A Phase 1 interventional study of Ramucirumab and Necitumumab in Non-small Cell Lung Cancer, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Completed at 11 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-02-05.
Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
The main purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety of ramucirumab or necitumumab in combination with osimertinib in participants with non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).
7,243 studies on the registry are indexed under Lung Neoplasms; 1,558 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 29 is below the median of 60 across 5,296 interventional studies indexed under Lung Neoplasms.
Browse Lung Neoplasms studies →Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,048 studies on the registry; 140 are open to participants now.
Of its 521 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 341 (65%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Are receiving chronic therapy with any of the following medications within 7 days prior to enrollment:
Dose Finding: Participants received Ramucirumab 10 milligrams/kilogram (mg/kg) given intravenously (IV) on day 1 every 2 weeks and osimertinib 80 milligrams (mg) given orally daily during each 14-day cycle.
Drug: Ramucirumab · Drug: Osimertinib
Dose Finding: Participants received Necitumumab 800 mg given IV on days 1 and 8 every 3 weeks and osimertinib 80 mg given orally daily during each 21 day cycle.
Drug: Necitumumab · Drug: Osimertinib
Dose Expansion: Participants received Ramucirumab 10 mg/kg given IV on day 1 every 2 weeks and osimertinib 80 mg given orally daily during each 14-day cycle.
Drug: Ramucirumab · Drug: Osimertinib
Administered IV
Also known as: LY3009806
Administered IV
Also known as: LY3012211
Administered orally
Also known as: AZD9291
Phase 1a: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)
A Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) was defined as one of the following Adverse Events (AE) that is likely related to the study drug or combination, and fulfils any one of the following criteria, graded according to the NCI-CTCAE Version 4.0: 1. Any nonhematologic Grade ≥3 toxicity, except for toxicities such as liver or renal function abnormality, skin rash that resolves with appropriate therapy, transient hypersensitivity and injection site reactions, myalgia, fatigue, constipation, electrolyte imbalance, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea 2. Hematologic toxicity was considered a DLT as the following: 1. Grade 4 toxicity lasting ≥7 days, or 2. Grade 3 or 4 thrombocytopenia if associated with bleeding or requires platelet transfusion, or 3. Febrile neutropenia 3. Death if considered related to study treatment 4. Any other significant toxicity deemed by the primary investigator and Lilly clinical research personnel to be dose limiting
Time frame: Arm A: Cycle 1 through Cycle 2 (14-day cycle); Arm B: Cycle 1 (21-day cycle)
Pharmacokinetics (PK): Minimum Concentration (Cmin) of Ramucirumab
Cmin was the concentration of study drug in the blood immediately before the next dose was administered.
Time frame: Predose on Day (D) 1 of Cycle (C) 2, Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 4, Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 5, Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 7, Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 13
Pharmacokinetics (PK): Minimum Concentration (Cmin) of Necitumumab
Cmin was the concentration of study drug in the blood immediately before the next dose was administered.
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 3, Predose on Day 1 of Cycle 5
Objective Response Rate (ORR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib: Percentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR)
ORR was the best overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as classified by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1). CR was a disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. PR was an at least 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline sum diameter) without progression of non-target lesions or appearance of new lesions.
Time frame: Baseline to Objective Disease Progression (up to 25 months)
Disease Control Rate (DCR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib: Percentage of Participants With CR, PR or Stable Disease (SD)
DCR was the best overall response of CR, PR, or SD as defined by RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and no appearance of new lesions. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline sum LD), no progression of non-target lesions, and no appearance of new lesions. SD was neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD) for target lesions, no progression of non-target lesions, and no appearance of new lesions. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, with reference being the smallest sum on study and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm, or unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or one or more new lesions.
Time frame: Baseline to Objective Disease Progression (up to 25 months)
Duration of Response (DoR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib
Duration of Response (DoR) was defined only for participants with a confirmed CR or PR. It was measured from the date of first evidence of a confirmed CR or PR to the date of objective progression or the date of death due to any cause, whichever is earlier. If a participant was not known to have died or have objective progression as of the data inclusion cutoff date, DOR was censored at the date of the last complete objective progression-free disease assessment.
Time frame: Date of CR or PR to Date of Objective Disease Progression or Death from Any Cause (up to 25 months)
Progression Free Survival (PFS) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib
Progression-free survival (PFS) was the time from the date of first study treatment until the date of radiographic documentation of progression (as defined by RECIST v. 1.1) based on investigator assessment or the date of death due to any cause, whichever was earlier. If a participant did not have a complete baseline disease assessment, then the PFS time was censored at the enrollment date, regardless of whether or not objectively determined disease progression or death was observed for the participant; otherwise, if a participant was not known to have died or have objective progression as of the data inclusion cutoff date for the analysis, the PFS time was censored at the last complete objective progression-free disease assessment date.
Time frame: Baseline to Measured Progressive Disease or Death from Any Cause (up to 26 months)
Overall Survival (OS) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib
OS was date of first study treatment until death due to any cause. If the participant was alive at the data inclusion cutoff date for the analysis (or was lost to follow-up), OS was censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive.
Time frame: Baseline to Death from Any Cause (up to 29 months)
The study consisted of the dose-finding portion (Phase 1a) and the dose-expansion portion (Phase 1b) * Phase 1a, Arm A = combination of ramucirumab and osimertinib; Arm B = combination of necitumumab and osimertinib * Phase 1b included one cohort, the expansion of Arm A with additional participants enrolled i.e., Cohort A, a combination of ramucirumab and osimertinib. Per Protocol, all outcomes for a combination of ramucirumab and osimertinib were analyzed under a single arm i.e., Arm A/Cohort A
| Milestone | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 3 | 4 | 22 |
| Received at least one dose of study drug | 3 | 4 | 22 |
| Completed | 0 | 1 | 5 |
| Not completed | 3 | 3 | 17 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Death | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Progressive disease | 1 | 3 | 14 |
A Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) was defined as one of the following Adverse Events (AE) that is likely related to the study drug or combination, and fulfils any one of the following criteria, graded according to the NCI-CTCAE Version 4.0: 1. Any nonhematologic Grade ≥3 toxicity, except for toxicities such as liver or renal function abnormality, skin rash that resolves with appropriate therapy, transient hypersensitivity and injection site reactions, myalgia, fatigue, constipation, electrolyte imbalance, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea 2. Hematologic toxicity was considered a DLT as the following: 1. Grade 4 toxicity lasting ≥7 days, or 2. Grade 3 or 4 thrombocytopenia if associated with bleeding or requires platelet transfusion, or 3. Febrile neutropenia 3. Death if considered related to study treatment 4. Any other significant toxicity deemed by the primary investigator and Lilly clinical research personnel to be dose limiting
| Participants | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|---|
| Phase 1a: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) | 0 | 0 |
Cmin was the concentration of study drug in the blood immediately before the next dose was administered.
| microgram per milliliter (µg/mL) | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| D1C2 | 41.3 ± 56.3 |
| D1C4 | 66.7 ± 34.3 |
| D1C5 | 76.7 ± 27 |
| D1C7 | 90.7 ± 26.6 |
| D1C13 | 103 ± 29.6 |
Cmin was the concentration of study drug in the blood immediately before the next dose was administered.
| nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL) | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| D1C3 | NA ± NA |
| D1C5 | NA ± NA |
ORR was the best overall response of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as classified by the Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1). CR was a disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and normalization of tumor marker level. PR was an at least 30% decrease in the sum of the diameters of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline sum diameter) without progression of non-target lesions or appearance of new lesions.
| Percentage of Participants | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib: Percentage of Participants With a Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) | 76 (58.1 to 89.0) |
DCR was the best overall response of CR, PR, or SD as defined by RECIST v1.1. CR was defined as the disappearance of all target and non-target lesions and no appearance of new lesions. PR was defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter (LD) of target lesions (taking as reference the baseline sum LD), no progression of non-target lesions, and no appearance of new lesions. SD was neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD) for target lesions, no progression of non-target lesions, and no appearance of new lesions. PD was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, with reference being the smallest sum on study and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm, or unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or one or more new lesions.
| Percentage of Participants | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| Disease Control Rate (DCR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib: Percentage of Participants With CR, PR or Stable Disease (SD) | 92 (76.9 to 98.6) |
Duration of Response (DoR) was defined only for participants with a confirmed CR or PR. It was measured from the date of first evidence of a confirmed CR or PR to the date of objective progression or the date of death due to any cause, whichever is earlier. If a participant was not known to have died or have objective progression as of the data inclusion cutoff date, DOR was censored at the date of the last complete objective progression-free disease assessment.
| Months | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DoR) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib | 13.37 (9.63 to 21.19) |
Progression-free survival (PFS) was the time from the date of first study treatment until the date of radiographic documentation of progression (as defined by RECIST v. 1.1) based on investigator assessment or the date of death due to any cause, whichever was earlier. If a participant did not have a complete baseline disease assessment, then the PFS time was censored at the enrollment date, regardless of whether or not objectively determined disease progression or death was observed for the participant; otherwise, if a participant was not known to have died or have objective progression as of the data inclusion cutoff date for the analysis, the PFS time was censored at the last complete objective progression-free disease assessment date.
| Months | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| Progression Free Survival (PFS) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib | 11.04 (5.49 to 19.29) |
OS was date of first study treatment until death due to any cause. If the participant was alive at the data inclusion cutoff date for the analysis (or was lost to follow-up), OS was censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive.
| Months | Arm A/Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) for Ramucirumab in Combination With Osimertinib | NA (16.03 to NA) |
Collected over Baseline to follow up (5.38 years). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | 2/3 (66.7%) | 1/3 (33.3%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | 1/4 (25%) | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | 11/22 (50%) | 8/22 (36.4%) | 22/22 (100%) |
| Event | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|---|---|
| DiverticulitisInfections and infestations | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/22 |
| Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/4 | 0/22 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 3/22 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/3 | 0/4 | 2/22 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Atrioventricular block second degreeCardiac disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Cardiac failure congestiveCardiac disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Intestinal obstructionGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Pancreatitis acuteGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Cystitis klebsiellaInfections and infestations | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/22 |
| Event | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib |
|---|---|---|---|
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/3 | 4/4 | 14/22 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/3 | 0/4 | 6/22 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 0/3 | 3/4 | 3/22 |
| Dry skinSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/3 | 3/4 | 2/22 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 2/3 | 1/4 | 3/22 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/3 | 1/4 | 4/22 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 1/3 | 0/4 | 14/22 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/3 | 2/4 | 8/22 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/3 | 2/4 | 9/22 |
| Dermatitis acneiformSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/3 | 2/4 | 0/22 |
All enrolled participants
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 2 | 2 | 12 | 16 |
| >=65 years | 1 | 2 | 10 | 13 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 3 | 17 | 21 |
| Male | 2 | 1 | 5 | 8 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 4 | 22 | 29 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 13 | 13 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 3 | 4 | 9 | 16 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Arm A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Arm B: Necitumumab + Osimertinib | Cohort A: Ramucirumab + Osimertinib | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Korea | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| United States | 1 | 1 | 3 | 5 |
| Taiwan | 0 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| France | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Spain | 2 | 2 | 8 | 12 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in May 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eli Lilly and Company