CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03661814Updated Dec 17, 2020Results posted

Prophylactic NPWT to Reduce SSI in Colorectal Surgery

An interventional study of Prevena in Surgical Wound Infection, sponsored by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-12-17.

Sponsored by Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai · Not applicable, Interventional, and Prevention

Why this study was terminated
Low Enrollment
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
7
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to see if the Negative Pressure Wound Therapy (NPWT) system is effective and safe for the prevention of superficial and deep incisional surgical site infections (SSI) in high risk patients within 30 days after elective colorectal surgery. It has been shown that patients with an IBD, patients undergoing a reoperation or patients with certain comorbidities are at a higher risk of developing an SSI. The NPWT device is a wound dressing with a vacuum system that can be placed over abdominal wounds. The study will include up to 400 patients at this single site, where these high risk patients will be randomized to receive either one of two arms. The first arm involves the placement of the NPWT device in the immediate postoperative period over abdominal wounds after clean/contaminated colorectal surgical procedures. The device would then be left on for 5 days. The second arm would be standard of care and would entail routine postoperative protocols. Subjects will then be seen once at a 30 day (± 7 days) follow-up visit to assess for the development of SSIs.

02

Conditions studied

  • Surgical Wound Infection

Keywords

  • Negative Pressure Wound Therapy
  • Colorectal Surgery
  • Prevena
  • Surgical Site Infection
03

In context

Infections

6,687 studies on the registry are indexed under Infections; 807 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 7 is below the median of 120 across 4,200 interventional studies indexed under Infections.

Browse Infections studies →

Lead sponsor

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai is the lead sponsor of 764 studies on the registry; 181 are open to participants now.

Of its 121 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 82 (68%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • ages 18-80
  • patients who will undergo an open or laparoscopic-assisted clean/contaminated colorectal surgical procedure.
  • Patients must either have an inflammatory bowel disease, undergoing reoperation within 30 days, or have two or more of the following risk factors: presence of an ostomy, type II diabetes, BMI greater than 30, immunosuppression, malnutrition, current smoker, chronic kidney disease (creatinine > 1.2), and disseminated cancer.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • patients currently enrolled in another interventional clinical trial,
  • patients with a BMI less than 20, patients with a current abdominal abscess or infection (including a known urinary tract infection),
  • patients allergic to or hypersensitive to silver, patients planning to undergo a second colorectal surgical procedure (e.g., colostomy or ileostomy takedown) or any other general surgery in less than 30 days of index-surgery,
  • any patient in which the planned surgery would include: i) placement of a stoma in the principal incision; ii) placement of a drain into the supra-peritoneal fascia space that emerges through the principal incision; iv) placement of a drain into the intraperitoneal space that emerges through the principal incision; and v) supplementation of any of the irrigation fluid with antibiotic or antiseptic drugs,
  • patients with healing disorders,
  • pregnant women,
  • prisoners, or
  • any patient that is deemed unsuitable for the study by the Principal Investigator or the operating surgeon/Co-Investigator.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
7 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Prevena

    This group will receive the negative pressure wound therapy device.

    Device: Prevena

  • No intervention
    Standard of Care

    This group will not receive the device and their surgery and clinical course will proceed as if they were not part of the study. They will receive the standard of care wound dressings.

Interventions

  • DevicePrevena

    The NPWT device is a wound dressing with a vacuum system that can be placed over abdominal wounds, placed in the immediate postoperative period over abdominal wounds after clean/contaminated colorectal surgical procedures.

    Also known as: Negative pressure wound therapy device

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Incidence of Surgical Site Infection

    Any type of Surgical site infection as defined by the CDC developed within the follow-up period.

    Time frame: 37 days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Length of Hospital Stay

    Time frame: average of 7 days

  2. Number of Serious Adverse Events

    Number of serious adverse events developed within the follow-up period

    Time frame: up to 37 days

07

Results

Posted Dec 17, 2020

Participant flow

Participants were recruited from August 2018 - December 2018

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePrevenaStandard of Care
Started25
Completed25
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryIncidence of Surgical Site Infection

Any type of Surgical site infection as defined by the CDC developed within the follow-up period.

Time frame:
37 days
Reported as:
Number · incidences
Incidence of Surgical Site Infection
incidencesPrevenaStandard of Care
Incidence of Surgical Site Infection24
SecondaryLength of Hospital Stay
Time frame:
average of 7 days
Reported as:
Mean · days
Length of Hospital Stay
daysPrevenaStandard of Care
Length of Hospital Stay7 ± 1.007.8 ± 2.71
SecondaryNumber of Serious Adverse Events

Number of serious adverse events developed within the follow-up period

Time frame:
up to 37 days
Reported as:
Number · events
Number of Serious Adverse Events
eventsPrevenaStandard of Care
Number of Serious Adverse Events00

Adverse events

Collected over 37 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Prevena0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)
Standard of Care0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)PrevenaStandard of CareTotal
Mean55.5 ± 13.4468.4 ± 8.3864.7 ± 9.996
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)PrevenaStandard of CareTotal
Female224
Male033
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PrevenaStandard of CareTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino257
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PrevenaStandard of CareTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian011
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White246
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
    New York, New York 10029, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Fry DE. The prevention of surgical site infection in elective colon surgery. Scientifica (Cairo). 2013;2013:896297. doi: 10.1155/2013/896297. Epub 2013 Dec 19. PubMed 24455434 ↗
  • Shepard J, Ward W, Milstone A, Carlson T, Frederick J, Hadhazy E, Perl T. Financial impact of surgical site infections on hospitals: the hospital management perspective. JAMA Surg. 2013 Oct;148(10):907-14. doi: 10.1001/jamasurg.2013.2246. PubMed 23965750 ↗
  • Tanner J, Padley W, Assadian O, Leaper D, Kiernan M, Edmiston C. Do surgical care bundles reduce the risk of surgical site infections in patients undergoing colorectal surgery? A systematic review and cohort meta-analysis of 8,515 patients. Surgery. 2015 Jul;158(1):66-77. doi: 10.1016/j.surg.2015.03.009. Epub 2015 Apr 25. PubMed 25920911 ↗
  • Bonds AM, Novick TK, Dietert JB, Araghizadeh FY, Olson CH. Incisional negative pressure wound therapy significantly reduces surgical site infection in open colorectal surgery. Dis Colon Rectum. 2013 Dec;56(12):1403-8. doi: 10.1097/DCR.0b013e3182a39959. PubMed 24201395 ↗
  • Chadi SA, Vogt KN, Knowles S, Murphy PB, Van Koughnett JA, Brackstone M, Ott MC. Negative pressure wound therapy use to decrease surgical nosocomial events in colorectal resections (NEPTUNE): study protocol for a randomized controlled trial. Trials. 2015 Jul 30;16:322. doi: 10.1186/s13063-015-0817-8. PubMed 26223227 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 10, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 17, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03661814
Lead sponsor
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Collaborators
Kinetic Concepts, Inc.
Responsible party
joel bauer (Professor, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai) — Principal investigator
First posted
Sep 7, 2018
Start date
Aug 13, 2018
Primary completion
Jan 28, 2019
Completion
Jan 28, 2019
Results posted
Dec 17, 2020
Last update
Dec 17, 2020

Study contacts

Joel Bauer, MD
principal investigator · Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion