CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02747420Updated Jan 26, 2021Results posted

PTNS Versus Sham Efficacy in Treatment of BPS

An interventional study of NURO TM and Sham in Interstitial Cystitis Bladder Pain Syndromes, sponsored by NYU Langone Health. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-01-26.

Sponsored by NYU Langone Health · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
40
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This is a prospective, single center, double-blind, randomized, controlled trial comparing the efficacy of percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation to sham in the treatment of Bladder Pain Syndrome/Interstitial Cystitis (BPS/IC) through 12 weeks of therapy.

Read the detailed description

This is a pilot study to evaluate the efficacy of the systematic effects of posterior tibial nerve stimulation (PTNS) treatment compared to an inactive sham intervention in female subjects with interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome (IC/BPS) in an intent-to-treat analysis. The primary outcome measure will be the Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) a single item questionnaire assessing overall impression of improvement over time at the initial 12 weeks endpoint.

It is hypothesized that subjects randomized to the PTNS arm will demonstrate a greater improvement in both pain and quality of life scores, when compared with subjects who are randomized to the sham arm.

02

Conditions studied

  • Interstitial Cystitis Bladder Pain Syndromes

Keywords

  • Posterior Tibial Nerve Stimulation, Bladder
03

In context

Cystitis

235 studies on the registry are indexed under Cystitis; 22 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 40 is below the median of 60 across 170 interventional studies indexed under Cystitis.

Browse Cystitis studies →

Lead sponsor

NYU Langone Health is the lead sponsor of 1,391 studies on the registry; 254 are open to participants now.

Of its 227 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 191 (84%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Women ≥18 years old with visual analog scale > 5
  • Cessation of all analgesics or other medication for pain for at least 2 weeks prior to the PTNS intervention
  • Discontinuation of any other electrical stimulation methods for 3 months prior to PTNS intervention.
  • Capable of giving informed consent
  • Ambulatory
  • Capable and willing to follow all study-relation procedures

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients pregnant or planning to become pregnant during the study duration
  • Botox use in pelvic floor muscles within the last year
  • Current urinary or vaginal infections
  • Current use of Interstim device
  • History of a cardiac pacemaker
  • Diagnosis of neuropathy
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
40 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)

    Device: NURO TM

  • Sham comparator
    Sham Group

    Device: Sham

Interventions

  • DeviceNURO TM

    The lower extremity will be palpated and a needle insertion site will be identified 5 cm from the medial malleolus and posterior to the tibia. Between the posterior margin of the tibia and the soleus muscle, a 34-gauge acupuncture-like needle will be inserted 3-4 cm to the tibial nerve. A grounding pad will be placed on the bottom of the foot just below the smallest toe. An inactive grounding pad will be placed on top of the foot above the small toe to be consistent with the sham pad placement. The needle and grounding pad will be connected to the stimulator and the stimulation will be increased from 0 to 10 Milli-ampere. The needle will be taped. The electrical current will be set by the subject and the mA will be recorded. A 30 minute stimulation session will be given at 20 Hz.

    Also known as: Neuromodulation system, Medtronic Device Model # 3533, stimulator model NURO 100

  • DeviceSham

    A needle will be inserted into the lower extremity approximately 5 cm cephalad from the medial malleolus and posterior to the tibia. A sham needle will be used a the tibial nerve insertion site. This will stimulate needle placement without puncturing the skin. The needle will be taped in place. The "grounding pad" from the transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) unit device will be placed on the bottom of the foot below the smallest toe. Another electrode will be placed on the top of the foot above the small toe for conduction. The TENS electrode will be connected to the TENS unit, at 20 Hz (the same as the PTNS group). The unit will be turned on and the stimulation will be increased to the subject's first sensory level. The subject will sense stimulation to either the bottom of the foot or the toe. the TENS unit will be on for a 30 minute test period. The TENS unit will be removed and the needle will be discarded.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Count of Participants With Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PG-I) Score = 1 or 2

    A single item questionnaire assessing overall impression of improvement over time at the initial 12 weeks endpoint. Patients are asked to describe their condition compared to how it was before intervention on a scale from 1 to 7: Very much better = 1 Much better = 2 A little better = 3 No change = 4 A little worse = 5 Much worse = 6 Very much worse = 7

    Time frame: 12 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Visual Analog Scale (VAS)

    Quality of Life Scores

    Time frame: 12 Weeks

  2. O'Leary-Sant Pain Scores

    pain intensity, location of pain and associated symptoms

    Time frame: 12 weeks

  3. Over Active Bladder-Questionnaire (OAB-Q)

    This will allow for evaluation of subjects with concomitant overactive bladder and painful bladder syndrome characteristics.

    Time frame: 12 Weeks

  4. The SF-12 (Short Form) Health Scale

    Used to evaluate quality of life of each subject at the three analysis intervals.

    Time frame: 12 Weeks

07

Results

Posted Jan 26, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePost Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham Group
Started1822
Completed1118
Not completed74
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up42
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject32

Outcome measures

PrimaryCount of Participants With Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PG-I) Score = 1 or 2

A single item questionnaire assessing overall impression of improvement over time at the initial 12 weeks endpoint. Patients are asked to describe their condition compared to how it was before intervention on a scale from 1 to 7: Very much better = 1 Much better = 2 A little better = 3 No change = 4 A little worse = 5 Much worse = 6 Very much worse = 7

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Count of Participants With Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PG-I) Score = 1 or 2
ParticipantsPost Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham Group
Count of Participants With Patient Global Impression of Improvement (PG-I) Score = 1 or 224
SecondaryVisual Analog Scale (VAS)

Quality of Life Scores

Time frame:
12 Weeks

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryO'Leary-Sant Pain Scores

pain intensity, location of pain and associated symptoms

Time frame:
12 weeks

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOver Active Bladder-Questionnaire (OAB-Q)

This will allow for evaluation of subjects with concomitant overactive bladder and painful bladder syndrome characteristics.

Time frame:
12 Weeks

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryThe SF-12 (Short Form) Health Scale

Used to evaluate quality of life of each subject at the three analysis intervals.

Time frame:
12 Weeks

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over 12 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)0/18 (0%)0/18 (0%)0/18 (0%)
Sham Group0/22 (0%)0/22 (0%)0/22 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham GroupTotal
Mean50.7 ± 18.351.7 ± 18.251.2 ± 18.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham GroupTotal
Female182240
Male000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino325
Not Hispanic or Latino152035
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White141731
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported459
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Post Tibial Nerve Stimulation Group (PTNS)Sham GroupTotal
United States182240
08

Study locations

1 site
  • New York University School of Medicine
    New York, New York 10016, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Imamura M, Scott NW, Wallace SA, Ogah JA, Ford AA, Dubos YA, Brazzelli M. Interventions for treating people with symptoms of bladder pain syndrome: a network meta-analysis. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020 Jul 30;7(7):CD013325. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD013325.pub2. PubMed 32734597 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 18, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 26, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02747420
Lead sponsor
NYU Langone Health
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 21, 2016
Start date
Jun 2016
Primary completion
Jan 18, 2019
Completion
Mar 2020
Results posted
Jan 26, 2021
Last update
Jan 26, 2021

Study contacts

Benjamin Brucker, MD
principal investigator · NYU Langone Health

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion