CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02979977Updated Feb 4, 2026Results posted

Dual Inhibition of EGFR With Afatinib and Cetuximab in the Treatment of Advanced Squamous Cell Cancers of the Head and Neck

A Phase 2 interventional study of cetuximab and afatinib in Squamous Cell Cancers of the Head and Neck, sponsored by Yale University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-02-04.

Sponsored by Yale University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
50
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a single arm Phase II study for patients with recurrent or metastatic squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck, who are previously treated with a platinum based regimen or with an immune checkpoint inhibitor. The primary objective is to evaluate the efficacy of the combination of cetuximab and afatinib.

Read the detailed description

This study will be a multicenter, single-arm, open-label Phase II trial. Patients with advanced squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck, who are previously treated with a platinum based regimen or with immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy or both, will be eligible for participation on the study. After a baseline evaluation and biopsy (where feasible), they will be treated with weekly/bi-weekly intravenous cetuximab and daily oral afatinib. Biopsy will be repeated where feasible after 4 weeks (window of +1 week) on therapy and again at disease progression or end of treatment.

Treatment will continue until disease progression or development of Grade 3 or higher drug related toxicities that fail to resolve to Grade 2 despite appropriate supportive care.

02

Conditions studied

  • Squamous Cell Cancers of the Head and Neck
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Yale University is the lead sponsor of 1,724 studies on the registry; 298 are open to participants now.

Of its 210 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 126 (60%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck that is metastatic, recurrent or locally advanced and not treatable with curative intent.
  • Previous treatment with a platinum-based regimen or immune checkpoint inhibitor or both.2-week washout period prior to treatment start will be required.
  • Patients who have experienced progression of disease within 6 months following completion of a platinum-based chemoradiation in the definitive or adjuvant setting will be permitted.
  • Prior cetuximab permitted if it was given as part of multi-modality therapy for initial treatment of locally advanced disease.
  • Measurable disease based on RECIST v 1.1. Baseline measurements and evaluations must be obtained within 4 weeks of enrollment. Disease in previously irradiated sites is considered measurable if there has been unequivocal disease progression or biopsy-proven residual carcinoma following radiation therapy.
  • ECOG performance status ≤2
  • Adequate organ function, defined as all of the following:
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 8 g/dl.
  • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥1000 / mm3.
  • Platelet count ≥75,000 / mm3.
  • Estimated creatinine clearance > 45ml / min.
  • Total Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of (institutional/central) normal (Patients with Gilbert's syndrome total bilirubin must be ≤4 times institutional upper limit of normal).
  • Aspartate amino transferase (AST) or alanine amino transferase (ALT) ≤ three times the upper limit of (institutional/central) normal (ULN) (if related to liver metastases ≤ five times ULN).
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent that is consistent with ICH-GCP guidelines.
  • Negative urine or serum pregnancy test for women of childbearing potential
  • A second eligibility review will always be provided by a Head and Neck Research Team associated for the New Haven Campus and a third review will be provided by the PI.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Prior erlotinib, gefitinib or lapatinib therapy or prior exposure to any investigational EGFR or panErbB reversible or irreversible inhibitor or any prior panitumumab or investigational EGFR-directed monoclonal antibody. Cetuximab is permitted if used for locally advanced disease, as long as no disease progression within 6 months. Cetuximab use is not permitted for recurrent/metastatic disease
  • Radiotherapy within 2 weeks prior to enrollment. Palliative radiation to target organs may be allowed up to 2 weeks prior to enrollment, as long as there are other target lesions that can be monitored for response to study treatment.
  • Known hypersensitivity to afatinib or its excipients
  • Women of child-bearing potential (WOCBP) and men who are able to father a child, unwilling to be abstinent or use highly effective methods of birth control prior to study entry, for the duration of study participation and for at least 4 weeks after treatment has ended.
  • Women who are pregnant, nursing, or who plan to become pregnant while in the trial.
  • Any history of or concomitant condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would compromise the patient's ability to comply with the study or interfere with the evaluation of the efficacy and safety of the test drug.
  • Concomitant malignancies at other sites that are being actively treated with systemic therapy
  • Requiring treatment with any of the prohibited concomitant medications that cannot be stopped for the duration of trial participation.
  • Clinically significant interstitial lung disease.
  • Known history of untreated viral hepatitis or HIV.
  • Patients with parenchymal brain metastases are not eligible, unless they have completed local therapy
  • Leptomeningeal carcinomatosis
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
50 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    All subjects

    Advanced squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck region, having previously been treated on a platinum based regimen or with an immune checkpoint inhibitor. Subjects will receive Afatinib dose 30 mg per day and weekly/bi-weekly intravenous cetuximab.

    Drug: cetuximab · Drug: afatinib

Interventions

  • Drugcetuximab

    30-60 minutes after the recommended pre-medications, cetuximab will be administered intravenously at a dose of 400mg/m2 on cycle 1, day 1 of treatment (loading dose) and at a dose of 250mg/m2 every 7 days (+/- 1 day) thereafter. Alternatively, patients can be treated at a dose of 500mg/m2 every 14 days (+/- 2 days).

    Also known as: Erbitux

  • Drugafatinib

    Patients will take a single oral dose of afatinib each day at a dose of 30 mg. Afatinib dose will not be escalated beyond the 30 mg daily oral dose; dose reductions of afatinib can occur to manage treatment related adverse events.

    Also known as: GIOTRIF or GILOTRIF

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Tumor Shrinkage

    Objective Response Rate (Complete Response + Partial Response), defined by tumor shrinkage (mm), per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1. RECIST v1.1 Response Categories are as follows: Complete Response (CR) - all pathological lymph nodes must be \< 10 mm in short axis; Partial Response (PR) - at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD) - The cancer has neither clearly improved nor worsened. Progressive Disease (PD) - at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions AND an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm.

    Time frame: Disease progression or end of treatment (up to 2 years)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression-free Survival in Months

    We will use Kaplan-Meier survival analysis to estimate the median PFS in the cohort. Data are presented by P16 status. The outcome measure title was updated to present the data in months, as analyzed, instead of weeks as originally registered.

    Time frame: 1 year follow-up

  2. Overall Survival in Months

    Measured by a monthly phone calls. We will use Kaplan-Meier survival analysis to estimate the median and OS in the cohort.

    Time frame: 1 year follow-up

  3. Duration of Response in Weeks

    Presented is the time from treatment onset until best response.

    Time frame: Up to 6 years

  4. Toxicity Assessed With National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0

    Presented are a count of those that experienced at least 1 adverse event. Adverse event details are presented in the Adverse Events module.

    Time frame: Up to 2.5 years

Other outcomes

  1. Exploratory Biomarker Analysis

    Analysis of tumor-tissue from biopsies obtained at baseline, after four weeks of treatment with the combination, and again at disease progression or end of treatment

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

07

Results

Posted Feb 4, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAll Subjects
Started50
Off treatment49
Completed41
Not completed9
Withdrew: Death5
Withdrew: Disease progression2
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
Withdrew: Adverse event1

Outcome measures

PrimaryTumor Shrinkage

Objective Response Rate (Complete Response + Partial Response), defined by tumor shrinkage (mm), per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1. RECIST v1.1 Response Categories are as follows: Complete Response (CR) - all pathological lymph nodes must be \< 10 mm in short axis; Partial Response (PR) - at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD) - The cancer has neither clearly improved nor worsened. Progressive Disease (PD) - at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions AND an absolute increase of ≥ 5 mm.

Time frame:
Disease progression or end of treatment (up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tumor Shrinkage
ParticipantsAll Subjects
Complete Responses (CR)2
Partial Response (PR)9
No Response36
Statistical analysis
  • All Subjects · Regression, Cox · Odds ratio (or): 23.4 · 95% CI 12.3 to 38.0
SecondaryProgression-free Survival in Months

We will use Kaplan-Meier survival analysis to estimate the median PFS in the cohort. Data are presented by P16 status. The outcome measure title was updated to present the data in months, as analyzed, instead of weeks as originally registered.

Time frame:
1 year follow-up
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival in Months
monthsAll Subjects
P16 Negative3.8 (2.1 to NA)
P16 Positive7.5 (4.8 to 12)
SecondaryOverall Survival in Months

Measured by a monthly phone calls. We will use Kaplan-Meier survival analysis to estimate the median and OS in the cohort.

Time frame:
1 year follow-up
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival in Months
monthsAll Subjects
Overall Survival in Months7.5 (4.8 to 12.0)
SecondaryDuration of Response in Weeks

Presented is the time from treatment onset until best response.

Time frame:
Up to 6 years
Reported as:
Median · weeks
Duration of Response in Weeks
weeksAll Subjects
Duration of Response in Weeks20.4 (1.0 to 293.4)
SecondaryToxicity Assessed With National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0

Presented are a count of those that experienced at least 1 adverse event. Adverse event details are presented in the Adverse Events module.

Time frame:
Up to 2.5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Toxicity Assessed With National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0
ParticipantsAll Subjects
Toxicity Assessed With National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.049
Other pre-specifiedExploratory Biomarker Analysis

Analysis of tumor-tissue from biopsies obtained at baseline, after four weeks of treatment with the combination, and again at disease progression or end of treatment

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 2.5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
All Subjects44/50 (88%)20/50 (40%)49/50 (98%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 23
Most frequent serious events
EventAll Subjects
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders4/50
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders2/50
FeverGeneral disorders2/50
Infusion related reactionGeneral disorders2/50
AspirationRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/50
Oral hemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders1/50
Gastric perforationGastrointestinal disorders1/50
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/50
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders1/50
PainGeneral disorders1/50
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 47
Most frequent other events
EventAll Subjects
Rash acneiformSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders35/50
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders24/50
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders18/50
FatigueGeneral disorders15/50
HypomagnesemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders14/50
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders12/50
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders12/50
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders11/50
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders10/50
Lymphocyte count decreasedBlood and lymphatic system disorders9/50

Baseline characteristics

50 consented participants

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)All Subjects
Median63 (59 to 70)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Subjects
Female8
Male42
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Subjects
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino48
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Subjects
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American4
White43
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)All Subjects
United States50
P16 Status
P16 Status(Participants)All Subjects
Negative29
Positive21
Prior Lines of Treatment
Prior Lines of Treatment(Participants)All Subjects
Platinum49
Anti-PD-137
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Yale Cancer Center
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520-8028, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 24, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 4, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02979977
Lead sponsor
Yale University
Collaborators
National Comprehensive Cancer Network, Boehringer Ingelheim
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 2, 2016
Start date
Mar 24, 2017
Primary completion
Jan 18, 2025
Completion
Jan 18, 2026
Results posted
Feb 4, 2026
Last update
Feb 4, 2026

Study contacts

Aarti Bhatia, MD, MPH
principal investigator · Yale University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion