A Phase 3 interventional study of Placebo and Nemolizumab in Moderate-to-Severe Atopic Dermatitis, sponsored by Galderma R&D. Completed at 138 sites in 11 countries. Open to participants aged 12 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-08-14.
Sponsored by Galderma R&D · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The main purpose of the study was to assess the efficacy and safety of nemolizumab after a 16-week treatment period in adult and adolescent subjects with moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis (AD) not adequately controlled with topical treatments.
This was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multi-center, parallel-group study in adult and adolescent subjects of age 12 years and above with moderate-to-severe AD. Eligible subjects had documented history of inadequate response to topical AD medication(s). Approximately 750 subjects were randomized in 2:1 to receive either nemolizumab or placebo, stratified by baseline disease severity (Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) = 3, moderate; IGA = 4, severe) and peak pruritus numeric rating scale (PP NRS) severity (PP NRS >= 7; PP NRS \< 7). A minimum of 250 subjects were randomized in each PP NRS strata. All nemolizumab-treated subjects who were clinical responders at Week 16 (i.e., the end of initial treatment [Initial Treatment Period]/beginning of Maintenance Period) were re-randomized (1:1:1) to different treatment regimens (nemolizumab injections Q4W or every 8 weeks (Q8W) [with placebo injections at Weeks 20, 28, 36, and 44 to maintain the blind] or placebo Q4W). A clinical responder was defined as a subject at Week 16 with an IGA of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear) or a >=75% improvement in EASI from baseline (EASI-75). All placebo-treated subjects who responded to placebo during the Initial Treatment Period continued to receive placebo Q4W in the Maintenance Period.
1,419 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic; 258 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 787 is above the median of 83 across 1,125 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic.
Browse Dermatitis, Atopic studies →Galderma R&D is the lead sponsor of 280 studies on the registry; 9 are open to participants now.
Of its 59 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 55 (93%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Key Inclusion Criteria:
Key Exclusion Criteria:
Note: Subjects with chronic,stable use of prophylactic treatment for recurrent herpes viral infection can be included in this clinical study.
Placebo administered via subcutaneous injection
Drug: Placebo
Nemolizumab administered via subcutaneous injection
Drug: Nemolizumab
Placebo
Nemolizumab
Also known as: CD14152
Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Success at Week 16: Intent-To-Treat (ITT) Population
IGA success was defined as an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear) and at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline to Week 16. The IGA is a 5-point scale ranging from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) used by the Investigator or trained designee to evaluate the global severity of atopic dermatitis (AD) and the clinical response to treatment. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Success at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population
IGA success was defined as an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear) and at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline to Week 16. The IGA is a 5-point scale ranging from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) used by the Investigator or trained designee to evaluate the global severity of AD and the clinical response to treatment. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With >=75% Improvement in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI-75) at Week 16: ITT Population
EASI-75 was defined as \>=75 percent(%) improvement in EASI from baseline to Week 16. EASI evaluates severity of participants AD based on severity of AD clinical signs and % of body surface area (BSA) affected. Severity of clinical signs of AD(erythema, induration/papulation, excoriation and lichenification)scored separately for each of 4 body regions (head \& neck, upper limbs, trunk \& lower limbs on 4-point scale: 0= absent; 1= mild; 2= moderate; 3= severe. EASI total score is composite score ranging from 0 to 72. Higher scores represent greater severity of AD. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With >=75% Improvement in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI-75) at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population
EASI-75 was defined as \>=75 percent(%) improvement in EASI from baseline to Week 16. EASI evaluates severity of participants AD based on severity of AD clinical signs and % of body surface area (BSA) affected. Severity of clinical signs of AD(erythema, induration/papulation, excoriation and lichenification)scored separately for each of 4 body regions (head \& neck, upper limbs, trunk \& lower limbs on 4-point scale: 0= absent; 1= mild; 2= moderate; 3= severe. EASI total score is composite score ranging from 0 to 72. Higher scores represent greater severity of AD. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 16: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With <2 Points in Weekly Average PP NRS at Week 16: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With <2 Points in Weekly Average PP NRS at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With an Improvement of Sleep Disturbance Numeric Rating Scale (SD NRS) >=4 at Week 16: ITT Population
The sleep disturbance NRS is a scale used by the participants to report the degree of their sleep loss related to AD. Participants were asked the following question in their local language: how would you rate your sleep last night? On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no sleep loss related to signs/symptoms of AD' and 10 being 'I cannot sleep at all due to the signs/symptoms of AD'. Weekly average SD NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With an Improvement of Sleep Disturbance Numeric Rating Scale (SD NRS) >=4 at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population
The sleep disturbance NRS is a scale used by the participants to report the degree of their sleep loss related to AD. Participants were asked the following question in their local language: how would you rate your sleep last night? On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no sleep loss related to signs/symptoms of AD' and 10 being 'I cannot sleep at all due to the signs/symptoms of AD'. Weekly average SD NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 4: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 4
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 4: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 4
Percentage of Participants With Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) <2 at Week 4: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 4
Percentage of Participants With Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) <2 at Week 4: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 4
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 2: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 2
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 2: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 2
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 1: ITT Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 1
Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 1: Severe Pruritus Population
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
Time frame: Week 1
The study was conducted at 136 active sites in Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Singapore, and the United States from 27 June 2019 to 26 September 2022.
| Milestone | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q8W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Placebo Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Placebo Q4W Re-assigned to Placebo Q4W |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 522 | 265 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treated | 519 | 263 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Safety population | 519 | 263 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 470 | 241 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 52 | 24 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 17 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 24 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Protocol deviation | 3 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician/principal investigator decision | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Randomized but not treated | 3 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q8W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Placebo Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16-Week 48): Placebo Q4W Re-assigned to Placebo Q4W |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 79 | 78 | 78 | 85 |
| Treated | 0 | 0 | 78 | 78 | 77 | 84 |
| Safety population | 0 | 0 | 79 | 77 | 77 | 84 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 65 | 68 | 65 | 74 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 14 | 10 | 13 | 11 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 1 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Other | 0 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Re-randomized/re-assigned but not treated | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
IGA success was defined as an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear) and at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline to Week 16. The IGA is a 5-point scale ranging from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) used by the Investigator or trained designee to evaluate the global severity of atopic dermatitis (AD) and the clinical response to treatment. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Success at Week 16: Intent-To-Treat (ITT) Population | 37.7 | 26.0 |
IGA success was defined as an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear) and at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline to Week 16. The IGA is a 5-point scale ranging from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) used by the Investigator or trained designee to evaluate the global severity of AD and the clinical response to treatment. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Success at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population | 36.7 | 22.0 |
EASI-75 was defined as \>=75 percent(%) improvement in EASI from baseline to Week 16. EASI evaluates severity of participants AD based on severity of AD clinical signs and % of body surface area (BSA) affected. Severity of clinical signs of AD(erythema, induration/papulation, excoriation and lichenification)scored separately for each of 4 body regions (head \& neck, upper limbs, trunk \& lower limbs on 4-point scale: 0= absent; 1= mild; 2= moderate; 3= severe. EASI total score is composite score ranging from 0 to 72. Higher scores represent greater severity of AD. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With >=75% Improvement in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI-75) at Week 16: ITT Population | 42.1 | 30.2 |
EASI-75 was defined as \>=75 percent(%) improvement in EASI from baseline to Week 16. EASI evaluates severity of participants AD based on severity of AD clinical signs and % of body surface area (BSA) affected. Severity of clinical signs of AD(erythema, induration/papulation, excoriation and lichenification)scored separately for each of 4 body regions (head \& neck, upper limbs, trunk \& lower limbs on 4-point scale: 0= absent; 1= mild; 2= moderate; 3= severe. EASI total score is composite score ranging from 0 to 72. Higher scores represent greater severity of AD. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered a treatment failure. Participants with missing data at Week 16 were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With >=75% Improvement in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI-75) at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population | 41.1 | 25.0 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 16: ITT Population | 41.0 | 18.1 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population | 48.4 | 21.3 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With <2 Points in Weekly Average PP NRS at Week 16: ITT Population | 28.4 | 11.3 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With <2 Points in Weekly Average PP NRS at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population | 26.9 | 8.5 |
The sleep disturbance NRS is a scale used by the participants to report the degree of their sleep loss related to AD. Participants were asked the following question in their local language: how would you rate your sleep last night? On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no sleep loss related to signs/symptoms of AD' and 10 being 'I cannot sleep at all due to the signs/symptoms of AD'. Weekly average SD NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With an Improvement of Sleep Disturbance Numeric Rating Scale (SD NRS) >=4 at Week 16: ITT Population | 33.5 | 16.2 |
The sleep disturbance NRS is a scale used by the participants to report the degree of their sleep loss related to AD. Participants were asked the following question in their local language: how would you rate your sleep last night? On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no sleep loss related to signs/symptoms of AD' and 10 being 'I cannot sleep at all due to the signs/symptoms of AD'. Weekly average SD NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With an Improvement of Sleep Disturbance Numeric Rating Scale (SD NRS) >=4 at Week 16: Severe Pruritus Population | 42.7 | 20.7 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 4: ITT Population | 26.1 | 5.3 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 4: Severe Pruritus Population | 30.4 | 7.9 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) <2 at Week 4: ITT Population | 15.9 | 2.6 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) <2 at Week 4: Severe Pruritus Population | 11.1 | 1.2 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 2: ITT Population | 16.9 | 1.9 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 2: Severe Pruritus Population | 19.3 | 3.0 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 1: ITT Population | 6.7 | 0.4 |
The PP NRS is a scale that was used by the participants to report the intensity of their pruritus (itch) during the last 24 hours on a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being 'no itch' and 10 being the 'worst itch imaginable'. Weekly average PP NRS score was calculated using 7 consecutive days diary data and set to missing if less than 4 days data available. If a participant received any rescue therapy, the data after receipt of rescue therapy was considered treatment failure. Participants with missing data were considered non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement of >=4 Points in Weekly Average Peak Pruritus Numeric Rating Scale (PP NRS) at Week 1: Severe Pruritus Population | 8.5 | 0.6 |
Collected over Initial Treatment Period: From baseline to Week 16 pre-dose; Maintenance Period: From end of Initial Treatment Period (i.e., Week 16) to Week 48. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | 0/519 (0%) | 13/519 (2.5%) | 71/519 (13.7%) |
| Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | 0/263 (0%) | 3/263 (1.1%) | 40/263 (15.2%) |
| Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q4W | 0/79 (0%) | 6/79 (7.6%) | 17/79 (21.5%) |
| Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q8W | 0/77 (0%) | 0/77 (0%) | 11/77 (14.3%) |
| Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Placebo Q4W | 0/77 (0%) | 2/77 (2.6%) | 26/77 (33.8%) |
| Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Placebo Q4W Re-assigned to Placebo Q4W | 0/84 (0%) | 1/84 (1.2%) | 16/84 (19%) |
| Event | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q8W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Placebo Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Placebo Q4W Re-assigned to Placebo Q4W |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EndometriosisReproductive system and breast disorders | 0/519 | 0/263 | 0/79 | 0/77 | 1/77 | 0/84 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/519 | 0/263 | 0/79 | 0/77 | 1/77 | 0/84 |
| Duodenal ulcer haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 0/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 0/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| Comminuted fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| Intervertebral disc protrusionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| AdenomyosisReproductive system and breast disorders | 0/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| AsthmaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/519 | 0/263 | 1/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| Post procedural haematomaInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/519 | 0/263 | 0/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 1/84 |
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 3/519 | 0/263 | 0/79 | 0/77 | 0/77 | 0/84 |
| Event | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Q8W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Nemolizumab 30 mg Q4W to Placebo Q4W | Maintenance Period (Week 16- Week 48): Placebo Q4W Re-assigned to Placebo Q4W |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 14/519 | 8/263 | 3/79 | 4/77 | 13/77 | 6/84 |
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 19/519 | 12/263 | 7/79 | 3/77 | 5/77 | 6/84 |
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 34/519 | 15/263 | 6/79 | 3/77 | 6/77 | 5/84 |
| Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 6/519 | 5/263 | 1/79 | 2/77 | 5/77 | 2/84 |
The ITT population consisted of all randomized participants.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 91 | 41 | 132 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 394 | 209 | 603 |
| >=65 years | 37 | 15 | 52 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 270 | 136 | 406 |
| Male | 252 | 129 | 381 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 44 | 19 | 63 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 464 | 244 | 708 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 14 | 2 | 16 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Nemolizumab 30 mg | Initial Treatment Period (Baseline - Week 16 Predose): Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Asian | 35 | 18 | 53 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 25 | 20 | 45 |
| White | 458 | 227 | 685 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 0 | 2 |
Showing the first 100 of 138 sites across 11 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Galderma R&D