A Phase 2 interventional study of Regorafenib and 5-Fluorouracil in Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-05-15.
Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the effects, good and/or bad, of the drug regorafenib with chemotherapy regime (FOLFOX). This is a a Phase II trial that will study if this new treatment is effective and safe in patients with esophagus and stomach cancer.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,930 studies on the registry; 328 are open to participants now.
Of its 129 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 66 (51%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Regorafenib 160 mg daily on days 4 to 10 and days 18 to 24 as four 40 mg coprecipitate tablets + mFOLFOX on Day 1 and Day 15 of each cycle. Each cycle consists of 28 days. All patients will receive systemic chemotherapy with the mFOLFOX regimen and regorafenib. The specific version of the FOLFOX regimen used at MSKCC is mFOLFOX6. mFOLFOX6 will be given on Day 1 of each cycle. Patients will receive Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV (over 120 minutes), leucovorin 400 mg/m2 IV (over 120 minutes), 5-FU 400 mg/m2 IVP, and 5-FU 1200 mg/m2/day CIVI x 2 days, every two weeks. Treatment will be performed on the scheduled day ± 7 days. In case of discontinuation of FOLFOX due to cumulative toxicity and administration as a single agent during the study, regorafenib for patient convenience will be administered 160 mg daily for 3 weeks on/1 week off. The 3 weeks on/1 week off schedule is supported by the single agent regorafenib data in colon cancer and GIST.
Drug: Regorafenib · Drug: 5-Fluorouracil · Drug: Leucovorin · Drug: Oxaliplatin
Also known as: (Bay 73-4506)
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
Time frame: 6 months
Overall Survival (OS)
Overall survival will be measured from the start of treatment to death or last follow-up and will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method
Time frame: 2 years
Overall Response Rate
This is defined as the percentage of patients who have achieved either an objective complete or partial target lesion response that is confirmed on the RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete or partial responses will be confirmed with repeat CT evaluation after 4 weeks.
Time frame: 4 weeks
Participants Evaluated for Toxicity
Adverse events will be determined as per the NCI Common Toxicity Criteria, version 4.0. Toxicity during cycle 1 and subsequent cycles will be reported.
Time frame: 1 year
| Milestone | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Started | 39 |
| Completed | 36 |
| Not completed | 3 |
| Withdrew: Not eligible | 3 |
| percentage of participants | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Progression Free Survival (PFS) | 53 (38 to 71) |
Overall survival will be measured from the start of treatment to death or last follow-up and will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method
| months | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) | 14.2 (8.1 to 20.7) |
This is defined as the percentage of patients who have achieved either an objective complete or partial target lesion response that is confirmed on the RECIST 1.1 criteria. Complete or partial responses will be confirmed with repeat CT evaluation after 4 weeks.
| percentage of participants with CR or PR | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Overall Response Rate | 54 (37 to 70) |
Adverse events will be determined as per the NCI Common Toxicity Criteria, version 4.0. Toxicity during cycle 1 and subsequent cycles will be reported.
| Participants | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Participants Evaluated for Toxicity | 39 |
Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib | 30/39 (76.9%) | 17/39 (43.6%) | 36/39 (92.3%) |
| Event | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 9/39 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 5/39 |
| DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 4/39 |
| FeverGeneral disorders | 4/39 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 4/39 |
| Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders | 3/39 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 3/39 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 3/39 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/39 |
| Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/39 |
| Event | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 31/39 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 28/39 |
| White blood cell decreasedInvestigations | 28/39 |
| Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders | 27/39 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 27/39 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 25/39 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 23/39 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 23/39 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 21/39 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 20/39 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Median | 58 (24 to 77) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Female | 7 |
| Male | 32 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 36 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 3 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 2 |
| White | 31 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 3 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | FOLFOX Plus Regorafenib |
|---|---|
| United States | 39 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center