A Phase 2 interventional study of Asunaprevir and Daclatasvir and Asunaprevir and Daclatasvir with BMS-791325 in HIV-HCV, sponsored by National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC). Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 99 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-05-16.
Sponsored by National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
Chronic hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection is a major public health problem with an estimated 180 million people infected worldwide. In the United States an estimated 4.1 million people are infected and HCV is the principal cause of death from liver disease and leading indication for liver transplantation. Within HIV/HCV co-infected patients, liver disease due to Hepatitis C progresses even more rapidly. While combination of ribavirin (RBV) and pegylated interferon (PEG) in combination with boceprevir/telaprevir is the currently recommended therapy for chronic HCV infection and has superior cure rates compared to PEG+RBV alone in HCV monoinfected patients, treatment is still associated with a high incidence of adverse events (AEs), discontinuations and poor cure rates in several populations. Within the HIV/HCV co-infected population treatment for HCV remains complicated given drug interactions between anti-retrovirals and HCV protease inhibitors, in addition to the extensive side-effects due to PEG +RBV alone. Recent studies have demonstrated that the use of a combination of anti-virals which target HCV without interferon (IFN) can cure HCV, without additional toxicities. These novel therapies that do not rely on an IFN backbone may additionally enhance cure rates in HIV/HCV co-infected, a population which has historically been difficult to cure.
The findings from this study will aid in the understanding of antiviral and host responses and determinants of response to an IFN free regimen in HIV/HCV co-infected patients.
Chronic hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection is a major public health problem with an estimated 180 million people infected worldwide. In the United States an estimated 4.1 million people are infected and HCV is the principal cause of death from liver disease and leading indication for liver transplantation. Within HIV/HCV co-infected patients, liver disease due to Hepatitis C progresses even more rapidly. While combination of ribavirin (RBV) and pegylated interferon (PEG) in combination with boceprevir/telaprevir is the currently recommended therapy for chronic HCV infection and has superior cure rates compared to PEG+RBV alone in HCV monoinfected patients, treatment is still associated with a high incidence of adverse events (AEs), discontinuations and poor cure rates in several populations. Within the HIV/HCV co-infected population treatment for HCV remains complicated given drug interactions between anti-retrovirals and HCV protease inhibitors, in addition to the extensive side-effects due to PEG +RBV alone. Recent studies have demonstrated that the use of a combination of anti-virals which target HCV without interferon (IFN) can cure HCV, without additional toxicities. These novel therapies that do not rely on an IFN backbone may additionally enhance cure rates in HIV/HCV co-infected, a population which has historically been difficult to cure.
This is an open label study to assess the safety, tolerability and efficacy of two regimens for the treatment of HCV, asunaprevir (ASV) 100 mg BID and daclatasvir (DCV) 60 mg daily (selective HCV NS3 and NS5A inhibitors respectively) in 10 HIV/HCV genotype 1b co-infected treatment-naive and treatment experienced individuals and DCV + ASV + BMS-791325 administered as a fixed dose combination (FDC) pill in 20 HIV/HCV GT 1a or 1b coinfected treatment-naive and treatment experienced individuals.
The findings from this study will aid in the understanding of antiviral and host responses and determinants of response to an IFN free regimen in HIV/HCV co-infected patients.
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC) is the lead sponsor of 367 studies on the registry; 27 are open to participants now.
Of its 22 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 18 (82%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Subjects who meet the following criteria are eligible to enter the study:
Women are allowed to participate if they agree to always use at least two forms of birth control. One form must be barrier protection (i.e., condom or female condom) and the other is to meet one of the criteria below:
Non-childbearing potential status (i.e., physiologically incapable of becoming pregnant)
Childbearing potential status women must have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening and agree to use an acceptable form of birth control, such as any of the following:
Men are allowed to participate if they agree to use at least 2 forms of birth control. One form must be barrier protection (i.e., condom or female condom) and the other is to meet one of the criteria below:
Agree to use at least one of the following approved methods of contraception 2 weeks prior to administration of the study drug until the completion of the followup procedures and at least 14 weeks after the last dose of the study drugs:
Chronic GT1b (2DAA arm) or Chronic GT 1 (1a or 1b) (3DAA arm) infection as documented by one or more measurements of serum HCV RNA greater than or equal to 2,000 IU/mL during screening and at least one of the following:
Or
b. Positive HCV RNA test and anti-HCV antibody test results together with a liver biopsy consistent with chronic HCV infection or a liver biopsy performed before Day 0 with evidence of chronic hepatitis C infection disease, such as the presence of fibrosis.
Documented HIV infection (defined by positive Western blot result or detectable HIV viral load), ARV untreated for >8 weeks preceding dosing and having either:
Documented HIV-1 (defined by positive western blot result or detectable HIV viral load) infection on a stable protocol-approved, ARV regimen for greater than or equal to 4 weeks prior to dosing and is expected to continue the current ARV regimen through the end of study with all of the following
a. Raltegrativir plus one of the following
b. Tenofovir and emtricitabine or abacavir and lamivudine
Cirrhosis is defined as any one of the following:
Absence of cirrhosis is defined as any one of the following:
A FibroSUR[trademark] score, within the last year, of \<0.48 and an APRI of \<1.
In the absence of a definitive diagnosis of presence or absence of cirrhosis by the criteria detailed above, a liver biopsy is required. The FibroSURE[trademark]test can be performed and the results can be used to determine the inclusion and exclusion criteria. Patients with Child Pugh B or C cirrhotics are excluded
Contraception
The effects of ASV and DCV on the developing human fetus are unknown. For this reason, men and women of childbearing potential must agree to use adequate contraception as outlined in the inclusion and exclusion criteria prior to study entry and until 5 weeks (women ) and 14 weeks (men) after last dose of study medication. Hormonal contraception is NOT considered an effective form of birth control for female subjects on this study. Oral contraceptives are not as effective in women taking ASV and DCV so women cannot rely on this form of birth control to prevent pregnancy. Females of childbearing-age must have a negative pregnancy test result prior to receiving ASV and DCV. If a woman becomes pregnant or suspects of being pregnant during the course of the study, she should inform the study staff and her primary care physician immediately.
EXCLUSION CRITERIA
Current or prior history of any of the following:
Abnormal hematological and biochemical parameters at screening, unless the test has been repeated and at least one subsequent result is within the acceptable range prior to study drug administration, including:
Need for the use of the following medications from 21 days prior to the start of study drugs through the end of treatment:
Oral treatment with Asunaprevir 100mg (ASV), twice daily, and Daclatasvir 60mg (DCV), once daily, for 24 weeks in HIV/HCV genotype 1b patients
Drug: Asunaprevir and Daclatasvir
Oral treatment with Asunaprevir 200mg (ASV), Daclatasvir 30 mg (DCV) and BMS-791325 75 mg in a fixed dose combination pill (FDC), twice daily, for 12 weeks in HIV/HCV genotype 1a or 1b patients
Drug: Asunaprevir and Daclatasvir with BMS-791325
Oral treatment with Asunaprevir 100mg (ASV), twice daily, and Daclatasvir 60mg (DCV), once daily, for 24 weeks in HIV/HCV genotype 1b patients
Also known as: Asunaprevir (ASV) and Daclatasvir (DCV)
Oral treatment with Asunaprevir 200mg (ASV), Daclatasvir 30 mg (DCV) and BMS-791325 75 mg in a fixed dose combination pill (FDC), twice daily, for 12 weeks in HIV/HCV genotype 1a or 1b patients
Also known as: Asunaprevir (ASV) and Daclatasvir (DCV) and BMS-791325 (Beclabuvir)
The Percentage of Subjects Who Achieve Sustained Viral Response (SVR12) 12 Weeks After the Stop of Treatment Drugs
The primary outcome was the percentage of patients with sustained viral response measured 12 weeks after the stop of treatment. The viral response was assessed by serum HCV RNA concentrations lower than 43 IU/mL - the lower limit of quantification.
Time frame: 12 weeks after stop of treatment
| Milestone | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 20 | 10 |
| Completed | 20 | 9 |
| Not completed | 0 | 1 |
The primary outcome was the percentage of patients with sustained viral response measured 12 weeks after the stop of treatment. The viral response was assessed by serum HCV RNA concentrations lower than 43 IU/mL - the lower limit of quantification.
| Percentage of subjects | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV |
|---|---|---|
| The Percentage of Subjects Who Achieve Sustained Viral Response (SVR12) 12 Weeks After the Stop of Treatment Drugs | 90 | 80 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | — | 3/20 (15%) | 6/20 (30%) |
| HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV | — | 5/10 (50%) | 3/10 (30%) |
| Event | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV |
|---|---|---|
| InfluenzaInfections and infestations | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| MeningiomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders | 1/20 | 1/10 |
| DepressionPsychiatric disorders | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| CholelithiasisHepatobiliary disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| ParanoiaPsychiatric disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| Event | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV |
|---|---|---|
| HypophosphataemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 3/20 | 0/10 |
| BronchitisInfections and infestations | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| Lipase increasedInvestigations | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 0/20 | 1/10 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| PainGeneral disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| Pain in extremityMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| InsomniaPsychiatric disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| Panic disorderPsychiatric disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| Psychotic disorderPsychiatric disorders | 1/20 | 0/10 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 19 | 9 | 28 |
| >=65 years | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 8 | 7 | 15 |
| Male | 12 | 3 | 15 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 15 | 8 | 23 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | HIV/HCV GT-1a/1b, 12 Wks ASV/DCV With BMS-791325 | HIV/HCV GT-1b, 24 Wks ASV/DCV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 12 | 9 | 21 |
| White | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| More than one race | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 1 | 3 |
Plan to share: Yes — NIH Biomedical Translational Research Information System
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center (CC)