CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT01514864Updated Dec 19, 2023Results posted

Trial of Dasatinib in Patients With Advanced Cancers Harboring DDR2 Mutation or Inactivating B-RAF Mutation

A Phase 2 interventional study of Dasatinib in Carcinoma, Non-small Cell Lung, sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb. Terminated at 24 sites in 7 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-12-19.

Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Lack of efficacy and slow accrual
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
19
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to establish whether patients with malignancy harboring a discoidin domain receptor 2 mutation or an inactivating B-RAF mutation will respond to dasatinib.

02

Conditions studied

  • Carcinoma, Non-small Cell Lung
03

In context

Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

6,485 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung; 1,630 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 19 is below the median of 62 across 5,211 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung.

Browse Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung studies →

Lead sponsor

Bristol-Myers Squibb is the lead sponsor of 1,538 studies on the registry; 116 are open to participants now.

Of its 429 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 223 (52%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

For more information regarding BMS clinical trial participation, please visit www.BMSStudyConnect.com.

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion Criteria

  • Diagnosis of advanced malignancy, nonsmall-cell lung cancer (NSCLC) only during stage 1 of accrual.
  • Nonsynonymous mutation of B-RAF or DDR2, defined as follows:.

    i) NSCLC with inactivating B-RAF mutation.

ii) NSCLC with discoidin domain receptor 2 (DDR2) mutation.

iii) Malignancy of other histology with DDR2 mutation or inactivating B-RAF mutation, or NSCLC having a B-RAF mutation that is not functionally characterized.

  • At least 1 target lesion per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors, vol 1.1, on baseline staging evaluation.
  • Disease progression after ≥ 1 prior treatment regimen.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria

  • Pleural or pericardial effusion, Grade >1.
  • QTcF >470 msec (Grade ≥2) or diagnosed congenital long QT syndrome.
  • Absolute granulocyte count \<1500/mm\^3.
  • Hemoglobin level \<10 g/dL.
  • Platelet count \< 75,000/mm\^3.
  • Serum calcium level \<institutional lower limit of normal.
  • Hypokalemia, hypophosphatemia, or hypomagnesemia, Grade >1, despite supplementation.
  • Creatinine >3*institutional upper limit of normal (ULN).
  • Total bilirubin level >1.5*ULN.
  • Alanine transaminase level >3*ULN.
  • Other protocol-defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria apply.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
19 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)

    Participants with nonsmall-cell lung cancer (NSCLC) and an inactivating B-RAF mutation received dasatinib, 140 mg, once daily as a tablet until unacceptable toxicity or disease progression occurred

    Drug: Dasatinib

  • Experimental
    Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)

    Participants with NSCLC and a discoidin domain receptor 2 (DDR2) mutation received dasatinib, 140 mg, once daily as a tablet until unacceptable toxicity or disease progression occurred

    Drug: Dasatinib

Interventions

  • DrugDasatinib

    Tablet, oral, 140 mg, once daily until unacceptable toxicity or disease progression

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Objective Response Rate (ORR)

    ORR is defined as the percentage of patients with best tumor response of either Partial Response (a 30% or greater decrease in the sum of the longest diameter \[LD\] of all lesions in reference to the baseline sum LD) or Complete Response (disappearance of clinical and radiologic evidence of target lesions), according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors.

    Time frame: From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

Secondary outcomes

  1. Duration of Response (DOR)

    DOR is defined as the time from the first assessment documentation of partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) until the first assessment documentation of disease progression.

    Time frame: From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

  2. Overall Survival

    Overall survival is defined as the time from treatment start date to the date of death. If a patient does not die, survival will be censored on the last date the patient was known to be alive.

    Time frame: From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

  3. Progression-free Survival (PFS) Distribution

    PFS distribution is defined as the percentage of patients with no documentation of disease progression at a specified time point. Confidence interval computed using the Brookmeyer and Crowley method

    Time frame: From Day 1 of study treatment to Week 12

  4. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    PFS is defined as the time from treatment start date to the earliest evidence of disease progression or death. Patients who die or whose disease does not progress will be censored on the date of their last tumor assessment.

    Time frame: From Day 1 of study treatment to Week 12

  5. Number of Patients With Death as Outcome, Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Drug-related SAEs, Adverse Events (AEs) Leading to Discontinuation, and Drug-related AEs Leading to Discontinuation

    AE=any new unfavorable symptom, sign, or disease or worsening of a preexisting condition that may not have a causal relationship with treatment. SAE=a medical event that at any dose results in death, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, or drug dependency/abuse; is life-threatening, an important medical event, or a congenital anomaly/birth defect; or requires or prolongs hospitalization. Drug-related=having certain, probable, possible, or unknown relationship to study drug.

    Time frame: From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

  6. Number of Participants With Laboratory Testing Results That Meet the Criteria for Grade 3 or 4 Abnormality

    Grade 1: Mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated. Grade 2: Moderate; minimal, local or noninvasive intervention indicated; limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living. Grade 3: Severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; limiting self care activities of daily living. Grade 4: Life-threatening consequences; urgent intervention indicated. Grade 5: Death related to adverse event. Laboratory values graded by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, volume 3. Hemoglobin, Grade 3: \<8.0 - 6.5 g/dL, \<4.9-4.0 mmol/L, \<80-65 g/L. Alkaline phosphatase, Grade 3: \>5.0-20.0\*upper limit of normal (ULN). Total bilirubin, Grade 3: \>3.0-10.0\*ULN. Calcium, low, Grade 3: \<7.0-6.0 mg/dL, \<1.75-1.5 mmol/L.

    Time frame: From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

07

Results

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Limitations and caveats
The study was terminated due to lack of efficacy and slow enrollment of patients.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)
Started95
Completed00
Not completed95
Withdrew: Disease progression75
Withdrew: Study drug toxicity20

Outcome measures

PrimaryObjective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR is defined as the percentage of patients with best tumor response of either Partial Response (a 30% or greater decrease in the sum of the longest diameter \[LD\] of all lesions in reference to the baseline sum LD) or Complete Response (disappearance of clinical and radiologic evidence of target lesions), according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors.

Time frame:
From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryDuration of Response (DOR)

DOR is defined as the time from the first assessment documentation of partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) until the first assessment documentation of disease progression.

Time frame:
From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall survival is defined as the time from treatment start date to the date of death. If a patient does not die, survival will be censored on the last date the patient was known to be alive.

Time frame:
From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first
Reported as:
Median · Months
Overall Survival
MonthsDasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)
Overall Survival3.06 (0.76 to 6.47)4.21 (0.82 to NA)
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS) Distribution

PFS distribution is defined as the percentage of patients with no documentation of disease progression at a specified time point. Confidence interval computed using the Brookmeyer and Crowley method

Time frame:
From Day 1 of study treatment to Week 12
Reported as:
Median · Percentage of participants
Progression-free Survival (PFS) Distribution
Percentage of participantsDasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)
Progression-free Survival (PFS) Distribution1.41 (0.72 to 1.87)1.38 (0.59 to 2.96)
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

PFS is defined as the time from treatment start date to the earliest evidence of disease progression or death. Patients who die or whose disease does not progress will be censored on the date of their last tumor assessment.

Time frame:
From Day 1 of study treatment to Week 12
Reported as:
Median · Months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
MonthsDasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)
Progression-free Survival (PFS)1.41 (0.72 to 1.87)1.38 (0.59 to 2.96)
SecondaryNumber of Patients With Death as Outcome, Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Drug-related SAEs, Adverse Events (AEs) Leading to Discontinuation, and Drug-related AEs Leading to Discontinuation

AE=any new unfavorable symptom, sign, or disease or worsening of a preexisting condition that may not have a causal relationship with treatment. SAE=a medical event that at any dose results in death, persistent or significant disability/incapacity, or drug dependency/abuse; is life-threatening, an important medical event, or a congenital anomaly/birth defect; or requires or prolongs hospitalization. Drug-related=having certain, probable, possible, or unknown relationship to study drug.

Time frame:
From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Patients With Death as Outcome, Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Drug-related SAEs, Adverse Events (AEs) Leading to Discontinuation, and Drug-related AEs Leading to Discontinuation
ParticipantsDasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)
Death84
Death within 30 days of last treatment31
SAEs74
Drug-related SAEs01
AEs leading to discontinuation72
Drug-related AEs leading to discontinuation20
Drug-related AEs63
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Laboratory Testing Results That Meet the Criteria for Grade 3 or 4 Abnormality

Grade 1: Mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated. Grade 2: Moderate; minimal, local or noninvasive intervention indicated; limiting age-appropriate instrumental activities of daily living. Grade 3: Severe or medically significant but not immediately life-threatening; hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization indicated; disabling; limiting self care activities of daily living. Grade 4: Life-threatening consequences; urgent intervention indicated. Grade 5: Death related to adverse event. Laboratory values graded by Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, volume 3. Hemoglobin, Grade 3: \<8.0 - 6.5 g/dL, \<4.9-4.0 mmol/L, \<80-65 g/L. Alkaline phosphatase, Grade 3: \>5.0-20.0\*upper limit of normal (ULN). Total bilirubin, Grade 3: \>3.0-10.0\*ULN. Calcium, low, Grade 3: \<7.0-6.0 mg/dL, \<1.75-1.5 mmol/L.

Time frame:
From enrollment of last patient to 24 months or until all patients have died, whichever occurs first
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants With Laboratory Testing Results That Meet the Criteria for Grade 3 or 4 Abnormality
ParticipantsDasatinib, 140 mg
Hemoglobin, Grade 32
Alkaline phosphatase, Grade 31
Total bilirubin, Grade 31
Calcium, low, Grade 31

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Dasatinib, 140 mg—11/14 (78.6%)13/14 (92.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 22
Most frequent serious events
EventDasatinib, 140 mg
Malignant neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)4/14
Lung infectionInfections and infestations2/14
Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/14
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/14
Non-small cell lung cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/14
Diverticular perforationGastrointestinal disorders1/14
CholangitisHepatobiliary disorders1/14
Lower respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations1/14
Angina pectorisCardiac disorders1/14
Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders1/14
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 70
Most frequent other events
EventDasatinib, 140 mg
FatigueGeneral disorders7/14
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders6/14
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders5/14
Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/14
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/14
Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders3/14
HeadacheNervous system disorders3/14
Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders3/14
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders3/14
PyrexiaGeneral disorders2/14

Baseline characteristics

All participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years336
>=65 years628
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Median67.0 (51.0 to 75.0)63.0 (50.0 to 73.0)66.5 (50.0 to 75.0)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Female516
Male448
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White8412
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Hispanic/Latino101
Not Hispanic/Latino5510
Not reported303
Time from cancer diagnosis to start of study therapy
Time from cancer diagnosis to start of study therapy(Months)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Median14.4 (6.2 to 21.7)8.5 (1.5 to 51.6)12.1 (1.5 to 51.6)
Tumor Type
Tumor Type(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Nonsmall-cell lung carcinoma9514
Other000
Nonsmall-cell lung carcinoma histology
Nonsmall-cell lung carcinoma histology(Participants)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With Inactivating B-RAF Mutation)Dasatinib, 140 mg (NSCLC With DDR2 Mutation)Total
Adenocarcinoma718
Bronco-alveolar carcinoma101
Large cell carcinoma101
Squamous cell carcinoma044

3 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

24 sites
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer & Research Institute
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Nassau
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • Local Institution
    Barretos, Sao Paulo 14784-400, Brazil
  • Local Institution
    Barretos, Sao Paulo 14784, Brazil
  • Local Institution
    S?o Paulo, Sao Paulo 05403, Brazil
  • Local Institution
    Sao Paulo, 01246-000, Brazil
  • The Ottawa Hospital Cancer Centre
    Ottawa, Ontario K1H 8L6, Canada
  • Local Institution
    Frankfurt, 60488, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Heidelberg, 69120, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Heidelberg, 69126, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Koeln, 50924, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Koeln, 50931, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Gdansk, 80-219, Poland
  • Local Institution
    Lodz, 93-509, Poland
  • Local Institution
    Warsaw, 02-781, Poland
  • Local Institution
    Taipei, 112, Taiwan
  • Local Institution
    Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 2QQ, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    London, Greater London SW3 6JJ, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    Manchester, Greater Manchester M20 4BX, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    Edinburgh, Midlothian EH4 2XU, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    Sutton, Surrey SM2 5PT, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    Cambridge, CB2 2QQ, United Kingdom
  • Local Institution
    Gwent, NP20 2UB, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 19, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01514864
Lead sponsor
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 23, 2012
Start date
May 31, 2012
Primary completion
Jul 23, 2014
Completion
Jul 23, 2014
Results posted
Dec 3, 2015
Last update
Dec 19, 2023

Study contacts

Bristol-Myers Squibb
study director · Bristol-Myers Squibb

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Dec 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion