CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03295396Updated Jul 28, 2025Results posted

ONC201 in Adults With Recurrent H3 K27M-mutant Glioma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Dordaviprone (ONC201) in Glioma, sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 9 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-07-28.

Sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
The Sponsor terminated the study to prioritize enrollment in a randomized Phase 3 trial of ONC201 in an earlier setting. This decision was unrelated to any safety concerns with dordaviprone (ONC201).
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
73
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This was a Phase 2, open-label, 2-arm study of dordaviprone (ONC201) in patients with recurrent H3 K27M- mutant glioma.

The primary assessment of dordaviprone (ONC201) involved evaluating its anti-tumor activity through the overall response rate according to the Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria for high-grade glioma (HGG).

Read the detailed description

This study included 2 arms:

  • Arm A included patients with recurrent H3 K27M-mutant glioma.
  • Arm B included patients with recurrent H3 K27M-mutant glioma, but excluded patients with the following:

    • Primary malignant lesion located in the pons or spinal cord.
    • Atypical non-astrocytic histologies such as ependymoma, ganglioma and pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma, or pilocytic astrocytoma and subependymal giant cell astrocytoma (SEGA).
    • Prior bevacizumab treatment of >4 doses of >7.5 mg/kg

Patients received dordaviprone (ONC201) 625 mg once weekly.

The primary assessment of dordaviprone (ONC201) involved evaluating its anti-tumor activity through the overall response rate according to the Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria for high-grade glioma (HGG). Safety was also assessed, with evaluations including the reporting of adverse events, as well as measurements of vital signs and clinical laboratory results.

This study was terminated by an administrative protocol amendment (17 January 2023). The decision to terminate the study was not related to any safety concerns with dordaviprone (ONC201). Before the study was terminated, a total of 73 patients were enrolled and received at least 1 dose of dordaviprone (ONC201).

02

Conditions studied

  • Glioma

Browse trials for

03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Had histologically confirmed diagnosis of high-grade glioma (HGG) in any tumor sample and presence of histone H3 K27M mutation detected in a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment (CLIA) certified laboratory by immunohistochemistry or DNA sequencing test on any glioma tumor sample.
  2. Had unequivocal evidence of progressive disease on contrast-enhanced brain computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) as defined by Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO)-HGG criteria, or have documented recurrent glioma on diagnostic biopsy.
  3. Had measurable disease by RANO-HGG criteria.
  4. Patients must have had previous therapy with at least radiotherapy.
  5. Had no more than two prior episodes of recurrence from radiotherapy and/or chemotherapy. Use of bevacizumab solely for treatment of radiation necrosis, pseudoprogression, or treatment effect was not considered a recurrence.
  6. Had an interval of at least 90 days from the completion of radiotherapy to the first dose of dordaviprone (ONC201). If patients were within 90 days of radiotherapy, they may have still been eligible if they met one or more of the following criteria.

    1. Progressive tumor is outside the original high-dose radiotherapy target volume as determined by the treating investigator, or
    2. Histologic confirmation of tumor through biopsy or resection, or
    3. Nuclear medicine imaging, magnetic resonance (MR) spectroscopy, or MR perfusion imaging consistent with true progressive disease, rather than pseudoprogression or radiation necrosis obtained within 28 days of registration.
  7. From the projected start of scheduled study treatment, the following time periods must have had elapsed: 5 half-lives from any investigational agent, 4 weeks from cytotoxic therapy (except 23 days for temozolomide and 6 weeks from nitrosoureas), 6 weeks from antibodies, or 4 weeks (or 5 half-lives, whichever is shorter) from other anti-tumor therapies.
  8. All adverse events Grade >1 related to prior therapies (chemotherapy, radiotherapy, and/or surgery) must have been resolved to Grade 1 or baseline, except for alopecia and sensory neuropathy Grade ≤2, or other Grade ≤2 not constituting a safety risk based on investigator's judgment, are acceptable.
  9. Were male or female aged ≥18 years.
  10. Had a Karnofsky Performance Status (KPS) ≥60.
  11. Had adequate organ and marrow function as defined below, all screening labs should be performed within 14 days of treatment initiation:

    • leukocytes ≥ 3,000/mcL
    • absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mcL
    • platelets ≥ 75,000/mcL
    • hemoglobin > 8.0 mg/dL
    • total bilirubin ≤ 2.0 × upper limit of normal (ULN)
    • aspartate aminotransferase (AST) [SGOT]/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) [SGPT] ≤ 2.5 × ULN
    • creatinine ≤ULN OR creatinine clearance ≥60 mL/min/1.73 m2 for patients with creatinine levels above normal.
  12. Had contrast-enhanced head CT or brain MRI and entire spine MRI within 14 days prior to start of study drug.
  13. Corticosteroid dose must have been stable or decreasing for at least 3 days prior to the baseline CT or MRI scan.
  14. Women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) and men must have agreed to use adequate contraception prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation and for 30 days after the last dose of therapy. Highly effective contraceptive measures include: stable use of oral contraceptives such as combined estrogen and progestogen and progestogen only hormonal contraception or other prescription pharmaceutical contraceptives for 2 or more menstrual cycles prior to screening; intrauterine device [IUD]; intrauterine hormone-releasing system (IUS); bilateral tubal ligation; vasectomy and sexual abstinence.

    1. WOCBP must have had a negative serum or urine pregnancy test within 28 days of initiation of dosing.
    2. Contraception was not required for men with documented vasectomy.
    3. Postmenopausal women must have been amenorrheic for at least 12 months in order not to be considered of childbearing potential.
    4. Pregnancy testing and contraception were not required for women with documented hysterectomy or tubal ligation.
  15. Had availability of a paraffin-embedded or frozen tumor-tissue block with a minimum of 1 cm2 of tumor surface area, or 20 unstained slides from the tumor tissue specimen if a tumor block cannot be submitted. If a patient has had only a stereotactic biopsy, then 5 unstained slides may be accepted with prior approval from the Sponsor, however all efforts must be made to obtain as close to 20 slides as possible.
  16. Had the ability to be able to swallow and retain orally administered medication
  17. Had the ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document. Only patients who had capacity to consent were enrolled in the study.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Arm B: Had a primary malignant lesion located in the pons or spinal cord.
  2. Arm B: Had atypical non-astrocytic histologies such as ependymoma, ganglioma and pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma, or pilocytic astrocytoma and subependymal giant cell astrocytoma (SEGA).
  3. Arm B: Had prior bevacizumab treatment of >4 doses of >7.5 mg/kg
  4. Had a history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to dordaviprone (ONC201) or its excipients.
  5. Had current or planned participation in a study of an investigational agent or using an investigational device.
  6. Had presence of diffuse leptomeningeal disease or evidence of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) dissemination.
  7. Had uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements.
  8. Had an active infection requiring systemic therapy.
  9. Were pregnant and/or breastfeeding women or unable to maintain use of contraception while on study and for 30 days after the last dose of study drug. Dordaviprone (ONC201) is a novel agent with unknown potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects.
  10. Had known HIV-positive test on combination antiretroviral therapy.
  11. Had known history of cardiac arrhythmias including atrial fibrillation, tachyarrhythmias or bradycardia, unless arrhythmia is controlled and after Cardiology has cleared patient to receive dordaviprone (ONC201). Receiving therapeutic agents known to prolong QT interval will be excluded. History of congested heart failure (CHF), or myocardial infarction (MI) or stroke in the last 3 months will be excluded.
  12. Had active illicit drug use or diagnosis of alcoholism.
  13. Had tumors with known IDH1 (isocitrate dehydrogenase 1) or known IDH2 mutations as determined by immunohistochemistry for the IDH1 R132H variant or by direct sequencing. IDH1/2-mutant gliomas have a markedly longer overall survival rate compared to those with IDH1/2-wildtype glioma (Parsons et al., 2008; Yan et al., 2009), indicating IDH1/2-mutant gliomas have a distinct natural history.
  14. Had tumors with known 1p/19q co-deletion.
  15. Had known additional malignancy that is progressing or requires active treatment within 3 years of start of study drug. Exceptions include basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, in situ melanoma, or in situ cervical cancer that has undergone potentially curative therapy.
  16. Had any surgery (not including minor diagnostic procedures such as lymph node biopsy) within 2 weeks of baseline disease assessments; or not fully recovered from any side effects of previous procedures. An interval of 1 week for stereotactic brain biopsy from the start of study treatment is acceptable.
  17. Had concomitant use of potent cytochrome P450 (CYP)3A4/5 inhibitors during the treatment phase of the study and within 72 hours prior to starting study drug administration.
  18. Had concomitant use of potent CYP3A4/5 inducers, which include enzyme inducing antiepileptic drugs (EIAEDs), during the treatment phase of the study and within 2 weeks prior to starting treatment. Concurrent dexamethasone is allowed.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
73 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm A

    Patients received 625 mg dordaviprone (ONC201) once weekly. Arm A included patients with recurrent H3 K27M-mutant glioma including those with diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (DIPG), primary spinal tumors, and some atypical histologies.

    Drug: Dordaviprone (ONC201)

  • Experimental
    Arm B

    Patients received 625 mg dordaviprone (ONC201) once weekly. Arm B included patients with recurrent H3 K27M-mutant glioma, but excluded patients with the following: * Primary malignant lesion located in the pons or spinal cord. * Atypical non-astrocytic histologies such as ependymoma, ganglioma and pleomorphic xanthoastrocytoma, or pilocytic astrocytoma and subependymal giant cell astrocytoma (SEGA). * Prior bevacizumab treatment of \>4 doses of \>7.5 mg/kg

    Drug: Dordaviprone (ONC201)

Interventions

  • DrugDordaviprone (ONC201)

    Dordaviprone (ONC201) is a central nervous system (CNS)-penetrant, small-molecule imipridone that acts as a mitochondrial caseinolytic protease P (ClpP) agonist and a dopamine receptor D2 (DRD2) antagonist.

    Also known as: Dordaviprone

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Patients With Overall Response

    Quantitative thresholds for objective response by Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria for target lesions on radiographic imaging are Complete Response (CR) is the disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) requires a ≥50% decrease in the sum of products of perpendicular diameters of target lesions from baseline. Other considerations for RANO response include assessments of non-target lesions, corticosteroids, and performance status. The Overall Response Rate is the proportion of patients who achieve either CR or PR. Tumor assessments were conducted at 8 weeks (±1 week) following the initiation of therapy and every 8 weeks (±1 week) thereafter. All patients who received at least one dose of dordaviprone (ONC201) were included in the analysis, including patients with diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (DIPG) or primary spinal tumors, which are historically not assessable for response using RANO-HGG criteria due to anatomical or imaging limitations.

    Time frame: From first dose of study treatment through study completion, an average of 1 year

Secondary outcomes

  1. Duration of Response (DOR)

    DOR is defined as the time from the first documented response to the earliest date of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first. Patients who had not progressed or died at the time of analysis were censored at their last adequate tumor assessment.

    Time frame: From objective response (complete response or partial response) per RANO to disease progression or death, up to 40.6 months.

06

Results

Posted Jul 28, 2025
Limitations and caveats
The Sponsor terminated this study based on the initiation of a randomized Phase 3 study of dordaviprone (ONC201) in an earlier setting; closing this study ensured enrollment would not compete with the Phase 3 study. The decision was not related to any safety concerns with dordaviprone (ONC201). At the time enrollment was halted, some treatment arms had not completed enrollment. Note: This study did not assess response using RANO 2.0, as these criteria were established after study initiation.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm AArm B
Started4330
Completed00
Not completed4330

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Patients With Overall Response

Quantitative thresholds for objective response by Response Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria for target lesions on radiographic imaging are Complete Response (CR) is the disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) requires a ≥50% decrease in the sum of products of perpendicular diameters of target lesions from baseline. Other considerations for RANO response include assessments of non-target lesions, corticosteroids, and performance status. The Overall Response Rate is the proportion of patients who achieve either CR or PR. Tumor assessments were conducted at 8 weeks (±1 week) following the initiation of therapy and every 8 weeks (±1 week) thereafter. All patients who received at least one dose of dordaviprone (ONC201) were included in the analysis, including patients with diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (DIPG) or primary spinal tumors, which are historically not assessable for response using RANO-HGG criteria due to anatomical or imaging limitations.

Time frame:
From first dose of study treatment through study completion, an average of 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Patients With Overall Response
ParticipantsArm AArm B
Number of Patients With Overall Response55
SecondaryDuration of Response (DOR)

DOR is defined as the time from the first documented response to the earliest date of disease progression or death, whichever occurred first. Patients who had not progressed or died at the time of analysis were censored at their last adequate tumor assessment.

Time frame:
From objective response (complete response or partial response) per RANO to disease progression or death, up to 40.6 months.
Reported as:
Median · months
Duration of Response (DOR)
monthsArm AArm B
Duration of Response (DOR)5.6 (1.9 to NA)15.0 (7.5 to NA)

Adverse events

Collected over From the time/date of initiation of study treatment through 30 days following cessation of study treatment (regardless of treatment duration), or for duration of study treatment until initiation of other anticancer therapy, whichever occurred first, up to 51 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm A33/43 (76.7%)17/43 (39.5%)42/43 (97.7%)
Arm B25/30 (83.3%)7/30 (23.3%)27/30 (90%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 40
Most frequent serious events
EventArm AArm B
EncephalopathyNervous system disorders4/431/30
HydrocephalusNervous system disorders4/430/30
SeizureNervous system disorders0/432/30
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders2/430/30
Brain oedemaNervous system disorders2/430/30
HeadacheNervous system disorders2/430/30
EmbolismVascular disorders2/430/30
Sinus tachycardiaCardiac disorders0/431/30
DeathGeneral disorders0/431/30
PyrexiaGeneral disorders0/431/30
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 60
Most frequent other events
EventArm AArm B
FatigueGeneral disorders14/4313/30
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders13/435/30
HeadacheNervous system disorders10/437/30
Gait disturbanceGeneral disorders10/436/30
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications9/436/30
DiplopiaEye disorders2/436/30
Muscular weaknessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders3/436/30
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders8/433/30
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations8/430/30
Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders2/435/30

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm AArm BTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years402969
>=65 years314
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm AArm BTotal
Mean38.6 (20 to 72)35.0 (21 to 66)37.1 (20 to 72)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm AArm BTotal
Female211233
Male221840
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm AArm BTotal
Hispanic or Latino268
Not Hispanic or Latino402363
Unknown or Not Reported112
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm AArm BTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian404
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American6410
White302151
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported358
Primary Tumor Location/Diagnosis
Primary Tumor Location/Diagnosis(Participants)Arm AArm BTotal
Brainstem (excluding DIPG)7310
Midline (excluding brainstem, DIPG, and spinal)262046
Non-midline178
DIPG202
Spinal707
07

Study locations

9 sites
  • University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, California 94143-0112, United States
  • Stanford Cancer Center
    Stanford, California 94305, United States
  • University of Michigan
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455, United States
  • New York University School of Medicine
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • Columbia University
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Levine Cancer Institute
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28204, United States
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Arrillaga-Romany I, Gardner SL, Odia Y, Aguilera D, Allen JE, Batchelor T, Butowski N, Chen C, Cloughesy T, Cluster A, de Groot J, Dixit KS, Graber JJ, Haggiagi AM, Harrison RA, Kheradpour A, Kilburn LB, Kurz SC, Lu G, MacDonald TJ, Mehta M, Melemed AS, Nghiemphu PL, Ramage SC, Shonka N, Sumrall A, Tarapore RS, Taylor L, Umemura Y, Wen PY. ONC201 (Dordaviprone) in Recurrent H3 K27M-Mutant Diffuse Midline Glioma. J Clin Oncol. 2024 May 1;42(13):1542-1552. doi: 10.1200/JCO.23.01134. Epub 2024 Feb 9. PubMed 38335473 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 19, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Dec 1, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03295396
Lead sponsor
Jazz Pharmaceuticals
Collaborators
Oncoceutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 27, 2017
Start date
Oct 30, 2017
Primary completion
Dec 31, 2022
Completion
Jul 19, 2023
Results posted
Jul 28, 2025
Last update
Jul 28, 2025

Study contacts

Allen Mellemed, MD
study director · Chimerix, Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion