CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03547700Updated May 6, 2026Results posted

Study of Ixazomib and Romidepsin in Peripheral T-cell Lymphoma (PTCL)

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Romidepsin and Ixazomib in Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral, sponsored by University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center. Terminated at 7 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-06.

Sponsored by University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Lack of accrual
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
11
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Single arm phase I/II study of ixazomib and romidepsin in relapsed/refractory PTCL. Each cycle is 28 days. Patients will continue to receive therapy until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, or if any other withdrawal criteria are met. The phase I study includes three dose levels. The phase II study will include treatment with ixazomib and romidepsin at the MTD established in the Phase I study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral
03

In context

Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral

604 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral; 133 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 11 is below the median of 38 across 526 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral.

Browse Lymphoma, T-Cell, Peripheral studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 316 studies on the registry; 46 are open to participants now.

Of its 46 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 30 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Written informed consent and HIPAA authorization for release of personal health information. NOTE: HIPAA authorization may be included in the informed consent or obtained separately.
  • Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent.
  • ECOG Performance Status of 0-2 within 14 days prior to registration.
  • Histological confirmation of peripheral T-cell lymphoma (PTCL) and biopsy confirmation of disease relapse (after initial or any subsequent salvage therapy).
  • Documented disease progression after receiving at least one prior therapeutic regimen.
  • Prior cancer treatment must be completed at least 28 days prior to registration and the subject must have recovered from all reversible acute toxic effects of the regimen (other than alopecia) to ≤ Grade 1 or baseline. Systemic steroids at a dose less than the equivalent of 10 mg/day of prednisone and inhaled, nasal, and topical steroids are permitted. Intermittent dexamethasone for the treatment of nausea/emesis is also permitted.
  • Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) ≥ 1000/mm3
  • Platelets (Plt) ≥ 75,000/mm3
  • Calculated creatinine clearance ≥ 30 cc/min using the Cockcroft-Gault formula
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN), (exception of Gilbert disease)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 3 × ULN, if known hepatic involvement then ≤ 5 × ULN
  • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 3 × ULN, if known hepatic involvement then ≤ 5 × ULN
  • Females of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 14 days prior to registration. NOTE: Females are considered of child bearing potential unless they are surgically sterile (have undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or they are naturally postmenopausal for at least 12 consecutive months.
  • Males must be willing to abstain from donating sperm or semen from the time of informed consent until 90 days after treatment discontinuation.
  • The subject must have the ability to understand and comply with study procedures for the entire length of the study, as determined by the treating physician or protocol designee.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • A history of, or a concurrent, clinically significant illness, medical condition or laboratory abnormality that, in the investigator's opinion, could affect the conduct of the study.
  • Active infection requiring systemic therapy
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding (NOTE: breast milk cannot be stored for future use while the mother is being treated on study).
  • Known additional malignancy that is active and/or progressive requiring treatment; exceptions include basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical or bladder cancer, or other cancer for which the subject has been disease-free for at least two years.
  • Active central nervous system (CNS) lymphoma
  • Major surgery or radiation therapy within 28 days of study registration
  • Uncontrolled infectious disease, including active herpes simplex or herpes zoster
  • Known positive test for Hepatitis B surface antigen, Hepatitis C, or HIV. NOTE: testing is not required.
  • Known GI disease or GI procedure that could interfere with the oral absorption or tolerance of oral medications including difficulty swallowing, as determined by the treating physician.
  • Evidence of uncontrolled cardiovascular conditions, including uncontrolled hypertension, cardiac arrhythmias, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina, or myocardial infarction within the past 6 months.
  • Q-T interval, based on Bazett-corrected interval > 0.45 sec
  • Treatment with any investigational drug within 28 days prior to registration.
  • Peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 2
  • Prior treatment with bortezomib, ixazomib, or romidepsin.
  • Systemic treatment, within 14 days, with strong inhibitors of CYP1A2 (fluvoxamine, enoxacin, ciprofloxacin), strong inhibitors of CYP3A (clarithromycin, telithromycin, itraconazole, voriconazole, ketoconazole, nefazodone, posaconazole) or strong CYP3A inducers (rifampin, rifapentine, rifabutin, carbamazepine, phenytoin, phenobarbital), or use of St. John's wort.
  • Any serious medical or psychiatric illness that could, in the investigator's opinion, potentially interfere with the completion of treatment according to this protocol.
  • Known allergy to any of the study medications, their analogues, or excipients in the various formulations of any agent.
  • Prior autologous hematopoietic stem cell transplant within 90 days of study registration.
  • Prior allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplant.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
11 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Phase I: Romidepsin plus Ixazomib

    The phase I study includes three dose levels (DL) for romidepsin: DL4: 10 mg/m2 on Days 1, 8, 15; DL5: 14 mg/m2 Days 1, 8; DL6: 14 mg/m2 Days 1, 8, 15. Ixazomib is 4 mg PO Days 1, 8, 15. The phase II study will include treatment with ixazomib and romidepsin at the MTD established in the Phase I study. Each cycle is 28 days and patients will receive treatment until progressive disease, unacceptable toxicity, or if any other withdrawal criteria are met.

    Drug: Romidepsin · Drug: Ixazomib

Interventions

  • DrugRomidepsin

    Romidepsin is a histone deacetylase (HDAC) inhibitor. HDACs catalyze the removal of acetyl groups from acetylated lysine residues in histones, resulting in the modulation of gene expression.

    Also known as: Istodax

  • DrugIxazomib

    Ixazomib is a reversible proteasome inhibitor. Ixazomib preferentially binds and inhibits the chymotrypsin-like activity of the beta 5 subunit of the 20S proteasome.

    Also known as: Ninlaro

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Phase I: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)

    MTD is the dose level with a model-estimated rate of Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) closest to 25% after 36 patients have been enrolled. The maximum tolerated dose could not be determined because the trial was terminated early, however the number of participants who experienced DLTs found at each dose level is reported in a new outcome measure.

    Time frame: From first dose of treatment through the 1st cycle (28 days)

  2. Phase II: Complete Response Rate (CR)

    The complete response (CR) rate of this combination in relapsed/refractory PTCL is defined as complete metabolic response recorded from first day of treatment until disease progression or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

    Time frame: 36 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Phase II: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

    OR, defined as complete or partial metabolic response recorded from first day of treatment until disease progression/recurrence or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

    Time frame: 36 months

  2. Phase II: Duration of Response (DOR)

    DOR, defined as time that measurement criteria are met for complete or partial metabolic response (whichever status is recorded first) until disease progression/recurrence or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

    Time frame: 36 months

  3. Phase II: Time To Next Treatment (TTNT)

    TTNT defined as the date of initiation of treatment until death or the date of initiation of the next treatment.

    Time frame: 36 months

  4. Phase II: Overall Survival (OS)

    OS, defined as time from first day of treatment to time of death.

    Time frame: 36 months

07

Results

Posted May 6, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePhase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15
Started191
Dlt period (first 28 days of treatment)191
Completed000
Not completed191
Withdrew: Death130
Withdrew: Study terminated041
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up010
Withdrew: Refused to follow-up010

Outcome measures

PrimaryPhase I: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)

MTD is the dose level with a model-estimated rate of Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) closest to 25% after 36 patients have been enrolled. The maximum tolerated dose could not be determined because the trial was terminated early, however the number of participants who experienced DLTs found at each dose level is reported in a new outcome measure.

Time frame:
From first dose of treatment through the 1st cycle (28 days)
Reported as:
Number · mg/m^2
Phase I: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)
mg/m^2All Subjects Treated
Phase I: Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)NA
PrimaryPhase II: Complete Response Rate (CR)

The complete response (CR) rate of this combination in relapsed/refractory PTCL is defined as complete metabolic response recorded from first day of treatment until disease progression or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

Time frame:
36 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPhase II: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

OR, defined as complete or partial metabolic response recorded from first day of treatment until disease progression/recurrence or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

Time frame:
36 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPhase II: Duration of Response (DOR)

DOR, defined as time that measurement criteria are met for complete or partial metabolic response (whichever status is recorded first) until disease progression/recurrence or initiation of new antineoplastic therapy, as per the Lugano response criteria.

Time frame:
36 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPhase II: Time To Next Treatment (TTNT)

TTNT defined as the date of initiation of treatment until death or the date of initiation of the next treatment.

Time frame:
36 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPhase II: Overall Survival (OS)

OS, defined as time from first day of treatment to time of death.

Time frame:
36 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Post-hocCount of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) at Each Dose Level.

A DLT is defined as any of the following adverse events (AEs) that are possibly, probably, or definitely related to the combination of ixazomib and romidepsin that occurs during the 1st cycle. The NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), Version 4 will be used. * Grade 4 Neutropenia \>=14 days * Febrile neutropenia: Grade 3 or 4 neutropenia with fever ˃ 38ºC, both sustained over a 24-hour period * Anemia Grade 3/4 * Thrombocytopenia: Grade ≥ 4 lasting greater than 7 days or Grade ≥ 3 complicated by at least a Grade 2 hemorrhage * Grade 3/4 Non-Hematologic Toxicities. (excluding alopecia, fatigue or anorexia lasting ˂ 7 days, or Grade 3 nausea and/or vomiting that persists for ˂ 2 days following appropriate supportive care). Nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea must persist at Grade 3 or 4 despite maximal medical therapy * Grade 3/4 Infection * Any Grade 5 events * Grade ≥ 3 electrolyte abnormalities that do not resolve to ≤Grade 2 or baselinewithin 7 days

Time frame:
From first dose of treatment through the 1st cycle (28 days)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Count of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) at Each Dose Level.
ParticipantsPhase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15
Count of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) at Each Dose Level.020

Adverse events

Collected over AEs were recorded from time of signed informed consent until 30 days after discontinuation of study drug(s), an average of 4 months per participant.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase I Dose Level 4: Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 151/1 (100%)0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)
Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 153/9 (33.3%)3/9 (33.3%)9/9 (100%)
Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 150/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase I Dose Level 4: Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15
CARDIAC DISORDERS - OTHER, SPECIFYCardiac disorders0/10/91/1
FATIGUEGeneral disorders0/11/90/1
FEBRILE NEUTROPENIABlood and lymphatic system disorders0/11/90/1
FEVERGeneral disorders0/11/90/1
HYPOTENSIONVascular disorders0/11/90/1
LUNG INFECTIONInfections and infestations0/11/90/1
PLEURAL EFFUSIONRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/11/90/1
SEPSISInfections and infestations0/11/90/1
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 60
Most frequent other events
EventPhase I Dose Level 4: Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15
ALANINE AMINOTRANSFERASE INCREASEDInvestigations1/10/90/1
ALKALINE PHOSPHATASE INCREASEDInvestigations1/11/90/1
ASPARTATE AMINOTRANSFERASE INCREASEDInvestigations1/11/90/1
CREATININE INCREASEDInvestigations1/11/90/1
DIARRHEAGastrointestinal disorders1/15/90/1
DIZZINESSNervous system disorders1/10/90/1
GASTROINTESTINAL DISORDERS - OTHER, SPECIFYGastrointestinal disorders1/10/90/1
NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders1/16/91/1
VOMITINGGastrointestinal disorders1/16/91/1
FATIGUEGeneral disorders0/17/91/1

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
Median67 (67 to 67)62 (43 to 78)55 (55 to 55)62 (43 to 78)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
Female0303
Male1618
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
Hispanic or Latino0202
Not Hispanic or Latino1719
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0202
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American1203
White0415
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0101
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
United States19111
ECOG (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) Performance Score
ECOG (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) Performance Score(Participants)Phase I Dose Level 4:Romidepsin 10mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 5: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Phase I Dose Level 6: Romidepsin 14mg/m² IV on Days 1, 8, 15; Ixazomib 4 mg PO on Days 1, 8, 15Total
ECOG Peformance Score 00112
ECOG Peformance Score 10808
ECOG Peformance Score 21001
08

Study locations

7 sites
  • University of Illinois Cancer Center
    Chicago, Illinois 60612, United States
  • Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242, United States
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • Karmanos Cancer Center (Wayne State University)
    Detroit, Michigan 48201, United States
  • University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455, United States
  • Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
    New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 17, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 6, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03547700
Lead sponsor
University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center
Collaborators
Takeda, Big Ten Cancer Research Consortium
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 6, 2018
Start date
Sep 26, 2018
Primary completion
Aug 27, 2020
Completion
Aug 27, 2020
Results posted
May 6, 2026
Last update
May 6, 2026

Study contacts

Ryan Wilcox, MD, PhD
principal investigator · University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion