CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03703856Updated Apr 16, 2026Results posted

Biomarker Predictors of Memantine Sensitivity in Patients With Alzheimer's Disease

A Phase 4 interventional study of Memantine in Alzheimer Disease, sponsored by University of California, San Diego. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 50 Years to 83 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-04-16.

Sponsored by University of California, San Diego · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
53
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
50 Years to 83 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The effects of the medication, memantine, on brain functions and the symptoms of Alzheimer's Disease will be tested

Read the detailed description

Memantine (MEM) is an FDA-approved treatment for Alzheimer's Disease (AD), but its clinical effects vary from person-to-person. We have reported that a "test dose" of MEM significantly enhances early auditory information processing (EAIP) indices of brain function in both healthy adults and psychiatric patients, suggesting that these EAIP measures can be used as "biomarker" evidence that - in a given person - MEM is active within brain circuitry relevant to cognition. This study tests the hypothesis that the EAIP response to a "test dose" of MEM can be used to predict which patients with AD will be most vs. least sensitive to the clinical benefits of this medication over a 24-week trial.

Subjects with mild-to-moderate severity AD who meet criteria for study entry come to UCSD where consenting and a comprehensive screening and diagnostic assessment including a physical exam, EKG, and neuropsychological assessment are conducted. In addition, subjects are assessed on the Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale (ADAS-cog), which is the primary clinical outcome measure, and behavioral symptoms documented by the Neuropsychiatric Inventory (NPI-Q) and the Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS), which are secondary assessment measures. Blood is collected in order to assess APOE genotype (rs7412, rs429358) and characterize MEM-sensitive vs. -insensitive patients.

After initial screening, subjects return twice, approximately 7 days apart, for biomarker assessment after challenge with placebo (PBO) or memantine 20 mg po (MEM) in a double-blind, randomized order cross-over design. Subjects are assessed on prepulse inhibition of acoustic startle (PPI), mismatch negativity (MMN) and auditory steady state response (ASSR) as well as AD-relevant cognitive measures via the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS).

Subjects then enter the "treatment phase." MEM is initiated at 5 mg/d and titrated with 5 mg weekly increments. During this time, subjects / caregivers are contacted weekly by study staff to assess adherence. Intervention Week 1 will begin when dosing reaches the full dose of 10 mg bid.

Subjects are reassessed on the primary (ADAS-cog) and secondary (NPI-Q and GDS) outcome measures after 8, 16 and 24 weeks of treatment at the full dose. Subjects are then offered the opportunity to remain at this dose of MEM, or to taper off MEM, under the care of their primary provider.

02

Conditions studied

  • Alzheimer Disease

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Alzheimer Disease
  • Alzheimer
  • AD
  • Alzheimer's
03

In context

Alzheimer Disease

3,675 studies on the registry are indexed under Alzheimer Disease; 869 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 53 is below the median of 70 across 2,805 interventional studies indexed under Alzheimer Disease.

Browse Alzheimer Disease studies →

Lead sponsor

University of California, San Diego is the lead sponsor of 958 studies on the registry; 191 are open to participants now.

Of its 110 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 70 (64%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
50 Years to 83 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Alzheimer's Disease Research Center-confirmed diagnosis of AD
  2. Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) score 10-22 OR a Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MOCA) score of 15-24
  3. Age 50-83 y
  4. Knowledgeable caregiver
  5. Ambulatory
  6. Medically stable;
  7. Audiometric testing (detection \< or = to 45 db(A) at 1000 Hz)
  8. Informed consent

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion:

  1. Active systemic illness (e.g. heart disease, liver failure, renal insufficiency, cancer, HIV, tuberculosis, Hepatitis C)
  2. Current psychiatric or neurologic illness other than AD
  3. History of vascular disease, myocardial infarction, cerebrovascular accidents, transient ischemic attack, seizure, head injury with loss of consciousness; substance dependence (including alcohol and Opioid)
  4. Past treatment with memantine; unable to tolerate acetylcholinesterase inhibitor
  5. Investigational drug treatment \< 30 d of screening
  6. Current meds: amantadine, riluzole, other pro-cognitive medication, opioids
  7. Positive urine toxicology for non-prescribed psychoactive substance
  8. Actively enrolled in cognitive remediation therapy
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
53 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    Memantine

    EAIP are assessed 210 (PPI) and 345 min (MMN, ASSR) after administration of placebo or memantine (MEM 20 mg po), in a randomized order double-blind design. In this arm subjects are administered MEM 20 mg. Pills look identical so both the subject and research staff are blind to condition.

    Drug: Memantine

Interventions

  • DrugMemantine

    Phase 1 will test the acute effects of memantine (20 mg po) vs. placebo (PBO) on early auditory information processing measures in 32 carefully characterized patients with mild-to-moderate severity AD who are not currently taking AD medications. From this "challenge" test, a set of "early auditory information processing memantine sensitivity" measures will be derived for each patient. In Phase 2, all patients will begin an open-label trial of memantine, titrated to 10 mg bid, with outcome measures collected after 8, 16 and 24 weeks of treatment. Medication adjustments are not restricted, and response heterogeneity is anticipated.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline Measure in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

    The Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog) is a tool used to assess the severity of cognitive impairment in individuals with Alzheimer's disease. It includes 11 tasks that evaluate memory, language, and praxis. The total score can range from 0 to 70 with higher scores indicating more severe impairment.

    Time frame: 0, 8, 16, 24 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline Measure in Neuropsychiatric Inventory-Questionnaire (NPI-Q) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

    The NPI-Q measures behavioral symptoms in and is a self-administered questionnaire completed by informants about patients for whom they care. Each of the 12 NPI-Q domains contains a survey question that reflects cardinal symptoms of that domain. Symptoms are rated as present or absent, and if they are present the informant rates the severity of the symptom on a 3-point scale from mild to severe. The sum of severity scores across all 12 items ranges from 0 to 36 with higher scores indicate higher severity of symptoms.

    Time frame: 0, 8, 16, 24 weeks

Other outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline Measure in Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

    The Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) is a self-report measure of depression in older adults using a "Yes/No" format. The GDS consists of 30 items with higher scores indicating greater levels or depression. A score of 0-9 is normal, 10-19 is mild depression, and 20-30 is severe depression.

    Time frame: 0, 8, 16, 24 weeks

07

Results

Posted Jan 7, 2026

Participant flow

Enrolled in study
Participant flow — Enrolled in study
MilestoneMemantine
Started53
Completed30
Not completed23
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject23
Titrated to full dose
Participant flow — Titrated to full dose
MilestoneMemantine
Started30
Completed25
Not completed5
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject5
8 week assessment
Participant flow — 8 week assessment
MilestoneMemantine
Started25
Completed25
Not completed0
16 week assessment
Participant flow — 16 week assessment
MilestoneMemantine
Started25
Completed24
Not completed1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
24 week assessment
Participant flow — 24 week assessment
MilestoneMemantine
Started24
Completed23
Not completed1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline Measure in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

The Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale-Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-Cog) is a tool used to assess the severity of cognitive impairment in individuals with Alzheimer's disease. It includes 11 tasks that evaluate memory, language, and praxis. The total score can range from 0 to 70 with higher scores indicating more severe impairment.

Time frame:
0, 8, 16, 24 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · scores on a scale
Change From Baseline Measure in Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive Subscale (ADAS-cog) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks
scores on a scaleMemantine
Baseline19.76 ± 8.97
Week 819.81 ± 9.85
Week 1619.94 ± 9.55
Week 2420.79 ± 11.03
Statistical analysis
  • Memantine · ANOVA · p = 0.68 (The threshold for statistical significance was p=0.05)
SecondaryChange From Baseline Measure in Neuropsychiatric Inventory-Questionnaire (NPI-Q) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

The NPI-Q measures behavioral symptoms in and is a self-administered questionnaire completed by informants about patients for whom they care. Each of the 12 NPI-Q domains contains a survey question that reflects cardinal symptoms of that domain. Symptoms are rated as present or absent, and if they are present the informant rates the severity of the symptom on a 3-point scale from mild to severe. The sum of severity scores across all 12 items ranges from 0 to 36 with higher scores indicate higher severity of symptoms.

Time frame:
0, 8, 16, 24 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline Measure in Neuropsychiatric Inventory-Questionnaire (NPI-Q) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks
score on a scaleMemantine
Baseline4.27 ± 4.05
Week 83.55 ± 3.36
Week 163.05 ± 2.38
Week 244.09 ± 3.57
Statistical analysis
  • Memantine · ANOVA · p = >0.05 (The threshold for statistical significance was p=0.05)
Other pre-specifiedChange From Baseline Measure in Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks

The Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) is a self-report measure of depression in older adults using a "Yes/No" format. The GDS consists of 30 items with higher scores indicating greater levels or depression. A score of 0-9 is normal, 10-19 is mild depression, and 20-30 is severe depression.

Time frame:
0, 8, 16, 24 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline Measure in Geriatric Depression Scale (GDS) at 8, 16 and 24 Weeks
score on a scaleMemantine
Baseline6.23 ± 5.66
Week 86.05 ± 5.92
Week 166.09 ± 6.69
Week 246.64 ± 6.89
Statistical analysis
  • Memantine · ANOVA · p = >0.05 (The threshold for statistical significance is p=0.05)

Adverse events

Collected over From enrollment until end of last visit at 24 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Memantine0/53 (0%)2/53 (3.8%)13/53 (24.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventMemantine
Abnormal blood test presumed Chronic Lymphocytic LeukemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/53
Positive prostate biopsyReproductive system and breast disorders1/53
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 16
Most frequent other events
EventMemantine
FatigueGeneral disorders4/53
DizzinessGeneral disorders3/53
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders2/53
Weight lossGeneral disorders2/53
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders2/53
TinnitisEar and labyrinth disorders2/53
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/53
Bump in left earEar and labyrinth disorders1/53
Facial rashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/53
Foot crampsMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/53

Baseline characteristics

Includes all subjects consented/enrolled in the study

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Memantine
Mean71.61 ± 6.89
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Memantine
Female27
Male26
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Memantine
Hispanic or Latino4
Not Hispanic or Latino48
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Memantine
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American3
White42
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported6
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Clinical Teaching Facility (CTF-B102) at UCSD Medical Center
    San Diego, California 92103, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 5, 2025
  • Informed consent form · May 2, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 16, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03703856
Lead sponsor
University of California, San Diego
Responsible party
Neal R. Swerdlow, M.D., Ph.D. (Principal Investigator, University of California, San Diego) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 12, 2018
Start date
Jan 31, 2019
Primary completion
Jan 8, 2025
Completion
Dec 30, 2025
Results posted
Jan 7, 2026
Last update
Apr 16, 2026

Study contacts

Neal Swerdlow, M.D., Ph.D.
principal investigator · UCSD

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion