A Phase 2 interventional study of RAD001 (Everolimus) and Pasireotide (SOM230) LAR in Uveal Melanoma, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-08-01.
Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to find out what effects, good and/or bad, the drugs everolimus and pasireotide have on the patient and on melanoma. Pasireotide is also called SOM-230. Pasireotide is an experimental drug and is not approved by the Food and Drug Administration. Everolimus is also called RAD001. Everolimus is approved for use in the U.S. for kidney cancer. Everolimus is not approved for treatment of melanomas, but early studies show that it may help some patients with melanoma.
109 studies on the registry are indexed under Uveal Melanoma; 37 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 14 is below the median of 40 across 98 interventional studies indexed under Uveal Melanoma.
Browse Uveal Melanoma studies →Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,957 studies on the registry; 323 are open to participants now.
Of its 132 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 68 (52%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
This study will be an open-label, single-arm, phase II study of RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
Drug: RAD001 (Everolimus) and Pasireotide (SOM230) LAR
Drug page: Everolimus
Patients will be treated with SOM-230 (pasireotide) LAR 60mg IM once every 28 days and with RAD001 (Everolimus) 10mg PO daily. Each cycle is 28 days. An optional biopsy may be requested required after weeks of therapy. The biopsy may be performed between days 28 and 42.
Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR)
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
Time frame: at 16 weeks
Number of Participants With Partial Response (PR)
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
Time frame: at 16 weeks
Number of Participants With Stable Disease (SD)
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
Time frame: at 16 weeks
Median Progression Free Survival(PFS)
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Safety and Toxicity in This Patient Population.
Safety assessments will consist of monitoring and recording all adverse events, including serious adverse events, the regular monitoring of hematology (including glycosylated hemoglobin and coagulation parameters), blood chemistry (including fasting glucose, thyroid function tests, GH, IGF-1 and prolactin), urinalysis, regular monitoring of vital signs, echocardiography, ECGs, and body weight. Toxicity will be assessed using the NCI-CTC for Adverse Events, version 4.0 (CTCAEv4.0,
Time frame: 16 weeks
Median Overall Survival (OS)
Time frame: Up to 3 years
Protocol Open to Accrual 11/30/2010, Protocol Closed to Accrual 8/11/2015, Primary Completion Date 6/13/2016, Recruitment location is the medical clinic
| Milestone | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Started | 14 |
| Completed | 13 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
| Participants | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Participants Evaluated | 13 |
| Complete Response | 0 |
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
| Participants | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Participants Evaluated | 13 |
| Partial Response | 0 |
For patients with metastatic uveal melanoma treated with RAD001 and pasireotide LAR.
| Participants | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Stable Disease (SD) | 7 |
| weeks | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Median Progression Free Survival(PFS) | 16 (7 to 23) |
Safety assessments will consist of monitoring and recording all adverse events, including serious adverse events, the regular monitoring of hematology (including glycosylated hemoglobin and coagulation parameters), blood chemistry (including fasting glucose, thyroid function tests, GH, IGF-1 and prolactin), urinalysis, regular monitoring of vital signs, echocardiography, ECGs, and body weight. Toxicity will be assessed using the NCI-CTC for Adverse Events, version 4.0 (CTCAEv4.0,
| Participants | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| At least 1 dose reduction due to toxicity | 7 |
| No dose reduction due to toxicity | 6 |
| months | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Median Overall Survival (OS) | 11 (4.5 to 28.5) |
Collected over 28 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR | 0/13 (0%) | 6/13 (46.2%) | 13/13 (100%) |
| Event | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Acute kidney injuryHepatobiliary disorders | 2/13 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 1/13 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 1/13 |
| DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/13 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/13 |
| Lung infectionInfections and infestations | 1/13 |
| Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders | 1/13 |
| Event | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| HyperglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 13/13 |
| Cholesterol highInvestigations | 11/13 |
| HypertriglyceridemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 11/13 |
| HyponatremiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 9/13 |
| White blood cell decreasedInvestigations | 9/13 |
| CPK increasedInvestigations | 8/13 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 8/13 |
| Platelet count decreasedInvestigations | 8/13 |
| Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders | 7/13 |
| HypophosphatemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 6/13 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Median | 61 (41 to 83) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Female | 8 |
| Male | 6 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 13 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 13 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | RAD001 and Pasireotide LAR |
|---|---|
| United States | 14 |
The record gives a start of Nov 2010, a primary completion of Jun 2016 and a completion of Jun 2016. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.
Results were first posted in Aug 2017, 1 year 2 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Everolimus
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center →