CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02224924Updated Jan 30, 2024Results posted

Effect of Autologous Blood Patch Injection Versus BioSentry Hydrogel Tract Plug in the Reduction of Pneumothorax Risk Following Lung Biopsy Procedures

A Phase 3 interventional study of ABPI and BioSentry (formerly known as Bio-Seal) hydrogel Tract Plug in Lung Biopsy, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-01-30.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
454
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to compare two methods that are currently used at the end of a CT guided lung biopsy to close the hole on the surface of the lung in order to minimize the chance of air leaking out of the hole. The two techniques consist of either injecting a very small amount of your the blood called a blood patch into the biopsy hole or injecting a gel-based FDA approved artificial plug called BioSentry that will eventually get absorbed into the body.

Read the detailed description

This study will determine the rate of all pneumothoraces and those pneumothoraces requiring treatment following percutaneous lung biopsy in patients who have received ABPI or BioSentry at the end of the biopsy procedure. The data collected will be used to determine if there is equal effectiveness in the reduction of pneumothorax rates from both interventions.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lung Biopsy

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Experimental: autologous blood patch injection (ABPI)
  • Experimental: BioSentry (formerly known as Bio-Seal) hydrogel Tract Plug
  • 14-141
03

In context

Pneumothorax

178 studies on the registry are indexed under Pneumothorax; 42 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 454 is above the median of 100 across 115 interventional studies indexed under Pneumothorax.

Browse Pneumothorax studies →

Lead sponsor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,930 studies on the registry; 328 are open to participants now.

Of its 129 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 66 (51%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • ≥18 years of age
  • Referred for CT guided biopsy of lung lesion
  • Target lesion of any size
  • Target lesion located 1.5 cm or more away from visceral pleura based on the needle path
  • Skin thickness ≤7 cm (from skin to pleura)
  • Needle path without transgression of pleural fissure bleb, or bulla is possible
  • Coaxial biopsy technique using Angiotech 19-Gauge introducer needle
  • Needle length ≤15

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Passage through non-aerated lung or tissue
  • More than 1 biopsy on the same side requiring more than 1 pleural puncture
  • History of prior ipsilateral lung interventions including:
  • Chest tube placement
  • Surgery
  • Pleurodesis
  • Radiation treatment
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Single (Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
454 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    autologous blood patch injection (ABPI)

    Other: ABPI

  • Experimental
    BioSentry (formerly known as Bio-Seal) hydrogel Tract Plug

    Device: BioSentry (formerly known as Bio-Seal) hydrogel Tract Plug

Interventions

  • OtherABPI

    If the patient was assigned to the ABPI group, a blood patch will be administered using the clotted blood in the syringe obtained at the beginning of the procedure. The guiding needle will be retracted up to 1.5-2 cm from the pleural surface, and the blood will be injected steadily and gently as the needle is pulled back out of the pleura. Injection will stop when the operator feels the needle is in subcutaneous tissues.

  • DeviceBioSentry (formerly known as Bio-Seal) hydrogel Tract Plug

    If the patient is assigned to BioSentry group, using the manufacturer's deployment device the introducer needle is positioned so that the tip is at least 1.5 cm deep to the visceral pleura. The coaxial introducer needle hub will be prehydrated with a drop of saline, the BioSentry plug housing will be mated and locked to the hub and the plug will be deployed.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. the Rate of Pneumothorax

    within 2 hours following biopsy. Pneumothorax is observed on post procedure CT scan or on follow-up chest radiographs while the patient is in the recovery room, according to standard of care.

    Time frame: 2 hours post procedure

07

Results

Posted Jan 30, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAutologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract Plug
Started226228
Completed156162
Not completed7066
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject76
Withdrew: Biopsy cancelled2014
Withdrew: Intra procedural exclusion - sealant deployed2311
Withdrew: Intra procedural exclusion - sealant not deployed2035

Outcome measures

Primarythe Rate of Pneumothorax

within 2 hours following biopsy. Pneumothorax is observed on post procedure CT scan or on follow-up chest radiographs while the patient is in the recovery room, according to standard of care.

Time frame:
2 hours post procedure
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
the Rate of Pneumothorax
ParticipantsAutologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract Plug
Experienced pneumothorax within 2 hours post procedure4260
Did not experience pneumothorax within 2 hours post procedure184168

Adverse events

Collected over 2 weeks post procedure. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)0/226 (0%)0/226 (0%)0/226 (0%)
BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract Plug0/228 (0%)0/228 (0%)0/228 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract PlugTotal
Mean66.8 (32 to 92)67 (24 to 93)67 (24 to 93)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract PlugTotal
Female124127251
Male102100202
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract PlugTotal
Hispanic or Latino111021
Not Hispanic or Latino164164328
Unknown or Not Reported5153104
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract PlugTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian131225
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander101
Black or African American111021
White188190378
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported121527
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Autologous Blood Patch Injection (ABPI)BioSentry (Formerly Known as Bio-Seal) Hydrogel Tract PlugTotal
United States226227453
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Westchester
    Harrison, New York 10604, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Maybody M, Muallem N, Brown KT, Moskowitz CS, Hsu M, Zenobi CL, Jihad M, Getrajdman GI, Sofocleous CT, Erinjeri JP, Covey AM, Brody LA, Yarmohammadi H, Deipolyi AR, Bryce Y, Alago W, Siegelbaum RH, Durack JC, Gonzalez-Aguirre AJ, Ziv E, Boas FE, Solomon SB. Autologous Blood Patch Injection versus Hydrogel Plug in CT-guided Lung Biopsy: A Prospective Randomized Trial. Radiology. 2019 Feb;290(2):547-554. doi: 10.1148/radiol.2018181140. Epub 2018 Nov 27. PubMed 30480487 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jan 18, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 30, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02224924
Lead sponsor
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 25, 2014
Start date
Aug 21, 2014
Primary completion
Jan 11, 2023
Completion
Jan 11, 2023
Results posted
Jan 30, 2024
Last update
Jan 30, 2024

Study contacts

Amgad Moussa, MD
principal investigator · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion