A Phase 3 interventional study of Tenecteplase and Placebo in THROMBOLYSIS, sponsored by Genentech, Inc.. Completed at 97 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-22.
Sponsored by Genentech, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of tenecteplase compared with placebo in participants with acute ischemic stroke (AIS).
All participants will receive standard-of-care therapy according to AmericanHeart Association/American Stroke Association clinical guidelines (2018). To determine eligibility for randomization, all participants will undergo multimodal CT or MRI at baseline. Only participants with a vessel occlusion (ICA or MCA M1/M2) and penumbral tissue will be randomized. The primary analysis is to compare the efficacy of tenecteplase versus placebo in all participants at Day 90.
Genentech, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 507 studies on the registry; 23 are open to participants now.
Of its 90 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 50 (56%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Alternative neuroimaging:
Exclusion Criteria:
General
Imaging
Patients in this arm will receive Tenecteplase (0.25 mg/kg, maximum 25 mg) administered as a single bolus injection over 5 seconds.
Biological: Tenecteplase
Patients in this arm will receive placebo administered as a single bolus injection over 5 seconds.
Other: Placebo
The investigational medicinal product (IMP) for this study is tenecteplase. The recommended total dose for this study is weight-based with 0.25 mg of tenecteplase per kg, not exceeding a maximum dose of 25 mg. A single bolus dose should be administered over 5 seconds based on patient weight.
Placebo is being used as the comparator since a thrombolytic is only FDA-approved in the United States for use out to 3 hours, and the standard of care guidelines support use out to 4.5 hours.
Ordinal Modified Rankin Scale (mRS) Score at Day 90
The the modified Rankin score (mRS) is a 6-point scale commonly used to assess disability due to stroke, with higher values indicating worse outcomes. 0 = No symptoms 1. = No significant disability 2. = Slight disability 3. = Moderate disability 4. = Moderately severe disability 5. = Severe disability 6. = Death
Time frame: Day 90
Proportion of Patients With Functional Independence at Day 90
Functional independence, was defined as an mRS of 0-2 (no symptoms to mild symptoms), at Day 90.
Time frame: Day 90
Proportion of Patients With Recanalization at 24 Hours Post-randomization
This endpoint measured complete or partial recanalization (restored blood flow) on CT angiography (CTA)/magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) post-randomization, defined as complete or partial recanalization on CT angiography (CTA)/magnetic resonance angiography (MRA).
Time frame: Day 2
Proportion of Patients With Reperfusion at 24 Hours Post-randomization
This endpoint was defined by the proportion of participants with reperfusion (the restoration of blood flow to an organ or tissue after having been blocked) at 24 hours post-randomization, defined as \> 90% reduction in Tmax \> 6s lesion volume.
Time frame: Day 2
Proportion of Patients With Angiographic Reperfusion at Completion of Angiographic Procedure
Angiographic reperfusion was evaluated using the modified Thrombolysis in Cerebral Infarction (TICI) Scale: 0: No perfusion or anterograde flow beyond site of occlusion. 1. Contrast passes the area of occlusion but fails to opacify the entire cerebral bed distal to the obstruction during angiographic run. 2. Partial perfusion wherein the contrast passes the occlusion and opacifies the distal arterial bed but rate of entry or clearance from the bed is slower than non-involved territories 2A: \< 50% of territory visualized 2B: ≥ 50% of territory is visualized 2C: Near complete perfusion except for slow flow in a few distal cortical vessels or presence of small distal cortical emboli 3. Complete reperfusion with normal filling.
Time frame: Day 1
Median NIHSS Score at Day 90
The National Institutes of Health Stroke Score (NIHSS) is a 15-item scale that measures neurological deficit in acute stroke patients. Each item is ranked using a 3-, 4-, or 5-point scale, including allowances for items that cannot be scored due to the patient's condition, with higher scores indicating more severe deficit. Total scores range from 0-42, with higher scores indicating more severe deficits.
Time frame: Day 90
Proportion of Patients With a Barthel Index (BI) Score ≥ 95 at Day 90
The Barthel Index (BI) is a 10-item ordinal scale used to measure performance in activities of daily living (ADL) and mobility. The BI scoring range is from 0-100, with lower scores representing greater dependency.
Time frame: Day 90
Proportion of Patients With Good Recovery Based on the Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS) at Day 90
The Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS) is a scale used to assess recovery of participants with brain damage. The scale has 5 categories: 1. = Death 2. = Persistent vegetative state 3. = Severe disability 4. = Moderate disability 5. = Good recovery The GOS was re-scaled from observed data. For this measure, 1 = good recovery and 5 = death.
Time frame: Day 90
Incidence of Symptomatic Intracranial Hemorrhage (sICH) Within 36 Hours
Time frame: Within 36 hours (Day 2) of treatment
Mortality Rate up to Day 30 and Day 90
Time frame: Day 30 and Day 90
Proportion of Patients With Parenchymal Hematoma Type 2 (PH2) at the 72-96 Hour Visit
Time frame: Day 3
| Milestone | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 228 | 230 |
| Completed | 175 | 181 |
| Not completed | 53 | 49 |
| Withdrew: Death | 44 | 42 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 4 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 5 | 3 |
The the modified Rankin score (mRS) is a 6-point scale commonly used to assess disability due to stroke, with higher values indicating worse outcomes. 0 = No symptoms 1. = No significant disability 2. = Slight disability 3. = Moderate disability 4. = Moderately severe disability 5. = Severe disability 6. = Death
| Count of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| 0 | 35 | 31 |
| 1 | 38 | 30 |
| 2 | 31 | 36 |
| 3 | 34 | 41 |
| 4 | 29 | 34 |
| 5 | 15 | 13 |
| 6 | 44 | 44 |
Functional independence, was defined as an mRS of 0-2 (no symptoms to mild symptoms), at Day 90.
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| mRS ≤ 2 at Day 90 | 46.0 | 42.4 |
| mRS > 2 at Day 90 | 54.0 | 57.6 |
This endpoint measured complete or partial recanalization (restored blood flow) on CT angiography (CTA)/magnetic resonance angiography (MRA) post-randomization, defined as complete or partial recanalization on CT angiography (CTA)/magnetic resonance angiography (MRA).
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Complete recanalization | 76.7 | 63.9 |
| None or partial recanalization | 23.3 | 36.1 |
This endpoint was defined by the proportion of participants with reperfusion (the restoration of blood flow to an organ or tissue after having been blocked) at 24 hours post-randomization, defined as \> 90% reduction in Tmax \> 6s lesion volume.
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| > 90% reduction in Tmax > 6s lesion volume | 56.9 | 57.7 |
| ≤ 90% reduction | 43.1 | 42.3 |
Angiographic reperfusion was evaluated using the modified Thrombolysis in Cerebral Infarction (TICI) Scale: 0: No perfusion or anterograde flow beyond site of occlusion. 1. Contrast passes the area of occlusion but fails to opacify the entire cerebral bed distal to the obstruction during angiographic run. 2. Partial perfusion wherein the contrast passes the occlusion and opacifies the distal arterial bed but rate of entry or clearance from the bed is slower than non-involved territories 2A: \< 50% of territory visualized 2B: ≥ 50% of territory is visualized 2C: Near complete perfusion except for slow flow in a few distal cortical vessels or presence of small distal cortical emboli 3. Complete reperfusion with normal filling.
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Achieving TICI 2b or TICI 3 | 89.1 | 85.4 |
| Achieving TICI < 2b | 10.9 | 14.6 |
The National Institutes of Health Stroke Score (NIHSS) is a 15-item scale that measures neurological deficit in acute stroke patients. Each item is ranked using a 3-, 4-, or 5-point scale, including allowances for items that cannot be scored due to the patient's condition, with higher scores indicating more severe deficit. Total scores range from 0-42, with higher scores indicating more severe deficits.
| Scores on a scale | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Median NIHSS Score at Day 90 | 1.0 (0 to 31) | 1.0 (0 to 26) |
The Barthel Index (BI) is a 10-item ordinal scale used to measure performance in activities of daily living (ADL) and mobility. The BI scoring range is from 0-100, with lower scores representing greater dependency.
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| BI score ≥ 95 at Day 90 | 60.5 | 58.4 |
| BI score < 95 at Day 90 | 39.5 | 41.6 |
The Glasgow Outcome Scale (GOS) is a scale used to assess recovery of participants with brain damage. The scale has 5 categories: 1. = Death 2. = Persistent vegetative state 3. = Severe disability 4. = Moderate disability 5. = Good recovery The GOS was re-scaled from observed data. For this measure, 1 = good recovery and 5 = death.
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Good recovery GOS score (=1) | 36.5 | 30.8 |
| GOS score > 1 | 63.5 | 69.2 |
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Incidence of Symptomatic Intracranial Hemorrhage (sICH) Within 36 Hours | 3.2 | 2.3 |
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Death within 30 days | 14.7 | 15.0 |
| Death within 90 days | 19.7 | 18.2 |
| Percentage of participants | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Proportion of Patients With Parenchymal Hematoma Type 2 (PH2) at the 72-96 Hour Visit | 3.7 | 2.8 |
Collected over From treatment visit to Day 90 follow-up. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tenecteplase | 44/228 (19.3%) | 91/218 (41.7%) | 145/218 (66.5%) |
| Placebo | 44/230 (19.1%) | 102/214 (47.7%) | 136/214 (63.6%) |
| Event | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Stroke in evolutionNervous system disorders | 7/218 | 13/214 |
| Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 8/218 | 8/214 |
| HypotensionVascular disorders | 8/218 | 0/214 |
| Cerebral artery occlusionNervous system disorders | 5/218 | 7/214 |
| Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders | 6/218 | 7/214 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 7/218 | 0/214 |
| Brain oedemaNervous system disorders | 7/218 | 2/214 |
| Acute respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 7/218 | 3/214 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 5/218 | 6/214 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/218 | 6/214 |
| Event | Tenecteplase | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 29/218 | 20/214 |
| Haemorrhagic transformation strokeNervous system disorders | 28/218 | 25/214 |
| HypokalaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 18/218 | 27/214 |
| Cerebral haemorrhageNervous system disorders | 22/218 | 13/214 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 18/218 | 21/214 |
| Haemorrhagic infarctionVascular disorders | 20/218 | 21/214 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 12/218 | 18/214 |
| Subarachnoid haemorrhageNervous system disorders | 16/218 | 17/214 |
| HypotensionVascular disorders | 12/218 | 17/214 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 12/218 | 15/214 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Tenecteplase | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 70.2 ± 13.5 | 71.3 ± 13.6 | 70.8 ± 13.5 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Tenecteplase | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 122 | 123 | 245 |
| Male | 106 | 107 | 213 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Tenecteplase | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 17 | 22 | 39 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 201 | 197 | 398 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 10 | 11 | 21 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Tenecteplase | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian | 11 | 9 | 20 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Black or African American | 31 | 32 | 63 |
| White | 169 | 170 | 339 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 15 | 14 | 29 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in May 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Genentech, Inc.