Plasma
Hour*micrograms per milliliter (h*μg/mL)Treatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Area Under the Curve From the Time of Dosing to the Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-last) of Maribavir in Plasma50.1 ± 49.2141.2 ± 55.0939.1 ± 60.58
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A vs Treatment B · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least squares means: 81.27 · 90% CI 73.88 to 89.40
  • Treatment A vs Treatment C · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least squares means: 78.00 · 90% CI 70.92 to 85.79
PrimaryArea Under the Curve Extrapolated to Infinity, Calculated Using the Observed Value of the Last Non-Zero Concentration (AUC0-Inf) of Maribavir in Plasma

AUC0-Inf of maribavir in plasma was reported. Geometric mean and geometric coefficient of variation percent (CV%) were reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4, and 7
Reported as:
Geometric mean · h*μg/mL
Area Under the Curve Extrapolated to Infinity, Calculated Using the Observed Value of the Last Non-Zero Concentration (AUC0-Inf) of Maribavir in Plasma
h*μg/mLTreatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Area Under the Curve Extrapolated to Infinity, Calculated Using the Observed Value of the Last Non-Zero Concentration (AUC0-Inf) of Maribavir in Plasma52.5 ± 49.7244.5 ± 56.2642.4 ± 60.69
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A vs Treatment B · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least squares means: 83.52 · 90% CI 76.12 to 91.64
  • Treatment A vs Treatment C · ANOVA · % ratio of geometric least squares means: 80.36 · 90% CI 73.26 to 88.16
PrimaryPart 1: Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Maribavir in Plasma

t1/2 of maribavir in plasma was reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4 and 7
Reported as:
Median · Hour
Part 1: Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Maribavir in Plasma
HourTreatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Terminal Half-Life (t1/2) of Maribavir in Plasma4.04 (1.33 to 8.07)4.80 (1.90 to 11.6)5.95 (1.36 to 10.1)
PrimaryPart 1: Apparent Total Body Clearance Following Extravascular Administration (CL/F) of Maribavir in Plasma

CL/F of maribavir in Plasma was reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Days 1, 4 and 7
Reported as:
Mean · Liters per hour (L/h)
Part 1: Apparent Total Body Clearance Following Extravascular Administration (CL/F) of Maribavir in Plasma
Liters per hour (L/h)Treatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Apparent Total Body Clearance Following Extravascular Administration (CL/F) of Maribavir in Plasma4.21 ± 1.995.13 ± 2.825.49 ± 3.29
PrimaryPart 1: Delay Between the Time of Dosing and Time of Appearance of Plasma Concentration (Tlag) of Maribavir in Plasma

Tlag of maribavir in plasma was reported.

Time frame:
Pre-dose, 0.25, 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 hours post-dose on Day 1, 4 and 7
Reported as:
Median · Hour
Part 1: Delay Between the Time of Dosing and Time of Appearance of Plasma Concentration (Tlag) of Maribavir in Plasma
HourTreatment ATreatment BTreatment C
Part 1: Delay Between the Time of Dosing and Time of Appearance of Plasma Concentration (Tlag) of Maribavir in Plasma0.00 (0.00 to 0.250)0.250 (0.00 to 0.500)0.250 (0.00 to 0.500)
Statistical analysis
  • Treatment A vs Treatment B · Wilcoxon signed rank test · p = 0.006 · Median difference (final values): 0.13 · 90% CI 0.13 to 0.25
  • Treatment A vs Treatment C · Wilcoxon signed rank test · p = 0.011 · Median difference (final values): 0.13 · 90% CI 0.13 to 0.25
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Responses to Palatability Assessment up to Day 7

The palatability was evaluated to identify, characterize and quantify the sensory attributes of products, e.g., basic tastes, texture and mouth feel and to assess the overall acceptability. Number of participants responded to palatability assessment up to Day 7 were reported.

Time frame:
Up to Day 7
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Responses to Palatability Assessment up to Day 7
ParticipantsTreatment ATreatment BTreatment C
How this drug tasted to you?: Bitter21414
How this drug tasted to you?: Salty001
How this drug tasted to you?: Sour010
How this drug tasted to you?: Sweet000
How this drug tasted to you?: Savory000
How this drug tasted to you?: No taste1645
How strong was the taste?: Strong088
How strong was the taste?: Medium163
How strong was the taste?: Weak114
How strong was the taste?: no taste1645
Did the drug have a rough or gritty texture?: No1844
Did the drug have a rough or gritty texture?: Yes01516
Was the drug easy to swallow?: No000
Was the drug easy to swallow?: Yes181920
Overall taste & texture?: Agree181013
Overall taste & texture?: Neither agree/disagree054
Overall taste & texture?: Disagree043
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

An adverse event (AE) was any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and that does not necessarily had a causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE was an adverse event with a start date on or after the first dose of Investigational product (IP), or a start date before the date of the first dose of IP but increased in severity on or after the date of the first dose of IP. Number of participants with TEAEs were reported.

Time frame:
From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
ParticipantsMaribavir
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)3
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs

Vital sign assessments included systolic and diastolic blood pressure, pulse rate and body temperature. Any change in vital signs which were deemed clinically significant by the investigator were recorded as TEAE.

Time frame:
From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs
ParticipantsMaribavir
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs Reported as TEAEs0
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Electrocardiogram (ECG) Reported as TEAEs

12-lead ECG were evaluated. Any change in ECG assessments which are deemed clinically significant by the investigator were reported as TEAE.

Time frame:
From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Electrocardiogram (ECG) Reported as TEAEs
ParticipantsMaribavir
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Electrocardiogram (ECG) Reported as TEAEs0
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Clinical Laboratory Results Reported as TEAEs

Clinical laboratory tests included biochemistry, hematology and urinalysis. Any change in clinical laboratory results which are deemed clinically significant by the investigator were reported as TEAE.

Time frame:
From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Clinical Laboratory Results Reported as TEAEs
ParticipantsMaribavir
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Clinical Laboratory Results Reported as TEAEs0

Adverse events

Collected over From start of study drug administration up to follow-up (Day 17). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Maribavir0/20 (0%)0/20 (0%)3/20 (15%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventMaribavir
FlatulenceGastrointestinal disorders1/20
Liver function test increasedInvestigations1/20
HeadacheNervous system disorders1/20

Baseline characteristics

Safety set 1 consisted of all participants who received at least 1 dose of maribavir in Part 1.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Maribavir
Mean33.7 ± 8.90
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Maribavir
Female12
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Maribavir
Hispanic or Latino17
Not Hispanic or Latino3
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Maribavir
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American4
White16
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Clinical Pharmacology of Miami, Llc
    Miami, Florida 33014, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 5, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Dec 18, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — De-identified individual participant data from this particular study will not be shared as the data are subject to contractual (or consent) provisions that prohibit transfer to third parties.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 2, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04131556
Lead sponsor
Shire
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 18, 2019
Start date
Oct 25, 2019
Primary completion
Jan 6, 2020
Completion
Jan 6, 2020
Results posted
Jan 19, 2021
Last update
Sep 2, 2025

Study contacts

Study Director
study director · Shire

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Aug 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion