CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01608061ADvanceUpdated Aug 31, 2020Results posted

ADvance DBS-f in Patients With Mild Probable Alzheimer's Disease

An interventional study of DBS-f on and DBS-f off in Alzheimer Disease, sponsored by Functional Neuromodulation Ltd. Completed at 7 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 45 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-08-31.

Sponsored by Functional Neuromodulation Ltd · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
42
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
45 Years to 85 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The primary objective of this feasibility study is to evaluate the safety of DBS-f in patients with mild Alzheimer's disease by assessing all device and/or therapy related adverse events. The secondary objective is to preliminarily estimate the treatment effect size on the outcomes of interest at 12 months post-randomization. The objectives do not involve formal tests of hypotheses.

02

Conditions studied

  • Alzheimer Disease

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Mild probable Alzheimer's Disease
03

In context

Alzheimer Disease

3,678 studies on the registry are indexed under Alzheimer Disease; 872 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 42 is below the median of 70 across 2,808 interventional studies indexed under Alzheimer Disease.

Browse Alzheimer Disease studies →

Lead sponsor

Functional Neuromodulation Ltd is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
45 Years to 85 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. 45-85 years of age (inclusive)
  2. Probable Alzheimer's disease according to the National Institute of Aging Alzheimer's disease Association criteria.
  3. Must meet certain criteria on cognitive and behavioral rating scales
  4. If female, subjects who are post-menopausal or surgically sterile or willing to use birth control methods for the duration of the study.
  5. An available caregiver willing to participate.
  6. Subject is living at home and likely to remain at home for the study duration.
  7. The subject is currently taking a stable dose of cholinesterase inhibitor (AChEI) medication for at least 60 days

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Must meet certain criteria on cognitive and behavioral rating scales
  2. Current major psychiatric disorder such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder or major depressive disorder based on psychiatric consult at screening visit
  3. History of head trauma in the 2 years prior to signing the consent to participate in the study
  4. History of brain tumor, subdural hematoma, or other clinically significant (in the judgment of the investigator) space-occupying lesion on CT or MRI
  5. Active psychiatric disorder
  6. Mental retardation
  7. Current alcohol or substance abuse as defined by Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-IV-TR)
  8. Contraindications for PET scanning (e.g., insulin dependent diabetes)
  9. Contraindications for MRI scanning, including implanted metallic devices (e.g. non-MRI-safe cardiac pacemaker or neurostimulator; some artificial joints metal pins; surgical clips; or other implanted metal parts), or claustrophobia or discomfort in confined spaces.
  10. Abnormal lab results that, in the opinion of the investigator and/or enrollment review committee, would preclude participation in the study.
  11. Abnormal cardiovascular or neurovascular disorder that, in the opinion of the investigator and/or enrollment review committee, would preclude participation in the study.
  12. Unstable doses of any medication prescribed for the treatment of memory loss or Alzheimer's disease.
  13. Currently prescribed any non-AD medications that, in the opinion of the investigator and/or enrollment review committee, would preclude participation in the study.
  14. Is unable or unwilling to comply with protocol follow-up requirements.
  15. Has a life expectancy of \< 1 year.
  16. Is actively enrolled in another concurrent clinical trial.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
42 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    DBS-f on

    DBS-f on

    Device: DBS-f on

  • Sham comparator
    DBS-f off

    DBS-f off

    Device: DBS-f off

Interventions

  • DeviceDBS-f on

    deep brain stimulation of the fornix

    Also known as: DBS-f system includes:, *Medtronic Activa PC Model 37601 Implantable Neurostimulator (INS), *Medtronic Model 3387 DBS Lead, *Medtronic Model 37085 DBS Extension Kit, *Medtronic Model 3708660 DBS Extension Kit

  • DeviceDBS-f off

    deep brain stimulation of the fornix turned off

    Also known as: DBS-f system includes:, *Medtronic Activa PC Model 37601 Implantable Neurostimulator (INS), *Medtronic Model 3387 DBS Lead, *Medtronic Model 37085 DBS Extension Kit, *Medtronic Model 3708660 DBS Extension Kit

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Acute Safety

    Acute safety will be assessed by estimating the rate of serious device (pulse generator or lead) or procedure related adverse events from the date of implant through the date of randomization, plus serious procedure related events through 30 days post-implant. All subjects undergoing an implant procedure will be included in these rate estimates. The rate and 95% confidence interval will be presented. Analysis is of a timepoint prior to randomization and thus all subjects are analyzed together.

    Time frame: 30 days post implant

  2. Long Term Safety. Not Based on Formal Hypotheses.

    Long-term safety will be assessed by the rate of serious device or therapy related adverse events from the date of randomization through the date of the Month 12 visit. The rate and 95% confidence interval will be presented by randomization group. All subjects randomized will be included.

    Time frame: 12 month

Secondary outcomes

  1. ADAS-Cog 13

    The mean change from baseline (pre-implant) to 12 months will be calculated in each treatment group. The differences between randomized groups in mean change will be calculated, along with corresponding 2-sided, 95% confidence intervals. Instrument is Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive subscale. Scores range from 0 to 85 with higher scores meaning worse outcome.

    Time frame: Baseline and 12 months

  2. CDR-SB

    The mean change from baseline (pre-implant) to 12 months will be calculated in each treatment group. The differences between randomized groups in mean change will be calculated, along with corresponding 2-sided, 95% confidence intervals. The scale used is the Clinical Dementia Rating Scale and the score used is the sum of boxes. The scores for this measure range from 0 to 18 with a higher score indicating a worse outcome.

    Time frame: Baseline and 12 months

07

Results

Posted Aug 31, 2020
Limitations and caveats
While this feasibility trial was randomized it was not designed with formal hypotheses nor was it powered for analyses.

Participant flow

Blinded Period
Participant flow — Blinded Period
MilestoneDBS-f onDBS-f Off
Started2121
Completed2121
Not completed00
Long Term Follow-Up
Participant flow — Long Term Follow-Up
MilestoneDBS-f onDBS-f Off
Started2121
Completed1416
Not completed75
Extension Period
Participant flow — Extension Period
MilestoneDBS-f onDBS-f Off
Started1416
Completed1414
Not completed02

Outcome measures

PrimaryAcute Safety

Acute safety will be assessed by estimating the rate of serious device (pulse generator or lead) or procedure related adverse events from the date of implant through the date of randomization, plus serious procedure related events through 30 days post-implant. All subjects undergoing an implant procedure will be included in these rate estimates. The rate and 95% confidence interval will be presented. Analysis is of a timepoint prior to randomization and thus all subjects are analyzed together.

Time frame:
30 days post implant
Reported as:
Number · participants
Acute Safety
participantsAll Implanted Subject
Acute Safety2 (0.6 to 16.2)
PrimaryLong Term Safety. Not Based on Formal Hypotheses.

Long-term safety will be assessed by the rate of serious device or therapy related adverse events from the date of randomization through the date of the Month 12 visit. The rate and 95% confidence interval will be presented by randomization group. All subjects randomized will be included.

Time frame:
12 month
Reported as:
Number · participants
Long Term Safety. Not Based on Formal Hypotheses.
participantsDBS-f onDBS-f Off
Long Term Safety. Not Based on Formal Hypotheses.0 (0 to 16.1)1 (0.1 to 23.8)
SecondaryADAS-Cog 13

The mean change from baseline (pre-implant) to 12 months will be calculated in each treatment group. The differences between randomized groups in mean change will be calculated, along with corresponding 2-sided, 95% confidence intervals. Instrument is Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale - Cognitive subscale. Scores range from 0 to 85 with higher scores meaning worse outcome.

Time frame:
Baseline and 12 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
ADAS-Cog 13
score on a scaleDBS-f onDBS-f Off
ADAS-Cog 138.0 ± 2.28.0 ± 1.9
SecondaryCDR-SB

The mean change from baseline (pre-implant) to 12 months will be calculated in each treatment group. The differences between randomized groups in mean change will be calculated, along with corresponding 2-sided, 95% confidence intervals. The scale used is the Clinical Dementia Rating Scale and the score used is the sum of boxes. The scores for this measure range from 0 to 18 with a higher score indicating a worse outcome.

Time frame:
Baseline and 12 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
CDR-SB
score on a scaleDBS-f onDBS-f Off
CDR-SB2.5 ± 0.42.6 ± 0.7

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from the time of consent until study exit for each subject. Maximum duration was 48 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
DBS-f on1/21 (4.8%)8/21 (38.1%)19/21 (90.5%)
DBS-f Off0/21 (0%)8/21 (38.1%)17/21 (81%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 20
Most frequent serious events
EventDBS-f onDBS-f Off
SyncopeNervous system disorders1/213/21
FallNervous system disorders1/212/21
Device infectionInfections and infestations2/211/21
UTIInfections and infestations0/211/21
HeadacheGeneral disorders1/210/21
Nausea and vomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/210/21
SeizureNervous system disorders1/210/21
Altered mental statusNervous system disorders1/211/21
Skin infectionInfections and infestations1/210/21
BacteremiaInfections and infestations1/210/21
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 30
Most frequent other events
EventDBS-f onDBS-f Off
HeadacheGeneral disorders6/217/21
ConfusionNervous system disorders3/216/21
DepressionPsychiatric disorders6/214/21
Respiratory InfectionInfections and infestations5/214/21
FallGeneral disorders2/215/21
FatigueGeneral disorders4/214/21
InsomniaGeneral disorders2/214/21
NauseaGeneral disorders4/214/21
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders2/213/21
EpistaxisGeneral disorders3/210/21

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
Median68.1 (51.1 to 79.7)71.3 (48.0 to 78.0)69.9 (48.0 to 79.7)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
Female10919
Male111223
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
Hispanic or Latino022
Not Hispanic or Latino211940
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White212041
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported011
ADAS-Cog 11
ADAS-Cog 11(units on a scale)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
Median17 (13 to 22)17 (12 to 21)17 (12 to 22)
CDR
CDR(Participants)DBS-f onDBS-f OffTotal
0.5131528
1.08614
08

Study locations

7 sites
  • Banner Alzheimer's Institute
    Phoenix, Arizona 85006, United States
  • Banner Research Institute at Sun City
    Sun City, Arizona 85351, United States
  • University of Florida at Gainesville
    Gainesville, Florida 32607, United States
  • Johns Hopkins Bayview
    Baltimore, Maryland 21224, United States
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania: Penn Memory Clinic
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • Brown University
    Providence, Rhode Island 02906, United States
  • Toronto Western Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5T 2S8, Canada
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Lozano AM, Fosdick L, Chakravarty MM, Leoutsakos JM, Munro C, Oh E, Drake KE, Lyman CH, Rosenberg PB, Anderson WS, Tang-Wai DF, Pendergrass JC, Salloway S, Asaad WF, Ponce FA, Burke A, Sabbagh M, Wolk DA, Baltuch G, Okun MS, Foote KD, McAndrews MP, Giacobbe P, Targum SD, Lyketsos CG, Smith GS. A Phase II Study of Fornix Deep Brain Stimulation in Mild Alzheimer's Disease. J Alzheimers Dis. 2016 Sep 6;54(2):777-87. doi: 10.3233/JAD-160017. PubMed 27567810 ↗
  • Ponce FA, Asaad WF, Foote KD, Anderson WS, Rees Cosgrove G, Baltuch GH, Beasley K, Reymers DE, Oh ES, Targum SD, Smith GS, Lyketsos CG, Lozano AM; ADvance Research Group. Bilateral deep brain stimulation of the fornix for Alzheimer's disease: surgical safety in the ADvance trial. J Neurosurg. 2016 Jul;125(1):75-84. doi: 10.3171/2015.6.JNS15716. Epub 2015 Dec 18. PubMed 26684775 ↗
10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 31, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01608061
Lead sponsor
Functional Neuromodulation Ltd
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
May 30, 2012
Start date
May 2012
Primary completion
Jun 2015
Completion
Sep 2018
Results posted
Aug 31, 2020
Last update
Aug 31, 2020

Study contacts

Andres Lozano, MD, PhD
principal investigator · University Health Network, Toronto
Constantine G Lyketsos, MD, MHS, DFAPA, FAPM
principal investigator · Johns Hopkins University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion