An interventional study of cryosurgery and radiation therapy in Bone Metastases and Pain, sponsored by Wake Forest University Health Sciences. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-11-14.
Sponsored by Wake Forest University Health Sciences · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
This pilot clinical trial studies cryosurgery and radiation therapy in treating patients with painful bone metastases. Cryosurgery kills tumor cells by freezing them. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays and other types of radiation to kill tumor cells and shrink tumors. Giving cryosurgery together with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To assess the potential for efficacy and safety of combining percutaneous computed tomography (CT)-guided cryoablation and radiotherapy for the palliation of osseous metastases.
OUTLINE:
Patients undergo cryosurgery. Beginning 2 weeks later, patients undergo 1, 10, or 15 fractions of radiation therapy 5 days per week for 1-3 weeks. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 24 hours and weeks 1-2, 4, 12, 18, and 24.
3,517 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasm Metastasis; 885 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 54 across 2,767 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasm Metastasis.
Browse Neoplasm Metastasis studies →Wake Forest University Health Sciences is the lead sponsor of 1,320 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.
Of its 323 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 243 (75%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Pathologically (histologically or cytologically) confirmed metastatic disease with a new tumor involving or abutting bone that has the clinical and imaging features of metastatic disease
Pain must be from one or two painful metastatic sites in the bone (additional less painful metastatic sites may be present)
Exclusion Criteria:
Patients undergo cryosurgery. Beginning 2 weeks later, patients undergo 1, 10, or 15 fractions of radiation therapy 5 days per week for 1-3 weeks. Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Procedure: cryosurgery · Radiation: radiation therapy · Procedure: quality-of-life assessment
Undergo cryosurgery
Also known as: cryoablation, cryosurgical ablation
Undergo radiation therapy
Also known as: irradiation, radiotherapy, therapy, radiation
Ancillary studies
Also known as: quality of life assessment
Pain Level at 24 Hours Before Cryosurgery, as Measured by the BPI
Numerical scores (0-10) from the BPI will be used to measure pain levels. Higher scores denotes worse outcome.
Time frame: 24 hours
Pain Medication Level, Assessed by Changes in Narcotic Medication Usage
Pain medication assessments will be used to quantify any change in narcotic medication usage using the 24-hour morphine equivalent dose.
Time frame: Baseline to 24 weeks
Adverse Events, Graded According to the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0
Time frame: Up to 24 weeks
Pain After Cryosurgery, as Measured by the BPI
Questions #4 (least pain), #5 (average pain), and #6 (right now) from the BPI (reported on 0-10 scale) will be used as the secondary outcome measures. Higher scores denotes worse outcome
Time frame: Up to 24 weeks
Number of Participants Who Survived
Count of participants that survived.
Time frame: Up to 24 weeks post-cryosurgery
| Milestone | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Started | 1 |
| Completed | 1 |
| Not completed | 0 |
Numerical scores (0-10) from the BPI will be used to measure pain levels. Higher scores denotes worse outcome.
| score on a scale | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Pain Level at 24 Hours Before Cryosurgery, as Measured by the BPI | 5 |
Pain medication assessments will be used to quantify any change in narcotic medication usage using the 24-hour morphine equivalent dose.
| mg | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Pain Medication Level, Assessed by Changes in Narcotic Medication Usage | 2 |
| events | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Adverse Events, Graded According to the National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 4.0 | 0 |
Questions #4 (least pain), #5 (average pain), and #6 (right now) from the BPI (reported on 0-10 scale) will be used as the secondary outcome measures. Higher scores denotes worse outcome
| score on a scale | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Least pain | 7 |
| Average Pain | 10 |
| Right now | 2 |
Count of participants that survived.
| Participants | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Survived | 1 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) | 0/1 (0%) | 0/1 (0%) | 0/1 (0%) |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 1 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Female | 1 |
| Male | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 1 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Treatment (Cryosurgery and Radiation Therapy) |
|---|---|
| United States | 1 |
This study is terminated, as verified in Oct 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Wake Forest University Health Sciences