CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01447446Updated Mar 30, 2017Results posted

An Observational Study on Dual And Triple Therapies Based on Peginterferon Alfa (e.g. Pegasys) in Patients With Chronic Hepatitis C

An observational study in Hepatitis C, Chronic, sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche. Completed at 272 sites in 27 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-03-30.

Sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
4,442
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This prospective, multicenter, observational cohort study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of pegylated interferon alfa (peginterferon alfa) (e.g. Pegasys) plus ribavirin and treatment regimens containing direct-acting antivirals in participants with chronic hepatitis C who are treatment-naïve or treatment-experienced and HIV HCV co-infected. Data will be collected from participants receiving treatment according to current Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) and local labeling for the duration of their treatment and a 24-week follow-up.

02

Conditions studied

03

In context

Hepatitis A

2,709 studies on the registry are indexed under Hepatitis A; 142 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 4,442 is above the median of 250 across 687 observational studies indexed under Hepatitis A.

Browse Hepatitis A studies →

Lead sponsor

Hoffmann-La Roche is the lead sponsor of 2,061 studies on the registry; 85 are open to participants now.

Of its 319 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 239 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Probability sample

Study population

Chronic hepatitis C (CHC) participants (naïve or treatment experienced, including HIV HCV co-infected) receiving combination therapy with pegylated interferons plus ribavirin or treatment regimens containing direct-acting antivirals.

Inclusion criteria

  • Adult (according to local legislation) participants
  • Chronic hepatitis C (HCV)
  • Naive or treatment experienced, HIV-HCV co-infected or HCV mono-infected
  • Receiving treatment for HCV with pegylated interferons plus ribavirin or regimens containing direct-acting antivirals (DAA) according to standard of care and in line with current SPC/local labeling

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Contraindications according to SPC/local labeling
  • Treatment started >4 weeks before entering study
05

Study design

Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
4,442 participants (actual)

Groups and cohorts

  • Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin

    Participants with chronic hepatitis C (CHC) receiving dual therapy (pegylated interferon alfa-2a \[peg-IFN Alfa-2a\] along with ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed up for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a · Drug: Ribavirin

  • Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin

    Participants with CHC receiving dual therapy (pegylated interferon alfa-2b \[peg-IFN Alfa-2b\] along with ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b · Drug: Ribavirin

  • Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin

    Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2a along with ribavirin and boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a · Drug: Ribavirin · Drug: Boceprevir

  • Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin

    Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2b along with ribavirin and boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b · Drug: Ribavirin · Drug: Boceprevir

  • Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin

    Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2a along with ribavirin and telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a · Drug: Ribavirin · Drug: Telaprevir

  • Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin

    Participants with CHC receiving triple therapy (peg-IFN Alfa-2b along with ribavirin and telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling) were followed for the duration of their treatment and for up to 24 weeks after therapy.

    Drug: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b · Drug: Ribavirin · Drug: Telaprevir

Interventions

  • DrugPeg-IFN Alfa-2a

    Peg-IFN Alfa-2a according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

  • DrugPeg-IFN Alfa-2b

    Peg-IFN Alfa-2b according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

  • DrugRibavirin

    Ribavirin according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

  • DrugBoceprevir

    Boceprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

  • DrugTelaprevir

    Telaprevir according to standard of care and in line with local labeling.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)

    SVR24 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR24 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

    Time frame: 24 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)

  2. Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)

    SVR12 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

    Time frame: 12 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Virological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)

    Virological response (VR) for dual therapy participants is defined as HCV RNA \<50 IU/mL as assessed by a qualitative HCV RNA test with a lower limit of detection (LLD) \<=50 IU/mL or as assessed by a quantitative test with a lower limit of quantification (LLQ) \<=50 IU/mL for all time points concerned. Results of HCV RNA tests with LLD and LLQ \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response. VR for triple therapy participants is defined as undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<=50 IU/mL (UVR). Results of HCV RNA tests with an LLD \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response for triple therapy participants.

    Time frame: Week 4, 12 and End of treatment (EOT) (up to 96 weeks)

  2. Virological Relapse After End of Treatment

    Virological relapse defined as non-virological response (non-VR)/non-undetectable virological response (non-UVR) at the last HCV RNA assessment during the treatment-free follow-up period in participants with VR/UVR at EOT. Here, number of participants analyzed is the participants with end of treatment response (EoT-R) who also had an HCV RNA test at least 12 weeks after EoT or whose last follow-up HCV RNA test showed non-response (HCV RNA \>=50 IU/mL).

    Time frame: Up to 24 weeks after EOT (up to 118 weeks)

  3. Virological Breakthrough

    Virological breakthrough/rebound defined as non-VR/non-UVR during the treatment period (including end of treatment) in participants with prior VR/UVR or an increase of HCV RNA by \>=1 log10 during the treatment period in comparison to the lowest HCV RNA (nadir) previously measured during the treatment period in participants without VR/UVR during the treatment period. Here, Number of participants analyzed is the participants with at least 2 on-treatment HCV RNA assessments (including EoT) or 1 on-treatment HCV RNA assessment (excluding EoT) and response at EoT by backward imputation.

    Time frame: Up to EOT (up to 118 weeks)

  4. Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment Interruptions

    SVR 12 and 24 rates for dual therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a qualitative test was used, then the lower limit of detection has to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 and 24 rates for triple therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. Here, number of participants analyzed excluded the participants with premature withdrawal due to lack of efficacy or non-safety reasons and participants without dose reductions or interruptions during the first 99 study days.

    Time frame: Up to first 12 weeks of treatment

  5. Percentage of Participants With Very Rapid Virological Response, Rapid Virological Response, Complete Early Virological Response and Partial Early Virological Response (pEVR) During First 12 Weeks

    Percentage of participants with very rapid virological response (VRVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 2), rapid virological response (RVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 4, but no VRVR), complete early virological response (cEVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 12, but no VRVR or RVR) and partial early virological response (pEVR) (defined as a 2 log10 drop of HCV RNA by study week 12, but no VRVR, RVR or cEVR) were reported.

    Time frame: Up to 12 weeks

  6. Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)

    Extended (rapid) virological response (eRVR) defined as UVR at weeks 4 and 12 for telaprevir, and as UVR at weeks 8 and 24 for boceprevir.

    Time frame: Up to 98 weeks

  7. Duration of Overall Treatment

    Duration of overall treatment was defined as the time between first and last administration of any study drug, in weeks.

    Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

  8. Percentage of Participants Treated According to Label/Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC)

    Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

  9. Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)

    Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported.

    Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment

  10. Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)

    Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported. Participants who discontinued their treatment as planned were included. Here, number of participant analyzed is the total number of participants who received direct-acting anti-viral (DAA).

    Time frame: Up to 72 weeks of treatment

  11. Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline

    Time frame: Baseline

  12. Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)

    An AE was defined as any adverse medical event that occurred after the participant used the investigational medicinal product (IMP) or other intervention behaviors specified by the protocol in the clinical trial regardless of relationship to the study treatment.

    Time frame: Up to 118 weeks

07

Results

Posted Mar 30, 2017

Participant flow

A total of 4442 participants were enrolled in the study, one participant had double enrollment. Out of 4442 participants, analyses were restricted to only core population, which included 4100 participants.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Started23124962929382186
Completed15903311926061054
Not completed7221651003321132
Withdrew: Death632170
Withdrew: Adverse event301020
Withdrew: Failure to return/consent withdrawn35778317699
Withdrew: Insuff. vr/trt too short to expect vr3007152219214
Withdrew: Administrative/other349102334
Withdrew: Svr12 assessment1312155
Withdrew: New treatment started821020
Withdrew: Reason not specified111110

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)

SVR24 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR24 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

Time frame:
24 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 24 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR24)52.1 (50.1 to 54.2)49.4 (44.9 to 53.9)46.6 (40.7 to 52.5)50.5 (40.0 to 61.1)57.7 (54.3 to 61.1)47.7 (36.8 to 58.7)
PrimaryPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)

SVR12 rate for dual therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a quantitative test was used, the lower limit of quantification had to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 for triple therapy participants is defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 weeks post completion of the treatment period.

Time frame:
12 weeks after end of treatment (up to 118 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response at 12 Weeks Post Completion of the Treatment Period (SVR12)54.3 (52.2 to 56.3)51.0 (46.5 to 55.5)50.0 (44.1 to 55.9)53.8 (43.1 to 64.2)62.0 (58.6 to 65.3)57.0 (45.8 to 67.6)
SecondaryVirological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)

Virological response (VR) for dual therapy participants is defined as HCV RNA \<50 IU/mL as assessed by a qualitative HCV RNA test with a lower limit of detection (LLD) \<=50 IU/mL or as assessed by a quantitative test with a lower limit of quantification (LLQ) \<=50 IU/mL for all time points concerned. Results of HCV RNA tests with LLD and LLQ \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response. VR for triple therapy participants is defined as undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<=50 IU/mL (UVR). Results of HCV RNA tests with an LLD \>50 IU/mL were considered as non-response for triple therapy participants.

Time frame:
Week 4, 12 and End of treatment (EOT) (up to 96 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Virological Response at Various on Treatment Time Points and End of Treatment (EOT)
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
VR by Week 439.5 (37.5 to 41.5)40.1 (35.8 to 44.6)9.9 (6.8 to 14.0)9.7 (4.5 to 17.6)49.8 (46.3 to 53.3)51.2 (40.1 to 62.1)
VR by Week 1271.3 (69.4 to 73.2)67.7 (63.4 to 71.8)56.8 (51.0 to 62.6)59.1 (48.5 to 69.2)80.8 (77.9 to 83.4)73.3 (62.6 to 82.2)
VR by EOT73.6 (71.7 to 75.4)70.6 (66.3 to 74.5)67.1 (61.4 to 72.5)72.0 (61.8 to 80.9)74.9 (71.8 to 77.8)66.3 (55.3 to 76.1)
SecondaryVirological Relapse After End of Treatment

Virological relapse defined as non-virological response (non-VR)/non-undetectable virological response (non-UVR) at the last HCV RNA assessment during the treatment-free follow-up period in participants with VR/UVR at EOT. Here, number of participants analyzed is the participants with end of treatment response (EoT-R) who also had an HCV RNA test at least 12 weeks after EoT or whose last follow-up HCV RNA test showed non-response (HCV RNA \>=50 IU/mL).

Time frame:
Up to 24 weeks after EOT (up to 118 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Virological Relapse After End of Treatment
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Virological Relapse After End of Treatment18.4 (16.5 to 20.4)19.7 (15.5 to 24.6)21.0 (15.3 to 27.7)20.6 (11.5 to 32.7)13.8 (11.1 to 16.8)7.5 (2.1 to 18.2)
SecondaryVirological Breakthrough

Virological breakthrough/rebound defined as non-VR/non-UVR during the treatment period (including end of treatment) in participants with prior VR/UVR or an increase of HCV RNA by \>=1 log10 during the treatment period in comparison to the lowest HCV RNA (nadir) previously measured during the treatment period in participants without VR/UVR during the treatment period. Here, Number of participants analyzed is the participants with at least 2 on-treatment HCV RNA assessments (including EoT) or 1 on-treatment HCV RNA assessment (excluding EoT) and response at EoT by backward imputation.

Time frame:
Up to EOT (up to 118 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Virological Breakthrough
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Virological Breakthrough5.4 (4.5 to 6.4)4.8 (3.0 to 7.3)8.7 (5.7 to 12.7)15.9 (9.0 to 25.2)15.0 (12.6 to 17.7)21.6 (12.9 to 32.7)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment Interruptions

SVR 12 and 24 rates for dual therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) less than (\<) 50 international unit/milliliters (IU/mL) (as measured by a commercially available HCV RNA test with lower limit of detection less than or equal to \[\<=\] 50 IU/mL) at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. If a qualitative test was used, then the lower limit of detection has to be \<=50 IU/mL. SVR12 and 24 rates for triple therapy participants are defined as percentage of participants with undetectable HCV RNA assessed by a test with lower limit of detection \<= 50 IU/mL at 12 or 24 weeks post completion of the treatment period. Here, number of participants analyzed excluded the participants with premature withdrawal due to lack of efficacy or non-safety reasons and participants without dose reductions or interruptions during the first 99 study days.

Time frame:
Up to first 12 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Sustained Virological Response (SVR) in Participants With Dose Reductions or Treatment Interruptions
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
SVR at Week 12 After EOT37.1 (28.3 to 46.5)27.3 (13.3 to 45.5)20.7 (8.0 to 39.7)14.3 (0.4 to 57.9)35.4 (25.0 to 47.0)44.4 (13.7 to 78.8)
SVR at Week 24 EOT35.3 (26.7 to 44.8)24.2 (11.1 to 42.3)17.2 (5.8 to 35.8)14.3 (0.4 to 57.9)34.2 (23.9 to 45.7)44.4 (13.7 to 78.8)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Very Rapid Virological Response, Rapid Virological Response, Complete Early Virological Response and Partial Early Virological Response (pEVR) During First 12 Weeks

Percentage of participants with very rapid virological response (VRVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 2), rapid virological response (RVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 4, but no VRVR), complete early virological response (cEVR) (defined as VR/UVR by study week 12, but no VRVR or RVR) and partial early virological response (pEVR) (defined as a 2 log10 drop of HCV RNA by study week 12, but no VRVR, RVR or cEVR) were reported.

Time frame:
Up to 12 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPercentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)

Extended (rapid) virological response (eRVR) defined as UVR at weeks 4 and 12 for telaprevir, and as UVR at weeks 8 and 24 for boceprevir.

Time frame:
Up to 98 weeks
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)
percentage of participantsTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Percentage of Participants Achieving Extended (Rapid) Virological Response (eRVR)37.7 (32.1 to 43.5)32.3 (22.9 to 42.7)45.6 (42.1 to 49.0)47.7 (36.8 to 58.7)
SecondaryDuration of Overall Treatment

Duration of overall treatment was defined as the time between first and last administration of any study drug, in weeks.

Time frame:
Up to 118 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · Weeks
Duration of Overall Treatment
WeeksDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Duration of Overall Treatment34.2 ± 16.0431.3 ± 15.7335.2 ± 17.4835.3 ± 15.2733.2 ± 15.0331.2 ± 15.95
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Treated According to Label/Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC)
Time frame:
Up to 118 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)

Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported.

Time frame:
Up to 72 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With PEG-IFN and Ribavirin (RBV)
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 1 to Week 125.78.39.29.79.911.6
Discontinued RBV During Week 1 to Week 126.39.19.610.810.812.8
Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 13 to Week 2413.517.116.814.010.212.8
Discontinued RBV During Week 13 to Week 2422.122.417.116.113.919.8
Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 25 to Week 4841.741.330.129.041.043.0
Discontinued RBV During Week 25 to Week 4843.046.641.141.944.941.9
Discontinued PEG-IFN During Week 49 to Week 7236.232.141.147.338.932.6
Discontinued RBV During Week 49 to Week 7226.621.029.131.230.325.6
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)

Participants who prolonged the treatment period from 72 weeks were not reported. Participants who discontinued their treatment as planned were included. Here, number of participant analyzed is the total number of participants who received direct-acting anti-viral (DAA).

Time frame:
Up to 72 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment With Direct-Acting Anti-viral (DAA)
percentage of participantsTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Discontinued DAA During Week 1 to Week 26.87.51.74.7
Discontinued DAA During Week 3 to Week 42.11.11.54.7
Discontinued DAA During Week 5 to Week 1213.48.624.722.1
Discontinued DAA During Week 13 to Week 2416.118.371.768.6
Discontinued DAA During Week 25 to Week 4859.264.50.40.0
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline
Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Percentage of Participants With Concomitant Medical Condition at Baseline48.150.465.868.867.241.9
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)

An AE was defined as any adverse medical event that occurred after the participant used the investigational medicinal product (IMP) or other intervention behaviors specified by the protocol in the clinical trial regardless of relationship to the study treatment.

Time frame:
Up to 118 weeks
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)
percentage of participantsDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
Percentage of Participants With Adverse Events (AE)60.365.776.788.290.787.2

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 118 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin—148/2,312 (6.4%)1,225/2,312 (53%)
Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin—33/496 (6.7%)287/496 (57.9%)
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin—43/292 (14.7%)207/292 (70.9%)
Triple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin—9/93 (9.7%)79/93 (84.9%)
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + Ribavirin—163/821 (19.9%)709/821 (86.4%)
Triple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin—4/86 (4.7%)72/86 (83.7%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 276
Most frequent serious events
EventDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders25/23122/4969/2923/9357/8211/86
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders12/23121/4964/2920/932/8210/86
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders0/23120/4961/2920/931/8211/86
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders0/23121/4962/2920/933/8211/86
AstheniaGeneral disorders1/23120/4960/2920/931/8211/86
Optic neuritisNervous system disorders0/23120/4960/2920/930/8211/86
Renal failureRenal and urinary disorders1/23120/4960/2920/933/8211/86
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/23120/4962/2920/936/8211/86
PancytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders5/23120/4960/2921/935/8210/86
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders5/23122/4962/2921/934/8210/86
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 34
Most frequent other events
EventDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + Ribavirin
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders435/2312141/496112/29242/93351/82143/86
LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders129/231247/4968/2926/9359/82131/86
AstheniaGeneral disorders236/231272/49653/29223/93245/8218/86
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders160/231255/49637/29216/93240/82110/86
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders258/231264/49635/29225/9384/82124/86
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders138/231226/49631/2925/9394/82123/86
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders85/231230/49636/29224/93134/82111/86
FatigueGeneral disorders244/231253/49668/29223/93170/82113/86
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders85/231225/49624/2929/93155/8219/86
Influenza like illnessGeneral disorders167/231238/49631/29217/9397/8217/86

Baseline characteristics

Core population: treatment-naive/experienced participants who were without contraindication to Peg-IFN and RBV, end stage renal disease, major organ transplantation, co-infection with hepatitis B or HIV, acute hepatitis and with positive HCV RNA at baseline, known genotype, 1 of 6 treatment (excluding non-G1 participants receiving triple therapy).

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(participants)Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTotal
Less Than or Equal to (<=) 45 Years9871787321184141457
Greater (>) 45 years132531821972637722643
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Dual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinDual Therapy: Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Boceprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2a + RibavirinTriple Therapy: Telaprevir + Peg-IFN Alfa-2b + RibavirinTotal
Female91025010837331431679
Male140224618456490432421
08

Study locations

272 sites
  • Antwerpen, 2018, Belgium
  • Antwerpen, 2060, Belgium
  • Bouge, 5004, Belgium
  • Brussels, 1000, Belgium
  • Bruxelles, 1020, Belgium
  • Bruxelles, 1070, Belgium
  • Bruxelles, 1180, Belgium
  • Bruxelles, 1190, Belgium
  • Bruxelles, 1200, Belgium
  • Edegem, 2650, Belgium
  • Gent, 9000, Belgium
  • Gilly (Charleroi), 6000, Belgium
  • Hasselt, 3500, Belgium
  • Heusy, 4802, Belgium
  • Kortrijk, 8500, Belgium
  • Leuven, 3000, Belgium
  • Liège, 4000, Belgium
  • Mons, 7000, Belgium
  • Montignies sur Sambre, 6061, Belgium
  • Namur, 5000, Belgium
  • Oostende, 8400, Belgium
  • Roeselare, 8800, Belgium
  • Verviers, 4800, Belgium
  • Alexandria, 0, Egypt
  • Alexandria, Egypt
  • Cairo, 0, Egypt
  • Cairo, Egypt
  • Giza, Egypt
  • Tanta, Egypt
  • Kohtla-Järve, 31025, Estonia
  • Pärnu, 80010, Estonia
  • Tallinn, 10138, Estonia
  • Tallinn, 10617, Estonia
  • Tartu, 51014, Estonia
  • Aix En Provence, 13616, France
  • Amiens, 80054, France
  • Argenteuil, 95107, France
  • Avignon, 84902, France
  • Besancon, 25000, France
  • Besancon, 25030, France
  • Beziers, 34500, France
  • Boulogne Billancourt, 92104, France
  • Bourgoin Jallieu, 38300, France
  • Caen, 14033, France
  • Chambray Les Tours, 37171, France
  • Clichy, 92118, France
  • Creil, 60109, France
  • Creteil, 94010, France
  • Epinay-Sur-Seine, 93806, France
  • Evry, 91014, France
  • Freyming Merlebach, 57804, France
  • Gonesse, 95503, France
  • Grasse, 06130, France
  • Hyeres, 83407, France
  • La Tronche, 38700, France
  • Lagny Sur Marne, 77405, France
  • Lille, 59037, France
  • Limoges, 87042, France
  • Lomme, 59462, France
  • Lyon, 69009, France
  • Mantes La Jolie, 78200, France
  • Marseille, 13285, France
  • Meaux, 77104, France
  • Montpellier, 34070, France
  • Montpellier, 34295, France
  • Nice, 06202, France
  • Nimes, 30029, France
  • Orange, 84100, France
  • Orleans, 45100, France
  • Paris, 75571, France
  • Paris, 75651, France
  • Paris, 75679, France
  • Paris, 75908, France
  • Paris, 75970, France
  • Pau, 64046, France
  • Perpignan, 66046, France
  • Pessac, 33604, France
  • Reims, 51092, France
  • Rennes, 35033, France
  • Rouen, 76031, France
  • Saint Nazaire, 44606, France
  • St Laurent Du Var, 06700, France
  • St Priest En Jarez, 42277, France
  • Strasbourg, 67091, France
  • Suresnes, 92151, France
  • Toulon, 83000, France
  • Toulouse, 31059, France
  • Tourcoing, 59208, France
  • Vandoeuvre-les-nancy, 54511, France
  • Vannes, 56017, France
  • Villejuif, 94804, France
  • Villeneuve Maguelone, 34751, France
  • Villeneuve St Georges, 94195, France
  • Aachen, 52074, Germany
  • Berlin, 10243, Germany
  • Berlin, 10777, Germany
  • Burghausen, 84489, Germany
  • Düsseldorf, 40237, Germany
  • Erlangen, 91054, Germany
  • Essen, 45122, Germany

Showing the first 100 of 272 sites across 27 countries.

09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 30, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01447446
Lead sponsor
Hoffmann-La Roche
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 6, 2011
Start date
Sep 2011
Primary completion
Jul 2015
Completion
Jul 2015
Results posted
Mar 30, 2017
Last update
Mar 30, 2017

Study contacts

Clinical Trials
study director · Hoffmann-La Roche
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion