CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02916056Updated Jun 1, 2021Results posted

2-Year Extension Study of Azeliragon in Subjects With Alzheimer's Disease (STEADFAST Extension)

A Phase 3 interventional study of Azeliragon 5mg in Alzheimer's Disease, sponsored by vTv Therapeutics. Terminated at 71 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 50 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-06-01.

Sponsored by vTv Therapeutics · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Not due to safety but due to a lack of efficacy at the 5 mg azeliragon dose.
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
297
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
50 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is an open-label extension study in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease who have completed participation in the azeliragon Phase 3 (STEADFAST) trial. Patients will receive azeliragon 5 mg/day for up to 2 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Alzheimer's Disease

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Alzheimer's disease
  • RAGE
  • ADAS-cog
  • CDR-sb
03

In context

Alzheimer Disease

3,678 studies on the registry are indexed under Alzheimer Disease; 872 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 297 is above the median of 70 across 2,808 interventional studies indexed under Alzheimer Disease.

Browse Alzheimer Disease studies →

Lead sponsor

vTv Therapeutics is the lead sponsor of 14 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 4 (80%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
50 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Successful completion of Study TTP488-301 through the Month 18 Visit without ongoing serious adverse events or history of serious adverse drug reactions during study TTP488-301.
  • Patients must enroll in the present study within 7 days of completion of study TTP488-301.
  • Evidence of a personally signed and dated informed consent document indicating that the subject (or a legally authorized representative) and caregiver/informant has been informed of all pertinent aspects of the study. Participants must be able to provide assent (where this is in accordance with local laws, regulations and ethics committee policy) and assent may be re-evaluated during the study at regular intervals.
  • Participants and caregiver/informants who are willing and able to comply with scheduled visits, treatment plan, laboratory tests, and other study procedures.
  • The subject must have a reliable caregiver/informant with regular contact (i.e., 10 hours a week as combination of face-to-face visits and telephone contact acceptable) who will facilitate the subject's full participation in the study. Caregivers/informant must have sufficient subject interaction to be able to provide meaningful input into the rating scales administered in this study where caregiver/informant input is required, in particular the CDR and evidence of this should be documented in source documentation. Participants who reside in assisted living facilities are permitted provided that they meet caregiver/informant criteria.
  • Participants and caregiver/informants must be able to read, write, and speak the language in which psychometric tests are provided with visual and auditory acuity (corrected) sufficient to allow for accurate psychometric testing.
  • Subject must be able to ingest oral medications.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • The subject is felt by the investigator to be unsuitable (on the basis of health, compliance, caregiver availability, or for any other reason) for inclusion in the study.
  • Subjects with serious suicide risk. If there are "yes" answers on items 4, 5 or on any behavioral question of the C-SSRS, a suicide risk assessment must be done by a qualified mental health professional with expertise in the evaluation of suicidality in the elderly (e.g., psychiatrist, geriatrician or neurologist specializing in treatment of patients with AD) to determine whether it is safe for the subject to participate in the study.
  • Subjects demonstrating a QTcF > 480 msec or a >45 msec change from the TTP488-301 Baseline value based on the locally read ECG performed at the TTP488-301 Month 18 Visit (TTP488-303 Baseline). Participants with known history of bundle branch block (either right or left) are allowed if absolute QTcF value does not exceed 500 msec. Participants with a functioning pacemaker, indicated by an ECG displaying paced rhythm, are allowed with no QTc upper limit.
  • Other acute or chronic medical or psychiatric condition or laboratory abnormality that may increase the risk associated with study participation or investigational product administration or may prevent the subject from completing the 2-year study or may interfere with the interpretation of study results and, in the judgment of the investigator, would make the subject inappropriate for entry into this trial.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
297 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Azeliragon 5 mg

    Azeliragon (TTP488) 5mg orally once daily for 2 years

    Drug: Azeliragon 5mg

Interventions

  • DrugAzeliragon 5mg

    Also known as: TTP488

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Subjects With at Least One Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event

    Time frame: up to 18 months

07

Results

Posted Jun 1, 2021

Participant flow

Eligible participants who completed TTP488-301 were enrolled into the TTP488-303 Open label extension from December 2016 through April 2018 in the United States and Canada.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAzeliragon 5 mg
Started297
Completed0
Not completed297
Withdrew: Adverse event6
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1
Withdrew: Other12
Withdrew: Protocol violation1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject8
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor269

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Subjects With at Least One Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event
Time frame:
up to 18 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Subjects With at Least One Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event
ParticipantsAzeliragon 5 mg
Number of Subjects With at Least One Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event193

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from consent through end of study participation. Duration of study participation was up to 456 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 2% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Azeliragon 5 mg0/297 (0%)25/297 (8.4%)137/297 (46.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 29
Most frequent serious events
EventAzeliragon 5 mg
Transient ischaemic attackNervous system disorders3/297
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/297
Pelvic fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/297
Orthostatic hypotensionVascular disorders2/297
AtaxiaNervous system disorders1/297
Cerebral infarctionNervous system disorders1/297
Complex partial seizuresNervous system disorders1/297
ConvulsionNervous system disorders1/297
DysarthriaNervous system disorders1/297
Haemorrhagic strokeNervous system disorders1/297
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent other events
EventAzeliragon 5 mg
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications29/297
DepressionPsychiatric disorders13/297
DizzinessNervous system disorders12/297
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations9/297
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations9/297
Weight decreasedInvestigations9/297
InsomniaPsychiatric disorders8/297
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders8/297
HeadacheNervous system disorders7/297
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders7/297

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Azeliragon 5 mg
Mean74.9 ± 8.43
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Azeliragon 5 mg
Female144
Male153
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Azeliragon 5 mg
Hispanic or Latino31
Not Hispanic or Latino266
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Azeliragon 5 mg
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian6
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
Black or African American9
White280
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

71 sites
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85004, United States
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85013, United States
  • Tucson, Arizona 85724, United States
  • Bellflower, California 90706, United States
  • Costa Mesa, California 92626, United States
  • Fullerton, California 92835, United States
  • Glendale, California 91206, United States
  • Imperial, California 92251, United States
  • Irvine, California 92614, United States
  • Laguna Hills, California 92653, United States
  • Long Beach, California 90806, United States
  • Riverside, California 92506, United States
  • San Bernardino, California 92408, United States
  • Santa Ana, California 92705, United States
  • Atlantis, Florida 33462, United States
  • Delray Beach, Florida 33445, United States
  • Hallandale Beach, Florida 33009, United States
  • Hialeah, Florida 33016, United States
  • Jacksonville, Florida 32216, United States
  • Lake Worth, Florida 33449, United States
  • Miami Beach, Florida 33140, United States
  • Miami Lakes, Florida 33014, United States
  • Miami, Florida 33122, United States
  • Miami, Florida 33137, United States
  • Orlando, Florida 32806, United States
  • Sarasota, Florida 34243, United States
  • Sunrise, Florida 33351, United States
  • The Villages, Florida 32162, United States
  • Columbus, Georgia 31909, United States
  • Chicago, Illinois 60640, United States
  • Fairway, Kansas 66205, United States
  • Lexington, Kentucky 40504, United States
  • Baltimore, Maryland 21208, United States
  • Newton, Massachusetts 02459, United States
  • Plymouth, Massachusetts 02360, United States
  • Quincy, Massachusetts 02169, United States
  • Hattiesburg, Mississippi 39401, United States
  • Creve Coeur, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Saint Louis, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Princeton, New Jersey 08540, United States
  • Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109, United States
  • Albany, New York 12208, United States
  • Lake Success, New York 11042, United States
  • New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Staten Island, New York 10312, United States
  • Charlotte, North Carolina 28270, United States
  • Raleigh, North Carolina 27607, United States
  • Wilmington, North Carolina 28401, United States
  • Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, United States
  • Canton, Ohio 44718, United States
  • Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122, United States
  • Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103, United States
  • Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73118, United States
  • Portland, Oregon 97210, United States
  • Portland, Oregon 97225, United States
  • Plains, Pennsylvania 18705, United States
  • East Providence, Rhode Island 02914, United States
  • East Providence, Rhode Island 02916, United States
  • Cordova, Tennessee 38018, United States
  • Dallas, Texas 75231, United States
  • San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
  • San Antonio, Texas 78232, United States
  • Wichita Falls, Texas 76309, United States
  • Murray, Utah 84123, United States
  • Kirkland, Washington 98033, United States
  • Calgary, Alberta T2N 4Z6, Canada
  • Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4E7, Canada
  • Chatham, Ontario N7L 1C1, Canada
  • Toronto, Ontario M3B 2S7, Canada
  • Gatineau, Quebec J8T 8J1, Canada
  • Greenfield Park, Quebec J4V 2J2, Canada
09

References and documents

Related links

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Aug 9, 2017
  • Statistical analysis plan · Sep 21, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 1, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02916056
Lead sponsor
vTv Therapeutics
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 27, 2016
Start date
Dec 2016
Primary completion
Jun 1, 2018
Completion
Jun 1, 2018
Results posted
Jun 1, 2021
Last update
Jun 1, 2021

Study contacts

Ann Gooch, Ph.D.
study director · vTv Therapeutics LLC

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion