CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01613768Updated Sep 28, 2018Results posted

Eribulin Mesylate in Treating Patients With Recurrent or Metastatic Salivary Gland Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of eribulin mesylate in Recurrent Salivary Gland Cancer, Stage IVA Salivary Gland Cancer and Stage IVB Salivary Gland Cancer, sponsored by University of Washington. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-09-28.

Sponsored by University of Washington · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
29
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Researchers are doing a research study to examine the use of eribulin (eribulin mesylate) in patients with salivary gland cancer. Researchers want to know if eribulin is safe and effective in treating salivary gland cancer.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Evaluate the response rate of eribulin per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) in patients with locally advanced refractory or metastatic salivary gland cancer (SGC).

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Determine the safety and toxicity of eribulin in patients with locally advanced refractory or metastatic SGC.

II. Evaluate the duration of response and time-to-progression.

OUTLINE:

Patients receive eribulin mesylate intravenously (IV) over 2-5 minutes on days 1 and 8. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 30 days.

02

Conditions studied

  • Recurrent Salivary Gland Cancer
  • Stage IVA Salivary Gland Cancer
  • Stage IVB Salivary Gland Cancer
  • Stage IVC Salivary Gland Cancer
03

In context

Salivary Gland Neoplasms

156 studies on the registry are indexed under Salivary Gland Neoplasms; 29 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 29 is below the median of 36 across 133 interventional studies indexed under Salivary Gland Neoplasms.

Browse Salivary Gland Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Washington is the lead sponsor of 1,397 studies on the registry; 225 are open to participants now.

Of its 154 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 132 (86%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have histologically or cytologically documented salivary gland cancers; patients that do not have a salivary gland primary must have one of the following histologies - adenoid cystic carcinoma, mucoepidermoid carcinoma, acinic cell carcinoma
  • Patients must have recurrent and/or metastatic disease that is progressive and not amenable to surgery or curative radiotherapy occurring within 6 months of study entry, as evidenced by: at least a 20% increase in radiographically or clinically measurable disease, appearance of any new lesions, or deterioration in clinical status
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0, 1, or 2
  • Patients with measurable disease per RECIST 1.1 criteria

    • At least one lesion of >= 1.5 cm in long-axis diameter for non lymph nodes or >= 1.5 cm in short-axis diameter for lymph nodes which is serially measurable according to RECIST 1.1 using either computerized tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
    • Lesions that have had radiotherapy must show evidence of progressive disease (PD) based on RECIST 1.1 to be deemed a target lesion
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,500/μL
  • Platelets >= 100,000/μL
  • Creatinine clearance >= 40 mL/min
  • Bilirubin =\< 1.5 upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase =\< 3 ULN; if total ALP is > 3 x ULN (in the absence of liver metastasis) or > 5 x ULN in subjects with liver metastasis AND the subject is known to have bone metastases, then liver ALP iso-enzyme should be used to assess liver function rather than total ALP
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 3 X ULN
  • Women of child-bearing potential (WOCP) and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control or abstinence) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation
  • Life expectancy of > 12 weeks
  • Signed and dated informed consent document indicating that the patient has been informed of all the pertinent aspects of the trial prior to enrollment

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with symptomatic central nervous system (CNS) metastases must have stable disease after treatment with surgery or radiation therapy
  • Second primary malignancy that is clinically detectable or clinically significant at the time of consideration for study enrollment
  • Radiotherapy within 14 days of study treatment
  • Major surgery within 21 days of study treatment; minor surgery within 2 weeks of study treatment; placement of vascular access device and biopsies allowed and is not considered major or minor surgery
  • Treatment with any chemotherapy or investigational agents within 4 weeks of the start of study treatment; subjects must have recovered from toxicities of prior therapy
  • Patients with peripheral neuropathy >= grade 2
  • Significant cardiovascular impairment: congestive heart failure > class II according to the New York Heart Association (NYHA), unstable angina or myocardial infarction within 6 months of enrollment, or serious cardiac arrhythmia (> grade 2)
  • Concomitant severe or uncontrolled medical disease
  • Significant psychiatric or neurologic disorder which would compromise participation in the study
  • Pregnant or breast-feeding females
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
29 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (eribulin mesylate)

    Patients receive eribulin mesylate IV over 2-5 minutes on days 1 and 8. Courses repeat every 21 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Drug: eribulin mesylate

Interventions

  • Drugeribulin mesylate

    Given IV

    Also known as: B1939, E7389, ER-086526, halichrondrin B analog

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Response Rate

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR, summarized using frequencies and percentages.

    Time frame: From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Duration of Tumor Response (Complete (CR) and Partial (PR) Response Only)

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR, reported as median values.

    Time frame: From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.

  2. Time to Progression

    Either 1. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Progressive Disease (PD), \> 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter (SLD) target lesions taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded since the treatment started (nadir) and minimum 5 mm increase over the nadir; or 2. Radiographic progression per treating physician CT or MRI scan review.

    Time frame: From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.

  3. Disease Control Rate (DCR)

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage (compared to baseline) to qualify for partial or complete response (CR or PR) nor sufficient increase (taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at baseline or while on study, whichever is smallest) to qualify for progressive disease (PD); Disease Control Rate (DCR) = CR + PR +SD.

    Time frame: From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.

  4. Toxicity Rates

    Overall percentage of patients experiencing Grade 3 or higher toxicity, graded by National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Toxicity Criteria Version 4.0

    Time frame: Adverse events collected from the time patient received the first dose of study therapy through 36 days following the last dose of study therapy or the start of a new cancer therapy, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post therapy.

07

Results

Posted Aug 10, 2018

Participant flow

Seattle Cancer Care Alliance/University of Washington Phase II open label study enrolled patients at a single site between May 2012 and August 2015.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Started29
Completed29
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryResponse Rate

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR, summarized using frequencies and percentages.

Time frame:
From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Response Rate
ParticipantsTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Complete Response (CR)1
Partial Response (PR)2
Stable Disease (SD)23
Progressive Disease (PD)3
SecondaryDuration of Tumor Response (Complete (CR) and Partial (PR) Response Only)

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR, reported as median values.

Time frame:
From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.
Reported as:
Median · weeks
Duration of Tumor Response (Complete (CR) and Partial (PR) Response Only)
weeksTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Duration of Tumor Response (Complete (CR) and Partial (PR) Response Only)33.7 (24.0 to 77.9)
SecondaryTime to Progression

Either 1. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Progressive Disease (PD), \> 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter (SLD) target lesions taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded since the treatment started (nadir) and minimum 5 mm increase over the nadir; or 2. Radiographic progression per treating physician CT or MRI scan review.

Time frame:
From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.
Reported as:
Median · Weeks
Time to Progression
WeeksTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Time to Progression18.0 (5.7 to 110.9)
SecondaryDisease Control Rate (DCR)

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions and assessed by either CT or MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage (compared to baseline) to qualify for partial or complete response (CR or PR) nor sufficient increase (taking as reference the smallest sum of diameters at baseline or while on study, whichever is smallest) to qualify for progressive disease (PD); Disease Control Rate (DCR) = CR + PR +SD.

Time frame:
From date of first study therapy until date of first documented disease progression or date of death from any cause, unacceptable toxicity or withdrawal of patient consent, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post last dose of study therapy.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Disease Control Rate (DCR)
ParticipantsTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Disease Control Rate (DCR)26
SecondaryToxicity Rates

Overall percentage of patients experiencing Grade 3 or higher toxicity, graded by National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Toxicity Criteria Version 4.0

Time frame:
Adverse events collected from the time patient received the first dose of study therapy through 36 days following the last dose of study therapy or the start of a new cancer therapy, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post therapy.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Toxicity Rates
ParticipantsTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Toxicity Rates14

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events collected from the time patient received the first dose of study therapy through 36 days following the last dose of study therapy or the start of a new cancer therapy, whichever occurred first, assessed up to 36 days post therapy.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)0/29 (0%)3/29 (10.3%)16/29 (55.2%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/29
Pathological spinal fractureMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/29
EpistaxisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/29
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations8/29
Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders7/29
FatigueGeneral disorders4/29
MalaiseGeneral disorders2/29
Creatinine increasedInvestigations2/29

Baseline characteristics

Baseline participant measures are based on total eligible, consented and treated patients.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years15
>=65 years14
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Median63 (23 to 79)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Female9
Male20
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino28
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White26
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Treatment (Eribulin Mesylate)
United States29
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 14, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 28, 2018, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01613768
Lead sponsor
University of Washington
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Renato Martins (Principal Investigator, University of Washington) — Principal investigator
First posted
Jun 7, 2012
Start date
May 8, 2012
Primary completion
Aug 23, 2017
Completion
Aug 23, 2017
Results posted
Aug 10, 2018
Last update
Sep 28, 2018

Study contacts

Renato Martins, MD, MPH
principal investigator · Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion