A Phase 1 interventional study of Triferic in Peritoneal Dialysis (PD), Anemia and Chronic Kidney Disease, sponsored by Rockwell Medical Technologies, Inc.. Completed. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-08-08.
Sponsored by Rockwell Medical Technologies, Inc. · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
The main purpose is to determine the pharmacokinetic (PK) profile, maximum concentration (Cmax) and Area Under the Concentration Time Curve (AUC0-t) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD). It is an open label, dose escalation study.
This is a phase 1, open-label, dose escalation study assessing the pharmacokinetic (PK) profile, maximum concentration (Cmax) and Area Under the Concentration Time Curve (AUC0-t) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in chronic kidney disease patients on peritoneal dialysis (Continuous Cycling Peritoneal Dialysis (CCPD) or Continuous Ambulatory Peritoneal Dialysis (CAPD)).
Screening can be up to 4 weeks, and the enrollment period is approximately one week. There are two treatment (dosing) visits and one follow-up visit during the enrollment period.
At each treatment visit, the patients will be randomly assigned to receive either a single ascending dose of Triferic administered intraperitoneal (IP) during a long (12 hour) peritoneal dialysis dwell or a single 6.6 mg dose of Triferic administered IV over 4 hours. Blood samples will be obtained at defined times over 12 hours to establish the total serum iron PK of IP Triferic as well as the clinical serum iron profile.
The IP dose of the first Cohort will be 5 mg Triferic iron/liter IP. Subsequent Cohort IP doses will be 12.5 mg Triferic iron/liter, and 20 mg Triferic iron/liter, with the final Cohort dose to be determined (TBD). The IV dose will be 6.6. mg for all Cohorts. Six patients will be enrolled in each Cohort, with enrollment in the subsequent (higher dose) Cohort not being initiated until the completion and evaluation of the previous (lower dose) Cohort.
1,768 studies on the registry are indexed under Anemia; 244 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 30 is below the median of 96 across 1,318 interventional studies indexed under Anemia.
Browse Anemia studies →Rockwell Medical Technologies, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 19 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (83%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
The patient will receive a single dose of Triferic in the peritoneal dialysis solution (IP) during a long (12 hour) peritoneal dialysis dwell. Each Cohort will receive a different ascending IP dose ( 5 mg/L, 12.5 mg/L, 20 mg/L). Blood samples will be drawn periodically over a 12 hour period for analysis.
Drug: Triferic
The patient will receive a single 6.6 mg intravenous (IV) dose of Triferic in the over a 4 hour period. All Cohorts will receive the same IV dose. Blood samples will be drawn periodically over a 12 hour period for analysis.
Drug: Triferic
Triferic is an iron salt that is approved by the FDA for the maintenance of hemoglobin in patients with end stage kidney disease on hemodialysis. It is experimental in this study because it has not yet been approved for patients on chronic peritoneal dialysis.
Also known as: ferric pyrophosphate citrate, FPC
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the mean absolute Cmax of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) Last of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to the time of the last quantified concentration (AUClast) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) 0 - 12 of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to 12 hours after infusion (AUC0-12) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the mean absolute Cmax of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) Last of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to the time of the last quantified concentration (AUClast) of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) 0-12 of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to 12 hours after the infusion (AUC0-12) of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
Time frame: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 hours
Bioavailability of Triferic Iron Administered Via PD Solution: F(Cmax)
The bioavailability (F) of the maximum serum iron concentration (Cmax) of Triferic iron was quantified for the peritoneal dialysis dose of Triferic for all cohorts.
Time frame: 12 hours
| Milestone | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 6 | 6 | 6 | 6 | 6 |
| Triferic in dianeal pd solution | 6 | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Triferic 6.6mg fe via 4hr iv infusions | 6 | 5 | 6 | 6 | 6 |
| Triferic in extraneal pd solution | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Completed | 6 | 5 | 6 | 6 | 6 |
| Not completed | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
The PK will be done by assessing the mean absolute Cmax of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| microgram per deciliter | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic | 164 ± 25.0 | 213 ± 3.78 | 153 ± 32.1 | 163 ± 19.4 | 105 ± 15.9 |
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to the time of the last quantified concentration (AUClast) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| hours x micrograms/ deciliters | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) Last of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic | 1690 ± 27.9 | 2220 ± 9.84 | 2560 ± 33.0 | 2510 ± 41.8 | 2260 ± 23.9 |
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to 12 hours after infusion (AUC0-12) of Triferic iron administered intraperitoneally in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| hours x micrograms/ deciliters | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) 0 - 12 of Serum Total Iron After Intraperitoneal Administration of Triferic | 1690 ± 27.9 | 2220 ± 9.84 | 1580 ± 41.8 | 1610 ± 32.3 | 1050 ± 20.9 |
The PK will be done by assessing the mean absolute Cmax of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| micrograms/ deciliters | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic | 217 ± 41.9 | 203 ± 32.6 | 183 ± 30.3 | 254212 ± 14.7 | 177 ± 30.8 |
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to the time of the last quantified concentration (AUClast) of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| hours* micrograms/ deciliters | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) Last of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic | 1750 ± 33.8 | 1730 ± 28.2 | 2160 ± 30.0 | 3060 ± 33.6 | 2840 ± 35.7 |
The PK will be done by assessing the AUC from time zero to 12 hours after the infusion (AUC0-12) of Triferic iron administered intravenously in patients with chronic kidney disease on peritoneal dialysis (CKD-5 PD).
| hours* micrograms/ deciliters | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Triferic Iron Administered in Patients on Chronic Peritoneal Dialysis: Area Under the Concentration Curve (AUC) 0-12 of Serum Total Iron After Intravenous Administration of Triferic | 1750 ± 33.8 | 1730 ± 28.2 | 1530 ± 41.3 | 1890 ± 20.9 | 1560 ± 31.7 |
The bioavailability (F) of the maximum serum iron concentration (Cmax) of Triferic iron was quantified for the peritoneal dialysis dose of Triferic for all cohorts.
| percent of bioavailability | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bioavailability of Triferic Iron Administered Via PD Solution: F(Cmax) | 47.7 ± 28.3 | 26.5 ± 30.9 | 34.9 ± 25.2 | 62.6 ± 17.3 | 74.6 ± 25.9 |
Collected over Adverse events data was collected from the date of enrollment through the completion of the follow-up study visit. This timeframe was approximately 5 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) |
| Cohort 2 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 2/6 (33.3%) |
| Cohort 3 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) |
| Cohort 4 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) |
| Cohort 5 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) |
| Event | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 0/6 | 1/6 | 1/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/6 | 1/6 | 1/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 0/6 | 1/6 | 1/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Abdominal DiscomfortGastrointestinal disorders | 0/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 | 1/6 | 0/6 |
| Groin PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 62.3 ± 8.2 | 45.8 ± 19.6 | 56.7 ± 10.2 | 45.2 ± 21.5 | 56.3 ± 15.9 | 53.3 ± 16.3 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 3 | 14 |
| Male | 5 | 2 | 2 | 4 | 3 | 16 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 14 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 4 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 16 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| White | 6 | 4 | 6 | 4 | 4 | 24 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Cohort 1 | Cohort 2 | Cohort 3 | Cohort 4 | Cohort 5 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 6 | 6 | 6 | 6 | 6 | 30 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Ferric pyrophosphate citrate
Rockwell Medical Technologies, Inc.