A Phase 3 interventional study of Melphalan/HDS in Ocular Melanoma and Uveal Melanoma, sponsored by Delcath Systems Inc.. Completed at 22 sites in 9 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-10.
Sponsored by Delcath Systems Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This study will evaluate patients who have ocular melanoma that has spread from the eye to the liver: Patients in the study will be treated with Melphalan/HDS up to 6 total treatments and will be followed until death. This study will evaluate the safety and efficacy of the treatment and how long patients live and how long it takes for the cancer to advance or respond to the treatment.
The study will consist of 3 phases: a screening phase, treatment phase, and follow-up phase.
Screening Phase: Screening assessments will be conducted within 28 days prior to the eligibility date to determine each patient's overall eligibility and baseline characteristics. These assessments will include medical history, physical examination, Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS), 12 lead electrocardiogram (ECG), echocardiogram (ECHO), vital signs, full hematology and biochemistry, Quality of Life questionnaire, radiologic assessments of baseline disease status and concomitant medications.
For patients with a history of liver surgery or major vasculature surgery, an angiogram evaluation of their vasculature will be performed for compatibility for Percutaneous Hepatic Perfusion (PHP) prior to confirming eligibility.
Eligibility date: This is the date on which all screening assessments have been completed and the patient is determined to be eligible for the trial.
Treatment Phase: Eligible patients will be treated with Melphalan/HDS 3.0 mg/kg Ideal Body Weight (IBW) and must begin treatment within 14 days being eligible. Melphalan/HDS treatment, patients will receive up to 6 treatments. Each treatment cycle consists of 6 weeks with an acceptable delay for another 2 weeks before the next planned treatment to allow for recovery of melphalan-related toxicity, if needed. Tumor response will be assessed every 12 weeks (+ 2 weeks) until disease progression. If the patient receives only 1 treatment, the disease assessment scans will be conducted 12 weeks after the date of the first treatment. The assessment scans will be reviewed by an Independent Review Committee (IRC), also referred to as Independent Central Review. At any time when progressive disease (PD) is observed, the patient will be removed from further study treatment and followed until death. Melphalan/HDS treatment will also be discontinued in the event that recovery from treatment related toxicity requires more than 8 weeks from last treatment. An end-of-treatment visit will be conducted approximately 6 to 8 weeks following the final study treatment. Ongoing treatment related adverse events (AEs) at the end-of-treatment visit will be followed until the severity is within one of the following parameters (1) Symptoms are resolved or return to baseline; (2) CTCAE Grade \< 1 or can be explained; (3) patient death. The maximum possible duration of the study treatment for any patient will be 12 months.
Follow-up Phase: Once the patient has completed the end-of-treatment (EOT) visit in accordance with the schedule of events they will enter the follow-up phase. If the disease has not progressed at the EOT (Section 6.2), the patient will need to continue with disease assessment visits every 12 weeks (+ 2 weeks) until disease progression is documented. If the disease has progressed before or at the EOT their follow-up is to be by phone every 3 months for survival status until death.
Patients will be monitored, following the completion of study treatment, for the development of myelodysplasia and secondary leukemia.
103 studies on the registry are indexed under Uveal Melanoma; 38 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 102 is above the median of 42 across 93 interventional studies indexed under Uveal Melanoma.
Browse Uveal Melanoma studies →Delcath Systems Inc. is the lead sponsor of 11 studies on the registry; 2 are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
3 mg/kg ideal body weight of melphalan for infusion administered directly to the liver via percutaneous hepatic perfusion (PHP) over 30 minutes followed by a 30 minute washout. Treatment cycles are to be repeated every 6-8 weeks until disease progression.
Combination Product: Melphalan/HDS
Melphalan (3 mg/kg IBW) with Hepatic Device System (HDS)
Also known as: Alkeran
Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Determined by Independent Central Review Committee.
Objective Response Rate (partial or complete) as determined by Independent Central Review Committee. This is assessed per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR
Time frame: Patients will be assessed for ORR from baseline through completion of treatment. [assessed up to 36 months].
Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Independent Central Review Committee
Duration of Response (DOR) is defined as the time from first documented confirmed response of CR or PR based on RECIST v1.1 determined by the IRC to the first documented progression or death due to any cause. This is determined by MRI and / or CT imaging that is conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that started study treatment.
Time frame: From time of 1st treatment until there is evidence of disease progression [assessed up to 36 months]
Disease Control Rate (DCR) Determined by Independent Central Review Committee
DCR is defined as the proportion of patients with a best overall response of CR of any duration, PR of any duration, or stable disease (SD) for a minimum of 12 weeks from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients). This is determined by the evaluation of MRI and / or CT imaging conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that have received study treatment.
Time frame: ORR will be assessed every 10-14 weeks from the start of 1st treatment and continues until the earlier of either when there is evidence of disease progression or 1 year from 1st treatment up to 12 months.
Overall Survival
Overall Survival will be measured from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the date of death (included all-cause mortality).
Time frame: From the start of the study to the date the patient was last known alive. [assessed up to 36 months]
Progression-Free Survival
PFS is defined as the time from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the first occurrence of disease progression (either hepatic or extra-hepatic), as determined by the Investigator and / or Independent Central Review Committee assessments using RECIST (version 1.1), or death from any cause. Progression is defined using RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
Time frame: From start of study until disease progression. [assessed up to 36 months]
Time to Objective Response (TOR)
TOR will be assessed and the results for median with 95% confidence intervals using Kaplan-Meier time-to-event analysis techniques will be presented. This is determined by the evaluation of MRI and / or CT imaging conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that have received study treatment.
Time frame: From study start through study completion. [Assessed up to 36 months]
Hepatic Progression Free Survival (hPFS)
Hepatic PFS (hPFS) is defined as the time from the eligibility date for the PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the first occurrence of hepatic disease progression, as determined by the Independent Central Review Committee (IRC) on imaging studies using RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause. Progression is defined using RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
Time frame: Assessed from the start of study through evidence of hepatic disease progression [Assessed up to 36 months]
Hepatic Objective Response Rate (hORR) as Determined by Imaging Core Lab
Hepatic Objective Response Rate (hORR), is defined as the proportion of patients with tumor size reduction when evaluating hepatic lesions after study treatment as determined by the IRC using RECIST version 1.1. Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR
Time frame: Assessed from the start of 1st treatment and continues until there is evidence of disease progression in the liver or 1 year from 1st treatment. [Assessed up to 36 months]
Exploratory Analysis for Demographics
Subgroup analysis of Demographic information, including age, gender, race, and ethnicity. This demographic information is collected for all patients at baseline prior to patients receiving any study treatment. It is collected by the study nurse in conversation with the patient.
Time frame: At the beginning of screening assessments for baseline data prior to the patient receiving any study drug.
Percentage of Liver Tumor Involvement
Percentage of liver tumor involvement assessed at baseline with MRI and / or CT imaging and then categorized into two groups: * Extent of liver involvement - 1-25% * Extent of liver involvement - 26-50%
Time frame: At the beginning of screening assessments for baseline data prior to the patient receiving any study drug.
Performance Status
Patients will be assessed for performance status based on the ECOG Performance Status (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) criteria and the results will be presented in percentage. As the protocol requires that only patients with an ECOG performance status of 0 to 1 be eligible for study treatment, the percentage will be given for these 2 categories. * ECOG performance status 1 * ECOG performance status 2
Time frame: At the beginning of screening assessments for baseline data prior to the patient receiving any study drug.
The FOCUS Trial was conducted at large academic institutions in the United States and eight European countries.
| Milestone | Percutaneous Hepatic Perfusion (PHP) |
|---|---|
| Started | 102 |
| Safety population | 95 |
| Completed | 91 |
| Not completed | 11 |
Objective Response Rate (partial or complete) as determined by Independent Central Review Committee. This is assessed per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR
| Percentage of participants | Percutaneous Hepatic Perfusion (PHP) |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 36.3 (26.44 to 47.01) |
Duration of Response (DOR) is defined as the time from first documented confirmed response of CR or PR based on RECIST v1.1 determined by the IRC to the first documented progression or death due to any cause. This is determined by MRI and / or CT imaging that is conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that started study treatment.
| months | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DOR) as Determined by Independent Central Review Committee | 14.00 (8.31 to 17.74) |
DCR is defined as the proportion of patients with a best overall response of CR of any duration, PR of any duration, or stable disease (SD) for a minimum of 12 weeks from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients). This is determined by the evaluation of MRI and / or CT imaging conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that have received study treatment.
| Percentage of PR + CR | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Disease Control Rate (DCR) Determined by Independent Central Review Committee | 73.6 (63.35 to 82.31) |
Overall Survival will be measured from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the date of death (included all-cause mortality).
| months | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 20.53 (16.79 to 25.26) |
PFS is defined as the time from the eligibility date for PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the first occurrence of disease progression (either hepatic or extra-hepatic), as determined by the Investigator and / or Independent Central Review Committee assessments using RECIST (version 1.1), or death from any cause. Progression is defined using RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
| months | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Progression-Free Survival | 9.03 (6.34 to 11.56) |
TOR will be assessed and the results for median with 95% confidence intervals using Kaplan-Meier time-to-event analysis techniques will be presented. This is determined by the evaluation of MRI and / or CT imaging conducted every 12 weeks on all patients that have received study treatment.
| months | Time to Objective Response |
|---|---|
| Time to Objective Response (TOR) | 3.29 (2.86 to 5.59) |
Hepatic PFS (hPFS) is defined as the time from the eligibility date for the PHP-OCM-301A patients (and randomization date for PHP-OCM-301 patients) to the first occurrence of hepatic disease progression, as determined by the Independent Central Review Committee (IRC) on imaging studies using RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause. Progression is defined using RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.
| months | Hepatic Progression-Free Survival (hPFS) |
|---|---|
| Hepatic Progression Free Survival (hPFS) | 13.90 (9.30 to 16.66) |
Hepatic Objective Response Rate (hORR), is defined as the proportion of patients with tumor size reduction when evaluating hepatic lesions after study treatment as determined by the IRC using RECIST version 1.1. Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR
| Participants | Hepatic Objective Response Rate (hORR) |
|---|---|
| Hepatic Objective Response Rate (hORR) as Determined by Imaging Core Lab | 38 |
Subgroup analysis of Demographic information, including age, gender, race, and ethnicity. This demographic information is collected for all patients at baseline prior to patients receiving any study treatment. It is collected by the study nurse in conversation with the patient.
| Percentage of liver tumor involvement | Baseline Extent of Liver Involvement |
|---|---|
| Exploratory Analysis for Demographics | 48.94 ± 38.513 |
Percentage of liver tumor involvement assessed at baseline with MRI and / or CT imaging and then categorized into two groups: * Extent of liver involvement - 1-25% * Extent of liver involvement - 26-50%
| Participants | Baseline Extent of Liver Involvement < 25% | Baseline Extent of Liver Involvement 25% - 50% |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Liver Tumor Involvement | 72 | 19 |
Patients will be assessed for performance status based on the ECOG Performance Status (Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group) criteria and the results will be presented in percentage. As the protocol requires that only patients with an ECOG performance status of 0 to 1 be eligible for study treatment, the percentage will be given for these 2 categories. * ECOG performance status 1 * ECOG performance status 2
| Participants | Eastern Cooperative Group (ECOG) Performance Status 0 | Eastern Cooperative Group (ECOG) Performance Status 1 |
|---|---|---|
| Performance Status | 80 | 9 |
Collected over Serious and Other Adverse Events were collected from first dose until 30 days after last dose (assessed up to June 2021, up to approximately 61 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Melphalan/HDS | 67/91 (73.6%) | 43/95 (45.3%) | 95/95 (100%) |
| Event | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 9/95 |
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 8/95 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 7/95 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 6/95 |
| LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 4/95 |
| Cardiac arrestCardiac disorders | 3/95 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 2/95 |
| HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/95 |
| Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/95 |
| Pulmonary oedemaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/95 |
| Event | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 55/95 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 54/95 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 51/95 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 41/95 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 33/95 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 30/95 |
| International normalised ratio increasedInvestigations | 29/95 |
| Activated partial thromboplastin time prolongedInvestigations | 27/95 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 27/95 |
| Blood alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations | 26/95 |
In this trial there were 102 patients enrolled, 95 patients in which a treatment was attempted, and 91 patients that received study drug treatment.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Enrolled Population | 58.1 ± 11.45 |
| Safety Population | 57.7 ± 11.50 |
| Treated Population | 57.7 ± 11.62 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Female | 50 |
| Male | 52 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Female | 48 |
| Male | 47 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Female | 47 |
| Male | 44 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Enrolled Population - Race — American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — Asian | 0 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — Black or African American | 0 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — White | 96 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — More than one race | 2 |
| Enrolled Population - Race — Unknown or Not Reported | 4 |
| Safety Population - Race — American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Safety Population - Race — Asian | 0 |
| Safety Population - Race — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Safety Population - Race — Black or African American | 0 |
| Safety Population - Race — White | 90 |
| Safety Population - Race — More than one race | 2 |
| Safety Population - Race — Unknown or Not Reported | 3 |
| Treated Population - Race — American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Treated Population - Race — Asian | 0 |
| Treated Population - Race — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Treated Population - Race — Black or African American | 0 |
| Treated Population - Race — White | 86 |
| Treated Population - Race — More than one race | 2 |
| Treated Population - Race — Unknown or Not Reported | 3 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Melphalan/HDS |
|---|---|
| Enrolled Population - Age — <=18 years | 0 |
| Enrolled Population - Age — >18 and <65 years | 69 |
| Enrolled Population - Age — >=65 years | 33 |
| Safety Population - Age — <=18 years | 0 |
| Safety Population - Age — >18 and <65 years | 65 |
| Safety Population - Age — >=65 years | 30 |
| Treated Population - Age — <=18 years | 0 |
| Treated Population - Age — >18 and <65 years | 61 |
| Treated Population - Age — >=65 years | 30 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Delcath Systems Inc.