CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02581787Updated Mar 27, 2024Results posted

SABR-ATAC: A Trial of TGF-beta Inhibition and Stereotactic Ablative Radiotherapy for Early Stage Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Fresolimumab and Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy in Stage IA Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma and Stage IB Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma, sponsored by Maximilian Diehn. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-03-27.

Sponsored by Maximilian Diehn · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
28
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The SABR-ATAC trial (Stereotactic Ablative Radiotherapy and anti-TGFB Antibody Combination) is a phase I/II trial that studies the side effects and efficacy of fresolimumab, an anti-transforming growth factor beta (TGFB) antibody, when given with stereotactic ablative radiotherapy in patients with stage IA-IB non-small cell lung cancer. Fresolimumab may inhibit radiation side effects and block tumor growth through multiple mechanisms. Stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SABR), also known as stereotactic body radiotherapy (SBRT), is a specialized form of radiation therapy that precisely delivers high dose radiation directly to tumors, thus killing tumor cells and minimizing damage to normal tissue. Giving fresolimumab with SABR may work better in treating patients with early stage non-small cell lung cancer than treating with SABR alone.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

Phase 1: Evaluate the safe dose of fresolimumab in combination with stereotactic ablative radiotherapy (SABR) in patients.

Phase 2. Evaluate the rate of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis after SABR plus fresolimumab.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Evaluate potential adverse events in patients receiving fresolimumab plus SABR. (Phase I) II. Evaluate post treatment changes in pulmonary function. (Phase I) III. Evaluate recurrence rates and progression free survival. (Phase I) IV. Assess pharmacokinetics (PK) of fresolimumab in combination with SABR (optional for patient). (Phase I) V. Evaluate the rate and severity of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis after SABR plus fresolimumab. (Phase I) VI. Evaluate the severity of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis after SABR plus fresolimumab. (Phase II) VII. Evaluate potential adverse events in patients receiving fresolimumab plus SABR. (Phase II) VIII. Evaluate post treatment changes in pulmonary function. (Phase II) IX. Evaluate recurrence rates and progression free survival. (Phase II)

OUTLINE: This is a phase I, dose escalation study of fresolimumab followed by a phase II study.

  • Phase 1: A cohort of 5 patients receive the pre-selected dose of 3mg/kg of fresolimumab. If one patient experiences a DLT, an additional 5 patients will be enrolled at 3 mg/kg. If no more patients experience a DLT, then 3 mg/kg will be the dose for the Phase 2 component. If 2 or more patients experience a DLT in the total expanded cohort (or 2 or more patients in the initial cohort experience DLT), then the investigational dose of fresolimumab will be changed to 1 mg/kg. If 2 or more patients in the initial cohort experience DLT before all 5 patients have been enrolled, the remaining patients will receive the lower dose of 1 mg/kg.
  • Phase 2: Patients receive fresolimumab intravenously (IV) on days 1, 15, and 36 and undergo SABR in 4 fractions between days 8 and 12.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 3, 6, and 12 months.

02

Conditions studied

  • Stage IA Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma
  • Stage IB Non-Small Cell Lung Carcinoma
03

In context

Carcinoma

6,741 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma; 1,161 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 28 is below the median of 45 across 5,170 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma.

Browse Carcinoma studies →

Lead sponsor

This is the only study on the registry with Maximilian Diehn as lead sponsor.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Newly diagnosed, histologically proven (or strongly suspected, see below) T1-T2aN0M0 (Stage IA-IB) non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), with maximum tumor diameter =\< 5 cm under consideration for stereotactic ablative body radiotherapy (SABR) as definitive primary treatment
  • Patient judged to be inoperable or at high surgical risk by a board qualified thoracic cancer surgeon who has evaluated the subject within the prior 12 weeks, or the patient's case has been discussed at a multidisciplinary tumor board with a thoracic cancer surgeon in attendance, or a patient who refuses surgery or declines to be evaluated for surgery.
  • Able to give informed consent
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status (PS) 0 to 2
  • Men or women of child bearing potential must agree to use an acceptable method of birth control (hormonal or barrier method of birth control; abstinence) to avoid pregnancy for at least 90 days after last study treatment (radiation or fresolimumab)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Significant anemia (hemoglobin below 9.0 g/dL) or neutropenia (absolute neutrophil count [ANC] \< 1000/mm\^3)
  • Prior history of multifocal adenocarcinoma in situ (ie, classic or pure bronchioloalveolar carcinoma)
  • Prior history of keratoacanthoma (well differentiated squamous cell skin cancer variant, often centrally ulcerated); history of basal cell cancer is allowed
  • Pre malignant skin lesion(s) noted on prescreening skin exam, except for actinic (solar) keratosis
  • Prior radiotherapy overlapping with high dose region of planned SABR course
  • Prior history of head and neck; oral; or bladder cancer
  • Prior receipt of systemic treatment (chemotherapy, targeted therapy, or immunotherapy) for the lesion under consideration of treatment
  • Uncontrolled, inter current or recent illness that in the investigator's opinion precludes participation in the study, including those undergoing therapy for a separate invasive malignancy
  • Contraindication to receiving radiotherapy
  • Known allergy to components of fresolimumab
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding. All women of child bearing potential (last menstrual period within the previous 12 months and not surgically sterile) will be tested for pregnancy at pre entry.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
28 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    (Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg

    Patients receive fresolimumab 3 mg/kg IV on days 1, 15, and 36 and undergo SABR in 4 fractions between days 8 and 12.

    Biological: Fresolimumab · Radiation: Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

  • Experimental
    (Phase 1) Fresolimumab 1 mg/kg

    Patients receive fresolimumab 1 mg/kg IV on days 1, 15, and 36 and undergo SABR in 4 fractions between days 8 and 12.

    Biological: Fresolimumab · Radiation: Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

  • Experimental
    (Phase 2) Fresolimumab

    Fresolimumab will be administered IV at the dose selected in the preceding Phase 1 on Days 1, 15 and 36 and SABR will be administered in 4 fractions between Days 8 and 12.

    Biological: Fresolimumab · Radiation: Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

Interventions

  • BiologicalFresolimumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: Anti-TGF-Beta Monoclonal Antibody GC1008, GC1008, Human Anti-TGF-Beta Monoclonal Antibody GC1008, Immunoglobulin G4, anti-(transforming growth factor beta) (human monoclonal GC-1008 heavy chain), disulfide with human monoclonal GC-1008 light chain, Dimer

  • RadiationStereotactic Body Radiation Therapy

    Undergo SABR

    Also known as: SBRT

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) of Fresolimumab When Combined With SABR (Phase I)

    DLT is defined as CTCAE grade 3 or higher radiation pneumonitis or bronchopulmonary hemorrhage.

    Time frame: Up to 30 days

  2. Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis

    Presence of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis is defined as presence of a moderate-to-severe level of fibrosis. This outcome is primary in phase 2 patients.

    Time frame: 12 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis (Phase 1 Patients)

    Presence of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis is defined as presence of a moderate-to-severe level of fibrosis. This outcome is secondary for phase 1 patients.

    Time frame: 12 months

07

Results

Posted Mar 27, 2024

Participant flow

Phase 1
Participant flow — Phase 1
Milestone(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 1 mg/kg(Phase 2) Fresolimumab
Started500
Received treatment500
Completed radiation400
Completed freso treatments400
Completed 12-month follow-up visit500
Completed400
Not completed100
Phase 2
Participant flow — Phase 2
Milestone(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 1 mg/kg(Phase 2) Fresolimumab
Started0019
Received treatment0018
Completed radiation0017
Completed freso treatments0013
Completed 12-month follow-up visit0013
Completed0012
Not completed007

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) of Fresolimumab When Combined With SABR (Phase I)

DLT is defined as CTCAE grade 3 or higher radiation pneumonitis or bronchopulmonary hemorrhage.

Time frame:
Up to 30 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) of Fresolimumab When Combined With SABR (Phase I)
Participants(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg
Number of Participants Experiencing Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) of Fresolimumab When Combined With SABR (Phase I)0
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis

Presence of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis is defined as presence of a moderate-to-severe level of fibrosis. This outcome is primary in phase 2 patients.

Time frame:
12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis
Participants(Phase 2) Fresolimumab
Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis5
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis (Phase 1 Patients)

Presence of radiation induced pulmonary fibrosis is defined as presence of a moderate-to-severe level of fibrosis. This outcome is secondary for phase 1 patients.

Time frame:
12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis (Phase 1 Patients)
Participants(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg
Number of Participants With Late Radiation Induced Fibrosis (Phase 1 Patients)1

Adverse events

Collected over 12 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg4/5 (80%)0/5 (0%)5/5 (100%)
(Phase 2) Fresolimumab5/19 (26.3%)6/19 (31.6%)15/19 (78.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
Event(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) Fresolimumab
dyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/53/19
anemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/52/19
av blockCardiac disorders0/51/19
upper gastrointestinal hemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders0/51/19
lung infectionInfections and infestations0/51/19
sepsisInfections and infestations0/51/19
dehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/51/19
encephalopathyNervous system disorders0/51/19
mental changes statusNervous system disorders0/51/19
respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/51/19
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 43
Most frequent other events
Event(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) Fresolimumab
musculoskeletal painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/58/19
nauseaGastrointestinal disorders2/51/19
fatigueGeneral disorders2/56/19
coughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/57/19
anemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/55/19
headacheNervous system disorders0/54/19
dyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/54/19
abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders1/51/19
anorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/52/19
pneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/52/19

Baseline characteristics

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) FresolimumabTotal
50-59 years011
60-69 years246
70-79 years3912
80-89 years055
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) FresolimumabTotal
Female3811
Male21113
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) FresolimumabTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino51924
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) FresolimumabTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian022
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander011
Black or African American022
White51419
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)(Phase 1) Fresolimumab 3 mg/kg(Phase 2) FresolimumabTotal
United States51924
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Stanford University, School of Medicine
    Palo Alto, California 94304, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jun 30, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 27, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02581787
Lead sponsor
Maximilian Diehn
Collaborators
Varian Medical Systems
Responsible party
Maximilian Diehn (Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, Stanford University) — Sponsor-investigator
First posted
Oct 21, 2015
Start date
Aug 2016
Primary completion
Mar 2, 2023
Completion
Mar 2, 2023
Results posted
Mar 27, 2024
Last update
Mar 27, 2024

Study contacts

Maximilian Diehn
principal investigator · Stanford Cancer Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion