A Phase 2 interventional study of Biospecimen Collection and Computed Tomography in Bile Duct Adenocarcinoma, Fanconi Anemia Complementation Group Gene Mutation and Metastatic Bile Duct Carcinoma, sponsored by Academic and Community Cancer Research United. Active, not recruiting at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-15.
Sponsored by Academic and Community Cancer Research United · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This phase II trial studies how well olaparib works in treating patients with biliary tract cancer that has spread to other places in the body (metastatic) and with aberrant DNA repair gene mutations. Olaparib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To determine the efficacy (progression free survival [PFS] rate at first scan) of olaparib monotherapy in advanced biliary tract cancer (BTC) with mutations in deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) repair genes.
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To determine the overall survival of patients with advanced biliary tract cancer with mutations in DNA repair genes treated with olaparib.
II. To determine the progression free survival of patients with advanced biliary tract cancer with mutations in DNA repair genes treated with olaparib.
III. To determine the objective response of patients with advanced biliary tract cancer with mutations in DNA repair genes treated with olaparib.
IV. To assess the duration of response for patients with advanced biliary tract cancer with mutations in DNA repair genes treated with olaparib who experience an objective response.
V. To assess the frequency and severity of adverse events in advanced biliary tract cancer patients treated with olaparib.
CORRELATIVE RESEARCH OBJECTIVES:
I. Determine the prevalence of mutations including those targeting DNA repair pathways.
II. Identify mutational signatures associated with pathogenic process in advanced biliary tract cancer samples.
III. Correlate the presence of mutations and mutational signatures linked to mutations in DNA repair genes and homologous recombinant repair with clinical responses to olaparib.
IV. To evaluate putative biomarkers related to:
Iva. De novo sensitivity. IVb. Tumor evolution and resistance, to PARP inhibition from olaparib in BTC.
OUTLINE:
Patients receive olaparib orally (PO) twice daily (BID) on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 36 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo computed tomography (CT) scan or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) throughout the trial, and collection of blood and tissue samples on study.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 30 days and then every 3 months for up to 3 years.
217 studies on the registry are indexed under Bile Duct Neoplasms; 43 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 32 is below the median of 50 across 161 interventional studies indexed under Bile Duct Neoplasms.
Browse Bile Duct Neoplasms studies →Academic and Community Cancer Research United is the lead sponsor of 49 studies on the registry; 5 are open to participants now.
Of its 13 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 12 (92%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Institutional normalized ratio (INR)/activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) =\< 1.5 x ULN (obtained =\< 7 days prior to registration)
Negative serum pregnancy test done =\< 28 days prior to registration and confirmed prior to treatment on day 1, for women of childbearing potential, postmenopausal women or women of childbearing potential with evidence of non-childbearing status.
Postmenopausal is defined as:
Exclusion Criteria:
Platinum refractory disease which was defined as:
Major surgical procedure, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury =\< 28 days prior to registration
Resting electrocardiogram (ECG) indicating uncontrolled, potentially reversible cardiac conditions, as judged by the investigator (eg. unstable ischemia, uncontrolled symptomatic arrhythmia, corrected QT interval by Fridericia's correction formula [QTcF] prolongation > 500 ms, electrolyte disturbances, etc.), or patients with congenital long QT syndrome. Cardiac arrhythmias requiring anti-arrhythmic therapy.
Symptomatic metastatic brain or meningeal tumors unless the patient is > 6 months from definitive therapy, has a negative imaging study =\< 28 days of registration and is clinically stable with respect to the tumor at the time of registration. Patients with spinal cord compression unless considered to have received definitive treatment for this and evidence of clinically stable disease for 28 days prior to registration
Any of the following because this study involves an investigational agent whose genotoxic, mutagenic and teratogenic effects on the developing fetus and newborn are unknown.
Immunocompromised patients and patients known to be human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) serologically positive and currently receiving antiretroviral therapy.
Previous and/or intercurrent cancers. With the exception of: curatively-treated cancers with no recurrence in >= 5 years or early cancers treated with curative intent, including but not limited to cervical carcinoma in situ, superficial, noninvasive bladder cancer, basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma in situ, ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), Stage 1, grade 1 endometrial carcinoma, or endoscopically resected gastrointestinal cancers limited in mucosal layer
Concomitant use of known strong CYP3A inhibitors (eg. itraconazole, telithromycin, clarithromycin, protease inhibitors boosted with ritonavir or cobicistat, indinavir, saquinavir, nelfinavir, boceprevir, telaprevir) or moderate CYP3A inhibitors (eg. ciprofloxacin, erythromycin, diltiazem, fluconazole, verapamil).
Concomitant use of known strong (eg. phenobarbital, enzalutamide, phenytoin, rifampicin, rifabutin, rifapentine, carbamazepine, nevirapine and St John's Wort) or moderate CYP3A inducers (eg. bosentan, efavirenz, modafinil).
Patients receive olaparib PO BID on days 1-28. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 36 cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT scan or MRI throughout the trial, and collection of blood and tissue samples on study.
Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging · Drug: Olaparib
Undergo collection of blood and tissue samples
Also known as: Biological Sample Collection, Biospecimen Collected, Specimen Collection
Undergo CT
Also known as: CAT, CAT Scan, Computed Axial Tomography, Computerized Axial Tomography, Computerized axial tomography (procedure), Computerized Tomography, CT, CT Scan, tomography
Undergo MRI
Also known as: Magnetic Resonance, Magnetic resonance imaging (procedure), Magnetic Resonance Imaging Scan, Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance / Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, MR, MR Imaging, MRI, MRI Scan, NMR Imaging, NMRI, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Given PO
Also known as: AZD 2281, AZD-2281, AZD2281, KU-0059436, Lynparza, PARP Inhibitor AZD2281
Number of Patients Alive and Progression-free at First Scan
A patient is defined as a success if the patient is progression-free and alive at the first disease evaluation scan. Disease status will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v) 1.1 criteria. The PFS rate will be calculated as the proportion of evaluable patients who are progression-free and alive at the first disease assessment scan. The final PFS rate point estimate and corresponding 95% confidence interval (CIs) will be reported according to the method of Clopper-Pearson.
Time frame: 8 weeks
Overall Survival (OS)
Patients who are still alive at the time of analysis will be censored at the time of their last study assessment (if still actively on the study) or at the date, the patient was last known to be alive (if in survival follow-up). OS will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The median OS and corresponding 95% confidence interval (by Brookmeyer and Crowley) will be reported.
Time frame: 40 months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
Progression free survival is defined as the time from study registration to disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression will be determined based on RECIST 1.1 criteria. Patients who do not experience disease progression or death while on the protocol will be censored at their last disease assessment date. PFS will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Median PFS and corresponding 95% CIs (by Brookmeyer and Crowley) will be reported.
Time frame: 1 year
Objective Response Rate
Objective response (unconfirmed) is defined as achieving a complete or partial response while on treatment. The objective response rate (ORR)\> will be calculated as the proportion of evaluable patients who achieve an objective response. Disease status will be assessed using RECIST v1.1\> criteria. Confidence intervals for the true success proportion will be calculated according to the approach of Clopper and Pearson.
Time frame: 1 year
Duration of Response (DoR)
Will be defined for all evaluable patients who have achieved an objective response as the date at which the patient's earliest best objective status is first noted to be either a complete response or partial response to the earliest date progression is documented, or death if no prior evidence of disease progression. The distribution of DoR will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The median DoR and corresponding 95% confidence interval will be reported.
Time frame: 1 year
Number of Patients Experiencing a Grade 3 or Greater Adverse Event
Adverse events by patients will be summarized by frequencies and severity using Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0. The proportion of patients who experience at least one grade 3+ adverse event (regardless of attribution) will be reported.
Time frame: 3 years
Prevalence of Mutations
Will determine the prevalence of mutations including those targeting DNA repair pathways.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Mutational Signatures
Will identify mutational signatures associated with pathogenic process in advanced biliary tract cancer samples. Genomic analyses will be performed on mandatory blood samples collected from\> patients at the start of therapy, every 8 weeks, and at progression.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Presence of Mutations and Mutational Signatures
Will correlate the presence of mutations and mutational signatures linked to mutations in DNA repair/HRR with clinical responses.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
The Number of Patients That Had Biomarkers Related to de Novo Sensitivity
Will evaluate putative biomarkers related to: (a) de novo sensitivity and (b) tumor evolution and resistance, to PARP inhibition in biliary tract cancer.\> related to: (a) de novo sensitivity and (b)\> tumor evolution and resistance, to PARP inhibition in BTC.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
The Number of Patients That Had Biomarkers Related to Tumor Evaluation and Resistance
Time frame: Up to 3 years
| Milestone | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Started | 32 |
| Completed | 0 |
| Not completed | 32 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 2 |
| Withdrew: Disease progression | 26 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 |
| Withdrew: Ineligible | 1 |
| Withdrew: On treatment | 1 |
A patient is defined as a success if the patient is progression-free and alive at the first disease evaluation scan. Disease status will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v) 1.1 criteria. The PFS rate will be calculated as the proportion of evaluable patients who are progression-free and alive at the first disease assessment scan. The final PFS rate point estimate and corresponding 95% confidence interval (CIs) will be reported according to the method of Clopper-Pearson.
| Participants | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Number of Patients Alive and Progression-free at First Scan | 23 |
Patients who are still alive at the time of analysis will be censored at the time of their last study assessment (if still actively on the study) or at the date, the patient was last known to be alive (if in survival follow-up). OS will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The median OS and corresponding 95% confidence interval (by Brookmeyer and Crowley) will be reported.
| months | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) | 11 (8.8 to 28.8) |
Progression free survival is defined as the time from study registration to disease progression or death, whichever occurs first. Disease progression will be determined based on RECIST 1.1 criteria. Patients who do not experience disease progression or death while on the protocol will be censored at their last disease assessment date. PFS will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. Median PFS and corresponding 95% CIs (by Brookmeyer and Crowley) will be reported.
| weeks | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 16.9 (14.0 to 24.7) |
Objective response (unconfirmed) is defined as achieving a complete or partial response while on treatment. The objective response rate (ORR)\> will be calculated as the proportion of evaluable patients who achieve an objective response. Disease status will be assessed using RECIST v1.1\> criteria. Confidence intervals for the true success proportion will be calculated according to the approach of Clopper and Pearson.
| percentage of participants | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate | 6.5 (0.8 to 21.4) |
Will be defined for all evaluable patients who have achieved an objective response as the date at which the patient's earliest best objective status is first noted to be either a complete response or partial response to the earliest date progression is documented, or death if no prior evidence of disease progression. The distribution of DoR will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The median DoR and corresponding 95% confidence interval will be reported.
| months | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DoR) | NA (1.4 to NA) |
Adverse events by patients will be summarized by frequencies and severity using Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0. The proportion of patients who experience at least one grade 3+ adverse event (regardless of attribution) will be reported.
| Participants | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Number of Patients Experiencing a Grade 3 or Greater Adverse Event | 17 |
Will determine the prevalence of mutations including those targeting DNA repair pathways.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Will identify mutational signatures associated with pathogenic process in advanced biliary tract cancer samples. Genomic analyses will be performed on mandatory blood samples collected from\> patients at the start of therapy, every 8 weeks, and at progression.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Will correlate the presence of mutations and mutational signatures linked to mutations in DNA repair/HRR with clinical responses.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Will evaluate putative biomarkers related to: (a) de novo sensitivity and (b) tumor evolution and resistance, to PARP inhibition in biliary tract cancer.\> related to: (a) de novo sensitivity and (b)\> tumor evolution and resistance, to PARP inhibition in BTC.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Collected over 40 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Olaparib) | 23/32 (71.9%) | 8/32 (25%) | 32/32 (100%) |
| Event | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders and administration site conditions | 2/32 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 2/32 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/32 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 1/32 |
| Death NOSGeneral disorders and administration site conditions | 1/32 |
| FeverGeneral disorders and administration site conditions | 1/32 |
| Hepatobiliary disorders - Other, specifyHepatobiliary disorders | 1/32 |
| Portal vein thrombosisHepatobiliary disorders | 1/32 |
| Biliary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 1/32 |
| Blood bilirubin increasedInvestigations | 1/32 |
| Event | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders and administration site conditions | 23/32 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 16/32 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 13/32 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 12/32 |
| Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations | 9/32 |
| Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations | 8/32 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 7/32 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 7/32 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 6/32 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 6/32 |
All patients that began treatment and were eligible are included
| Age, Continuous(years) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 67.6 ± 8.77 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Female | 9 |
| Male | 22 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 22 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 3 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 |
| White | 27 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| United States | 31 |
| BMI(kg/m^2) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 28.5 ± 4.91 |
| ECOG Performance Status(Participants) | Treatment (Olaparib) |
|---|---|
| 0 | 14 |
| 1 | 17 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Academic and Community Cancer Research United