A Phase 3 interventional study of Dupilumab and Placebo (for Dupilumab) in Dermatitis, Atopic, sponsored by Regeneron Pharmaceuticals. Completed at 101 sites in 10 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-11-21.
Sponsored by Regeneron Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel group study to confirm the efficacy and safety of Dupilumab monotherapy in adults with moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis (AD).
1,419 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic; 258 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 671 is above the median of 83 across 1,125 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic.
Browse Dermatitis, Atopic studies →Regeneron Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 400 studies on the registry; 91 are open to participants now.
Of its 120 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 77 (64%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Having used any of the following treatments within 4 weeks before the baseline visit, or any condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, was likely to require such treatment(s) during the first 4 weeks of study treatment:
Treatment with biologics as follows:
Note: The information listed above is not intended to contain all considerations relevant to a participant's potential participation in this clinical trial therefore not all inclusion/ exclusion criteria are listed.
Two subcutaneous injections of Placebo (for Dupilumab) as a loading dose on Day 1 followed by a single injection once weekly (qw) from Week 1 to Week 15.
Drug: Placebo (for Dupilumab)
Two subcutaneous injections of Dupilumab 300 mg (for a total of 600 mg) as a loading dose on Day 1, followed by a single 300 mg injection of Dupilumab qw from Week 1 to Week 15.
Drug: Dupilumab
Two subcutaneous injections of Dupilumab 300 mg (for a total of 600 mg) as a loading dose on Day 1, followed by a placebo alternating with single 300 mg injection of Dupilumab qw from Week 1 to Week 15.
Drug: Dupilumab · Drug: Placebo (for Dupilumab)
Subcutaneous injection alternated among the different quadrants of the abdomen, upper thighs and upper arms
Also known as: REGN668, SAR231893, DUPIXENT®
Subcutaneous injection alternated among the different quadrants of the abdomen, upper thighs and upper arms
Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Score of "0" or "1" and Reduction From Baseline of ≥2 Points at Week 16
IGA is an assessment scale used to determine severity of AD and clinical response to treatment on a 5-point scale (0 = clear; 1 = almost clear; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe) based on erythema and papulation/infiltration. Therapeutic response is an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear). Participants with IGA score of "0" or "1" and a reduction from baseline of ≥2 points at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing IGA scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-75 (EASI-75) (≥75% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-75 responders were the participants who achieved ≥75% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment use were set to missing and participants with missing EASI score at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 16
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥3 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 16
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥3 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percent Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score to Week 16
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 4
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 4 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and subjects with missing peak NRS at Week 4 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 4
Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 2
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 2 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 2 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 2
Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score to Week 16
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percent Change From Baseline in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) Score to Week 16
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-50 (EASI-50) (≥50% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-50 responders were the participants who achieved ≥50% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing EASI-50 scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-90 (EASI-90) (≥90% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-90 responders were the participants who achieved ≥90% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing EASI-90 scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
Time frame: Week 16
Change From Baseline in Percent Body Surface Area (BSA) to Week 16
BSA affected by AD was assessed for each section of the body (the possible highest score for each region was: head and neck \[9%\], anterior trunk \[18%\], back \[18%\], upper limbs \[18%\], lower limbs \[36%\], and genitals \[1%\]). It was reported as a percentage of all major body sections combined.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percent Change From Baseline in the SCORing Atopic Dermatitis (SCORAD) Score to Week 16
SCORAD is a clinical tool for assessing the severity of AD developed by the European Task Force on Atopic Dermatitis (Severity scoring of atopic dermatitis: the SCORAD index). Consensus Report of the European Task Force on Atopic Dermatitis. Dermatology (Basel) 186 (1): 23-31. 1993. Extent and intensity of eczema as well as subjective signs (insomnia, etc.) are assessed and scored. Total score ranges from 0 (absent disease) to 103 (severe disease).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Change From Baseline in Dermatology Life Quality Index (DLQI) to Week 16
The DLQI is a 10-item, validated questionnaire used in clinical practice and clinical trials to assess the impact of AD disease symptoms and treatment on quality of life (QOL). The 10 questions assessed QOL over the past week, with an overall scoring of 0 (absent disease) to 30 (severe disease); a high score was indicative of a poor QOL.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Change From Baseline in Patient Oriented Eczema Measure (POEM) to Week 16
The POEM is a 7-item questionnaire that assesses disease symptoms (dryness, itching, flaking, cracking, sleep loss, bleeding and weeping) with a scoring system of 0 (absent disease) to 28 (severe disease) (high score indicative of poor quality of life \[QOL\]).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Change From Baseline in Hospital Anxiety Depression Scale (HADS) to Week 16
HADS is a fourteen item scale. Seven of the items relate to anxiety and seven items relate to depression. Each item on the questionnaire is scored from 0 (minimum score) - 3 (maximum score) and this means that a person can score between 0 (no symptoms) and 21 (severe symptoms) for either anxiety or depression. Cut-offs for identifying psychiatric distress has been reported as 7 to 8 for possible presence, 10 to 11 for probable presence, and 14 to 15 for severe anxiety or depression.
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percent Change From Baseline in Global Individual Signs Score (GISS) to Week 16
Individual components of the AD lesions (erythema, infiltration/ papulation, excoriations, and lichenification) were rated globally (each assessed for the whole body, not by anatomical region) on a 4-point scale (0= none, 1= mild, 2= moderate and 3= severe) using the EASI severity grading criteria. Total score ranges from 0 (absent disease) to 12 (severe disease).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 16
Percent Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus NRS Score to Week 2
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
Time frame: Baseline to Week 2
Percentage of Participants With Skin Infection Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Requiring Systemic Treatment
Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs. Statistical significance in the hierarchical testing of secondary hypotheses was broken at this endpoint. Therefore, subsequent secondary efficacy endpoints were not tested for statistical significance.
Time frame: Baseline up to Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs) From Baseline Through Week 16
Any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received investigational medicinal product (IMP) was considered an AE without regard to possibility of causal relationship with this treatment. Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs.
Time frame: Baseline up to Week 16
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Leading to Treatment Discontinuation From Baseline Through Week 16
Any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received investigational medicinal product (IMP) was considered an AE without regard to possibility of causal relationship with this treatment. Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs.
Time frame: Baseline up to Week 16
The study was conducted in 10 countries between 28 Oct 2014 and 12 Feb 2016. A total of 917 participants were screened in the study.
| Milestone | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 224 | 224 | 223 |
| Treated | 223 | 223 | 223 |
| Safety population | 222 | 229 | 218 |
| Completed | 184 | 208 | 197 |
| Not completed | 40 | 16 | 26 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 10 | 6 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 11 | 4 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Other than specified above | 18 | 5 | 16 |
IGA is an assessment scale used to determine severity of AD and clinical response to treatment on a 5-point scale (0 = clear; 1 = almost clear; 2 = mild; 3 = moderate; 4 = severe) based on erythema and papulation/infiltration. Therapeutic response is an IGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (almost clear). Participants with IGA score of "0" or "1" and a reduction from baseline of ≥2 points at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing IGA scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Score of "0" or "1" and Reduction From Baseline of ≥2 Points at Week 16 | 10.3 | 37.9 | 37.2 |
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-75 responders were the participants who achieved ≥75% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment use were set to missing and participants with missing EASI score at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-75 (EASI-75) (≥75% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16 | 14.7 | 51.3 | 52.5 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 16 | 12.3 | 40.8 | 40.3 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥3 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 16 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥3 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 16 | 17.2 | 46.8 | 51.7 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
| percent change | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score to Week 16 | -26.8 ± 28.38 | -51.1 ± 28.81 | -49.0 ± 33.45 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 4 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and subjects with missing peak NRS at Week 4 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 4 | 6.1 | 16.0 | 23.4 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]). Participants achieving a reduction of ≥4 points from baseline in weekly average of peak daily pruritus NRS score at Week 2 were reported. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing peak NRS at Week 2 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Improvement (Reduction ≥4 Points) of Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score From Baseline to Week 2 | 3.3 | 9.4 | 9.5 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
| units on a scale | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score to Week 16 | -2.13 ± 2.044 | -3.78 ± 2.325 | -3.72 ± 2.186 |
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD.
| percent change | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) Score to Week 16 | -39.5 ± 33.66 | -73.9 ± 26.28 | -73.8 ± 26.41 |
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-50 responders were the participants who achieved ≥50% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing EASI-50 scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-50 (EASI-50) (≥50% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16 | 24.6 | 68.8 | 61.0 |
The EASI score was used to measure the severity and extent of AD and measured erythema, infiltration, excoriation and lichenification on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper and lower extremities. The total EASI score ranges from 0 (minimum) to 72 (maximum) points, with the higher scores reflecting the worse severity of AD. EASI-90 responders were the participants who achieved ≥90% overall improvement in EASI score from baseline to Week 16. Values after first rescue treatment were set to missing and participants with missing EASI-90 scores at Week 16 were considered as non-responders.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Eczema Area and Severity Index-90 (EASI-90) (≥90% Improvement From Baseline) at Week 16 | 7.6 | 35.7 | 33.2 |
BSA affected by AD was assessed for each section of the body (the possible highest score for each region was: head and neck \[9%\], anterior trunk \[18%\], back \[18%\], upper limbs \[18%\], lower limbs \[36%\], and genitals \[1%\]). It was reported as a percentage of all major body sections combined.
| percentage of body surface area | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Percent Body Surface Area (BSA) to Week 16 | -17.2 ± 17.381 | -33.72 ± 19.619 | -35.42 ± 19.926 |
SCORAD is a clinical tool for assessing the severity of AD developed by the European Task Force on Atopic Dermatitis (Severity scoring of atopic dermatitis: the SCORAD index). Consensus Report of the European Task Force on Atopic Dermatitis. Dermatology (Basel) 186 (1): 23-31. 1993. Extent and intensity of eczema as well as subjective signs (insomnia, etc.) are assessed and scored. Total score ranges from 0 (absent disease) to 103 (severe disease).
| percent change | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline in the SCORing Atopic Dermatitis (SCORAD) Score to Week 16 | -28.9 ± 24.25 | -57.2 ± 24.03 | -56.7 ± 24.27 |
The DLQI is a 10-item, validated questionnaire used in clinical practice and clinical trials to assess the impact of AD disease symptoms and treatment on quality of life (QOL). The 10 questions assessed QOL over the past week, with an overall scoring of 0 (absent disease) to 30 (severe disease); a high score was indicative of a poor QOL.
| units on a scale | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Dermatology Life Quality Index (DLQI) to Week 16 | -5.6 ± 5.86 | -9.0 ± 6.61 | -8.8 ± 6.79 |
The POEM is a 7-item questionnaire that assesses disease symptoms (dryness, itching, flaking, cracking, sleep loss, bleeding and weeping) with a scoring system of 0 (absent disease) to 28 (severe disease) (high score indicative of poor quality of life \[QOL\]).
| units on a scale | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Patient Oriented Eczema Measure (POEM) to Week 16 | -5.3 ± 6.24 | -11.5 ± 7.07 | -11.3 ± 6.36 |
HADS is a fourteen item scale. Seven of the items relate to anxiety and seven items relate to depression. Each item on the questionnaire is scored from 0 (minimum score) - 3 (maximum score) and this means that a person can score between 0 (no symptoms) and 21 (severe symptoms) for either anxiety or depression. Cut-offs for identifying psychiatric distress has been reported as 7 to 8 for possible presence, 10 to 11 for probable presence, and 14 to 15 for severe anxiety or depression.
| units on a scale | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Hospital Anxiety Depression Scale (HADS) to Week 16 | -2.7 ± 4.40 | -4.8 ± 5.50 | -4.9 ± 5.36 |
Individual components of the AD lesions (erythema, infiltration/ papulation, excoriations, and lichenification) were rated globally (each assessed for the whole body, not by anatomical region) on a 4-point scale (0= none, 1= mild, 2= moderate and 3= severe) using the EASI severity grading criteria. Total score ranges from 0 (absent disease) to 12 (severe disease).
| percent change | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline in Global Individual Signs Score (GISS) to Week 16 | -26.2 ± 25.70 | -52.5 ± 27.33 | -51.1 ± 26.58 |
Pruritus NRS was an assessment tool that was used to report the intensity of a participant's pruritus (itch), both maximum and average intensity, during a 24-hour recall period. Participants were asked the following question: how would a participant rate his itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours (for maximum itch intensity on a scale of 0 - 10 \[0 = no itch; 10 = worst itch imaginable\]).
| percent change | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change From Baseline in Peak Daily Pruritus NRS Score to Week 2 | -4.2 ± 22.77 | -20.4 ± 21.40 | -18.9 ± 28.40 |
Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs. Statistical significance in the hierarchical testing of secondary hypotheses was broken at this endpoint. Therefore, subsequent secondary efficacy endpoints were not tested for statistical significance.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Skin Infection Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Requiring Systemic Treatment | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received investigational medicinal product (IMP) was considered an AE without regard to possibility of causal relationship with this treatment. Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs) From Baseline Through Week 16 | 5.0 | 3.1 | 0.9 |
Any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received investigational medicinal product (IMP) was considered an AE without regard to possibility of causal relationship with this treatment. Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) were defined as AEs that developed or worsened or became serious during on-treatment period (time from the first dose of study drug up to the end of study \[Week 28\]). A serious adverse event (SAE) was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that resulted in any of the following outcomes: death, life-threatening, required initial or prolonged in-patient hospitalization, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, congenital anomaly/birth defect, or considered as medically important event. Any TEAE included participants with both serious and non-serious AEs.
| percentage of participants | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Leading to Treatment Discontinuation From Baseline Through Week 16 | 0.9 | 1.7 | 1.8 |
Collected over All Adverse Events (AEs) were collected from signature of the informed consent form up to the final visit (Week 28) regardless of seriousness or relationship to investigational product.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Placebo | 0/222 (0%) | 12/222 (5.4%) | 97/222 (43.7%) |
| Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | 0/229 (0%) | 7/229 (3.1%) | 92/229 (40.2%) |
| Dupilumab 300 mg qw | 0/218 (0%) | 2/218 (0.9%) | 90/218 (41.3%) |
| Event | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 3/222 | 2/229 | 0/218 |
| Suicidal ideationPsychiatric disorders | 2/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 0/222 | 0/229 | 1/218 |
| Kidney infectionInfections and infestations | 0/222 | 0/229 | 1/218 |
| NephrolithiasisRenal and urinary disorders | 0/222 | 0/229 | 1/218 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| Coronary artery diseaseCardiac disorders | 1/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| Device related infectionInfections and infestations | 1/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| MastitisInfections and infestations | 1/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 1/222 | 0/229 | 0/218 |
| Event | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 66/222 | 35/229 | 21/218 |
| Injection site reactionGeneral disorders | 13/222 | 19/229 | 41/218 |
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 22/222 | 27/229 | 26/218 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 13/222 | 21/229 | 11/218 |
| Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 7/222 | 7/229 | 12/218 |
| Conjunctivitis allergicEye disorders | 3/222 | 12/229 | 8/218 |
Baseline population included all randomized participants.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 39.5 ± 13.91 | 39.8 ± 14.68 | 39.3 ± 14.39 | 39.5 ± 14.31 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 106 | 94 | 81 | 281 |
| Male | 118 | 130 | 142 | 390 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 11 | 6 | 8 | 25 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 212 | 215 | 212 | 639 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 3 | 3 | 7 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 56 | 54 | 51 | 161 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 16 | 10 | 20 | 46 |
| White | 146 | 155 | 149 | 450 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 6 | 5 | 3 | 14 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North and South America | 95 | 95 | 96 | 286 |
| Asia Pacific | 40 | 42 | 38 | 120 |
| Eastern Europe | 23 | 22 | 24 | 69 |
| Western Europe | 66 | 65 | 65 | 196 |
| Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) Score(units on scale) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 34.5 ± 14.47 | 33 ± 13.57 | 33.2 ± 13.98 | 33.6 ± 14.00 |
| Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) Score(units on a scale) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 3.5 ± 0.5 | 3.5 ± 0.5 | 3.5 ± 0.5 | 3.5 ± 0.5 |
| Weekly Average of Peak Daily Pruritus Numerical Rating Scale (NRS)(units on a scale) | Placebo | Dupilumab 300 mg q2w | Dupilumab 300 mg qw | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 7.4 ± 1.77 | 7.2 ± 1.89 | 7.2 ± 2.06 | 7.3 ± 1.91 |
6 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Showing the first 100 of 101 sites across 10 countries.
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals