A Phase 2 interventional study of MR13A9 and Placebo in Uremic Pruritus, sponsored by Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.. Completed at 1 site in Japan. Open to participants aged 20 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-12-05.
Sponsored by Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
Double-blind, Placebo-controlled study to evaluate the dose-response relationship of safety, efficacy and pharmacokinetics of MA13A9 in hemodialysis patients with pruritus.
Exclusion Criteria:
Drug: MR13A9
Drug: MR13A9
Drug: MR13A9
Drug: Placebo
Intravenous administration
Intravenous administration
Change From Baseline in the Mean NRS Score at Week 8 of the Treatment Period
The primary analysis was performed using an MMRM with change from baseline in the mean NRS score at each time point as an objective variable; treatment group, time point, and treatment group-by-time point interaction as fixed effects; baseline mean NRS score and dynamic allocation factors, presence of prior treatment with nalfurafine hydrochloride, and presence of specific signs or symptoms to be confirmed in the screening period, as covariates; and subject as a random effect. Looking back on the period between the time of awakening on the previous day of assessment and the time of awakening on the day of assessment (including sleeping hours) once daily, subjects will assess the NRS score for the most severe itching by themselves. The most severe itching within the day will be assessed in integer on a scale ranging from 0 to 10, where 0 represents no itching and 10 represents worst itching imaginable.
Time frame: 8 weeks
Of 311 participants who had been screened, 247 subjects were enrolled in this study and were randomly assigned to each study drugs. 225 subjects completed the study and 22 subjects discontinued the study.
| Milestone | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 61 | 61 | 62 | 63 |
| Completed | 59 | 53 | 54 | 59 |
| Not completed | 2 | 8 | 8 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 4 | 5 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Four consecutive missed doses of the study drug | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
The primary analysis was performed using an MMRM with change from baseline in the mean NRS score at each time point as an objective variable; treatment group, time point, and treatment group-by-time point interaction as fixed effects; baseline mean NRS score and dynamic allocation factors, presence of prior treatment with nalfurafine hydrochloride, and presence of specific signs or symptoms to be confirmed in the screening period, as covariates; and subject as a random effect. Looking back on the period between the time of awakening on the previous day of assessment and the time of awakening on the day of assessment (including sleeping hours) once daily, subjects will assess the NRS score for the most severe itching by themselves. The most severe itching within the day will be assessed in integer on a scale ranging from 0 to 10, where 0 represents no itching and 10 represents worst itching imaginable.
| points | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in the Mean NRS Score at Week 8 of the Treatment Period | -2.97 ± 0.29 | -3.65 ± 0.30 | -3.64 ± 0.30 | -2.86 ± 0.29 |
Collected over Up to 8 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0/61 (0%) | 3/61 (4.9%) | 30/61 (49.2%) |
| 0.5 μg/kg Group | 0/61 (0%) | 8/61 (13.1%) | 35/61 (57.4%) |
| 1.0 μg/kg Group | 0/62 (0%) | 5/62 (8.1%) | 40/62 (64.5%) |
| Placebo Group | 0/63 (0%) | 2/63 (3.2%) | 24/63 (38.1%) |
| Event | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angina pectorisCardiac disorders | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Aortic valve stenosisCardiac disorders | 1/61 | 0/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| BacteraemiaInfections and infestations | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Device related infectionInfections and infestations | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 1/61 | 0/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Heat illnessInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Shunt occlusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/61 | 0/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Shunt stenosisInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/61 | 1/61 | 1/62 | 0/63 |
| HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Altered state of consciousnessNervous system disorders | 0/61 | 1/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Event | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 8/61 | 6/61 | 3/62 | 7/63 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 5/61 | 3/61 | 7/62 | 0/63 |
| SomnolenceNervous system disorders | 2/61 | 3/61 | 6/62 | 3/63 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 3/61 | 5/61 | 2/62 | 2/63 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 3/61 | 3/61 | 5/62 | 3/63 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 2/61 | 4/61 | 0/62 | 0/63 |
| Procedural hypotensionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 4/61 | 3/61 | 2/62 | 3/63 |
| Blood pressure decreasedInvestigations | 0/61 | 4/61 | 3/62 | 2/63 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/61 | 1/61 | 4/62 | 1/63 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/61 | 1/61 | 4/62 | 3/63 |
One subject of 1.0 μg/kg group was excluded from FAS due to deviation from one of the inclusion criteria. So, there is a discrepancy between the number of subjects in "Participant flow" and in "Overall Number of Baseline Participants".
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 23 | 25 | 29 | 30 | 107 |
| >=65 years | 38 | 36 | 32 | 33 | 139 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 64.2 ± 11.2 | 65.6 ± 11.4 | 64.4 ± 11.7 | 64.1 ± 12.7 | 64.5 ± 11.7 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 11 | 16 | 14 | 20 | 61 |
| Male | 50 | 45 | 47 | 43 | 185 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 61 | 61 | 61 | 63 | 246 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 61 | 61 | 61 | 63 | 246 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japan | 61 | 61 | 61 | 63 | 246 |
| Dry weight at the start of Sceening(kg) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 61.25 ± 13.86 | 59.98 ± 11.22 | 62.85 ± 13.39 | 60.63 ± 12.71 | 61.17 ± 12.80 |
| Hemodialysis History(years) | 0.25 μg/kg Group | 0.5 μg/kg Group | 1.0 μg/kg Group | Placebo Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 7.0 ± 6.5 | 6.7 ± 7.2 | 7.7 ± 6.5 | 6.8 ± 6.1 | 7.1 ± 6.5 |
2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Kissei Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.