A Phase 2 interventional study of FOLFIRINOX in Resectable Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma, sponsored by Indiana University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-04-19.
Sponsored by Indiana University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The primary objective of this study is to evaluate the rate of pathologic complete response to neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX in patients with resectable pancreatic cancer using a tissue collection component.
2,004 studies on the registry are indexed under Adenocarcinoma; 374 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 48 is close to the median of 45 across 1,553 interventional studies indexed under Adenocarcinoma.
Browse Adenocarcinoma studies →Indiana University is the lead sponsor of 958 studies on the registry; 200 are open to participants now.
Of its 142 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 112 (79%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Patients must to have tumor tissue collected prior to enrolling on this trial. Up to 10 patients will be accepted with no pre-treatment research tissue collection or tissue collection from an outside institution.
a.If the tissue is from an outside institution, it must be reviewed at Indiana University Health Pathology Department if a biopsy was performed outside of this institution.
Women of childbearing potential definition (WOCBP) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test performed within 14 days prior to initiation of FOLFIRINOX.
Any woman (regardless of sexual orientation, having undergone a tubal ligation, or remaining celibate by choice) is classified as WOCBP if she meets the following criteria:
Patients must have adequate organ function as defined by the following laboratory values at study entry:
Exclusion Criteria:
FOLFIRINOX consists of the following combination of drugs: 1. Oxaliplatin, 85 mg/m2, IV over 2 hours prior to irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 2. Leucovorin, 400 mg/m2, IV over 2 hours with irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 3. Irinotecan, 180 mg/m2, IV over 90 minutes with leucovorin, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 4. 5 FU, 400 mg/m2, IV bolus over 2 minutes after irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle. 5. 5FU, 2400 mg/m2, IV infusion over 46 hours after 5FU bolus injection, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle.
Drug: FOLFIRINOX
FOLFIRINOX consists of the following combination of drugs: 1. Oxaliplatin, 85 mg/m2, IV over 2 hours prior to irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 2. Leucovorin, 400 mg/m2, IV over 2 hours with irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 3. Irinotecan, 180 mg/m2, IV over 90 minutes with leucovorin, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle 4.5 FU, 400 mg/m2, IV bolus over 2 minutes after irinotecan, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle. 5.5FU, 2400 mg/m2, IV infusion over 46 hours after 5FU bolus injection, administered on days 1 and 15 of each 28 day cycle.
Also known as: Oxaliplatin (Eloxatin), Leucovorin, Irinotecan (Camptosar), 5 FU (Adrucil)
Percentage of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response
Pathologic complete response was evaluated using MRI or CT and Evan's criteria for pathologic response following neoadjuvant therapy: I: \<10% to no tumor cells destroyed IIa: 10-50% of tumor cells destroyed IIb: 50-90% of tumor cells destroyed III: \>90% of tumor cells destroyed IIIM: sizable pools of cellular mucin IV: No viable tumor cells (complete pathologic response) IVM: Acellular pools of mucin
Time frame: Up to 4 months
Number of Patients With Treatment-Related Adverse Events Grade 3 or Above
Number of unique patients who had a treatment-related (possible, probable, or definite) adverse event with grade 3 or greater using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0.
Time frame: Every 15 days for approximately 6 months
Percentage of Patients Who Successfully Underwent Surgery After Neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX
The percentage of patients who successfully underwent surgery after neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
Time frame: Up to 4 months
Rate of R0 Resection
The percentage of patients with a final margin status of R0 after resection of their primary tumor and its 95% confidence interval will be provided. R0 resection indicates a microscopically margin-negative resection, in which no cancer cells seen microscopically at the primary tumor site.
Time frame: Up to 4 months
Disease Free Survival
Disease free survival is defined as the time from on study date to evidence of tumor recurrence or death from any cause. Patients who remained alive and disease free were censored at their date of last disease evaluation.
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Overall Survival
Overall survival was defined as the time from on study date to death due to any cause. Patients who remained alive were censored at their last known alive date. The Kaplan-Meier method was used to determine the median and 95% confidence interval.
Time frame: Up to 4 years
Objective Response Rate (Percentage of Patients With Complete Response or Partial Response)
Measured by RECIST v1.1 Complete response: Disappearance of all target lesions Partial response: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum longest diameter The percentage of patients with objective response and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
Time frame: Up to 4 months
Disease Control Rate (Percentage of Patients With Complete Response, Partial Response, or Stable Disease)
Measured by RECIST v1.1 Complete response: Disappearance of all target lesions Partial response: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum longest diameter Stable disease: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for partial response nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter since the treatment started The percentage of patients with objective response and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
Time frame: Up to 4 months
| Milestone | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Started | 48 |
| Completed | 32 |
| Not completed | 16 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 5 |
| Withdrew: Death | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 2 |
| Withdrew: Disease progression | 5 |
Pathologic complete response was evaluated using MRI or CT and Evan's criteria for pathologic response following neoadjuvant therapy: I: \<10% to no tumor cells destroyed IIa: 10-50% of tumor cells destroyed IIb: 50-90% of tumor cells destroyed III: \>90% of tumor cells destroyed IIIM: sizable pools of cellular mucin IV: No viable tumor cells (complete pathologic response) IVM: Acellular pools of mucin
| percentage of participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Percentage of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response | 0 (0 to 0) |
Number of unique patients who had a treatment-related (possible, probable, or definite) adverse event with grade 3 or greater using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0.
| Participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Number of Patients With Treatment-Related Adverse Events Grade 3 or Above | 14 |
The percentage of patients who successfully underwent surgery after neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
| percentage of participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Percentage of Patients Who Successfully Underwent Surgery After Neoadjuvant FOLFIRINOX | 76.7 (64.1 to 89.4) |
The percentage of patients with a final margin status of R0 after resection of their primary tumor and its 95% confidence interval will be provided. R0 resection indicates a microscopically margin-negative resection, in which no cancer cells seen microscopically at the primary tumor site.
| percentage of participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Rate of R0 Resection | 75.8 (61.1 to 90.4) |
Disease free survival is defined as the time from on study date to evidence of tumor recurrence or death from any cause. Patients who remained alive and disease free were censored at their date of last disease evaluation.
| months | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Disease Free Survival | 8.6 (5.1 to 13.4) |
Overall survival was defined as the time from on study date to death due to any cause. Patients who remained alive were censored at their last known alive date. The Kaplan-Meier method was used to determine the median and 95% confidence interval.
| months | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 15.7 (9.1 to 21.7) |
Measured by RECIST v1.1 Complete response: Disappearance of all target lesions Partial response: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum longest diameter The percentage of patients with objective response and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
| percentage of participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (Percentage of Patients With Complete Response or Partial Response) | 17.7 (4.8 to 30.5) |
Measured by RECIST v1.1 Complete response: Disappearance of all target lesions Partial response: At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum longest diameter Stable disease: Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for partial response nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease, taking as reference the smallest sum longest diameter since the treatment started The percentage of patients with objective response and its 95% confidence interval will be provided.
| percentage of participants | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Disease Control Rate (Percentage of Patients With Complete Response, Partial Response, or Stable Disease) | 88.2 (77.4 to 99.1) |
Collected over Up to 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| FOLFIRINOX | 35/48 (72.9%) | 15/48 (31.3%) | 42/48 (87.5%) |
| Event | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/48 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/48 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 3/48 |
| FeverGeneral disorders | 3/48 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/48 |
| Death NOSGeneral disorders | 2/48 |
| Cardiac disorders - Other, specifyCardiac disorders | 1/48 |
| Pericardial effusionCardiac disorders | 1/48 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 1/48 |
| Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders | 1/48 |
| Event | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 29/48 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 23/48 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 21/48 |
| Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders | 16/48 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 10/48 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 10/48 |
| HypokalemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 9/48 |
| Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders | 5/48 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 4/48 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 3/48 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 22 |
| >=65 years | 26 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Mean | 62.9 ± 9.19 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Female | 18 |
| Male | 30 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 47 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FOLFIRINOX |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 |
| Asian | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 3 |
| White | 43 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Indiana University