ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02699554Updated May 9, 2022Results posted

Quantifying Patient-Specific Changes in Neuromuscular Control in Cerebral Palsy

An observational study in Cerebral Palsy, sponsored by University of Washington. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 6 Years to 18 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-05-09.

Sponsored by University of Washington · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
55
Ages
6 Years to 18 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Impaired neuromuscular control hinders movement for individuals with cerebral palsy and other neurological disorders. In this research, the investigators are developing new tools to quantify impaired neuromuscular control in cerebral palsy and evaluate changes after one of the most common treatments, orthopaedic surgery. The results from this research will empower clinicians to identify patient-specific factors that contribute to impaired movement and improve treatment and quality of life.

Read the detailed description

The long-term goals of this research are to quantify patient-specific changes in neuromuscular control in order to optimize treatment planning and improve mobility for individuals with cerebral palsy (CP). As a first step, the aims of this proposal are to evaluate neuromuscular control before and after one of the most common treatments for individuals with CP, orthopaedic surgery. The investigators will evaluate if patient-specific measures of neuromuscular control, based upon the framework of muscle synergies, can predict improvements in walking ability after surgery. Further, investigators will determine whether neuromuscular control changes after surgery and if these changes contribute to improvements in movement. To achieve these goal the investigators will implement and test new tools to quantify neuromuscular control which integrate clinical gait analysis and two computational techniques: synergy analysis and dynamic musculoskeletal simulation. This research will provide the foundation to use measures of altered neuromuscular control to inform treatment planning, develop alternative treatments, and improve mobility in CP and other neurologic disorders.

02

Conditions studied

  • Cerebral Palsy

Browse trials for

03

In context

Cerebral Palsy

1,891 studies on the registry are indexed under Cerebral Palsy; 439 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 55 is below the median of 63 across 465 observational studies indexed under Cerebral Palsy.

Browse Cerebral Palsy studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Washington is the lead sponsor of 1,431 studies on the registry; 226 are open to participants now.

Of its 158 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 136 (86%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
6 Years to 18 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

Individuals with cerebral palsy, diplegia subtype, with mild or moderate impairment, Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) Levels I-III, between the ages of 6 - 18.

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Diplegic cerebral palsy
  • Mild or Moderate Impairment, Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) Levels I-III
  • Will receive follow-up care and physical therapy within the Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare system

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Botulinum toxin injections, baclofen, or other similar treatments in the 3 months prior to pre-operative gait analysis
05

Study design

Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
55 participants (actual)
Target follow-up
1 Year
Patient registry
Yes

Groups and cohorts

  • Orthopaedic surgery

    Procedure: Single-event multilevel surgery

Interventions

  • ProcedureSingle-event multilevel surgery
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery

    The Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index (Walk DMC) is a specific measurement calculated from electromyography during gait using nonnegative matrix factorization. A value of 100 indicates complexity of neuromuscular control similar to typically-developing peers and each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from typically-developing peers. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's muscle coordination during gait is two standard deviations below the complexity of unimpaired individuals.

    Time frame: 6-months after individual's orthopaedic surgery

  2. Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery

    The Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index (Walk DMC) is a specific measurement calculated from electromyography during gait using nonnegative matrix factorization. A value of 100 indicates complexity of neuromuscular control similar to typically-developing peers and each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from typically-developing peers. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's muscle coordination during gait is two standard deviations below the complexity of unimpaired individuals.

    Time frame: 1-year after individual's orthopaedic surgery

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Gait Deviation Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery

    The Gait Deviation Index is a specific measurement which uses kinematics measured from instrumented gait analysis to compare an individual's gait pattern to typically-developing controls. A value of 100 indicates kinematics similar to unimpaired individuals while each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from unimpaired gait. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's gait kinematics are on average two standard deviations from unimpaired gait.

    Time frame: 6-months after individual's orthopaedic surgery

  2. Change in Gait Deviation Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery

    The Gait Deviation Index is a specific measurement which uses kinematics measured from instrumented gait analysis to compare an individual's gait pattern to typically-developing controls. A value of 100 indicates kinematics similar to unimpaired individuals while each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from unimpaired gait. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's gait kinematics are on average two standard deviations from unimpaired gait.

    Time frame: 1-year after individual's orthopaedic surgery

07

Results

Posted May 9, 2022
Limitations and caveats
This was a prospective observational cohort study, not a randomized controlled trial. 32 of the 55 participants returned for the 6-month post-operative gait analysis and 46 of the 55 participants returned for the 12-month post-operative gait analysis.

Participant flow

539 children with bilateral cerebral palsy eligible for orthopedic surgery were screened. 122 were invited to participate in the study, 45 did not meet the study criteria, 22 did not respond, and 55 participated in the study.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOrthopaedic Surgery
Started55
Completed46
Not completed9
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up9

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery

The Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index (Walk DMC) is a specific measurement calculated from electromyography during gait using nonnegative matrix factorization. A value of 100 indicates complexity of neuromuscular control similar to typically-developing peers and each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from typically-developing peers. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's muscle coordination during gait is two standard deviations below the complexity of unimpaired individuals.

Time frame:
6-months after individual's orthopaedic surgery
Reported as:
Mean · normalized z-score
Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery
normalized z-scoreOrthopaedic Surgery
Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery-2.4 ± 6.0
PrimaryChange in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery

The Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index (Walk DMC) is a specific measurement calculated from electromyography during gait using nonnegative matrix factorization. A value of 100 indicates complexity of neuromuscular control similar to typically-developing peers and each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from typically-developing peers. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's muscle coordination during gait is two standard deviations below the complexity of unimpaired individuals.

Time frame:
1-year after individual's orthopaedic surgery
Reported as:
Mean · normalized z-score
Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery
normalized z-scoreOrthopaedic Surgery
Change in Walk Dynamic Motor Control Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery-2.7 ± 6.7
SecondaryChange in Gait Deviation Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery

The Gait Deviation Index is a specific measurement which uses kinematics measured from instrumented gait analysis to compare an individual's gait pattern to typically-developing controls. A value of 100 indicates kinematics similar to unimpaired individuals while each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from unimpaired gait. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's gait kinematics are on average two standard deviations from unimpaired gait.

Time frame:
6-months after individual's orthopaedic surgery
Reported as:
Mean · normalized z-score
Change in Gait Deviation Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery
normalized z-scoreOrthopaedic Surgery
Change in Gait Deviation Index 6-months After Orthopaedic Surgery2.8 ± 9.2
SecondaryChange in Gait Deviation Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery

The Gait Deviation Index is a specific measurement which uses kinematics measured from instrumented gait analysis to compare an individual's gait pattern to typically-developing controls. A value of 100 indicates kinematics similar to unimpaired individuals while each 10 point deviation represents one standard deviation from unimpaired gait. Thus, a value of 80 would indicate that an individual's gait kinematics are on average two standard deviations from unimpaired gait.

Time frame:
1-year after individual's orthopaedic surgery
Reported as:
Mean · normalized z-score
Change in Gait Deviation Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery
normalized z-scoreOrthopaedic Surgery
Change in Gait Deviation Index 1-year After Orthopaedic Surgery2.1 ± 8.1

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events data were collected from baseline to the 12-month follow-up visit.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Orthopaedic Surgery0/55 (0%)0/55 (0%)0/55 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Orthopaedic Surgery
Mean10.5 ± 3.1
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Orthopaedic Surgery
Female19
Male36
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Orthopaedic Surgery
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino53
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Orthopaedic Surgery
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American3
White47
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported3
Gait Deviation Index (GDI)
Gait Deviation Index (GDI)(z-score)Orthopaedic Surgery
Mean68.2 ± 12.1
Dynamic Motor Control (DMC)
Dynamic Motor Control (DMC)(normalized z-score)Orthopaedic Surgery
Mean80.5 ± 9.5
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare
    Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol, analysis plan and consent form · Mar 15, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Undecided

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Sep 2015 to primary completion in Sep 2020, 60 months.

Results were first posted in May 2022, 1 year 8 months after primary completion.

Of 209 non-industry observational studies under Cerebral Palsy, half reached primary completion within 20 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 8 and three quarters within 59. This study's 60 months is above that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 213 studies reached it within 20 months; a quarter within 8 and three quarters within 59.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Jan 20, 2016
First posted
Mar 4, 2016
StartActual
Sep 2015
Primary completionActual
Sep 2020
CompletionActual
Sep 2020
Results first posted
May 9, 2022
Last update
May 9, 2022
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 9, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02699554
Collaborators
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare
Responsible party
Katherine Steele (Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering, University of Washington) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 4, 2016
Start date
Sep 2015
Primary completion
Sep 2020
Completion
Sep 2020
Results posted
May 9, 2022
Last update
May 9, 2022

Study contacts

Katherine M Steele, PhD
principal investigator · University of Washington

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion