CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04020016Updated Mar 19, 2026Results posted

Study of Nalbuphine ER in Participants With Hepatic Impairment

A Phase 1 interventional study of Nalbuphine ER in Hepatic Impairment, sponsored by Trevi Therapeutics. Completed at 3 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-03-19.

Sponsored by Trevi Therapeutics · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
28
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research study will evaluate the effect of hepatic impairment on the pharmacokinetics (the breakdown of the drug in the body) of parallel-group, multiple oral doses nalbuphine extended release (NAL ER), tablets in people with hepatic impairment (mild, moderate and severe), compared to people with normal liver function. The study will also test the safety and tolerability of the NAL ER, when it is given to participants with mild, moderate and severe hepatic impairment, compared to participants with normal liver function. This protocol will also study the effects of this drug on itching in hepatic impairment participants if they report some itching prior to taking part in this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hepatic Impairment

Keywords

  • nalbuphine
  • Pharmacokinetic
  • hepatic impairment
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Trevi Therapeutics is the lead sponsor of 16 studies on the registry; 2 are open to participants now.

Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 6 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

For participants with Hepatic Impairment (Cohort 1 to 4 and Cohort 6):

  • Male or female with stable hepatic impairment, non-smoker and/or light smoker.
  • Clinical diagnosis of liver cirrhosis
  • Stable for study participation based upon medical history, physical examination, vital signs, ECGs, and screening clinical laboratory evaluations

For Healthy participants (Cohort 5):

  • Male or female, non-smoker and/or light smoker (up to 5 cigarettes or equivalent/day)
  • Healthy as defined by:

    • Normal hepatic function
    • The absence of clinically significant illness and surgery within 4 weeks prior to dosing.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

For participants with Hepatic Impairment (Cohort 1 to 4 and Cohort 6):

  • Clinically significant unstable medical conditions
  • Clinically significant abnormalities of laboratory, ECG, pulse oximetry, or clinical data that would preclude participation in the study.
  • History of any illness that might confound the results of the study or pose an additional risk to the participant by participation in the study.

For Healthy participants (Cohort 5):

  • Diagnosis of liver disease
  • History of heart problems.
  • History of significant alcohol abuse or drug abuse
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
28 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Part 1 Single Ascending Dose

    Participants with mild (group 1), moderate (group 2) and severe (group 3) hepatic impairment received single dose ranging from 27 mg up to 162 mg of NAL ER tablet under fasting conditions. There was a washout period of at least 7 days between the drug administration between each dose level. Participants with no hepatic impairment (group 4) received a single dose of NAL ER of up to 162 mg under fasting conditions.

    Drug: Nalbuphine ER

Interventions

  • DrugNalbuphine ER

    Oral tablet

    Also known as: NAL ER

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Part 1: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of NAL ER

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level

  2. Part 1: Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of NAL ER

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level

  3. Part 1: Terminal Elimination Half-Life (T1/2 el) of NAL ER

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level

  4. Part 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of NAL ER

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level

  5. Part 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-t) of NAL ER

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level

  6. Part 1: Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. A TEAE was defined as any AE that occurs after the first dose of study drug. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.

    Time frame: From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4

  7. Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory Parameters

    The clinical laboratory parameters included the clinical chemistry, hematology, coagulation, and urinalysis. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

    Time frame: From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4

  8. Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Vital Sign Parameters

    Vital signs measurements included diastolic and systolic blood pressure, heart rate, respiratory rate, and body temperature. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

    Time frame: From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4

  9. Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical Examination Parameters

    Physical examination included examination of at least the following components: head, eyes, ears, nose, throat (HEENT), neck, lungs, abdomen, skin, cardiovascular and musculoskeletal evaluation, and general neurological examination. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

    Time frame: From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4

  10. Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in 12-Lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)

    ECG data included the measurement of heart rate and aggregate PR interval, QRS duration, QT interval, QTcB interval, and QTcF interval.

    Time frame: From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4

  11. Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Pulse Oximetry

    Oxygen saturation was measured via pulse oximetry. Pulse oximetry measurements were to be collected within 10 min before or after the specified time point. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

    Time frame: Pre-dose and 1.5, 4, 5, and 8 hours post-dose in each dose level

Secondary outcomes

  1. Part 2: Change From Baseline in Worst Itch Numerical Rating Scale (WI-NRS)

    WI-NRS measure was used determine the severity of itch experienced by participants with hepatic impairment (for Cohort 6 only) at screening. Participants were to complete the two forms (the "Night-time Itch" and the "Daytime Itch") at the same time during the screening visit and the average was taken to determine the baseline severity. The scale was a 0 to 10 rating scale with 10 being the most severe itch experienced and 0 being no itching experienced. Higher score indicated greater severity of itching.

    Time frame: Baseline, Day 16

07

Results

Posted Mar 19, 2026
Limitations and caveats
As per the judgement of the safety committee, the Part 2 (MAD) was not conducted based on protocol defined criteria.

Participant flow

Participants were enrolled at 3 sites in the United States from 12 June 2019 to 05 February 2020.

Cohort 1
Participant flow — Cohort 1
MilestoneCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Started160000
Completed160000
Not completed00000
Cohort 2
Participant flow — Cohort 2
MilestoneCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Started015000
Completed015000
Not completed00000
Cohort 3
Participant flow — Cohort 3
MilestoneCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Started001500
Completed001500
Not completed00000
Cohorts 4 and 5
Participant flow — Cohorts 4 and 5
MilestoneCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Started000138
Completed000138
Not completed00000

Outcome measures

PrimaryPart 1: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of NAL ER
Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)
Part 1: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax) of NAL ER
nanogram per milliliter (ng/mL)Cohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Mild Hepatic Impairment (Group 1)3.30 ± 41.87.67 ± 38.913.9 ± 34.118.7 ± 34.9—
Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Group 2)10.9 ± 77.922.3 ± 70.742.4 ± 52.257.2 ± 55.3—
Severe Hepatic Impairment (Group 3)27.7 ± 21.9————
No Hepatic Impairment (Group 4)————25.7 ± 34.2
PrimaryPart 1: Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of NAL ER
Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level
Reported as:
Median · hours (h)
Part 1: Time to Reach Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of NAL ER
hours (h)Cohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Mild Hepatic Impairment (Group 1)4.000 (1.500 to 7.000)5.000 (3.000 to 12.000)5.000 (1.500 to 12000)7.000 (3.000 to 24.000)—
Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Group 2)3.000 (3.000 to 9.000)5.000 (3.000 to 12.067)9.000 (3.000 to 12.000)7.000 (3.000 to 12.000)—
Severe Hepatic Impairment (Group 3)6.000 (3.000 to 9.000)————
No Hepatic Impairment (Group 4)————5.000 (2.983 to 9.000)
PrimaryPart 1: Terminal Elimination Half-Life (T1/2 el) of NAL ER
Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level
Reported as:
Median · h
Part 1: Terminal Elimination Half-Life (T1/2 el) of NAL ER
hCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Mild Hepatic Impairment (Group 1)7.83 (6.46 to 12.27)11.92 (7.94 to 14.08)8.80 (4.95 to 12.05)9.55 (7.14 to 11.49)—
Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Group 2)7.97 (5.15 to 11.77)7.56 (5.82 to 10.36)7.81 (5.92 to 11.63)8.25 (5.48 to 13.69)—
Severe Hepatic Impairment (Group 3)7.22 (6.24 to 8.02)————
No Hepatic Impairment (Group 4)————10.00 (6.84 to 14.09)
PrimaryPart 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of NAL ER
Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level
Reported as:
Geometric mean · hour-nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)
Part 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Infinity (AUC0-inf) of NAL ER
hour-nanogram per milliliter (h*ng/mL)Cohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Mild Hepatic Impairment (Group 1)68.15 ± 36.63141.56 ± 42.73300.09 ± 32.28356.12 ± 34.16—
Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Group 2)194.12 ± 79.81396.03 ± 74.70846.41 ± 61.111074.11 ± 62.42—
Severe Hepatic Impairment (Group 3)491.26 ± 20.21————
No Hepatic Impairment (Group 4)————374.83 ± 67.77
PrimaryPart 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-t) of NAL ER
Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose at Day 1 in each dose level
Reported as:
Geometric mean · h*ng/mL
Part 1: Area Under the Plasma Concentration-Time Curve From Time Zero to Last Measurable Concentration (AUC0-t) of NAL ER
h*ng/mLCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Mild Hepatic Impairment (Group 1)40.82 ± 62.46114.96 ± 45.27250.97 ± 39.10357.32 ± 31.57—
Moderate Hepatic Impairment (Group 2)180.63 ± 83.26377.56 ± 76.03830.15 ± 61.841050.63 ± 63.55—
Severe Hepatic Impairment (Group 3)482.29 ± 20.14————
No Hepatic Impairment (Group 4)————355.42 ± 70.21
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product. A TEAE was defined as any AE that occurs after the first dose of study drug. TEAEs included both serious and non-serious TEAEs.

Time frame:
From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Treatment Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE)359125
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory Parameters

The clinical laboratory parameters included the clinical chemistry, hematology, coagulation, and urinalysis. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame:
From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory Parameters
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in Laboratory Parameters00000
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Vital Sign Parameters

Vital signs measurements included diastolic and systolic blood pressure, heart rate, respiratory rate, and body temperature. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame:
From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Vital Sign Parameters
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Vital Sign Parameters00000
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical Examination Parameters

Physical examination included examination of at least the following components: head, eyes, ears, nose, throat (HEENT), neck, lungs, abdomen, skin, cardiovascular and musculoskeletal evaluation, and general neurological examination. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame:
From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical Examination Parameters
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Physical Examination Parameters00000
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in 12-Lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)

ECG data included the measurement of heart rate and aggregate PR interval, QRS duration, QT interval, QTcB interval, and QTcF interval.

Time frame:
From signing the informed consent form up to Day 4
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in 12-Lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Abnormalities in 12-Lead Electrocardiogram (ECG)00000
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Pulse Oximetry

Oxygen saturation was measured via pulse oximetry. Pulse oximetry measurements were to be collected within 10 min before or after the specified time point. Clinical significance was determined by the investigator.

Time frame:
Pre-dose and 1.5, 4, 5, and 8 hours post-dose in each dose level
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Pulse Oximetry
ParticipantsCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Part 1: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Findings in Pulse Oximetry00000
SecondaryPart 2: Change From Baseline in Worst Itch Numerical Rating Scale (WI-NRS)

WI-NRS measure was used determine the severity of itch experienced by participants with hepatic impairment (for Cohort 6 only) at screening. Participants were to complete the two forms (the "Night-time Itch" and the "Daytime Itch") at the same time during the screening visit and the average was taken to determine the baseline severity. The scale was a 0 to 10 rating scale with 10 being the most severe itch experienced and 0 being no itching experienced. Higher score indicated greater severity of itching.

Time frame:
Baseline, Day 16

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over From the time of signing informed consent form to Day 4. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 1: NAL ER 27 mg0/16 (0%)0/16 (0%)3/16 (18.8%)
Cohort 2: NAL ER 54 mg0/15 (0%)0/15 (0%)5/15 (33.3%)
Cohort 3: NAL ER 108 mg0/15 (0%)0/15 (0%)9/15 (60%)
Cohort 4: NAL ER 162 mg0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)12/13 (92.3%)
Cohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg0/8 (0%)0/8 (0%)5/8 (62.5%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 15
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1: NAL ER 27 mgCohort 2: NAL ER 54 mgCohort 3: NAL ER 108 mgCohort 4: NAL ER 162 mgCohort 5: NAL ER 162 mg
Euphoric MoodPsychiatric disorders0/160/152/157/130/8
SomnolenceNervous system disorders0/163/156/153/132/8
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders2/161/150/151/133/8
Feeling of RelaxationGeneral disorders0/160/150/150/132/8
Dry MouthGastrointestinal disorders0/160/150/152/130/8
HeadacheNervous system disorders0/160/152/150/130/8
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/160/151/150/131/8
Ventricular arrhythmiaCardiac disorders0/160/151/150/131/8
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders0/160/150/151/130/8
ParaesthesiaNervous system disorders0/160/150/151/130/8

Baseline characteristics

Safety analysis set (SAS) included all enrolled participants who had received at least 1 dose of study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Part 1: All Participants
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 159.2 ± 5.6
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 262.5 ± 5.1
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 360.3 ± 9.0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 159.5 ± 4.9
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 261.3 ± 5.6
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 159.5 ± 4.9
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 260.3 ± 6.1
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 159.3 ± 5.3
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 258.8 ± 5.2
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 455.9 ± 5.7
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Part 1: All Participants
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Female3
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Male3
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Female1
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Male5
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Female2
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Male2
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Female4
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Male4
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Female1
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Male6
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Female4
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Male4
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Female0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Male7
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Female3
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Male4
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Female0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Male6
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Female3
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Male5
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Part 1: All Participants
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Hispanic or Latino0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Not Hispanic or Latino6
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Hispanic or Latino0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Not Hispanic or Latino6
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Hispanic or Latino1
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Not Hispanic or Latino3
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Hispanic or Latino1
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Not Hispanic or Latino7
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Hispanic or Latino1
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Not Hispanic or Latino6
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Hispanic or Latino4
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Not Hispanic or Latino4
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Hispanic or Latino0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Not Hispanic or Latino7
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Hispanic or Latino3
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Not Hispanic or Latino4
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Hispanic or Latino0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Not Hispanic or Latino6
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Hispanic or Latino3
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Not Hispanic or Latino5
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Part 1: All Participants
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Asian1
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Black or African American3
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — White2
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — More than one race0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Asian0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Black or African American2
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — White4
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — More than one race0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Asian0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Black or African American1
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — White3
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — More than one race0
Cohort 1 (NAL ER 27 mg): Group 3 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Asian1
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Black or African American3
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — White4
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — More than one race0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Asian0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Black or African American2
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — White5
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — More than one race0
Cohort 2 (NAL ER 54 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Asian1
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Black or African American3
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — White4
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — More than one race0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Asian0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Black or African American1
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — White6
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — More than one race0
Cohort 3 (NAL ER 108 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Asian0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Black or African American3
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — White4
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — More than one race0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 1 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Asian0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Black or African American1
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — White5
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — More than one race0
Cohort 4 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 2 — Unknown or Not Reported0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — American Indian or Alaska Native0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Asian0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Black or African American2
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — White6
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — More than one race0
Cohort 5 (NAL ER 162 mg): Group 4 — Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

3 sites
  • 01
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
  • 02
    Miami, Florida 33146, United States
  • 03
    Orlando, Florida 32809, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 5, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jan 21, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 19, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04020016
Lead sponsor
Trevi Therapeutics
Collaborators
Syneos Health
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 15, 2019
Start date
Jun 12, 2019
Primary completion
Feb 5, 2020
Completion
Feb 5, 2020
Results posted
Mar 19, 2026
Last update
Mar 19, 2026

Study contacts

Chief Development Officer
study director · Trevi Therapeutics, Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion