CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02369458Updated Nov 18, 2025Results posted

Mitomycin C in Patients With Incurable p16 Positive Oropharyngeal and p16 Negative Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma (HNSCC) Resistant to Standard Therapies

A Phase 2 interventional study of Mitomycin-C and Pegfilgrastim in Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck and Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Head and Neck, sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-11-18.

Sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
48
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

No agent is known to have efficacy in patients with incurable HNSCC that progressed with prior platin, 5-FU, cetuximab and taxane. Herein lies the unmet need to be addressed by this trial. Based on the preclinical and clinical data presented, the investigators propose that mitomycin C will have anti-tumor activity in these patients.

02

Conditions studied

  • Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck
  • Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Head and Neck
03

In context

Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

1,680 studies on the registry are indexed under Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck; 539 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 48 is close to the median of 49 across 1,432 interventional studies indexed under Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck.

Browse Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck studies →

Lead sponsor

Washington University School of Medicine is the lead sponsor of 1,765 studies on the registry; 271 are open to participants now.

Of its 324 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 212 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed incurable HNSCC of the oral cavity, oropharynx, larynx, hypopharynx, and/or Level 1-3 neck node with non-cutaneous SCC and unknown primary. "Incurable" is defined as metastatic disease or a local or regional recurrence in a previously irradiated site that is unresectable (or patient declines resection).
  • Progression following platin and immunotherapy given for incurable disease.
  • Measurable disease defined as lesions that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded) as ≥ 10 mm with CT scan, as ≥ 20 mm by chest x-ray, or ≥ 10 mm with calipers by clinical exam per RECIST 1.1.
  • Tissue available (either initial diagnostic or recurrent tissue specimen) for p16 testing.
  • At least 18 years of age.
  • ECOG performance status ≤ 3
  • Adequate hematologic, renal, and hepatic function as defined below:

    • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,000/mcl
    • Platelets ≥ 75,000/mcl
    • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL
    • AST(SGOT)/ALT(SGPT) ≤ 2.5 x ULN, alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 x ULN, unless bone metastasis is present in the absence of liver metastasis
    • Creatinine below ULN (males 0.7-1.30 mg/dl; females 0.6-1.10 mg/dl) OR Creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min/1.73 m2 for patients with creatinine levels above institutional normal
  • Women of childbearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control, abstinence) prior to study entry, for the duration of study participation, and for 1 month after completing treatment. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while participating in this study, she must inform her treating physician immediately.
  • Ability to understand and willingness to sign an IRB approved written informed consent document (or that of legally authorized representative, if applicable).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Other active malignancy with the exception of basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin which were treated with local resection only, carcinoma in situ of the cervix, or synchronous H\&N primaries.
  • Currently receiving any other investigational agents.
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements.
  • Pregnant and/or breastfeeding. Patient must have a negative pregnancy test within 7 days of start of study treatment.
  • Known active central nervous system (CNS) metastases. Subjects with previously treated brain metastases may participate provided they are stable (without evidence of progression by imaging for at least four weeks prior to the first dose of trial treatment and any neurologic symptoms have returned to baseline), have no evidence of new or enlarging brain metastases, and are not using steroids for at least 28 days prior to treatment.
  • A history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to mitomycin C or other agents used in the study.
  • Known HIV-positivity on combination antiretroviral therapy because of the potential for pharmacokinetic interactions with the study drugs. In addition, these patients are at increased risk of lethal infections when treated with marrow-suppressive therapy. Appropriate studies will be undertaken in patients receiving combination antiretroviral therapy when indicated.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
48 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort A: p16+ OPSCC

    * Mitomycin C given on Day 1 every 5 weeks (each cycle is 5 weeks). * Pegfilgrastim will be given on Day 2 of each cycle (subcutaneous injection)

    Drug: Mitomycin-C · Drug: Pegfilgrastim

  • Experimental
    Cohort 2: p16- HNSCC

    * Mitomycin C given on Day 1 every 5 weeks (each cycle is 5 weeks). * Pegfilgrastim will be given on Day 2 of each cycle (subcutaneous injection)

    Drug: Mitomycin-C · Drug: Pegfilgrastim

Interventions

  • DrugMitomycin-C

    Also known as: Mitosol, Mitomycin

  • DrugPegfilgrastim

    Also known as: •Neulasta®, GCSF

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Tumor Response Rate (TRR)

    * TRR will be evaluated separately in p16- (HPV-unrelated) HNSCC patients and in p16+ (HPV positive) OPSCC patients using two optimal two-stage Simon designs. In both cases, the expected TRR is 10%. A TRR of 30% is considered a clinically significant increase. * RECIST 1.1 will be used for this outcome.

    Time frame: Approximately 6 months (median 5.6 months with full range of 0.1-33.7 months)

  2. Tumor Response Rate (TRR) for Participants Enrolled Post October 2020

    * TRR will be evaluated in p16+ (HPV positive) OPSCC HNSCC patients * RECIST 1.1 will be used for this outcome.

    Time frame: Approximately 6 months (median 4.0 months with full range of 0.5-12.0 months)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    * PFS is defined as the duration of time from start of treatment to time of first radiologic confirmation of progression or death, whichever occurs first. * Progressive disease per RECIST 1.1 * Target lesions - At least a 20% increase in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. * Non-target lesions - Appearance of one or more new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Unequivocal progression should not normally trump target lesion status. It must be representative of overall disease status change, not a single lesion increase.

    Time frame: Approximately 6 months (median 5.6 months with full range of 0.1-33.7 months)

  2. Number of Participants With Grade 3/4/5 Adverse Events

    -Using CTCAE Version 3.0

    Time frame: 28 days after completion of treatment (median length of follow-up was 96 days, full range of 3-463 days)

  3. Overall Survival (OS)

    -Defined as the date of first treatment to the date of death, last date alive, or date of patient withdrawal.

    Time frame: Through completion of follow-up (median length of follow-up Cohort A= 6.6 months IQR 2.7-12.0 months, median length of follow-up Cohort B=3.2 months IQR 1.5-9.4 months)

Other outcomes

  1. Quality of Life as Measured by the EORTC QLQ-C30

    -EORTC QLQ-C30: this has a total score, one general QOL, and one "within the last week" subscale, as well as a general health item and a single overall QOL item. This study does not use current empirical guidelines for the EORTC-QLQ-30 global score with the understanding that both the magnitude and variance of scores vary considerably from patient to patient, from one time point to another and by such factors as disease condition, age, and comorbidity. The participants can choose from 1-4 with 1 being Not At All and 4 being Very Much.

    Time frame: Baseline, every 5 weeks, and end of treatment (estimated at 6 months)

  2. Quality of Life as Measured by the Cognitive Failures Questions (CFQ)

    -Cognitive Failures Questions (CFQ) - has 3 subscales describing perception, memory, and motor function. A change in 1 standard deviation will be considered a perceptible difference. The participants can choose a scale from 0-4 with 0 being Never and 4 being Very Often.

    Time frame: Baseline, every 5 weeks, and end of treatment (estimated at 6 months)

07

Results

Posted May 18, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCC
Started3513
Completed3413
Not completed10
Withdrew: Determined to be not eligible10

Outcome measures

PrimaryTumor Response Rate (TRR)

* TRR will be evaluated separately in p16- (HPV-unrelated) HNSCC patients and in p16+ (HPV positive) OPSCC patients using two optimal two-stage Simon designs. In both cases, the expected TRR is 10%. A TRR of 30% is considered a clinically significant increase. * RECIST 1.1 will be used for this outcome.

Time frame:
Approximately 6 months (median 5.6 months with full range of 0.1-33.7 months)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tumor Response Rate (TRR)
ParticipantsCohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCC
Tumor Response Rate (TRR)30
PrimaryTumor Response Rate (TRR) for Participants Enrolled Post October 2020

* TRR will be evaluated in p16+ (HPV positive) OPSCC HNSCC patients * RECIST 1.1 will be used for this outcome.

Time frame:
Approximately 6 months (median 4.0 months with full range of 0.5-12.0 months)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tumor Response Rate (TRR) for Participants Enrolled Post October 2020
ParticipantsCohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCC
Tumor Response Rate (TRR) for Participants Enrolled Post October 20200—
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

* PFS is defined as the duration of time from start of treatment to time of first radiologic confirmation of progression or death, whichever occurs first. * Progressive disease per RECIST 1.1 * Target lesions - At least a 20% increase in the sum of the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. * Non-target lesions - Appearance of one or more new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions. Unequivocal progression should not normally trump target lesion status. It must be representative of overall disease status change, not a single lesion increase.

Time frame:
Approximately 6 months (median 5.6 months with full range of 0.1-33.7 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
monthsCohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCC
Progression-free Survival (PFS)2.2 (1.6 to 3.4)2.1 (1.0 to 3.0)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Grade 3/4/5 Adverse Events

-Using CTCAE Version 3.0

Time frame:
28 days after completion of treatment (median length of follow-up was 96 days, full range of 3-463 days)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Grade 3/4/5 Adverse Events
ParticipantsCohort A: p16+ OPSCC and Cohort B: p16- OPSCC
Number of Participants With Grade 3/4/5 Adverse Events26
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

-Defined as the date of first treatment to the date of death, last date alive, or date of patient withdrawal.

Time frame:
Through completion of follow-up (median length of follow-up Cohort A= 6.6 months IQR 2.7-12.0 months, median length of follow-up Cohort B=3.2 months IQR 1.5-9.4 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival (OS)
monthsCohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCC
Overall Survival (OS)6.6 (3.5 to 9.9)3.2 (1.5 to 9.4)
Other pre-specifiedQuality of Life as Measured by the EORTC QLQ-C30

-EORTC QLQ-C30: this has a total score, one general QOL, and one "within the last week" subscale, as well as a general health item and a single overall QOL item. This study does not use current empirical guidelines for the EORTC-QLQ-30 global score with the understanding that both the magnitude and variance of scores vary considerably from patient to patient, from one time point to another and by such factors as disease condition, age, and comorbidity. The participants can choose from 1-4 with 1 being Not At All and 4 being Very Much.

Time frame:
Baseline, every 5 weeks, and end of treatment (estimated at 6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Other pre-specifiedQuality of Life as Measured by the Cognitive Failures Questions (CFQ)

-Cognitive Failures Questions (CFQ) - has 3 subscales describing perception, memory, and motor function. A change in 1 standard deviation will be considered a perceptible difference. The participants can choose a scale from 0-4 with 0 being Never and 4 being Very Often.

Time frame:
Baseline, every 5 weeks, and end of treatment (estimated at 6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over -Adverse events were collected from start of treatment through 28 days following day of last treatment (median length of follow-up was 96 days, full range of 3-463 days). -Adverse events and all cause mortality were not collected separately by cohort.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort A: p16+ OPSCC and Cohort B: p16- HNSCC47/47 (100%)21/47 (44.7%)47/47 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 24
Most frequent serious events
EventCohort A: p16+ OPSCC and Cohort B: p16- HNSCC
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/47
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders2/47
SepsisInfections and infestations2/47
DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders2/47
Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/47
Injury to carotid arteryCardiac disorders1/47
Pericardial effusionCardiac disorders1/47
Restrictive cardiomyopathyCardiac disorders1/47
Sinus tachycardiaCardiac disorders1/47
Double visionEye disorders1/47
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 105
Most frequent other events
EventCohort A: p16+ OPSCC and Cohort B: p16- HNSCC
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders45/47
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations42/47
FatigueGeneral disorders29/47
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders27/47
HyponatremiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders21/47
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations19/47
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations17/47
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders16/47
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders16/47
HypocalcemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders13/47

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCCTotal
Median61 (45 to 81)61 (54 to 68)61 (45 to 81)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCCTotal
Female156
Male34842
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCCTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino351348
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCCTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American055
White35843
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Cohort A: p16+ OPSCCCohort B: p16- HNSCCTotal
United States351348
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 9, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 18, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02369458
Lead sponsor
Washington University School of Medicine
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 24, 2015
Start date
Apr 14, 2015
Primary completion
Jun 1, 2022
Completion
Nov 1, 2024
Results posted
May 18, 2023
Last update
Nov 18, 2025

Study contacts

Peter Oppelt, M.D.
principal investigator · Washington University School of Medicine

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion