CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02308241Updated Jan 5, 2023Results posted

Ribavirin for Patients With Recurrent/Metastatic (R/M) Human Papillomavirus (HPV)-Related Malignancies

An interventional study of Ribavirin in Human Papillomavirus (HPV)-Related Malignancies and Recurrent/Metastatic (R/M) Human Papillomavirus (HPV)-Related Malignancies, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 6 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-01-05.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
12
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to find out the effects, both good and bad, that a drug called ribavirin has on the patient and the cancer.

Ribavirin has also been studied in clinical trials for patients with various types of cancer. These studies demonstrated that ribavirin can be safely given at higher doses than the dosing that is used as part of the treatment of hepatitis C.

Ribavirin is known to target a protein called "4E" that turns on a central part which causes the cell to grow, called the ribosome. HPV-related cancers often have abnormally high levels of 4E. The purpose of this study is to evaluate if ribavirin may be a useful treatment for patients with advanced cancers that are related to HPV by blocking the activity of 4E.

02

Conditions studied

  • Human Papillomavirus (HPV)-Related Malignancies
  • Recurrent/Metastatic (R/M) Human Papillomavirus (HPV)-Related Malignancies

Keywords

  • Ribavirin
  • Human Papillomavirus (HPV)
  • Recurrent/Metastatic (R/M)
  • 14-211
03

In context

Neoplasms

9,365 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasms; 2,489 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 12 is below the median of 50 across 7,253 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasms.

Browse Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,930 studies on the registry; 328 are open to participants now.

Of its 129 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 66 (51%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Recurrent and/or metastatic HPV-related carcinoma of the cervix, anus, vagina, vulva, penis, or oropharynx. The cancer diagnosis must be confirmed by slide review in the MSKCC Department of Pathology. HPV positive status must be demonstrated by HPV in situ-hybridization (ISH) and/or by p16 immunohistochemistry (IHC).

Note: For cervix squamous cancer, HPV ISH test or p16 IHC test is not required, because all cervix squamous cancers are presumed to be HPV-associated.

  • Adults (≥ 18 years of age)
  • ECOG performance status of 1 or better
  • Measurable disease according to RECIST 1.1 criteria
  • Availability of archived tumor tissue for correlative studies (5 unstained slides)
  • Adequate organ function, as follows:
  • Adequate bone marrow reserve: absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1.5 X 109/L, platelets ≥ 160 X 109/L, hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • Hepatic: total bilirubin within ULN (upper limit of normal); alkaline phosphatase (AP), aspartate transaminase (AST) and alanine transaminase (ALT) ≤ 2.0 X ULN
  • Renal: Serum creatinine ≤ 1.3 mg/dL. Patients with serum creatinine > 1.3 mg/dL may be eligible if creatinine clearance (CrCl) ≥ 55 mL/min based on the standard Cockroft and Gault formula.
  • Ability to swallow oral medication.
  • Patients of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test within 14 days of treatment. Patients must agree to use a reliable method of birth control during and for 6 months following the last dose of study drug.
  • At least one prior systemic therapy regimen for R/M HPV-related carcinoma

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • History of hemolytic anemia or thalassemia
  • Current treatment or known prior treatment with ribavirin
  • Active infection or serious underlying medical condition that would impair the patient's ability to receive protocol treatment.
  • Current therapeutic anticoagulation with Coumadin (warfarin)
  • Known brain metastases
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
12 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ribavirin

    Study subjects will self-administer ribavirin 1400 mg PO BID (total dose, 2800 mg/day). All patients will complete pill diaries to document administration of study drug. Cycle length is 28 days with continuous dosing. Clinic visits for safety assessments and routine laboratory studies will occur weekly in Cycle 1, in weeks 1 and 3 of Cycle 2, and on Week 1 of subsequent cycles. Cross sectional imaging (CT or MRI) is obtained at baseline and q2 cycles and at End-of Treatment (EOT). Response assessments will follow RECIST 1.1 criteria.

    Drug: Ribavirin

Interventions

  • DrugRibavirin

    self-administer ribavirin 1400 mg PO BID (total dose, 2800 mg/day)

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Radiographic Responses, Determined by RECIST 1.1 Criteria

    will be tabulated by adding partial responses and complete responses (CR + PR). The regimen would be considered worthy of further study if radiographic responses are observed in at least 2 of 12 subjects.

    Time frame: 1 year

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Evaluated for Toxicity

    will be tabulated using NCI CTCAE version 4,

    Time frame: 1 year

07

Results

Posted Jan 5, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneRibavirin
Started12
Completed9
Not completed3
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject3

Outcome measures

PrimaryRadiographic Responses, Determined by RECIST 1.1 Criteria

will be tabulated by adding partial responses and complete responses (CR + PR). The regimen would be considered worthy of further study if radiographic responses are observed in at least 2 of 12 subjects.

Time frame:
1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Radiographic Responses, Determined by RECIST 1.1 Criteria
ParticipantsRibavirin
Stable Disease5
Progression of Disease4
Unevaluable3
SecondaryNumber of Participants Evaluated for Toxicity

will be tabulated using NCI CTCAE version 4,

Time frame:
1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Evaluated for Toxicity
ParticipantsRibavirin
Number of Participants Evaluated for Toxicity12

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Ribavirin12/12 (100%)3/12 (25%)12/12 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventRibavirin
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/12
Blood bilirubin increasedInvestigations1/12
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/12
FeverGeneral disorders1/12
SyncopeNervous system disorders1/12
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 42
Most frequent other events
EventRibavirin
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders12/12
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders6/12
Blood bilirubin increasedInvestigations5/12
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders4/12
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations4/12
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations4/12
FeverGeneral disorders3/12
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations3/12
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations2/12
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders2/12

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Ribavirin
Median59 (47 to 69)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Ribavirin
Female4
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ribavirin
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino3
Unknown or Not Reported7
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ribavirin
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White9
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Ribavirin
United States12
08

Study locations

6 sites
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at Basking Ridge
    Basking Ridge, New Jersey 07939, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Monmouth
    Middletown, New Jersey 07748, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center @ Suffolk
    Commack, New York 11725, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Westchester
    Harrison, New York 10604, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering at Mercy Medical Center
    Rockville Centre, New York, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Burman B, Drutman SB, Fury MG, Wong RJ, Katabi N, Ho AL, Pfister DG. Pharmacodynamic and therapeutic pilot studies of single-agent ribavirin in patients with human papillomavirus-related malignancies. Oral Oncol. 2022 May;128:105806. doi: 10.1016/j.oraloncology.2022.105806. Epub 2022 Mar 23. PubMed 35339025 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 19, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 5, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02308241
Lead sponsor
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 4, 2014
Start date
Dec 2, 2014
Primary completion
Mar 25, 2022
Completion
Mar 25, 2022
Results posted
Jan 5, 2023
Last update
Jan 5, 2023

Study contacts

David Pfister, MD
principal investigator · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion